Reviews by jrod7405

70

I can't stop detroying stuff

jrod7405 | Jan. 15, 2014 | Review of Red Faction Guerilla

Honestly, this title is so-so until you factor in the open world destruction factor. I think I spent an extra 15-20 hrs just purposely destroying as many things as possible, it's addictive. With a sledgehammer is best, although the bombs are fun too. Not as cool with a bazooka, much more fun with hand to hand hammer-time. Beyond that, the story is weak...the shooting controls a little wonky compared to say Far Cry 3. Some missions are unreasonably hard for what you are supposed to do and others surprisingly easy even though it should be harder. Last mission took me a awhile - not because it was super hard but because I didn't know how to approach it off the bat. Rule of thumb - go in guns a blazing and don't stop moving. That's the fastest way to finish the game. You may need to disable the DirectX 3D if you lots of annoying lens flares.

100

Fantastic, Fun, Challenging, and Funny

jrod7405 | Oct. 6, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon (NA)

I'm not a huge FPS fan. Lost interest years ago. But this looked interesting and I grabbed it on a whim. WOW. It is hilarious. And got me addicted to playing FPS again. The gameplay is fairly level so that even someone who is terrible at FPS can gradually learn to get better. After awhile I was taking down garrisons, killing blood dragons, and watching Rex Colt be the most 1980's futuristic bad boy of all time. Level 6 is a doozy, though. Took me a good long time to finish that level, then like 20 minutes to finish the last level. Also, the first level is surprisingly tough. But after that I got much better and better at shooters in general. I've played a few other shooters since then. Blood Dragon surpasses them all. Easily one of my favorite games I've finished this year. You'll enjoy the over the top plot, difficulty, guns, dragons, getting killed by an ostrich, killing turtles, sneaking/planning firefights, knife kills, killing zombies, great music, and the KILLSTAR! Have fun.

70

Runs out of gas way too early

jrod7405 | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Kane & Lynch: Dead Men

I just finished this game and here's my fresh review. The game was fun in the beginning. Mid way through I begin to lose interest in both the game and the story. Also, the "cover" mechanics honestly don't work. It adds an extra 2-6 hrs of game time to overcome it depending on your skill level. The best scenes were the bank heist, getting the briefcase, and breaking the guys out of jail. The battlefield parts were harder, but more so because the game mechanics just don't work well. Finally, at the end I was hoping for a huge blow em out ending with either a mediocre cutscene or a farewell scene. You'll get neither. Just don't get on the helicopter or the ending is just terrible. The 16th level is a bad ending, but not as bad as the helicopter one. I not only did not connect with the characters, they sort of got on my nerves and the dialogue was not drawing me in. In all, the game is fun for awhile until it just gets confusing and what was in the briefcase anyway? So-so game for me. underwhelming.

88

introduced me to stealth

jrod7405 | July 23, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

Okay, I had never played any Hitman games before this. The closest I had gotten to this were a few games where I sneak silently to strangle someone. To play this game I have to be in a mindset for laying low as it can take me a few hours just to complete a level because of all the little things it takes to get the mission done. Generally, I am best at sneaking. When I shoot my way out I die about 98% of the time. That said, sometimes I seriously get tired of sneaking around and just want to shoot something. And so I do - so far I've only survived to finish a level once after shooting a place up. All the other times I survive only briefly. It's a nice change from shooters, well designed, and executed very well. There are no places where I get stuck on pixels or picking something up the wrong way. Use the map, check your moving targets, and get ready to reload a game several times. Lots of fun, but probably not for everyone. When my wife watches me play this she falls asleep because there is little to no "action" as she calls it. It's all tension. Which works for me.

82

Fun, Entertaining, and Honestly not easy

jrod7405 | July 23, 2013 | Review of The Cave

I seriously enjoy this game. I'm halfway through it and don't understand the critical comments. The only thing i don't like is that i wish the controls were just a wee bit tighter. Other than that, it's a lot of fun and I have trouble solving the puzzles sometimes ( 3rd mine cart took me awhile to figure out a critical step and twins mansion I was stumped until I gave up and got a hint that allowed me to finish the level ). It's not an awesome game,but it's a great time and I'll go replay to see the missing levels from the adventurer and knight. Is is Psychonauts, NOPE, but it's a good game and priced correctly. I got it for a a steal on a 75% off sale here at GMG and it's well worth the price.

80

Good, but was expecting more

jrod7405 | July 17, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

I'm a backlog gamer. This was on my backlog for god knows how long and I finally finished it a few days ago. I thought the graphics were amazing and the Joker was the best. However, Batman was a little too stiff if you ask me. Perhaps I am spoiled by the movies. The cutscenes are well done, but nothing that made me go wow. Gameplay was okay - somewhat repetitive. About halfway through the game it was becoming more tedious than fun. The best parts were the silent takedowns and the scarecrow fights. Scarecrow was fun on an eye candy level, but honestly easier than anything from Tomb Raider or Prince of Persia. Fighting was - meh. More or less button mashing. I had a much better time playing Sleeping Dogs in regards to the fighting. I guess I was expecting it to be more thrilling. Instead of saygin "Aw, man! I got beat again. I gotta beat this guy!" it was more like " Sigh. Lost again. Got to try and get past it". A bit grinding.
Killer croc could have been MUCH harder. And the final boss battle I never even died, just beat the game much to my surprise. The hardest parts of the game were the takedowns with armed guards -and I liked those, but it was a grind more than a challenge. Game was fun, but I felt it could have been more. Will try Arkham City next.

90

Fun with my Kids

jrod7405 | May 29, 2013 | Review of Wallace and Gromits: Grand Adventures

Our family loves Wallace and Gromit and I thought it would be great fun to play with game with my 6 year old son. The puzzles are not super hard, but not easily solved either. My son got through a good amount of them before getting stumped and I had to give him hints. Wonderful time with the family and even my 4 year old daughter enjoys watching us play. Gameplay is very well done for both adults and kids. Graphics and voice acting are as close as you are going to get to the real thing. Great time all in all and the kids look forward to Wallace and Gromit nights. I certainly enjoy the game about as much as my son.

90

Got me back in Adventure Games

jrod7405 | May 17, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

I really enjoyed the TV show and had already seen all the episodes for the season. So, after hearing much about this game i went and bought it - KNOWING that i had seriously given up on adventure gaming about 10 years ago because I had grown sick of them. Adventure games were boring and tedious. Nothing to shoot and endless puzzles to solve, bleh. Not that I am a kill em all loving gamer, but really I was sick of adventure games after an honestly falling asleep experience on the last one. Now, this game grabs you from the get go. I will admit, it's not paced really fast - my wife fell asleep on the first few episodes after realizing the searching around bits would lose the pacing of a TV show. Admittedly, there are some parts that kind of drag. Followed by parts that shock and frighten you. And the zombies are scary,yes, but it's the humans who are the scary part as you never know what is really going to happen with desperate people. If you get this game, it's well written and you will easily overcome any adventure game disdain you've had for years. Now I miss it. I've had to start a few other adventure games to keep my addition to the walking dead at bay. And lots of them here at greenman to keep me going until season 2 is out.

75

Nice expansion, but a little short

jrod7405 | Feb. 20, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Zodiac Tournament

I finished this tournament after I finished the main storyline. Overall, it felt like a moderately long main storyline mission. The island story was okay, and a few parts were challenging like the spiked room. Other than that, i breezed through the combat because I had unlocked all the special moves and had a face level of 10 already. It was over a lot sooner than I expected. Finished in a little over an hour. Not really worth $5 considering I bought the main game from GMG on sale , but if you catch this DLC for a few dollars, it's a fun expansion. Just don't expect a ton of gameplay. I replayed it again, but not quite as much fun - I did unlock all the bonus hidden statues and I'll see if that comes in handy when more DLC is released as it gives you special melee moves. And really, melee is the best part of SDogs.

90

Melee Hong Kong Style

jrod7405 | Feb. 13, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

I just finished this game and it was a load of fun. At first I was frustrated with the melee combat because it was harder than Batman AA, but man the challenge makes it all that much better when you win. It's harder in the beginning when your health is not really high and you've got no specially earned moves. Once you get the hang of it, just learn to block first and play around with your special martial school moves to get the bad guys. There is a lot of driving, so if you don' t like driving I would think twice about getting this game. The courses are not easy and it's a full blown driving game, does not feel like a useless add-on at all. You can progress with driving a ton. I saved up enough for an Etalon and that makes it alot easier to win with a prime car. Cycle races are hit and miss for me, try out different bikes to get the one you like as the fastest ones can be a bit hard to control. The main story is great - really as good as any Hong Kong feature movie. Voice acting is superb. I wish the girlfriend/dates part of the game was more involved or personal. The lockboxes I found to be annoying with all the dialing for lock combinations. Screwing and unscrewing screws for hidden cameras just seemed tedious. Gunfights - which is roughly 1/4 of the action is okay. Not super hard and in general fun without feeling repetitive and areas are designed well for cover. Being able to shoot without standing up would be a nice touch, as I got shot a lot simply shooting back. Wished I could just crouch-peek over a bit and shoot rather than a full standing position. The best part is the city, which is REally good in capturing Hong Kong ( I've been there twice ). Music is great and the generall pacing of the story, well written dialogue, and fairly challenging gameplay make it a good choice. I'm still going to go back and play the Zodiac Tournament as well as finish up a few drug busts. Plus I really like hijacking armoured vans and stealing cop cars. You can even bust up cars by fighting. I think there was a Steam achievement for most reckless driving that i got too. It's a great sandbox, good story, good acting, well paced, fun gameplay, and great experience overall.