Reviews by martinni

67

It is actually not bad... Not bad at all

martinni | April 14, 2014 | Review of Super Sanctum TD

I'll be very honest with you, I didn't have any kind of good expectations when i went and played it. I like tower defense, and that was the thing; but I was always a little dubious about this title, don't know why. In truth it kinda surprised me. It is a good game. Doesn't have exactly high end graphs or anything, but it's a job well done! And what you pay is what you get, I mean, what you see in the images and videos, what they say it has, it does have. It's just a matter of wether you like what you see. If you do think about it, if you don't go for another game; there are much better games in the genre.

90

Wow! Just. Wow!

martinni | March 31, 2014 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

I bought it 'cause a friend recommended it. He's not quite a shooter person, but he loved it! Due to that i began playing it with high hopes, i was expecting it to be a great one, and it certainly is!! I'd be quite surprised if it hadn't been recommended by such a person as I wouldn't know what to expect. It's a remarkable game, beautiful story and everything. For me, a must have! It was recently released for OS X on Steam(Play); for all the Mac users around the world, it runs like a charm! I'm not exactly sure whether it is native or port, but it looked pretty native to me xD

82

An amazing ride through the world of metal

martinni | March 17, 2014 | Review of Brutal Legend

There's one thing you have to be aware of when buying this game: it's not the most polished video game out there. And I truly recommend playing it with a controller (i began playing with mouse/keyboard and sometimes it was really tough to do stuff). That said, it's AMAZING!! If you love metal, buy it! If you love music in general, buy it!! It's a really beautiful adventure in the world of metal. It actually made me crazy for some bands again, as i would listen to them in-game and go nuts! I would easily give it 90+, maybe 95+, if it was better polished. Easily!!

80

You either like it or you don't

martinni | March 17, 2014 | Review of Bejeweled 3

I don't know exactly why, but since the very first time I played Bejewelled - i think it was some PopCap social network game, - I liked it a lot. I barely use social networks other than twitter and i would find myself playing some kind of Bejewelled somewhere. And that kept me wanting this game. And it took me quite a while before i bought it! And I've had a blast! It's just... You either like it or you don't at all! If you've played any kind of bejewelled and you like it, you'll love this one; has some cool challenges and stuff! If you don't, i don't think you'll change your opinion by having it.

86

A slow start, an outstanding finish!!

martinni | March 17, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

Arkham Asylum was a great game, had some of the best scenes i've seen in a videogame, and Arkham City didn't look that well at first. I was feeling like I was just fighting, playing a bunch of bosses, and that was all... The map was a little weird, and some things didn't seem very intuitive. And at some point you start getting into it, the main story reaches a really good point, and you end up playing an absolutely outstanding game. I loved the ending - last 6 chapters or so! Oh! And don't forget to play Harley Quinn's Revenge after you finish the story mode!! It's totally worth it as well!

96

A remarkable experience

martinni | March 17, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

I could do a long, long review about it, and say lots and lots of things, 'cause it has a lot to talk about. But i can make it a lot shorter if i say this game has some of the best scenes i've ever played. Not just one... Quite a bunch!! I'm quite a fan of Batman, and this game was a remarkable experience. If you don't own it, you have to buy it, and see it for yourself.

87

Believe me, it's actually a very good one!

martinni | March 17, 2014 | Review of SimCity (EU)

I was really looking forward for the release of this brand new SimCity; it looked amazing back then. But i'm always cautious, I rarely buy a game before launch; and seeing all the trouble EA had with it, I did the right thing. And I actually think it was good for them as well! I purchased it recently and i've had a lot of fun with it. I played like 10 hours in the first 2 days... I was supposed to wait... Was "just trying it". And ended up playing a lot; and I'm really into it. And I haven't had any kind of issues with servers or anything - they look 100% fixed, - and i've got a really (REALLY!!!) bad connection at home. I've played a Private Game... So it's been only a Single Player experience so far. I didn't want to screw up someone else's game, but yeah... I've had lots and lots of fun nevertheless, and i'm pretty sure it ain't gonna end soon!

90

Super fun!!

martinni | March 17, 2014 | Review of Plants vs Zombies Game of the Year Edition

A friend recommended me this game some time ago, and i ended up buying it; looked fun and everything... Why not? One day i pick it up to play it, and man!... I loved it!! Absolutely loved it! I was addicted from the very first day, and just like that I ended up playing 65+ hours of it. And i may still play it again.

It's super fun, it's challenging, it's a must have!

94

A must-have!

martinni | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

I'm the kind of guy who was amazed by the 1st Portal. I played it over and over again, both alone and along with friends. Its concept was great and it was a cool game for you to join some guys in front of a computer and everyone would think the levels differently and you'd discuss ways to solve them. That brings me to co-op. It is amazing! The co-op levels are really well made, and you get not only to think the levels together but also to act together. Absolutely magnificent! The single player is much longer than 1st Portal's. That was kind of an issue back then! Well... Not anymore. And you actually get some new mechanics with a nice bunch of fluids. It is fun. Really fun! Wanna play it by yourself: great game! Want a game to play with your friends: pick it! For me, Portal 2 is a must-have!!

98

Deepest! Game! Ever!

martinni | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead & 400 Days DLC Pack

I read tons and tons of reviews before playing it. And I couldn't understand why was everyone so amazed with it. The truth is: PLAY IT! I found myself thinking on decisions i had made for more than a week; seriously!! It's an amazing experience. The story is really good! And Telltale was able to do it with an outstanding quality overall. I felt like 400 Days wasn't as deep as the season itself, but you'll have a good - for a definition of good, - time with it as well!

45

I'm not able to enjoy it

martinni | Jan. 4, 2014 | Review of Europa Universalis III Collection

I have this collection just because it was an offer, and it could be as good as it gets... A really nice, challenging strategy game. But for some reason, I don't like it. I've played strategy games for quite a while. It's probably my favorite genre! But with Europa Universalis i feel like I'm playing a board game in a non-board kinda gameplay. It feels really weird to me, and far from intuitive. I'd recommend playing the demo before buying! Just to see if it is what you're looking for...

75

Bittersweet

martinni | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Puddle

I'm a fan of this kind of games... I don't know why! I just am. A physics-based platformer: count me in! Because of that, i bought this game and i may say i'm happy with it. I like what they did with the levels; it really has that sense of a continuous stream. And it is challenging! And that works for both good and bad. At times, it's just so challenging it gets annoying and you just wanna stop playing and go do something useful. I mean it! I did that a couple of times. Sometimes the help is absolutely useless, and that makes it worse. It's not the most stable game around as well! So... Good idea. Good concept. It is!! But it seems bad executed!

85

A great Counter Strike. That's a first!

martinni | Jan. 3, 2014 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

Despite not being a big fan of the series, i've got them all and i've been playing them for quite a while, mostly with friends. I was expecting this one to be just another Counter Strike... But i found a much better experience than i was expecting; actually, i'm pretty sure i haven't played the Classic Mode (which is pretty much the whole game in the previous CS titles) for more than 10% of my total game time. If you're familiar with the series, see the classic mode as the past titles improved; and you may be happy with that if you're a fan of the good old CS days. If you want something fresh, there's always another mode waiting!

93

Impressive!

martinni | Jan. 1, 2014 | Review of Driver San Francisco Deluxe Edition

This is how good as a driving simulation game's story can get! The simulation itself is really good as well; not the best in the business, but still great! On top of that add hundreds of side missions / challenges you may do at anytime. I've finished the story a lot of time ago and still have dozens of those to do. Having bought the Deluxe version, i began by playing the challenges it brought when I had some friends at home and they asked me to show 'hem the game. Why am I talking about this? Well... That made me have so much money when i actually began playing the game i was able buy a Ford GT right away. And that was kinda weird! Despite feeling it's worth all i paid for it, the truth is i haven't been able to play multiplayer... I've been there waiting for something to happen, but i haven't been lucky at all. That's the bitter part of it for me. I'd really like to try the multiplayer, and it hasn't been possible.

80

Pleasant surprise

martinni | Jan. 1, 2014 | Review of Poker Night 2

Having played the 1st one of the series i was only expecting a change of characters and not much more. But this game was able to surprise me. The writing is so much better, and at some point the 1st seemed to have nothing new. PN2 keeps surprising me with new and new funny conversations. I also think Telltale Games took user feedback very seriously. It has Omaha, and the system to get the items makes much more sense. As a whole, it's a much better experience than the 1st. I've been laughing like crazy every time i play it. The only issue: it is what it is... a poker game vs AI... Which isn't that great! If you think you may enjoy some time at a poker table only with AIs, go for it! You'll have a pretty good time!

75

A pleasant surprise

martinni | Nov. 20, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

As a real-time strategy player (and lover!) i was kinda curious to see how would i like it, back when i bought it. The truth is: at this point, I absolutely love the game! I have to organize my calendar so I can play it 'cause, let's face it, you aren't able to stop playing when you start. The 75? Well, as good as the game is now - after the release of loads of DLCs, - the base game is not that perfect. With all the DLCs to date, i'd clearly give it a 95+ rating!!