Reviews by lightlurker

75

Solid

lightlurker | Oct. 17, 2013 | Review of Stacking

This game is interesting, simple, clean in design and could be played by different ages. It is enjoyable, but not necessarily the best or worse game out there, its rather average when it comes to the actual game play. That being said there are three solutions to just about every puzzle and hidden secret dolls that can add for replay value. Probably best to get in the humble bundle or on sale.

90

Zombies! Worth your time

lightlurker | Oct. 17, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

This game is good, the story telling is better than I have seen in most. That being said, its not a fluff piece. So this isn't the game you kick back with on a sunday afternoon, this is a game to played with the lights on and with reflexes sharp. Those life (or rather game) changing options can come at you with the speed of a car and you better be prepared. This keeps the drama tense and the viewer on ones toes. If that sounds interesting, I recommend you get this game, even if you don't like zombies, as the story telling is the key aspect.

77

Little long in the tooth but still worth playing

lightlurker | July 16, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

This is a game that is best played with a friend, some of the cut scenes can get a little tedious and speaking to the NPC's can take really long if you want to go through most of the options, having someone to talk to through it makes it easier. The fighting is fun, you essentially get two characters in one when you play the elemental which is enjoyable. I think it is a game that is worth buying when its on sale, and is still pretty decent when it isn't.

85

Deathtrap the awesome

lightlurker | July 14, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack

When you get this character who you are really getting is Deathtrap the epic robot with a bonus of Gaige, not the other way around. He is incredibly powerful and most of Gaige's skill tree points take him from powerful to insane. I initially was on the fence about getting this character but I don't regret it now. Still ten bucks is quite a bit for a new class, I'd recommend waiting until the pack goes on sale and then getting DT and her.

95

Casual gamers can fall in love with this game too

lightlurker | July 14, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

If you are a casual gamer and thinking about dipping your toe into a game with action but don't know where to start, pick borderlands! It is easy to understand, has brilliant gameplay and is incredibly humorous. Also it is one of the best games to play with friends because you get the same plot line but monsters get tougher and you'll find you level up quicker. Also, there is no fall damage so the delight you can get just from leaping off of cliffs without harm is a huge bonus. Get this game!

85

In the heart of the old country

lightlurker | July 14, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3: Monte Vista (NA)

This world is a pleasant surprise, it has a lot of warmth and character to it. The parks make for beautiful pictures. It makes you have the feeling that you are in Italy, full of sims who hold long grudges but also have an incredible amount of passion. One of the best items in the world is the pizza stove, there is even a location where you can dine on pizza with other sims. This is a world that can win over people who usually love seeing lush greens. Still, it isn't the same as an expansion so buy it on sale.

85

A must have

lightlurker | July 14, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3: Seasons (NA)

I think the only thing wrong with this expansion is that it is an expansion.

It feels like it should have been apart of the base game because it adds so much to the environment of the game. Who knows, maybe we'll get that in the sims 4! But for now, this is a solid expansion, it adds a new way of seeing the game. You won't get new careers or locations, but you will get to build snowmen, enjoy costume parties, kiss a sim at the kissing booth, jump in puddles, tan in the sun and go for a swim, and thats just the beginning! I wouldn't buy it at full price, but this is an expansion that will add something to any world.

90

Fall in love with family again

lightlurker | July 13, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3: Generations (NA)

The downside of this expansion, you don't get a new town.

Now thats a pretty big downside admittedly, that is one of my favorite parts of expansions. You may also say that the reputation system isn't a bonus because it has pretty much been added to the base game and can be at times annoying. However, its upside is that it brings something no other expansions has done. It has made me eager to have teenage sims, that is something worth buying. The interactions of pranks, the chemistry set, the prom, the mood swings, learning how to drive, Just with that generation alone this game is worth adding to your collection. The imaginary friends also make delightful companions. It is often one of the cheaper expansions and when it is on sale it is incredible. I would recommend this expansion to anyone getting bored with the day to day ways of sims.

75

Careers that make you work

lightlurker | July 7, 2013 | Review of The Sims 3: Ambitions (NA)

This expansion will add a lot to your game. Now depending on how you play the game this can be a good or bad thing. Personally I like seeing the interactions more than I like pursuit of careers and I was a little disappointed by the amount of energy the jobs took. You need to really focus on making sure your sim can make it through the day, make sure they are fed, won't be sleeping on the job, go to the washroom, talk to work friends and manage to drive over to do their missions. It makes it more realistic and demanding. Now while I didn't find it my cup of tea I certainly can see why others would enjoy it. The new skills add quite a bit to the game, inventing can be very exciting, I really like seeing what you end up with. Making a simbot yourself can be quite the challenge but thankfully your lifetime rewards includes one, they are excellent maids and can help out with the kids. The female simbots are less attractive but the male simbots have a certain charm to them. I would recommend this for those who want to play sims 3 with a more micromanaging style. Over all its a solid expansion.