Reviews by koticpaxx

74

Borderlands: The PreReview

koticpaxx | Dec. 2, 2014 | Review of Borderlands: The Pre-Sequel Season Pass (NA)

Let me be straight up. If you like Borderlands 2, then you'll still like the Pre-Sequel. Like B2, many mechanics are similar and the cartoonish graphics that Borderlands is most notable for remains the same. However, with the edition of new characters, new weapons, and the new setting, The Pre-Sequel is still quite good. For me personally, I feel like The Pre-Sequel is more of a really big and awesome DLC that's still quite fun, but if you're looking for something new, you've come to the wrong place. Overall, I'd still recommend The Pre-Sequel for all the funny and witty humour that it contains. Those who are big fans of the Borderlands series will still get a kick out of Pre-Sequel.

100

Batman Arkham City Review ---> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | July 23, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

HOLY FEATHERS BATMAN, ROCKSTEADY HAS DONE IT AGAIN. No joke, they really did. Batman Arkham City is such a remarkable game that takes on the strengths of it's predecessor, Arkham Asylum (freeflow combat, detective mode, awesome plot) and ADDS to it. You are now in Arkham City. The piece of Gotham reserved for scum since the prisons were overflowing with them. You literally have tons of things to do in this game. Once you've completed the main story, you're only 32% done. Not joking. It's Riddler challenges and side missions can really consume you, which is considered great in the gaming community. All in all, Arkham City is one of the best games I've played to date, and if you liked the first one, you'll LOVE this one. A definite BUY. BATMAN OUT

90

Batman: Arkham Asylum Review ----> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | July 23, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Before this game: Only reading Batman comics makes me "feel" like Batman After this game: I AM BATMAN "But wait, Steve-" SHUT UP I AM BATMAN

Long story short, this game is awesome. Rocksteady has done a truly fantastic job in capturing the essence of Batman in a kick-ass game. You have the gadgets, the martial arts and the detective skills of Batman.that other superhero games can't really compare to. It's revolutionary freeflow combat is crazy fun and one of the major things that make Batman Arkham Asylum, Batman Arkham Asylum. Even the plot is amazing, taking us to a time where Joker's schemes keep getting bigger and bigger, and Batman becomes better and better. All in all, this game is a MUST buy for superhero fans and a definite BUY for gamers alike. Trust me. You won't be disappointed. BATMAN OUT

93

Bastion ------> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | March 6, 2014 | Review of Bastion

To jump right in, Bastion is a work of art. A unique style on taking on a game, Supergiant Games has truly created a brilliant master piece. In the world of Bastion, you play a character simply known as The Kid. As him, you fight to discover and retrieve the lost world which has been destroyed by ancient invaders. So let's start with the presentation. The graphics are amazing, and though it's not in a realistic point of view, it has an astounding artwork. The voice over, only presented by the Narrator, is top-notch. He narrates simple little moves you make as The Kid, which adds the element of profound storytelling. The actual voice of the Narrator is soothing, in a mixture of a Morgan Freeman and Liam Neeson kind of way, which is quite awesome. The gameplay is great, with the view of the camera in a unique spot. This can sometimes get annoying, as it allows you to misjudge narrow paths where you can end up falling to your death. The game is kind of a hack and slash, with different levels and enemies to make each one unique. All in all, Bastion is a hands down BUY. It is a must have with it's unique style of story telling, and its great gameplay.

89

South Review: The Stick of Truth ------> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | March 6, 2014 | Review of South Park™: The Stick of Truth™

HOLY CRAP, this game is super fun. Like super duper, ridiculous fun. To get started, South Park: The Stick of Truth is a long awaited game developed by Obsidian Entertainment and published by Ubisoft. Delve into the world where RPG elements and South Park had a baby. You get this game. The presentation is great. The art style really makes you feel like you are a part of the living, breathing world of SP. The voice acting is top-notch, adding even further to the ride. The music is great, nothing too superb, yet nothing underwhelming. The gameplay is simple, with fighting mechanics not really my style. To be more specific, you enter into this kind of a duel state, where you each keep taking turns attacking, while giving you opportunities to block. While fun at first, in my opinion, it gets quite repetitive. However, don't let this take away from the experience. All in all, South Park: The Stick of Truth is a hilarious and awesome expansion of the South Park world. It is a very enjoyable experience and I would say that this is definitely a buy.

88

Reviewlands 2 ------> Buy it or Not

koticpaxx | March 1, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Look at all these guns. Oooooo, these guns, my friend, are the very essence that makes Borderlands 2, Borderlands 2. To start, Borderlands 2 is first-person shooter unlike any other. It has some very entertaining scenes and the overall game is hilarious.

For the presentation, the graphic style makes it looks like its straight off a graphic novel, which for me, is pretty damn awesome. It's quite brutal, but nothing to "out of the barrel" kind of style. The music is very entertaining, which you can easily rock out too. This game has some of my favourite music in it.

Now to talk about the gameplay, Borderlands 2 is freaking awesome game. It runs quite smoothly, with controls that are easy to handle. Playing with three other friends really adds to the experience, as you can just mess around and have fun doing it. With many iconic characters, such as the Psychos and the Claptraps, you are certainly missing out! So grab a few friends, clear your schedule and get ready to lose some sleep.

99

Reviewing Dead: Season 2 --------> Buy it Or Not? (so far.....)

koticpaxx | Feb. 28, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead: Season 2

Poor Clementine. Poor, poor clementine. She is one tough cookie. When I was her age, I couldn't make it through a scrape on the knee, let alone stitch myself together!

Welcome back to the land of the dead, where your favourite (Canadian) characters die, unnecessary brutality is permitted and you feel traumatized by the masterpiece that is The Walking Dead: Season 2. In this turn of events, you play as Clementine, and without SPOILERS, you're left to fend for yourself. Can this new and cruel world provide sanctuary for our little hero?

The gameplay is, like the previous one, simple. Choosing which words to say to lead you down different paths and moving around to explore, though I feel like this time, there is more important choices being presented. The presentation is like all the TellTale games, with a unique and cartoony look that proves that it is not your average saturday-morning cartoon, with its brutal themes and violent graphics. The music is needless to say, top-notch. Inspiring every emotion with every tune played is truly a very well placed move.

Now let's get to the main course. The story. Oh the story. Why must you do this to us? With a major death of a character still fresh on our minds, it's hard to see what's in store for Clementine and that's what makes Season 2 so great. The surprises and shocking events really make you go along a roller coaster of emotions.

Of course, it is outstanding. From a critic's point of view, I am rather worried that it might not live up to the emotional values that was Season 1, but looking at TellTale Games, I fully trust them with this. All in all, if you haven't played Season 1, WHY ARE YOU READING THIS, and to all you who have, and are looking to buy this game, i say do it. And as I said before in my Season 1 review, get your permission slips signed, we're going on a feels trip.

87

Reviewday 2 ------> Buy it Or Not?

koticpaxx | Feb. 28, 2014 | Review of Payday 2

Alright everybody, it's time to steal some diamonds.

Also known as the Bag Tossing Simulator (2013), Payday 2 is an action packed, awesome soundtracked game that places you in the hands of four unique criminals: Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains, from the original Payday.

The gameplay itself is nice, with several improvements from the first game. The customization is great, and of course, the bag tossing is superb. They have improved several mechanics from the first game, which really puts this game to a whole new level.

The presentation is great, not horrible yet somewhat awesome. The soundtrack is always great, with some dubstep elements added into the mix to create the feel of adrenaline, which definitely adds to the game. When playing, it's always fun to do so with friends, as you can coordinate and strategize better, especially when you're on Skype . Many fun things can come out of this, so BUY IT, because you are totally missing out. So grab some friends, clear up your schedule (and also your friends') and dive into the game that is Payday 2, and prepare to go for a thrill ride.

85

Chivalry: Medieval Review ------> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | Feb. 16, 2014 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

Hold on, let me just swing- HO CRAP, SORRY, I DID NOT MEAN TO HIT YOU, YOU WERE ON THE PATH OF MY SWORD.......

Chivalry: Medieval Warfare brings a whole new meaning to "Medieval Warfare". Here, it is all online, and a first-person view that really makes this game unique. So here, there's no magic or powerful staffs, so your stuck with good old fashion medieval weapons, which is fine because they provide a plethora of different weapons and styles. So the presentation isn't too bad, with the potential to have really nice graphics if you have the computer, and really bad fps if you don't. The sounds are thrilling, with such ridiculous war cries that you'll laugh your chain-mail skirt off. It's quite bloody, which can lead to hilarious parts being dismembered and dislocated. The gameplay itself is a different story. It has a REALLY steep learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, you'll pour endless of hours into it. The thing is, the multiplayer. This is what can make or break your game. If you have a good ping, and are in a decent server, you'll have tons of fun. Or if you have friends who own this game, rally them up and play together for even more fun. To conclude (that's new), Chivalry: Medieval Warfare is a great game. Just make sure you have the right computer and internet connection, and you should be fine. Also, keep in mind that you'll need to be patient to really get the flow of the game. As always, no game is without glitches and bugs, and this game has awesome ones (Anyone see the Reddit picture of a character from this game that has like, a thousand arrows stuck on him? Yeah, stuff like that). So I'd say buy it, preferably if when it goes on sale, and make sure you have the time to invest in it. So lace your chain-mail, equip your armour (Canadian, okay?) and buckle-up for a medieval ride.

98

Reviewing Dead: Season 1 -----> Buy it or Not?

koticpaxx | Feb. 13, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead

"Lee! Lee!" "It's okay Clementine, I'm here for you" [HTML_REMOVED]

Wow. What a ride. WD has been quite a thrill for me, with such an awesome, compelling story that really gets to you. The gameplay isn't all that SHABAM, but it does mix it up a bit, changing from the dialogue choices, critical moments, running/fighting sequences, and I appreciate that Telltale Games did that. Now this game is mostly story-driven, so I'll focus more on that. To briefly sum it up, you are Lee, a man convicted for a crime that was out of his territory, who stumbles upon a little girl named Clementine. Together, you will face atrocious and traumatic events that will forever alter your lives. The only thing that keeps you tethered to sanity is each other. With many episodes to play throughout, Telltale game's unique way of how choices affect your gameplay is truly the many things that makes WD such an amazing game. In conclusion, Walking Dead:Season 1 is a beautiful piece of work that Telltale Games has really put much effort into. With such an epic masterpiece, buckle your seatbelts, kids, we're going on a feels trip.

90

Reviewershock: Welcome to Rapture

koticpaxx | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of BioShock (NA)

Oooooooh yes. Oooohhhh yes. Alright, ye who has a weird mind, time to focus. Bioshock. Hmmm. Where to start? Oooooo, WELCOME TO RAPTURE.

Bioshock is an awesome game that BRILLIANTLY meshes gameplay and story beautifully. Too adjectives describing the same thing, eh why not? Lets start with the presentation. The beautiful underwater city of Rapture is amazing to look at but horrible to live in. With many dark secrets, it is your job to find out what this beautiful city terribly hold secret. The gameplay is fun. The element of first-person shooter and plasmids (powers, basically) is amazing. I only wish that you could have them both out at the same time. The story is awesome, and really captivates you.

I'd say this game is a must have for die-hard game collectors, as it will be a beautiful addition, along with its sequels. This game can be quite difficult (for me atleast) as some of the quest markers are confusing. This game also has its bugs and glitches which can be distracting, but don't let it take away the beautiful masterpiece which is Bioshock.

I know GreenManGaming, not my usual review. I'm tired okay? ;)

85

Reviewer's Creed: Brotherhood

koticpaxx | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Assassin’s Creed® Brotherhood Deluxe Edition Other

Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood continues the story of badass Italian Ezio Auditore de Firenze (and they said I had a long name). I feeling a bit tired so I will keep this review short (GASP!).

AC:B's story picks up exactly where AC2 ends off, so it is recommended that you play atleast AC2 before this (or watch the walkthroughs, whatever). The story is very great, and this game contains tons of content. Many missions are kind of repetitive, but the missions itself are cool, and truly makes you feel like a master assassin. The parkour system is meh, and the combat is where it really shines. The fact that you can take on multiple (?) people and find yourself standing amongst the bodies of several Templars is satisfying. The new added Brotherhood system is great, and really feels like you are the head of a secret organization whose purpose is to gain the artifacts of Eden before the Templars do and go out throughout the world finding them. The addition of Multiplayer is where I lost most of my hours, and surprisingly (at the time), it was fricken awesome.

All in all AC:B is a must have for AC and Ezio fans. It holds up the legacy beautifully, improving on little areas of single-player and multiplayer. It is a great addition to the franchise, and I believe that you won't be dissapointed.

99

A Damn Near-Perfect Game

koticpaxx | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Sorry ladies and gentlemen, no witty review titles. I just REALLY needed to put it out there. I've lost many hours of my life playing this game, and I don't think I see a way to end this game.

Everybody, Bethesda Studios has done it again! Skyrim has been a f*cking good experience, so good that I don't know where to start. My minds boggling right now, so sorry English teachers/gamers, there will be no proper structure for this review.

Lets start. The gameplay of Skyrim is fascinating. The character-customization is deep, and the controls are easy to learn. The story. OH the story, I love it! You are the Dovahkiin (spelt right?) and dragons are coming back to the land of Skyrim, far in the North of Tamriel. It is your duty to cast the dragons back to where they belong, absorbing their essence along the way. The RPG element is brilliant, and I can't get my head over it. With many several choices to set your path in, whether it's story-wise, combat or even with armour (Canadian here), the RPG does not fail to make itself present. The graphics will leave you speechless, especially when visiting places like Solitude (no Superman here) or The Throat of the World. The music is sooo catchy, and adds an overwhelming element to the grand epicness that is Skyrim.

All in all, The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is a damn near-perfect game (hey! the title). The overall experience is amusing, and you'll find yourself entertained for hours and hours on. With several content, and DLCs that do NOT IN ANY WAY dissapoint, this game is awesome. It does have it's glitches and annoying parts, but that is the sole obstacle that is blocking it from becoming a perfect game. That's how good it is. So, drop everything, get your card and get this damn game. When you get bored with it, download a few modes to entertain yourself, or if you're really invested in this game, get the DLCs. Trust me, every gamers needs this game added on to their collection.

98

A Damn Near-Perfect Game

koticpaxx | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Sorry ladies and gentlemen, no witty review titles. I just REALLY needed to put it out there. I've lost many hours of my life playing this game, and I don't think I see a way to end this game.

Everybody, Bethesda Studios has done it again! Skyrim has been a f*cking good experience, so good that I don't know where to start. My minds boggling right now, so sorry English teachers/gamers, there will be no proper structure for this review.

Lets start. The gameplay of Skyrim is fascinating. The character-customization is deep, and the controls are easy to learn. The story. OH the story, I love it! You are the Dovahkiin (spelt right?) and dragons are coming back to the land of Skyrim, far in the North of Tamriel. It is your duty to cast the dragons back to where they belong, absorbing their essence along the way. The RPG element is brilliant, and I can't get my head over it. With many several choices to set your path in, whether it's story-wise, combat or even with armour (Canadian here), the RPG does not fail to make itself present. The graphics will leave you speechless, especially when visiting places like Solitude (no Superman here) or The Throat of the World. The music is sooo catchy, and adds an overwhelming element to the grand epicness that is Skyrim.

All in all, The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim is a damn near-perfect game (hey! the title). The overall experience is amusing, and you'll find yourself entertained for hours and hours on. With several content, and DLCs that do NOT IN ANY WAY dissapoint, this game is awesome. It does have it's glitches and annoying parts, but that is the sole obstacle that is blocking it from becoming a perfect game. That's how good it is. So, drop everything, get your card and get this damn game. When you get bored with it, download a few modes to entertain yourself, or if you're really invested in this game, get the DLCs. Trust me, every gamers needs this game added on to their collection.

85

Total Review: Rome II ------> Buy It or Not?

koticpaxx | Feb. 8, 2014 | Review of Total War: Rome II Emperor Edition

Long story short, get this game if you're a fan of the TW series. Get it if you don't mind bugginess (is that a word?). HOWEVER, get it when it's on sale!

Long story long, TW:R2 was an overall fun experience. The prologue was alright, just standard TW stuff here. The Campaign mode is meh, and the fact that Athens and Sparta are DLC content really pisses me off. The Multiplayer is fun, especially when you have multiple factions fighting. The addition of the army expansion in the Custom Battles allows you to create battles on epic proportions, assuming your computer can handle it. OH, and make sure your computer can handle. Large armies can make your FPS drop down to hell and make sure you never see them again. The graphics on low makes it on par with Empire: Total War on high settings (shout out to Empire: Total War!). Though it may say the minimum system requirements, trust me, get it when you have a better computer. Why? Because one of the main attractions to the game itself is it's stunning graphics. And trust me, you're gonna wanna see it in all of it's 1080p glory. The addition of "Cinematic Mode" make my creative bits all tingly with satisfaction, which I say is one of the better things about it.

All in all, as I stated above, get it when its on sale (please listen/read me on this one) because that is when you'll get your full money's worth (and then some). I don't mean to bash on it, but as previous reviews have said before, it did not live up to the hype. However, it is still an awesome game and bravo to Creative Assembly for making such a beautiful looking game. If only they can make the DLC for the other factions cheaper, I would gladly raise your score, and if you fix more of the bugs and glitches then that'd be great.

79

A Real Learning Curve, But Still Worth It

koticpaxx | Feb. 8, 2014 | Review of Empire: Total War

Unlike most others, Empire: Total War was my first Total War game. I know, surprising right? Well, I was too. What really captivated me about the Total War series was the ability to command armies and strategically place them to seize victory. In Empire: Total War (or E:TW is what I will further abbreviate it to), you take control of armies during the 1800s era. With this in mind, units like minute men, line infantry and the likes will be at your fingertips. For me, this was one of the main attractions here. This era really is one of my favorites, and it feels awesome to command it at your will. One of the campaign battles is the War of Independence, which I found really interesting, the way they approached it.

Now the main thing. The gameplay. I found it rather easy to control it, though it might've been my intuitive senses coming intact. Rather, I enjoyed it a lot. Oh yeah, the strategy needed is important, but it's all about the fun. The ability to adapt is really great, and like all games, you learn from your mistakes (hopefully). The presentation itself is nice, the several weather options can suit your special needs. The graphics are pretty good, but like all other games, I didn't care for them. Not cause it was bad, no, but because I simply don't care about the graphics.

In conclusion, I believe that you should buy Empire:Total War (I just now realize that I did not once use E:TW, silly me) IF you are looking to add to your Total War collection or if you're really interested in this time period, I say go for it. Besides, it's only $15, and the game itself is rather above average.

94

One of the Best Games I've Played

koticpaxx | Feb. 7, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V: The Complete Edition (NA)

Sid Meier's Civilization V is a strategy-based game that requires you to to think thoroughly before performing actions. Choose any civilization from any time period and lead them to greatness. When I first got this game, I was iffy as I would find that it would've been boring. Boy, was I wrong. I have ever so thanked my friend for recommending this game to me, to whom I am grateful for. The first civilizations from the core game is great, but repetitive game play with them can lead to a foul taste in the mouth. However, the DLCs provide even more great selections. And worry not, fellow gamers, the DLCs are not just expensive ways to get you to pay, but also add a TON of content added on top of your game. The actual gameplay itself is not that bad, with the tutorials, though long, really does it's job. I also like how they give you recommendations on what to do just in case if your stuck, but don't worry, you can turn them off in the settings. The imagery is very beautiful, especially after you've built a wonder. The actual graphics itself is not exactly breath-taking, but it does not take away from the actual experience itself. All in all, I would highly recommend this game to all who love strategy games, as this is a must-have. Don't buy the DLCs right away, as you may not have the time to invest into them. The only question remaining, will YOUR civilization stand the test of time?