Reviews by lunarsilkdragon

70

Pretty good.

lunarsilkdragon | Aug. 9, 2015 | Review of ICY - PC

While I'm not as excited as another reviewer here seems to be, I still enjoy the game. The writing is good, so it keeps the game from being boring as some of these very text-heavy games can get. The combat does it's job for a Choose-you-own adventure game but is nothing to write home about, Atmosphere, art-direction and music is where this game shines. It does a really good job of setting the mood of a apocalyptic ice-filled world. I think that's probably most of what makes me come back to the game at night. I recommend you sit in a dark room, preferably with a lit candle and a blanket while you play this for maximum comfiness and immersion.

100

Great sequel, can't wait for full release.

lunarsilkdragon | Aug. 9, 2015 | Review of Killing Floor 2 - PC

I logged a LOT of hours into the first KF and I was very hyped for the sequel. So far, I must say it does not disappoint. Tight shooting mechanics, great levels, great graphics, GREAT gore and fun co-op. You can literally paint the wall with zedblood right now and in the future, they're gonna add a physics-system for the gore to make blood and gibs float around on the floor. With all that said, it is still in early access game and doesn't have too many maps right now and all the perks are not yet released. Still, I would recommend this game to everyone who likes shooters.

60

Good concept, execution could have been better.

lunarsilkdragon | Aug. 9, 2015 | Review of Counter Strike Global Offensive - PC

While I enjoy the overall concept of a tight, tactical multiplayer shooter, Valve really botched the shooting mechanics in this game. Quick rundown on the things I don't like about the shooting: *The bullet spread is just weird and it gets even weirder when you move and shoot at the same time. Obviously there needs to be bulletspread, but it just seems stupid that a bullet will miss your opponent by five meters just because you took a step to the side will shooting. *The hitboxes. I'll just refer to this gif: http://tinyurl.com/ozkopgz Admittedly, Valve have tweaked them and they are a lot better than on this gif, but they are still wonky. *Damage detection is weird. Some pistols take one shot to the head to kill, but like 10 shots in the body. Really? Seems like an attempt to artificially raise the skill ceiling to force people to headshot. I don't like that. Despite these points, the game can be fun. Although I personally can't play more than like 2 games in a row unless it's with friends. Still, might be worth it if you like these kind of games.

65

Classic japanese PC port

lunarsilkdragon | April 7, 2015 | Review of Dynasty Warriors 8 Xtreme Legends Complete Edition - PC

If you've played one, you've played them all. It's not much different in this game compared to the other installments in this series. That's not to say this is a bad game, quite the opposite. It's mad addictive and fun! Some new things in this installment is weapon affinities, an improvement of the story mode from DW7 (You play faction-based campaigns, not one campaign per character) and a kind of base-builder mode that's pretty fun. The game is dragged down by a horrible porting job. *The graphics are NOT up to par with this gen. The port is based on the PS3 version, not the PS4 one. The potential of the PC is wasted. *The game is also pretty badly optimized and FPS drops are common, *The out-of-the-box controls when using a xbox-controller or similar is VERY weird and my logitech controller didn't work at all. *Although I personally haven't had those problems, I've heard people complaining about crashed, especially on startup. Despite these things however, this is a pretty good and very fun game if you can stomach this kind of port. Hopefully the devs (or maybe the community) will try to fix these things over time. If you have a PS4, I would recommend you get this game for that instead of PC.

60

Good game - bad port

lunarsilkdragon | April 6, 2015 | Review of DEAD OR ALIVE 5 Last Round - PC

I'm almost exclusively a PC-gamer and therefore I'm pretty happy when the few console exclusive games I want to play are ported to PC. What doesn't make me happy, though, is when those ports suck. I really like this game. It has one of the best fighting systems of all the fighting games on the market at the moment. It really feels like there's weight behind the punches; something I feel is lacking in Tekken and Street Fighter for example. That's why it's so annoying that the graphics are on PS3 level, when they at least could have made it look as good as the PS4 version; the promised online mode is missing; there's weird FPS-locks in some parts of the game (isn't 60 FPS+ gaming one of the best things about the PC) and there are virtually no graphics options. I really hope the devs, with time, can fix all these issues. Maybe then the game can get a higher score from me.

75

Slightly less polished fantasy version of Civilization

lunarsilkdragon | April 6, 2015 | Review of Warlock Master of the Arcane Complete Edition - PC

Like the title says, it's very much a fantasy version of the civilization-series but maybe slightly less polished. When I bought the game on steam a few years ago (maybe half a year after release) I had some problems with crashes when trying to play, but a few patches fixed those problems, at least for me. If you've never played a game like this before, I would recommend you try the Civilization series first, but if you've played those and want something a bit different, you should try this. The magic system makes enough of a difference to change the experience quite a bit. Also, if you already own this game and just want the DLCs, you should buy it now when it's on sale, otherwise it isn't really worth it. The only DLCs you really need is the new gamemode and the new faction.

90

More of the same goodiness from the first Dark Souls.

lunarsilkdragon | May 4, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls II Post - PC

If you loved the first Dark Souls and Demon's Souls you will love this game. This is in many ways better that DaS. For example, the graphics are a lot better AND the game is better optimized. If you could run DaS, you can run DaS II, perhaps even with better settings (there are a lot more video settings this time around). The animations also feels a lot more fluid, but more importantly, they are not as long as the were in the first game. It doesn't take 10 seconds to drink an estus flask. Otherwise, it's not that different from the first game. Cool subtle story unfolding as you play, with lots of nice lore to pick up if you search hard enough; pretty good voice acting; beautiful enviroments; good, sparse soundtrack and a nice selection of weapons and armor to find. A nice addition is that you can see how many times you have died with the character you're currently playing as. My only 2 problems with the game is that the multiplayer still is a bit laggy, and the game overall doesn't seem quite as hard as the first, but it's not a huge difference.

80

Destruction is fun.

lunarsilkdragon | April 11, 2014 | Review of Renegade Ops - PC

I really recommend this to people looking for a good co-op experience. It's fun driving around in a car with your buddy and just...wreck some stuff. The game is seriously just about wrecking shit for points and trying to combo together to get more points. It sounds a bit simple on paper, but in reality it's actually quite fun. Especially with a bro as mentioned above. There a lot of different levels where you get different objectives, as well as some bonus objectives, to complete. The levels look pretty much the same though, so some people might start to find it boring after a while. The graphics are really nice. Explosions (which there are a LOT of in this game) look very nice. I played this with a controller so I can't speak for people using a keyboard, but the car controls were a bit clunky and it was hard to steer your car in tight positions. There is also an upgrade system for the different characters that you can play as, but it's not very innovative or exciting and could have used some more work, but it does it's job I guess.

90

Great driving game.

lunarsilkdragon | April 11, 2014 | Review of GRID Overflow 1 - PC

There isn't really that much to say about this game other than that it is one of the best driving experiences I've had in a videogame. The feel of the cars, meaning the weight, the handling and speed, are perfect. The driving in itself is not overly arcadey and not too much simulator-like, but a perfect mix of both. You can also decide a lot for yourself how much of an arcadey feeling you want since there are numerous driving-assist settings. The only thing I can complain about is that I would prefer if there was some sort of customization system for the cars. It would be fun to customize the look and performance of the cars, but I guess that's not the biggest thing that makes a racing game good.

90

Not for the faint of heart.

lunarsilkdragon | April 11, 2014 | Review of Red Orchestra 2 Heroes of Stalingrad - PC

This is the first FPS I have played that really captures the horror and tension of being in a warzone. I have never felt bad for mowing down countless enemies in other games, but when I come head-to-head with a german (or russian) down in a bunker, stab him in the throat with my bayonet and hear him desperately calling out for his mother while he chokes on his own blood - I actually feel bad. Kinda. If that doesn't get to you, then maybe an epic last charge with your russian brothers towards the german lines in defense of your motherland - your friends getting ripped to pieces by machine-gun fire and mortars all around you - will. If THAT doesn't get to you, then maybe a tense sniper duel with an enemy sniper in the ruins of Stalingrad hopefully ending with that satisfying sound of a bullet penetrating the enemy's helmet will. It's somehow equally satisfying when you look out the window and the last thing you see is a distant muzzle flash before your screen turns black. If none of these things are things you want in a game, you are not human and you should not play this game.