Reviews by magusonline

73

My first exposure to Double Fine

magusonline | Nov. 13, 2013 | Review of Stacking

At a glance, the game via screenshots and videos had absolutley no appeal to me. However, after giving it a try on my friend's XBOX, I had no choice but to see what it was like.

Initially I did not like the art direction of the game. But again, a personally biased opinion. However, I did like the concept behind the mechanics. Using Matryoshka dolls to "devour" smaller people and obtaining their powers. Reminds me of something between Katamari Damacy and Kirby's Dream Land.

Anyways, the game's highest point for me, was finding a mechanic doll that had the ability to fart. Which was all I ended up doing, until I realized the farting actually had a purpose (farting into an air vent to ruin a party).

I'd give the game a shot if you want to pay the smallest bracket, that's fine. I would too.

85

GMG Exposure really helped

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of Final Exam

I never heard about this game until a few weeks ago when I saw it featured on this website's hot titles pages. I was immediately hooked when I saw the gameplay footage as it also touted an online co-op feature with side scrolling brawling (even vertical scrolling at times) with friends.

I ended up purchasing it on Steam directly and have played many hours into it. My biggest gripe is that it lacks an online lobby. You can only play online with people on your friend list.

However, that isn't nearly enough to cripple the game as the community hub is rich with activity!

80

Not quite like the first one

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of Shank 2

You will not find yourself enthralled with the repetitive gameplay and encounters as it does not offer much in terms of expansion from the first one. Given that this was still one of their earlier titles, Klei Entertainment has since come a long way.

The combat engine, made it an impossibility to die in this game. Lunge chaining grants you frames of invulnerability during the lung and during the execution.

It's still a nice game. But, nothing that will keep you interested.

100

Team Meat's flagship

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

What started as Edmund and Tommy's flash game together, later evolved into one of the earliest iconic indie games to break out into the market (Braid having come before, chronologically) and causing an explosive surge in indie game development from all walks of life, to all various platforms of gaming.

This game challenges your reaction time and mind/body coordination like any retro platformer you've dealt with in your time. With the regular levels, character unlocks, alternative worlds, and 100%'ing, you will be here for a long time.

Well done Team Meat.

85

Steampunk themed card battling!

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of Ironclad Tactics

I'm surprised that nobody has reviewed this game yet, what a shame! The art assets were designed by two of my friends and I've gotten my fair share of play hours into the game.

Unlike many card games you may or may not have run into, there are no micro transactions to help propel the diversity and quality of your playing deck. Everything is unlocked within the game itself, which is a huge plus for me.

I do hope that the game picks up in popularity, as it does tout many options from playing against each other, to playing with each other.

70

Another excellent port from the PixelJunk team

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of PixelJunkâ„¢: Shooter

Known for their very bright and easy to pick up games that emphasize around the theme of music, sound, and interaction (with friends/enemies/environments). They were pioneers of exploring different genres on the PSN.

Shooter was definitely one that comes to mind (other than Monsters). While the devs already mentioned on Steam that this is local only. They said that when they port Shooter 2, it will too feature online co-op.

However, I recommend getting this game as well. Especially if you have guests that come visit, or a girlfriend who would like to play something nice and casual with. It works.

65

"Evil Mastermind" sim

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of Dungeonland

If you've got friends that have this game from here, or the recent indie bundle. I'd suggest giving it a spin. For once you are able to play as both sides of the game, both evil and the plucky heros.

When I had initially saw the trailer and finally got the game, my impressions were that you would have such a wide arsenal at your fingertips for just solely dishing out unfair punishment.

Something along the lines of, as the longer the game went on. The more resources unlocked for you, as the "DM" (evil mastermind) so you could help try to kill them faster (like all endless wave games with increasing difficulty).

However there was a lack of minion options to choose from. That and coupled with a dead-like online lobby. Cripple the potential the game has.

65

Play this with friends only

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of The Showdown Effect

It's one of those frenetic party action games that is best suited for messing around with your friends. You can still enjoy it playing online, but there is a severe lack of population.

Possibly because of the bugs and visual glitches you'll encounter every odd game or two. However, it is something that you can pick up and play easily and have fun if you have the players who are ready to play such a game.

70

An iPhone port

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of Swords and Soldiers

When I had first played this game, it was on my iPhone. The touchscreen controls felt tight and were responsive with the interface as well as the general interaction with the game.

It falls under the myriad of other RTS side scrollers that exist in the App Store to date. The options are simple, play against a computer/story or against another player.

The learning curve is little to none, so picking up the game and completely ignoring the dialogue will not offer you much in the way of punishment. Youll discover and learn quickly what things do and what works best through a small series of trial and error (regarless of the rules).

Pattern recognition helps a lot especially against the ai, as they follow a fixed functioning formula that makes them and the game, a relative breeze. Relative.

85

Side Scrolling MOBA

magusonline | Nov. 8, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

There was a time when a large influx of MOBA themed games entered the market. Many of them were terribly hackish and lacked depth.

While it took some balancing and adjusting to play, this game has settled itself nicely and continues to recieve updates every now and then.

There are several settings for where the arena happens, which can be anywhere from a Jungle or Space. You collect yellow cubes as currency, and recall/respawn back to the base to make your upgrade purchases.

To top it off, you can set "traits" before you start your game, that give you various benefits to make each player unique.

While the game didn't stick with me long enough, it was definitely a fun game, one I would recommend to anyone because of how well executed it is.

68

Could use some improvement

magusonline | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

The gameplay itself is true to it's name, Medieval Warfare. However, there are a lot of collision issues with the engine when it comes to the actual combat.

The animation feels a bit slowed down giving it a very unrealistic feel. One of the things that I found most interesting was playing on servers that had modified the gravity settings so it was less than usual.

The result: Just by running and jumping around, people were making death screams because the engine seems to register deltaTime falling time as a calculator of triggering the death scream.

Good game, not a great one.

80

More and more guns

magusonline | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Having played the first game for hundreds of hours, I was without a doubt excited for the second installment of the game.

However, as familiar and fun as it was. I found the game to be a bit less interesting and significantly more repetitive. Primarily with the encounters with robots.

The upgraded user interface and leveling tree is always a plus. And the "badass" token system was definitely a lovely addition to the game. It felt less story-driven and more, run and gun (which may have been the initial premise of both 1 and 2).

A good game overall.

95

A storytelling masterpiece

magusonline | Oct. 26, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

You play as Booker DeWitt, sent to recover a girl named Elizabeth to repay your debts. From the very beginning all the way until the end, the development of the story keeps you at the edge of your seat. It is very difficult to predict exactly what is going to happen, until it does.

Decision making in this game felt weighted (whether or not the consequences at the end made an actual impact or not) and it was just what I was looking for.

The third game in the series, Bioshock Infinite once again sets the bar for storytelling above expectations. In any game I've played, the "partner-AI" that accompanies the protagonist has always been a double edged sword (with the exception of Prince of Persia --because she could not be targetted nor killed). However Elizabeth proves to be an extremely useful ally throwing recovery items at you and money whenever she finds any.

The combat feels a bit chaotic, which may or may not be suited for everyone. Personally I would have preferred more scripted encounters such as those found in Bioshock 1.

79

Not bad, but still relatively decent

magusonline | Oct. 20, 2013 | Review of Shadowrun Returns

After an amazingly successful kickstarter, they met and exceeded all of their stretch goals. The game was written using the Unity3D engine and lacks a manual save feature (which they claimed wasn't possible --even though it is).

As for the game itself, it's the only true "sequel" to the Super Nintendo version of Shadowrun. The art style is fantastic, and the fact there is a campaign maker and steamworks compatible. The community will pick up from where the campgin ends. There are people even writing the original Super Nintendo campaign as well!

90

Quality Roguelike

magusonline | Oct. 20, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

This was one of the first "new" generation roguelikes I picked up since Nethack. While I did not understand a few of the "references" like the coathanger (which was later explained to me by a friend).

The game stays true to it's procedurally generated punishment.I haven't beaten the game yet and I've already clocked in over 30 hours into the game. There is a wiki out there that tells you what everything does, but it's fun to just experiment and try to figure it out yourself!

The controls are good, but sometimes it feels a little gummy. Other than that, great game, lots of replayability and one of the better roguelikes out there for the modern gamer.