Reviews by kubqo

60

Way too ordinary.

kubqo | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

Ordinary co-op zombie FPS (from todays point of view), with occasional flash of game design brilliance, especially with zombie types formed, to separate the group of survivors. Game is pulling the carpet from under itself by absolutely boring level design, but mainly by using Source engine, which is terrible for shooters outside of CS. Idea behind asynchronical multiplayer sounds great in theory, but its very poorly executed and controlling zombies is way too clunky to be enjoyable. Fortunately, game supports steam workshop, where lots of community content brings what main game lacks.

85

Bigger Portal.

kubqo | Jan. 12, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

Portal 2 is evolution from Portal. You still have to solve puzzles (rooms) with your portals-making gun, with some small aditions and more polished game design. It now offers 6-7 hours singleplayer campaign as well as 5-6 hours of co-op campaign, plus workshop support with user made maps. While i think singleplayer is slightly worse than it the first one, coop is where the game truly shines.

86

Satire of the industry

kubqo | July 7, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

This game is in its core retro platformer with rpg elements. But that is not important, more significant is that it is trying to make fun of gaming industry of the last couple of years. And it does that succesfully. I would compare it to buying a ticket to the cinema for a comedy movie, but this ticket is cheaper and interactive. I was almost constatly laughing at its pokes to the industry. At the same time, i enjoyed simplistic platforming nd and exploring. DLC Quest is the funniest game you’ll ever play. I guarantee it! Go and pay that tiny amount of money developer asks for this "2-hour joke"!

92

Best singleplayer experience in genre since Modern Warfare

kubqo | July 6, 2013 | Review of The Darkness II

Darkness II succeeds to achieve fantastic story with fun gameplay, that is quite rare with nowadays shooters. It is based on dark adult comic book full of blood, swear words and one romantic story. Game adapts story from comic book very well and it accesible to non-readers as well. It is full of twists and one meaningful goal - your loved one. It may sounds boring or "girllish" but actually game makes you really care about them. Mafia setting works too. Gameplay is trying to differentiate from other FPSs by giving you two tentacles which you can control. This combined with the gun and light mechanics provides enough combat variability throughout the 6-7 hour campaign. There is also a co-op mode (or you can play it solo too) that fills some gaps in story that werent that importatnt, called Vendettas, where you can take control of characters with special abilities instead of tentacles. Overall i think, that Darkness is the best singleplayer experience in its genre since Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare, if not better.

77

Terrible gameplay is justified by fantastic story

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

Walking Dead is zombie adventure by Telltale games based on the comics. First of all, the thing that differentiate Walking Dead from other zombie franchises is that it focuses on human relationships rather than zombie killing. This game succeeds in doing so and in a fantastic way. You face a lots of moral choices whether you are time limited or not. However gameplay is bad even for an adventure game. Puzzles are either simple as taking a lollipop from baby or you just have to try loads of combinations. Also, my Q key still has not forgiven me for abusing it during many quick-time events. Replayability can be disappointing as well, because you figure out that the choices you made, were not that important and outcome is quite similar to the first playthrough.

55

Lack of multiplayer is not justified by funny characters

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of Poker Night at the Inventory

It is a poker, nothing more, nothing less. You can only play Texas Hold’em. There is no multiplayer. So far nothing special about it, eh? The only thing interesting about this poker are its four characters from other videogames. Unfortunately, their jokes will get repeated after 2-3 hours of gameplay. There is so many poker games out tere for free which can provide you with much more fun. PS.: You can get couple of TF2 items by playing the game, but those can not be traded and are qquite frustrating to achieve.

28

One hour of terrible storytelling

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of Dear Esther

As title says, Dear Esther is nothing else, than 1 hour of W,A,S,D tunnel with zero freedom. You are provided with a fractions of a story told by mysterious storyteller. They does not make any sense until you google it. But by that you will take away the only part of this game which is supposed to be interesting - your own interpretation. At least setting is quite beautiful.

84

Fun and smart at the same time.

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of Cities in Motion

Cities in motion is one of those games, which does not make you feel dull while playing it, actually you get feeling you are getting smarter. Developers evidently put some thoughs into designing it. It is deep and user-friendly at the same time. It provides lenghty campaign, multiplayer (both competitive and cooperative) and sandbox mode. It was this game which got me excited in city building simulators.

69

Terrible singleplayer, clunky multiplayer, entertaining co-op.

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (EU)

Campaign of Battlefield 3 is probably the single worst piece of singleplayer in FPS in a years. It is just a one giant script. And when you finally get to do a mission in jet, it turns out its basically just a giant QTE. It should learn you to fly, drive a tank and use different kinds of equipment which you will be then immidiatelly able to use in MP. Co-op with its 1 live per level can ge pretty intense and its actually kinda fun to play with friend. However its so bugged that you will have to restart some levels couple of times. MP is the best part of the game, although its very clunky and unpolished. Most of the time you get killed by campers (more often than its CoD) or jet pilots (who usually get 50/1 KD ratio) which makes it oftenly frustrating.

61

How to make multiplayer not fun

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of Medal of Honor Warfighter (EU)

Singleplayer is better part of MoH, which can give you an idea how bad MP is. I think that campaign is much much better than the one in BF3 and its attempts to make you feel emotional works on me. However, i do not get how anyone could think that Battlefield engine would work in a fast-paced CoD-like multiplayer. It is utterly disastrous. At least the buddy system works and its fun.

75

Deep combat system justifies its clunkyness

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

Really awesome and deep combat system with various kinds of swings and combos. Good gamemodes providing enough variability for a medieval combat multiplayer game. Average graphics.

79

Superb combat, terrible storytelling

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of BioShock

Best combat system and feeling in FPS ever made. Lots of vareties how to smash your enemies. Terrible story-telling with one really good twist. Badly pre-scripted (story-telling) events. Very interesting and neat graphics. Combat feels good enough to overcome story issues.

100

GOTY 2011

kubqo | July 4, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

For me, SR3rd beats any GTA in every possible way. It makes silliness its main feature and oh my it does so well. Wacky story, funny cutscenes and dialogues, lots of side activities which are actually fun to do. Its loaded with content. It has the best in-game menu since forever (probably). Fully customizable main character. Driving engine is maybe too much arcady. Drop in-drop out coop is shallow but you can go crazy with your friends in horde mode (game actually calls it whored mode).

65

Little bit disappointing after finishing Far Cry 3

kubqo | July 3, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon

Far Cry 3 was the best game of the year for me and Blood Dragon takes its mechanics, downscale them and have a smaller map. You would think that makes it fantastic game as well. But while i love its humor, music and style, after playing Far Cry 3 i did not have a feeling i need to play something similar imidiately. And even if i wanted to, i would play FC3 again because it would notbe repetitive thanks to its scale. But thing i hate about BD is its color. While that may sound funny and stupid, it genuinely makes spotting enemy extremely hard and therefore capturing bases pure frustration instead of the best mechanic in FC3.

98

Utterly fantastic achievement in strategy games.

kubqo | July 3, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

I was never interested in strategy games, especially hex and grid based but XCOM stands out superbly with its simplified mechanics and genuinely attractive UI. Only flaw is the occasion frustrasion with the randomness.

70

Quickly becomes frustrating without anyone to play it with

kubqo | July 3, 2013 | Review of Worms: Revolution

First couple of hours in singleplayer are great deal of fun and a little bit of brain is involved as well. However, difficulty curve gets insane after a while which makes it kind of a try-fail puzzle game. I could not find a multiplayer game in a new shopping mod (which is great addition) even in the launch week.

80

Worth for the singleplayer

kubqo | July 3, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3: Complete Pack

I did not play the previous games in the series but i definetelly enjoyed this one. Gritty story, very inetersting character of Max Payne, bullet time and setting are all highly above average shooters. My only complaint would be fast-paced multiplayer which is boring and lacks variety.

90

Great alternative to city sandbox

kubqo | July 3, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

Sleeping Dogs focuses on melee combat instead of gunplay and it succeeds in doing so. It provides smooth movement throughout the city, great vehicle handling, lots of side activities (which are not always fun) and asian-action-movie like story.