Reviews by lizardspenguin

100

Possibly the Greatest Game Ever Made

lizardspenguin | Oct. 2, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

This was my favorite game from my childhood days. I would love to see them do a remake of this game with next-gen graphics. Maybe someday... Until then, this game still feels just as masterful now as it did when I played it 16 years ago. Great story with characters that drive the game. A very well made fighting system with the Summons, Materia, and having to collect AP to master them. A nice sized open world map that gives you room to explore. This game just had it all. I recommend this game to all RPG fans for sure.

40

Disappointing...

lizardspenguin | Oct. 2, 2014 | Review of Pro Evolution Soccer 2014

I've played Pro Evolution/Winning Eleven for years. I grabbed this one when it was on sale for $16 here. I wish I could get that money back now. I'm not sure what Konami was trying to do, but they completely ruined this game for me. To start off with, everything feels slow in this game. If you play a perfect through ball to your star player, he will get run down every time by a defender. It doesn't matter who you are, if the ball is at your players feet, they run like they are pulling a bag of bricks. The game also lack the great gameplay control I've come to expect from Pro Evolution over the years. It felt like they took everything that has worked for the game for the past 10 years and scrapped it. Puts me in a tough spot now, because I'm not too much of a FIFA fan either. I hope Pro Evo gets back to it's roots when they release the next game because this one is just flatout painful...

80

Great game set in a cyberpunk futuristic world

lizardspenguin | Oct. 2, 2014 | Review of Remember Me

I grabbed this game when it was on sale for $4.50 with the promotion code. I really hadn't heard much about it, but figured I'd give it a try. I actually ended up really enjoying it. The graphics and audio in the game are on point. Especially if you are playing the game with a good headset. I wasn't a huge fan of the combat system at first, but it gradually grew on me as I played deeper into the game and all the climbing gave me the feeling I was playing an old Prince of Persia game. To me, the main gripe I have about this game was not being able to interact with the people around you and the environment. The developers did a great job creating this cyberpunk world, but only give you the option to run on a linear set path. The lack of any kind of an open world feel to the game bothered me some. Overall, I would recommend this game to friends though especially if they can grab it for the price I did. Great game, but had so much more potential. Hopefully there will be a second game :)

95

Great Multiplayer Military Shooter

lizardspenguin | Nov. 7, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 4 (NA)

Battlefield 4 is a great online multiplayer shooter. Nothing like making a squad with a bunch of your buddies and watching each others back in a chaotic battlefield. I was also blown away by the graphics in this game. I play with an HD Radeon 7970 3GB of Video RAM, 16GB RAM, and a 3.4GHz i7 Quad Core processor with the games video settings on Ultra and it feels like they covered every detail on the multiplayer maps. Weather changing, buildings falling, fully destructible environments all in the middle of matches. The tons of unlockable weapons and accessories keep you hooked as well. While the main reason for me purchasing any Battlefield game is the online multiplayer, I was pleasantly surprised by the single player campaign. The single player campaign was short, but sweet with what I thought I was a very good ending. I don't want to go into specifics because I don't want to give spoilers, but if you are a fan of FPS you'll more than likely enjoy it.

93

Took a chance and loved this game.

lizardspenguin | Nov. 7, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

This game didn't look very interesting to me at first glance. A friend of mine played through it and finally persuaded me to give it a try. I was hooked in 5 minutes. I thought the narration of the main characters actions as you play was very unique and added a touch to the game. Not to mention the soundtrack for the game was right on point. The game also had a great combination of weapons and upgrades. If you're on the fence about this game as I was, just take the leap and give it a try. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised.

91

Excellent Army Strategy Shooter

lizardspenguin | Nov. 7, 2013 | Review of Full Spectrum Warrior Complete

I played these games back when they came out about a decade ago and loved them. When I saw them on Greenmangaming, I had to grab them especially with the great bundle sale price. Playing cover to cover and ordering your squad into position to flank and take out enemies is very enjoyable. I recommend these games for anybody that loves military shooters.

85

Fun Basketball Game

lizardspenguin | Oct. 22, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K13

I have played every NBA 2K game going back to the dreamcast. I have always found this series the most entertaining and exciting bball game on the market. Animations look natural, commentating is pretty good, and the dunks are exciting. The presentation is okay. The intros leading into the games are pretty good, but the generic half time show doesn't match it. The coaches on the sideline look strange sometimes too. They always seem to have a blank awkward stare on their faces. I feel like the cpu defense has been dulled down a little compared to 2k11 & 2k12. It makes for a more enjoyable experience and exciting plays, but games are still competitive. I managed to grab this during a 24 hour sale for $4 so I feel like I easily got my moneys worth :) I would give it a 90, but I'll have to drop it down to an 85 just because they feature Justin Bieber in the game...