Reviews by lucaswrite

92

My first, and favorite beat-em-up of all time.

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Streets of Rageā„¢ 2

Streets of Rage 2 can be described as a game in which you pick one out of four very cool characters, and take it to the streets to beat some people up. All characters have their unique special moves, and each of my friends has their own personal favorite. The art style of the game is beautiful, and the environment constantly changes. Enemies vary from goons to fatties to scientists to muscle men, and each one is fun to take out. The game gets even better with a friend, but is still definitely playable alone. The whole game is a thrill ride, and right up to the final boss, you'll be having fun pummeling the baddies. If you like beat-em-ups, definitely get this game, and if you're looking to try one out, start here.

92

A very well done reboot.

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

I've always loved Tomb Raider, and ever since this game was originally announced, I've been looking forward to it. As much as I personally overhyped it, the game lived up to all my expectations. I've always idolized Lara Croft, but she's the most likable in this entry. Throughout the game, you'll see how Lara adapts and survives. Every weapon is fun to use, and Lara is one of the most lovable protagonist's since Gordan Freeman. The environment's are beautiful, and the gameplay is fluid. The adventure is one hell of an experience, and whatever happens to Lara, you feel for her on another level.

A really good game, and I look forward to more installments.

90

A gem that stayed under the radar.

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

Play it for the story. That's what my bottom line advice is going to be about Spec Ops: The Line. When I saw so many people recommending it, I was confused. I never heard of the game! When I started, it was pretty slow. I couldn't see what was so amazing, and that's because the game's story is what makes it shine. The game plays like a really solid generic shooter, and you won't find anything to special that stands out. Where the game does stand out though is the story. Decisions, consequences, and moral questioning will have you playing this game to the end. The game will have you questioning yourself constantly, and it's a unique story experience that you won't find anywhere else.

I don't want to tell you anymore about anything about this game, because the less you know before you go in, the better your experience is going to be. This is a movie of a game.

82

If you love Sonic, you'll love this game

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Sonic Adventureā„¢ 2

I'm a diehard fan of the Sonic series, and I absolutely admire this game. If you've never played a Sonic game, you might not see what's so special about this certain title. Back in the days of the Gamecube and PS2 you would've loved it, but now it just doesn't hold up the same. But to people who enjoyed it then, or have enjoyed Sonic, it certainly does. The music is amazing, and the levels are creative. Some levels are quite annoying and get really repetitive though, but it's not nearly as bad as Sonic 06 or Sonic Unleashed. Check this Sonic game out, it's probably one of the top 3 Sonic games of all time.

90

One of a kind game.

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Mirror's Edge (NA)

Mirror's Edge offers a very unique experience. You play as Faith, a freerunner that parkours on the cities rooftops. You jump up walls, slide down slopes, run across buildings, and leap far distances. The whole game is a non-stop action packed adventure that will have you feeling exhilarated every second of the way. The combat comes every once in a while, and I had no complaints what so ever. For how fun the parkouring is, the gunplay and combat equally accompany the gameplay. No other game plays like this, and everyone should give it a shot.

75

Solid sequel to Resident Evil 4

lucaswrite | Aug. 3, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 5

This is an alright game when compared to Resident Evil 4. At points I wish it was more survival then action, but zombies are still definitely present. It's definitely fun blowing the zombies brains apart, but a couple things hold this game back. The AI's annoying, and if you don't have a friend to play with, the game's rating drops a bit. There's more action than survival, as I've stated, and I like the horror aspect of the Resident Evil series. This game is still fun to play, since there's a lot of weapons to use, and it's simply fun to annihilate zombies. A couple bosses are present throughout the game, and some of them are just plain annoying. Especially the last boss. The quick time events are just awful. The first time I played through them it was extremely hard. I think it was because my partner wasn't doing it fast enough, but still it took us hours.

Any zombie or resident evil fan will really enjoy this game, and I put it ahead of Dead Island, but behind Left 4 Dead 1 and 2.

83

A premier fighting game.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

I love all fighting games. Street Fighter, Tekken, Soul Calibur, Primal Rage, and Mortal Kombat. This Mortal Kombat is the best one the series has seen in a long time. The game plays like other Mortal Kombat titles, but is updated and a little more fluent. All fighting games have different ways of controlling, and Mortal Kombat is distinguished in it's fighting style. Personally I prefer Tekken, then Street Fighter, then Mortal Kombat, but everyone's got their own personal preference. If you've ever played a Mortal Kombat game, and you're interested in this at all, get it. If you like fighting games, give this game a chance.

90

Up there with the best of all time

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Max Payne

This game is classic. It's noir style sets you in a mood, and soon you'll fall in love with the main character Max Payne's story. You instantly feel for the guy as his family is lost, and he's on a mission for justice. The gameplay is slick, as you'll run through the dirty streets and buildings of New York shooting up baddies with all kinds of weapons. Bullet time is in this game, and you'll be able to utilize it as you jump from corners and walls to fill the enemies with lead. Dual pistols, shotguns, and sub-machine guns are all fun to use. Filling an enemy with bullets is just so satisfying in this game, and the story sucks you in. You'll want to keep playing, you'll want to keep adventuring into the New York darkness that the game has to offer.

85

A co-op adventure that everyone should experience.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Lost Planet 2

Playing this game with a friend is just incredible. The environments range from snowy hills to infested forests to ruined cities to 500mph desert trains. This game is an absolute blast! There's a variety of weapons that the players can use to take on the creatures the game throws at them. And the main draw of the game are the exceptionally huge bosses the game has to offer. Some of the biggest bosses ever in video game history are in Lost Planet 2. And you're just a soldier with access to creative and intuitive weapons. With a group of people, taking on a boss the size of the empire state building is a jolt. You have access to mech-suits, giant laser rifles, huge machine guns, and bolt cannons.

If you don't have someone to play with, the game loses a lot of credibility. It's really not so fun taking on the giant bosses by yourself, or taking on different terrains by yourself. A group is best, and even just 1 friend to tag along is cool. Check this out with a friend.

85

A Co-op Blast

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Kane & Lynch: Dead Men

I played this when it first came out, and honestly the bottom-line is this game was and is underappreciated. With a friend, this game is awesome! You control Kane or Lynch as you go through multiple scenarios such as escaping the cops, infiltrating night clubs, and my personal favorite: robbing a bank. One of the reasons this game comes off so likable is the fact that it's a down to earth, gritty, realistic possibility. Two criminals, with common weapons go crazy and wreak havoc. That coupled with the constantly changing environment makes this game enjoyable. One moment you're shooting out the back of the van, the next you're breaking into a highrise, then you're in shanghai trying to complete a drug deal.

Single payer is alright and is still a playable game, but the addition of a partner to your playthrough instantly adds at least 20 points to the rating.

Get this game if you have a friend to play it with, get this game if you want a 3rd person shooter to run through.

88

One of the first great games I have ever played

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Golden Axe

I remember the early days of the Sega Genesis. All those black cartridges seemed like amazing little adventures to me. I used to pop in a game, and enter a new world. Of course gaming has changed since then, but Golden Axe still holds up to me. Each character has it's own unique merit (my personal favorite being the elf) and each level has it's own special feel to it. The characters include a barbarian, a warrior princess, and an elf. Each one has their own magical powers and different weapons. Every person I play with has their own favorite character, and it's guaranteed you'll love one of em.

The gameplay is extremely fun, and with another player, the fun only multiplies. Throughout different levels there's mythical beasts to take control of and use to your advantage that add to the fun of the gameplay. The bosses on each level are intimidating, and rewarding to beat. Between levels, a fun little mini game keeps the player(s) satisfied with extra health and magic potions up for grabs. Also, in multiplayer, friendly fire is on... so things can get pretty hectic with a friend.

If you love classic games, beat-em-ups, or just a good time, get this game.

95

Both great expansions that add onto the godly GTA IV

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Episodes from Liberty City

Most people praise Gay Tony, but forget about The Lost and the Damned (TLaD). Honestly, I enjoyed TLaD more than Gay Tony. But they were both amazing.

GTA IV was more popular back when TLaD came out, and I remember having gang wars in Free Mode as bikers. The customization led to biker gangs forming, and Free Mode got 10x funner, even though it was already amazing. TLaD offers a multitude of new weapons, my personal favorites being the grenade launchers and the machine pistol. And most of the new bikes were really cool. The story was definitely good, but the additions to multiplayer were where TLaD shined.

Gay Tony... was amazing. It was honestly probably better than TLaD, but I hold a little bias because I just had better times with better people during TLaD. That's not to say Gay Tony wasn't bad, because man was it amazing. It added parachutes. PARACHUTES. That alone is enough to make it good DLC. But on top of that, there's sticky bombs, a giant tank, and extra weapons like a p90, golden uzi, and a light machine gun. A better protagonist, and night clubs make Gay Tony probably the better expansion, but don't rule out the other one, because as I've said before: they're both great.

100

One of the best of all time

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

Imagine an open world, in which you can do what you want. You're CJ, a gangster with a troubled past returning home to a scattered family. You're goal is to reunite the Grove street gang, and take back what's yours. If you've never heard of Grand Theft Auto, I feel sorry for you, but you should immediately buy this game. You'll be able to freely roam the world of fictitious Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Las Vegas. Out of all the Grand Theft Auto games, this one holds true with great music, amazing characters, the biggest open world, fun customization, and a cool protagonist. There's tons of cars, weapons, and things to do in San Andreas. You can fly a plane and parachute down on an army base. You can take a semi and try to make a break into Area 69. You can search for bigfoot in the huge forest that exists in the game. All this doesn't even count the main storyline, which is by the way amazing. San Andreas probably has the best storyline out of all the GTA games, because the characters are so convincing, and there's so many twists and horrors that exist along the plotline. But honestly, I didn't even play this game when it came out, I played it in 2007 for the first time, and I still play it to this day. I can't wait till GTA V so I can spend even more time in Los Santos (Los Angeles). As soon as you stop reading this review, you would be doing yourself a dishonor if you didn't get this game.

100

One of the greatest... on consoles

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

I absolutely admire this game with all my heart. It has given me so many memories, I simply can't remember them all. I have played this game in and out, up and down, and over and over. The environment in GTA IV is just outstanding. The city is bustling, and every time I launch up the game, I'm just excited to do anything. Single player is outstanding, and multiplayer is one of the greatest things ever. Now, before I continue I must say I can't vouch for PC, I can only vouch for the 360. I've heard problems with the PC and how GTA IV is not that good of a PC port. Also, I don't know how well multiplayer works on the PC. But back in the days of the early 360, when you entered a multiplayer lobby and everyone was talking, it was a blast.

Just imagine you're in New York City. You have access to any common weapon you can think of, and you can take control and wreak havoc on anyone you want. You can steal any car you please, and just adventure into any part of the city. This is GTA IV. You do what you want, and you have a blast. The main storyline is great, but the game is so amazing, that even after the storyline, I spent another 500+ hours on this game. Just roaming around in Free Mode with friends alone can give you some solid playing time.

Please, get this game. It's one of the top ten games of 2000-2010.

97

Contendor for my favorite GTA game

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Vice City got me into 80's. It propelled me to be interested in 80's pop culture. With an amazing protagonist in Tommy Vercetti, the best radio in GTA history, and a beautiful city filled beautiful characters and cars, Vice City is easily one of my favorite games of all time. I used to play this all the time, even after I beat the main story. It's hard for me to choose, but I'd honestly say Vice City, San Andreas, and GTA IV are all tied for the best GTA games of all time. Just thinking about the streets of Vice City make me happy. In my mind I can run through the backstreets, and each and every corner of the city. The only downside on the PC is that when you're in a car you can't use your mouse to move the camera.

I LOVE THIS GAME.

88

An amazing sandbox game, but least best of the bunch.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto III

I love this game, ever since I played it when it debuted on the PS2. Tons of fond memories have been created by this game, and GTA 3 still holds up to this day. Unfortunately if I had to convince anyone to start playing Grand Theft Auto, I wouldn't tell them to start here. I started on 3, but that's because no other game was out. Vice City and San Andreas both have better music, characters, and environment. As well with protagonists with a little more likability. Not to say I don't like Claude, he's awesome, but CJ and Tommy will always be closer to me. And GTA IV is a better recommendation to most people because of how recent it is. Anyway, back to GTA 3. I love the music, the characters, and the environment, but I'm just saying it's not the best out of the GTA series. The gameplays similar to Vice City and San Andreas, just a little weaker. The story and missions aren't as fun and exciting as the other grand theft auto's, but they're still fun.

I might be making it sound like I don't like this game, but I'm just using this review to compare this game to the other Grand Theft Autos. I love the entire series, I love this game.

100

From someone who considers Fallout 3 to be one of the best.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

Fallout New Vegas is not just great, it's grand. Following Fallout 3 is definitely not an easy task, but New Vegas gets it done. An entirely new world to explore is just what I wanted after playing Fallout 3. And what better than Las Vegas and its surroundings. What I love about this game and Fallout 3 is the environment. There's so much to explore. So many monsters to find, so much loot to be had, so many quests to solve, and so many characters to meet. The companions are great in this game, they each have their own quest they'd like to complete. The companions run a little deeper than Fallout 3, and the quests also have a little more depth. If you liked Fallout 3, you'll definitely like this game, if you've never played Fallout, try this or Fallout 3, they're both amazing games.

95

Scary FPS with good gunplay

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R

Let me just say that F.E.A.R is probably the most memorable FPS horror game I've ever played. It's at the premier level of horror games, as I often found myself scared to turn a corner, or walk down the hallway. The game is littered with jump scares and creepy rooms, and sitting next to a computer screen makes it hard to continue down certain paths sometimes. One of the games many antagonists, Alma, is a creepy little girl who constantly blocks the way and nearly scares the player to death. Besides the horror aspect of F.E.A.R, the gameplay is extremely fun. There's a bullet time ability the player can use to kill enemy soldiers that plague the buildings, and tons of cool weapons are available for the player to use. It's really smooth when it comes to shooting bad guys, and it doesn't get old.

If you're looking for more shooting and less horror, go for F.E.A.R 2, but I think F.E.A.R's story is amazing, and playing 2 without 1 would be unfortunate.

75

I remember first playing this game.

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Ecco the Dolphin

It was like a brand new adventure in a wide open sea. I can't believe I was able to figure out that you were supposed to jump up really high in the sky in order to pass the first puzzle. As a kid, it felt rewarding but as a previous reviewer stated, this game is notoriously challenging. As a kid I wasn't able to pass much of anything on this game, just explore the open sea. It was fun for awhile, but eventually got old. As of now, the puzzles are hard. If you're a fan of older games, give this one a go. But I can see it being really hard to get into, especially as it has a steep learning curve.

100

One of my personal favorite FPS's of all time

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Crysis Maximum Edition (NA)

I've played Crysis again, and again, and again. Rarely is there a single player game, nevertheless a first person shooter that has me playing into the wee hours of the morning. There's so much nostalgia that Crysis offers for me. It's one of the first shooter's I've played that offered an open world scenario for me to take advantage of. I felt like a superhero the first time I took on a group of bad guys in Crysis. I can run through my head from beginning to end the journey I took in Crysis multiple times. With all the characters I've connected. Years later I remember Jester, Prophet, Aztec, Nomad, and Psycho. I personally connected with them on my nanosuit journey. The graphics were amazing for the time and still hold up. The gameplay mechanics are on a different level of awesome, and will keep anyone satisfied. I could play Crysis over and over again, like I've done before.

70

From the point of view of someone whose only played #4

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Devil May Cry 4

This is the only Devil May Cry game I've played. All in all, I'd say that I enjoyed it. I played it in the early days of the 360 when this game first came out, and I have to say it's a pretty fun hack and slash. There's giant bosses to kill, and pretty grueling monsters to slay. The game offers relatively mind-numbing gameplay at times, but for the most part it's alright. The story is somewhat forgettable, but that doesn't deter the game from being good. It's all about the gameplay in Devil May Cry, and there's enough variety to play till the end and not get bored. Get this game if you're into hack and slashers.

50

An amazing experience on a console, as for the PC? Eh...........

lucaswrite | Aug. 2, 2013 | Review of Bully & Manhunt Pack

Bully's a good time. Manhunt's a good time. But when I first played these games it was on a PS2. Buying them again all these years later to revisit them is just a depressing tale. First, I boot up manhunt, because it offers more personal nostalgia for me. I get halfway through the tutorial level, and BAM. I can't proceed any further. A very unique glitch occurs. A gate that I'm supposed to walkthrough, closes. I research the problem, and it turns out that nearly every single Windows 7 64 bit user has encountered this problem. I find a patch, and decide to check it out. I run it and everything, excited to continue in this blast from the past. I get to the gate, and... it closes again. I tried uninstalling and everything that people mentioned, and it turns out Rockstar even said themselves that they're not going to bother to fix it. Well... I concluded that it's just not going to happen on the PC. It really makes me mad that steam continues to have this for sale...

As for bully, it's a great game. On the ps2 it's amazing, on the PC, I personally believe it lacks in control. I know some people workaround it by assigning different keys, but I just plugged in a controller and it was alright. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this pack as Manhunt doesn't work at all, and Bully's better on the ps2, as Manhunt is.

96

Blown Away

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

I loved Arkham Asylum, and this is just a step up. With a dark open-world to explore as Batman, how could this go wrong? Well, let me tell you, it doesn't. It's one of the best open-world experiences gaming has to offer, and if you're a fan of batman, or anything gaming related, you're going to love this game. What's dark and lovable about Arkham Asylum, get's transferred to Arkham city, with additional love. More puzzles, more environment to explore, and a wider assortment of gadgets to use and baddies to kill. If you've even had a slight temptation to get this game, maybe because you wanted to play as batman, or you've seen the trailer, well... your intuition was correct. This game is amazing and it deserves every penny you invest into it.

80

I love Back to the Future, and I love Coco

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Coco McFly

The only thing I wish this skin would've done, was add some movie references to Back to the Future. I mean, come on??? I would've dished out double the money for some references to the DeLoreon, or for her to yell 1.21 Gigawatts whenever she fires her ball. But nope... kind of dissapointed, but still it's a great skin.

90

My favorite out of all the skins

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Bumble Gnaw Skin

With gnaw being one of my favorite characters, and one of the first I was good with, I absolutely love this skin. I gave one to my friend whose favorite character is gnaw, and he died of joy.

85

Probably the best Raellyn Skin out there.

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts - Bionic Raelynn

Not my favorite skin out of all the characters, but personally I think it looks amazing. Goes to show how great the skins and design of the characters are. Anyway, it's probably the better out of the two available Raelynn skins. If you love playing as Raelynn, get this.

100

Hands down my favorite MOBA, one of the best I own on steam too.

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

Awesomenauts. A platforming MOBA. I love absolutely everything about this game. I love every single character. I love every level. I love everyone who plays Awesomenauts. I love playing with friends, I love the music, I love the abilities, I love the fluent control, I love the design and feel of the game. This game is awesome.

Awesomenauts starts you off with a couple characters, and everyone has their own special favorite. Eventually you end up unlocking all characters and at first I stuck to one person. I was afraid to try someone new and suck. But once you start trying different characters, you find out you're better with different people. You end up getting really good with nearly all the characters.

Playing 3v3 with 5 other people you know is one of the best experiences any game these days has to offer. The fun you'll have is insurmountable. Get this game. Seriously, get it right now. If you don't, you're missing out. REALLY. Get it.

70

3 campagins offering a fun experience, overall an alright game.

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

In Alien Vs. Predator, three different campaigns offer the player a chance to play as the Alien, Predator, or Marine. All three have their own unique twists and levels of playability. Each person is going to have their own personal preference in which campaign was the best, and which one was the worst. For example, I loved the Predator campaign and I thought the marine one was alright, but I didn't care much for the Alien run through. I think the controls of the Alien campaign were wonky, and I constantly found myself stuck on where I was supposed to go. Whenever I came across a predator as an alien, I was just wishing that I was the predator. The only fun redeeming part of being an alien for me was killing the marines, but it got old after awhile. The predator campaign on the other hand had you feel like a superhero, but not too overpowered. I guess I've always just wanted to play as a predator and I was a little biased. The marine was alright and played like a standard shooter. If I was going to give this game a rating solely based on the marine campaign, it would just be like an extremely generic shooter, but with the addition of Aliens and Predators. This game is alright for $15, but there are many other games for this price that will give you more game time and replayability.

85

An enrapturing atmosphere coupled with fun gameplay

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

Alan Wake is beautiful. It's dark, twisted, and lovely all in one. The scenario is perfect, a darkness follows a writer in a quiet mountain town, and you control this writer as you witness everything go down. The creepiness factor in this game is present, but it's not as scary as games such as F.E.A.R, Doom 3, and Dead Space. Unlike all these other games, along with the scary aspects of the game, it offers a light side every once in a while. But surely, there's tons of darkness in this game, and a few times I found myself afraid to move on to the next room. The gameplay is addicting in Alan Wake, and throughout the whole game I didn't find myself bored. It's a unique challenge fighting to fight darkness with light, and it helps set the tone of good vs. evil. Get this game if you're a horror fan, get this game if you love adventures.

89

Classic 1950's "Free Roam"

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

First off let me just say, I loved this game. The story drove me to fall for the main character, Vito, and motivated me to get behind his cause. The story and atmosphere are the two big factors that make this game amazing, but it could've improved slightly in some areas.

What I loved:

The story, the characters. Vito's best friend Joe makes for an amazing character that helps propel the story.

The environment. It really sets you in the late 40's, early 50's and it's beautiful environment of cars and buildings also helps set the tone. But unfortunately a lack of interaction with the city makes the game a little shallow.

The playboy collectables. It is just amazing to collect one of these HD centerfold pictures around the city and looking at them. It's one of the best side-quest collectable missions a game has ever offered.

What I disliked:

As I've mentioned, the lack of interaction the city has to offer is pretty depressing. When compared to games like Grand Theft Auto, Saints Row, True Crime, and Red Dead Redemption, Mafia 2 is low on the scale as far as world interaction goes. It just makes the city feel empty, and depressing.

Other than that, the game's story and missions are extremely fulfilling. I love this game, but it did have the potential to be one of the best ever.

78

From someone who loved the original Kane and Lynch...

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

Alright, long story short: I loved the original Kane and Lynch. It might be because it was one of the first games I got for the 360, and I had someone to play it with all the way through who also enjoyed it, but it also might be because it was a fun game.

Anyways, onto Dog Days. Once again I had someone to play it with, and it was a different experience. It still had the fun gameplay from the first game, but things were a little bit different. Firstly, I didn't really like the environment. In Kane and Lynch 1, there were so many different settings, like robbing a bank, infiltrating a night club, and running from the cops. In this game it feels all the same, set in the dirty streets of Shanghai. The whole game has a feeling of Shanghai and I just don't like it.

What I do love in this game is the multiplayer. The heist game mode is extremely fun. Basically, you and several other random people online rob a bank or a vault or someone with a lot of money, and then try to escape. Everyone alive at the end shares the earnings. After you've robbed the money, you can choose to kill your teammates for a bigger share. This makes for a fun time in the multiplayer universe. The thing I sincerely don't like about this mode though (and this was on the 360 I have no idea if it's the same on the PC) is that you can't play this mode ranked with your friends. That sucks!

It might sound like I hate this game, but it turned out to be alright, especially if you liked the first Kane and Lynch. Give it a go if you have a friend to play it with.

90

An amazing co-op experience

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

With a friend, this game is an absolute jolt. You and your partner will end up running through caves killing monsters with a great selection of weapons, solving creative, quirky puzzles, and collecting rewarding artifacts that will keep you're instinctive motivation going. If this game lacked co-op, it's rating would probably drop to a 60 or 70, because the experience would definitely be lacking. But you and your partner will find yourselves constantly relying on each other to pass certain obstacles, and save each others lives. And that's a good thing, because it helps build the cooperative adventurous atmosphere that helps make the game thrive so much. Each character has their own unique abilities and weapons, such as a spear or dual pistols, but there is still a bunch of weapons available for both characters to share.

If you're looking for a deep, fun-filled adventure with a friend, than you really need this game. It'll pass time like no other, and you won't want to put it down.

90

An extremely unique experience when played with friends.

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Magicka

Co-op or competitive, when this game is played with friends, you're sure to have a great time. This game's fun factor comes straight from it's gameplay, and it's gameplay plays like no other game I've ever laid my hands on.

You play as a wizard who is capable of using a wide range of spells such as fire, water, rock blasts, electricity, and many more (my personal favorite being the lasers). The riveting aspect about the game is that the player is able to combine any of their spells together to make a variety of combinations which can potentially protect, heal, or wreak havoc on any player on the field. When four players are running around throwing spells here and there, the game is an absolute blast.

There is a couple different game modes, and all of them are compatible with multiplayer (which makes the game great). You and your friends can choose either story mode, a co-op defense mode, or an all-out versus mode. Out of all these, the latter two definitely offer the most hectic, fun time. A free-for-all battle with four different wizards throwing up all kinds of spells and trying to destroy each other is one of the best things green man gaming or steam has to offer. Get this game if you have friends to play it with, there's no question.

95

A challenging platformer based on skill and skill alone.

lucaswrite | Aug. 1, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Super Meat Boy is a game that offers an exhilarating playthrough without cheap tricks or blindsides. What you see is what you get, in other words: you're in for one hell of a grand, tough ride. With the exception of a certain boss, the entire game is packed with platforming fun that requires pure skill.

An amazing aspect of Super Meat Boy is the amount of levels and re-playability it has to offer. You'll die, die, and die some more. And when you die, it's not too frustrating because you can't wait to give it another try. Levels are so rewarding once you've completed them, and the variety and twists levels throw at the player don't get old, they get fresh.

If you've ever been a fan of any platforming game in the history of gaming, then Super Meat Boy is right up your alley. It takes the control of Super Mario, the speed of Sonic, and the creativity of Mega Man and throws it all into one lovable game. Just make sure you have a controller or gamepad to plug in, because a keyboard won't help much.