Reviews by maddocks2379

96

Brilliant

maddocks2379 | Jan. 22, 2014 | Review of Sleeping Dogs

Sleeping dogs is one of the best GTA style games available and in my opinion is better than GTA (not played GTAV) the biggest standout feature is the close combat which is the same as the batman arkham series and flows nearly as good.

The story is good, graphics are great and its a decent length. In my opinion its a must buy game

93

Excellent Idea

maddocks2379 | Jan. 22, 2014 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Nightmare in North Point

having really enjoyed sleeping dogs i decided to buy some DLC (i normally avoid DLC as its normally not worth it).

The nightmare in northpoint DLC is actually very good and does a good job of recreating chinese cinema with the hopping vampires and style of clothing.

its not a long DLC 3-4 hours to complete 100% with the achievements but its worth its cost

93

great little game

maddocks2379 | Dec. 21, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

for such a cheap game this has sooo much replay value, its like a mix between zelda 1 and a rouge like game, random dungeons, items, bosses and 1 life and its game over.

the game is tricky but fun, it would be better if there were some explanation of items and control support without an extra download

88

Good

maddocks2379 | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3

i havn't play any of the earlier series and i don't think that has really affected my enjoyment of this game, the graphics are good and ran well, the main story is interesting (the side missions are a bit rubbish and pointless) and nothing beats bow and arrow takedowns.

This reminded me a little of crysis 1, the sneaking in the jungle and approaching situations any way you wished but something just felt missing and im not sure what exactly, maybe it was the fact the enemy AI is awful or the repeating of the missions.

Good game but not amazing

94

Superb

maddocks2379 | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

i picked this up purely on reviews and internet chatter, im not a big fan of point and clicks like strong bad, sam and max nor am i a fan of the series, very boring and slow, but this game was great.

The thing that makes this game is the way your choices affect the story and the way people react towards you, plus you have to make some very tough decisions.

probably is in my top 10 games of 2013, but still im not interesting in getting back into the series

100

the 1st of the batman series, probably the greatest action game

maddocks2379 | May 13, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

Batman: Arkham Asylum is simply amazing, i missed this the first time around. I purchased Arkham city and fell in love with the story, Characters and gameplay.

AA was recently discounted on steam so i grabbed it and started playing and found the game is virtually identical to AC just in a more compacted playing area which probably plays better.

In my opinion The batman games are possibly the finest games made in recent times

88

Good rally game, very good graphics

maddocks2379 | May 13, 2013 | Review of DiRT 3

Dirt 3 is a good rally game with ok controls and excellent graphics. The game features a varying style of races. Timed stages, head to head, all out races & stunt tracks.

you can have different kinds of assists on the car like braking or just steering assist. If you are a fan of racing games and rally is your thing the dirt series is probably the best of its kind

94

Fantastic Story and open world game

maddocks2379 | May 13, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim is the latest and greatest entry to the Elder Scrolls series, you are the dragonborn, the one who can master the arts of the dragon shouts and its your job to hunt and kill the leader of the dragons, Alduin.

Skyrim features some beautiful graphics and terrain. The Gameplay is much like Oblivion but fine-tuned (i bored of oblivion and never managed to finish it)

Skyrim is a beauty to play till the end

90

Great Game

maddocks2379 | May 13, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

Just cause 2, The game responsible for me getting back into GTA styled games. This game was great.

Graphics for its time are good, the controls are ok (its tricky to steer vehicles on keyboard, and tricky to aim on Joypad) but the story is fun and there is plenty to find

78

Just not that exciting

maddocks2379 | May 12, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Oblivion, The 4th part of the Elder scrolls series. I havn't played any games that came before this one but it was on sale and it was highly recommended.

The game is big with plenty of missions and side projects to keep your interested but sadly not for long. I became bored on 2 playthroughs. i don't know why but i think i preferred the side missions than the actual main one.

The graphics are still ok if you download the HD pack, but the way the camera tries to enter NPC's nostrils when you talk to them and the dull lifeless sean bean make this a dull storyline.

If you wish skip this one and get skyrim, its far better

90

Good, Good, Good

maddocks2379 | May 12, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

I missed Assassin's creed the first time around as i heard some shocking reviews of the first one i just ignored it. my brother in law showed me Assassin's creed 3 and i thought it looked good. I picked up AC2, BH & Rev in the sales and having played AC2 i am impressed, the style of game is good. Some of the go here & do that gets a little repetitive but it didn't put me off. The graphics are ok, the cities still look good but the character textures (except ezio) are poor to average and its not greatly optimized. But i enjoyed my 20 hours and have now booted up AC: brotherhood and im looking forwards to it

94

an improvement on AC2

maddocks2379 | May 12, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed Brotherhood

Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood follows on straight after AC2, where Ezio believes his job is done and he can relax. Well he's wrong and the borgais army destroys the manor. Ezio has to bring together his own brotherhood of assassin's to defeat the borgias.

The game is a definite improvement over AC2, i preferred the 1 large city and buying shops to increase cash flow. The option of calling assassin's does make it a little easier but its a fun addition. Combat is still a little average and too easy.

Graphics are good, character textures are better and rome looks great.

Its a good AC game

93

The important finale for ezio but short

maddocks2379 | May 12, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed Revelations

Assassin's Creed Revelations is set a little after brotherhood, this is Ezio's final part to play as the older man finds himself in turkey looking for the Mysaif keys to open Altair's vault. Revelations has by far the best cinematic styled story, but suffering in game length and lack of side missions. This is about half the length of the last two.

Graphics improve even more over AC2:BH and the character textures are good, gameplay is near identical to BH, with torching towers to open areas and recuiting assassins to help you fight.

Revelations is a must play in the series as it ends the career of the great Ezio

80

Wasn't disapointed

maddocks2379 | May 12, 2013 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine

I've always loved the warhammer franchise, from playing the tabletop games to DoW, so playing space marine was always going to happen.

Space marine is a decent game. The gameplay is a little clunky at times with quite a few empty areas as you journey from fight to fight. The choice of weapons are impressive, i enjoyed grabbing some of the items i knew from the tabletop like the thunderhammer & assault pack combo (deadly) and the heavy bolters. you get overwhelmed by enemies at times, normally surviving by... i don't know what but you somehow survive. The story is average and not that interesting until the 2nd half of the game, but i can't say more as i don't want to spoil The graphics are ok, and seemed well tuned for PC, but the voice acting is very poor & the enemies repeating the same lines over and over gets a little annoying...

To sum up, space marine is a must play to big fans of the franchise but im not sure outsiders will find the same enjoyment as us

90

Well Impressed

maddocks2379 | May 12, 2013 | Review of Darksiders

Darksiders is an old school styled game which reminds me of the Zelda series (which isn't a bad thing) but with lots of blood (also not a bad thing )

Darksiders has good solid game play, its fast at times, requires button mashing + combos & some puzzles

The story is decent, the voice acting is great, the graphics are OK for a 3 year old game and some times the difficulty rockets which will give a good challenge. The game is only about 12 hours long but there is secrets to be found which should add some more hours.

84

Good, but not a patch on the first game

maddocks2379 | May 5, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II

Having picked up the THQ pack, i started the darksiders series, i really enjoyed the first game so i went straight into the 2nd. I boy i was disappointed to start with... The graphics are good, seemed to run OK (i did have a few jerky moments, but my frame rate stayed the same) the sound is average and the voice acting isn't great compared to the 1st one.

But my biggest issues are the camera which im sure is designed to kill you, it will never be in a position to help you or come close during combat so you can't see anything behind you, if you use the lock on it never locks to the one you want to and sometimes locks on the monster the furthest away from you.

The next gripe i had was the combat, the dodge move is a pain... sometimes it doesn't dodge the way you push and if your surrounded its useless.. plus during combat you will lose yourself pretty often.

The lack of assistance did annoy me too, the amount of times i had to figure out something for the 1st time that i could have been taught or hinted at... ie throwing bombs at switches.

The quest system is a bit predictable, i would like 3 of these, next quest please find 2 of these and so on... seemed like padding out the story for me

BUT all that been said, after the really boring and dull start to the game (i had to fight to keep interested) the 2nd half of the game is great, back to fighting demons and using the finishing moves picks up the game massively.

Darksiders 2 is a good game but has too many issues to be considered a top game in my opinion, if you liked the 1st game you should play this, just it isn't as good as the first

84

Great game, probably the best indie i've played

maddocks2379 | May 5, 2013 | Review of Trine

Trine is a good ive been wanting for a while and i recently picked it up, i've only played single player so i cannot comment on the Co-Op play.

Trine allows you to control 3 characters: A warrior with his strength and shield, A Thief with a grabble & Bow and a wizard who can conjure platforms and boxes.

The gameplay is a Puzzle/Action platformer with beautiful graphics, its smooth and the lighting is amazing at times. The sounds are average, some humorous comments but bad sounds when you hit skeletons and its the combat that lets this game down in my opinion. The skeletons have poor AI, they spawn in repetitively and the combat is fairly unexciting...

Trine is a good game and worth playing, but i hope the combat is improved in Trine 2

77

Nice, cute Game

maddocks2379 | May 5, 2013 | Review of Sugar Cube: Bittersweet Factory

I picked up Sugar Cube: Bittersweet Factory as a part of a indie bundle and was interested in its style from seeing it on steam. Well its a simple single screen puzzle platformer with a unique twist, when you move the tiles you pass flip to reveal things like platforms, switches or even spikes. The game is fairly simple, but enjoyable non the less. It was completed with the good ending in less than 100 minutes. The graphics are ok, pretty simple. Although i had a pretty crucial bug in which i got a blank screen instead of cut-scences while in full screen, which meant i missed the ending and had to replay the final boss... lol Regarding the sound, the music is pretty annoying and i recommend turning down the music in the options.

To round up, SC:BF is enjoyable but short.

89

Bioshock 2, much of the same

maddocks2379 | May 5, 2013 | Review of BioShock® 2

Bioshock 2 is pretty much the same as the first one with improvements, like weapons in one hand and plasmids in the other, new items like hacking darts, but otherwise its pretty much a continuation of Bioshock 1.

The story is good and keeps you interested, the combat is pretty much the same but with new weapons and the graphics are still good for a 3-4 year old game.

Bioshock 1 is probably better but this one is still good and should be played

89

Good Addition to the Series

maddocks2379 | May 5, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite Post

Having played Bioshock 1 & 2 in the space of a few weeks it was infinite's turn. The graphics in this are stunning at times (mainly due to the lighting used) The combat is pretty poor which is a shame, most combat takes place in arenas and isn't very well executed. The saving grace is the story and gets quite interesting as you progress. while i really missed rapture and found Columbia not as interesting, Bioshock infinite is a worthy addition and is worth a play

85

Pretty good

maddocks2379 | May 5, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3 Blood Dragon

Now i havn't played far Cry 3 but i picked up blood dragon as its cheap. The graphics are ok, not amazing but i think its the filter that causes that, there are lots and lots of neon lighting effects.

However its the humor where the game steps up, the game is comical at times and has a few 80's references, the combat is good, the dragons look great and the weapons are great (especially the deathstar, altho its far too overpowered)

The downside is, its easy and only about 5-6 long (however its a £12 game, and some £35 games are the same length)

96

eXCELLENT

maddocks2379 | April 25, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Steam

This was the first real tomb raider game i have played as i wasn't too interested in the first series.

This tomb raider is fantastic, the graphics are stunning and runs well on ATI cards (heard of issues with Nvidia)

The story is involving and is nearly non-stop all the way through which is different, the only issue is its quite short, my play though was only 9 Hours

i am now looking forwards to the sequels