Reviews by mcofdiablo

90

Good game

mcofdiablo | Dec. 2, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 4

I tried to play Resident evil 4 a long time ago when it first came out, but I didn't become a fan of it. The controls were horrible, my computer was not top notch, so I quit.

I am a big fan of Resident evil 6 and Revelations, so I decided to give it a second shot. Besides, it has an HD remake now.

Firstly, the game still looks nice. It is not as beautiful as the sixth installment, but environment and level design are pretty good.

The gameplay is more action-oriented comparing to first three games, but I always like third-person shooters, so I would say it's a well-balanced shooter with horror elements.

The game also has some replayability value. You can have new difficulty modes, different weapons and some unlockables.

I recommend it to all action and horror lovers.

90

Good game

mcofdiablo | Dec. 2, 2014 | Review of Space Rangers HD: A War Apart

I have never played Space Rangers before, but when I saw all the positive reviews for this HD remake of a game I decided to give it a try. And I've found it very good game after all.

First of all, the game looks and feels nice. Music reminded me of good old times - some electronic and ambient mixes. Graphics are not the most important thing in games for me, but if the game has good visuals it's always a big plus. Space Rangers look pretty.

Gameplay is simple but engaging. You can follow the story and choose the side to fight for, or you can just explore the space and trade. It is not that complicated as in X series, the process is easier, but nonetheless it is interesting.

And there are text quests as well!

All in all, very nice game. Check it out.

85

Good game

mcofdiablo | Dec. 1, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 4

I tried to play Resident evil 4 a long time ago when it first came out, but I didn't become a fan of it. The controls were horrible, my computer was not top notch, so I quit.

I am a big fan of Resident evil 6 and Revelations, so I decided to give it a second shot. Besides, it has an HD remake now.

Firstly, the game still looks nice. It is not as beautiful as the sixth installment, but environment and level design are pretty good.

The gameplay is more action-oriented comparing to first three games, but I always like third-person shooters, so I would say it's a well-balanced shooter with horror elements.

The game also has some replayability value. You can have new difficulty modes, different weapons and some unlockables.

I recommend it to all action and horror lovers.

80

Good stealth game

mcofdiablo | Oct. 28, 2014 | Review of THIEF

I haven't played other games in Thief franchise, so I can't compare this one to the other ones. Bu I really liked Deus Ex Human revolution, the game that was developed by the same studio as THIEF, so I got pretty much what I expected.

Most of all, I expected various approaches to complete the level. It was the best thing about Deus Ex HR, and it is present in THIEF. If you want you can play aggressively, killing everyone one on your way, but it is preferable to play stealthily because you are thief. To help to do that you have various gadgets and abilities. There is a sort of blink ability where you, similar to Dishonored, very quickly move from one point to another. From gadgets you have a lot of different arrows: water arrow to put out fire, rope arrow to climb, choke arrows and others.

But what I liked most is the ability to steal. You literally take everything that glimmers: spoons, candlesticks, different wallets, coins. You can open safes, steal paintings, look for rare jewellery. The game really makes you feel like a thief.

Graphically the game looks good. Light effects are great: some places are very dark, some are enlightened, so you are always looking for a shadow in order not to get caught. Character models are not bad, but could have been better.

All in all, I don't regret buying it. If you want to feel the thrill of being a master thief buy the game.

80

Good stealth game

mcofdiablo | Oct. 27, 2014 | Review of THIEF

I haven't played other games in Thief franchise, so I can't compare this one to the other ones. Bu I really liked Deus Ex Human revolution, the game that was developed by the same studio as THIEF, so I got pretty much what I expected.

Most of all, I expected various approaches to complete the level. It was the best thing about Deus Ex HR, and it is present in THIEF. If you want you can play aggressively, killing everyone one on your way, but it is preferable to play stealthily because you are thief. To help to do that you have various gadgets and abilities. There is a sort of blink ability where you, similar to Dishonored, very quickly move from one point to another. From gadgets you have a lot of different arrows: water arrow to put out fire, rope arrow to climb, choke arrows and others.

But what I liked most is the ability to steal. You literally take everything that glimmers: spoons, candlesticks, different wallets, coins. You can open safes, steal paintings, look for rare jewellery. The game really makes you feel like a thief.

Graphically the game looks good. Light effects are great: some places are very dark, some are enlightened, so you are always looking for a shadow in order not to get caught. Character models are not bad, but could have been better.

All in all, I don't regret buying it. If you want to feel the thrill of being a master thief buy the game.

80

Good stealth game

mcofdiablo | Oct. 27, 2014 | Review of THIEF

I haven't played other games in Thief franchise, so I can't compare this one to the other ones. Bu I really liked Deus Ex Human revolution, the game that was developed by the same studio as THIEF, so I got pretty much what I expected.

Most of all, I expected various approaches to complete the level. It was the best thing about Deus Ex HR, and it is present in THIEF. If you want you can play aggressively, killing everyone one on your way, but it is preferable to play stealthily because you are thief. To help to do that you have various gadgets and abilities. There is a sort of blink ability where you, similar to Dishonored, very quickly move from one point to another. From gadgets you have a lot of different arrows: water arrow to put out fire, rope arrow to climb, choke arrows and others.

But what I liked most is the ability to steal. You literally take everything that glimmers: spoons, candlesticks, different wallets, coins. You can open safes, steal paintings, look for rare jewellery. The game really makes you feel like a thief.

Graphically the game looks good. Light effects are great: some places are very dark, some are enlightened, so you are always looking for a shadow in order not to get caught. Character models are not bad, but could have been better.

All in all, I don't regret buying it. If you want to feel the thrill of being a master thief buy the game.

80

A good stealth game

mcofdiablo | Oct. 26, 2014 | Review of THIEF

I haven't played other games in Thief franchise, so I can't compare this one to the other ones. Bu I really liked Deus Ex Human revolution, the game that was developed by the same studio as THIEF, so I got pretty much what I expected.

Most of all, I expected various approaches to complete the level. It was the best thing about Deus Ex HR, and it is present in THIEF. If you want you can play aggressively, killing everyone one on your way, but it is preferable to play stealthily because you are thief. To help to do that you have various gadgets and abilities. There is a sort of blink ability where you, similar to Dishonored, very quickly move from one point to another. From gadgets you have a lot of different arrows: water arrow to put out fire, rope arrow to climb, choke arrows and others.

But what I liked most is the ability to steal. You literally take everything that glimmers: spoons, candlesticks, different wallets, coins. You can open safes, steal paintings, look for rare jewellery. The game really makes you feel like a thief.

Graphically the game looks good. Light effects are great: some places are very dark, some are enlightened, so you are always looking for a shadow in order not to get caught. Character models are not bad, but could have been better.

All in all, I don't regret buying it. If you want to feel the thrill of being a master thief buy the game.

85

Good expansion

mcofdiablo | Sept. 12, 2014 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai

Total War Shogun 2 is my favourite instalment from the Total War game series because, even though I like Roman Empire (end Rome Total War was my first game), I fell in love with Japanese setting very quickly.

In the main game you could have chosen your clan and lead it to glory. Even though the clans were different and had different perks, in some way they were very similar: for instance, different clans had different units, but the battles still were mostly won melee. It changes in Fall of the Samurai expansion. Now we have guns!

It sounds strange to fight guns with swords and bows, but it is like that. And it is a lot of fun. Now you can decide what side to fight on: those who made alliance with Imperials or Shogunate, meaning you either have guns as a perk or classic Japanese units. But even though you choose a clan allied to some side, at any moment you can break alliance and fight against everyone!

Multiplayer has been expanded a little bit more too. You have new units that are introduced in the main campaign, and they are more than 60. And a new skill tree as well.

All in all as others wrote, the game feels like Shogun 2 and Napoleon Total War combined. We have samurais against guns, and it is really interesting. Recommended.

85

Good expansion

mcofdiablo | Sept. 11, 2014 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai

Total War Shogun 2 is my favourite instalment from the Total War game series because, even though I like Roman Empire (end Rome Total War was my first game), I fell in love with Japanese setting very quickly.

In the main game you could have chosen your clan and lead it to glory. Even though the clans were different and had different perks, in some way they were very similar: for instance, different clans had different units, but the battles still were mostly won melee. It changes in Fall of the Samurai expansion. Now we have guns!

It sounds strange to fight guns with swords and bows, but it is like that. And it is a lot of fun. Now you can decide what side to fight on: those who made alliance with Imperials or Shogunate, meaning you either have guns as a perk or classic Japanese units. But even though you choose a clan allied to some side, at any moment you can break alliance and fight against everyone!

Multiplayer has got expanded a little bit more too. You have new units that are introduced in the main campaign, and they are more than 60. And a new skill tree as well.

All in all as others wrote, the game feels like Shogun 2 and Napoleon Total War combined. We have samurais against guns, and it is really interesting. Recommended.

80

Great

mcofdiablo | June 29, 2014 | Review of Star Wars The Force Unleashed: Ultimate Sith Edition (MAC)

I am not a big fan of Star Wars movies. I've seen them, they are good, but I am not crazy about them. However, I am a big fan of Knights of Old republic games, and when I heard that there was an action game made in Star Wars universe I was a little bit skeptical.

And I shouldn't have been! The best thing about Force Unleashed is its story. You play as Sith apprentice! Not just Sith, you are apprentice of Darth Vader himself! The story is told and shown via incredible CGI cutscenes. I have never seen cutscenes that good back in 2009.

The game itself looks good as well. Character models look detailed. There are some destructible objects,too, especially, considering that the game is action oriented. The game itself is action slasher. You just kill people and monsters with your lightsaber or lightsabers and use the force. And it feels so good!

There are a few problems as well. The game is poorly optimised and is too demanding! Controls are not that comfortable, too. Especially, during one nightmare mission closer to the end.

All in all, the game is wonderful. It is not masterpiece, but it tells interesting story in Star Wars universe from the point of view of The Dark Side.

80

Wonderful

mcofdiablo | June 28, 2014 | Review of Star Wars The Force Unleashed: Ultimate Sith Edition (MAC)

I am not a big fan of Star Wars movies. I've seen them, they are good, but I am not crazy about them. However, I am a big fan of Knights of Old republic games, and when I heard that there was an action game made in Star Wars universe I was a little bit skeptical.

And I shouldn't have been! The best thing about Force Unleashed is its story. You play as Sith apprentice! Not just Sith, you are apprentice of Darth Vader himself! The story is told and shown via incredible CGI cutscenes. I have never seen cutscenes that good back in 2009.

The game itself looks good as well. Character models look detailed. There are some destructible objects,too, especially, considering that the game is action oriented. The game itself is action slasher. You just kill people and monsters with your lightsaber or lightsabers and use the force. And it feels so good!

There are a few problems as well. The game is poorly optimised and is too demanding! Controls are not that comfortable, too. Especially, during one nightmare mission closer to the end.

All in all, the game is wonderful. It is not masterpiece, but it tells interesting story in Star Wars universe from the point of view of The Dark Side.

70

Subpar sequel

mcofdiablo | June 22, 2014 | Review of Dragon Age 2

I am a big fan of Dragon Age: Origins. I didn't know about the game before it came out, but when I tried it I fell in love. So when Bioware announced sequel I couldn't wait to get it. And i was a bit disappointed when I did.

First of all, about the good things. The main character got the voice. Bioware took this feature from Mass Effect series and decided to voice the protagonist. And now during cutscenes the main character speaks, moves and interacts with objects of other characters, not only stands like in the Origins. That's a really good addition, makes the game more cinematic.

The story on the one hand is good. It is well told and contains interesting characters who develop throughout it. On the other hand, I expected it to be bigger, more epic! In the Origins we save the world from Archdemon! Here everything happens in the city. The story is more personal, it's only about Hawke and his friends.

And here comes another problem. Small amount of locations. Seriously, there are a few city areas and a few areas outside the city - for the game that will take you some 40 hours to complete!

All in all, it is a disappointing sequel to Origins. As a standalone game it is pretty good. Hopefully, the developers will correct all the mistakes in Inquisition.

75

For the Fans

mcofdiablo | June 22, 2014 | Review of Batman™: Arkham Origins - Cold Cold Heart DLC

Batman Arkham Origins was neither good, nor bad game. The biggest problem of it was the existence of Arkham City. Origins didn't add anything new, anything different from the previous game.

And in the DLC Cold Cold Heart they didn't add a new villain. Instead they decided to tell the story of Mister Freeze. It is not bad, but it is not a revelation either! It is well-told, and it is pretty long for a DLC, it took me some 3 or 4 hours due to some additional collectibles.

There is only one new feature here - ice. All new things such as takedowns and some gadgets now are based on ice. It is fun. And there is only one boss fight here. Apparently, with Mr. Freeze. It is done just like in the main game. There are 3 stages of the fight, and it is rather difficult.

All in all, I can't recommend this DLC to everyone. Those who liked the main game and want one more villain and a boss fight, take it.

70

Subpar sequel

mcofdiablo | June 20, 2014 | Review of Dragon Age 2

I am a big fan of Dragon Age: Origins. I didn't know about the game before it came out, but when I tried it I fell in love. So when Bioware announced sequel I couldn't wait to get it. And i was a bit disappointed when I did.

First of all, about the good things. The main character got the voice. Bioware took this feature from Mass Effect series and decided to voice the protagonist. And now during cutscenes the main character speaks, moves and interacts with objects of other characters, not only stands like in the Origins. That's a really good addition, makes the game more cinematic.

The story on the one hand is good. It is well told and contains interesting characters who develop throughout it. On the other hand, I expected it to be bigger, more epic! In the Origins we save the world from Archdemon! Here everything happens in the city. The story is more personal, it's only about Hawke and his friends.

And here comes another problem. Small amount of locations. Seriously, there are a few city areas and a few areas outside the city - for the game that will take you some 40 hours to complete!

All in all, it is a disappointing sequel to Origins. As a standalone game it is pretty good. Hopefully, the developers will correct all the mistakes in Inquisition.

70

For the fans

mcofdiablo | June 20, 2014 | Review of Batman™: Arkham Origins - Cold Cold Heart DLC

Batman Arkham Origins was neither good, nor bad game. The biggest problem of it was the existence of Arkham City. Origins didn't add anything new, anything different from the previous game.

And in the DLC Cold Cold Heart they didn't add a new villain. Instead they decided to tell the story of Mister Freeze. It is not bad, but it is not a revelation either! It is well-told, and it is pretty long for a DLC, it took me some 3 or 4 hours due to some additional collectibles.

There is only one new feature here - ice. All new things such as takedowns and some gadgets now are based on ice. It is fun. And there is only one boss fight here. Apparently with Mr, Freeze. It is done just like in the main game. There are 3 stages of the fight, and it is rather difficult.

All in all, I can't recommend this DLC to everyone. Those who liked the main game and want one more villain and a boss fight, take it.

85

Good beginning

mcofdiablo | April 30, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

It would always be hard to make another Batman game after such a successful one as Batman Arkham City. It was a masterpiece in every aspect.

Arkham Origins takes every good thing out of Arkham City: fighting mechanics, graphics, favourite characters; but unfortunately it adds almost nothing new. Fighting is slightly better just because now it's possible to knock down an enemy who is lying on the ground, graphics are slightly better but the system requirements are higher as well.

The story in Arkham Origins is clearly about origins of characters. It should be interesting to follow the way Bruce Wayne became Batman we know, but for me personally it was more interesting to follow of everyone's favourite Joker. Such a shame they showed him and advertised so much in trailers. It could have been a pleasant surprise.

All in all, not a bad game. It's only problem is that developers played too safely and didn't add anything their own.

85

No bad

mcofdiablo | April 27, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

It would always be hard to make another Batman game after such a successful one as Batman Arkham City. It was a masterpiece in every aspect.

Arkham Origins takes every good thing out of Arkham City: fighting mechanics, graphics, favourite characters; but unfortunately it adds almost nothing new. Fighting is slightly better just because now it's possible to knockdown an enemy who is lying on the ground, graphics are slightly better but the system requirements are higher as well.

The story in Arkham Origins is clearly about origins of characters. It should be interesting to follow the way Bruce Wayne became Batman we know, but for me personally it was more interesting to follow of everyone's favourite Joker. Such a shame they showed him and advertised so much in trailers. It could have been a pleasant surprise.

All in all, not a bad game. It's only problem is that developers played too safely and didn't add anything their own.

90

A good game

mcofdiablo | Feb. 9, 2014 | Review of Medieval II: Total War Collection

I have been a great fan of Total War games since the first time I played Rome Total War. But somehow I managed to skip Medieval II: Total War, and when it was on sale I decided to correct this mistake.

For the fans of Total War games everything will be familiar - it is the best turn-based strategy game ever created (together with Civilization series). You choose the nation and then rule it. You decide who to ally with, who to fight with. You can conquer the whole world (as I did in Rome installment).

The gameplay has two variations: on global map in turn-based way you choose the destination of your armies, when they arrive the real time battle starts. There are lots of different formations and units. The strategy is very important as well. You can flank the opponent!

The graphics still look pretty good, though, for me it was never a crucial point. I can still play the games released ten years ago.

The expansion which was sold together with the game adds a few interesting things such as discovery of America and Crusades. So it isn't a cheap DLC that adds a unit, it is new campaign.

All in all I am glad I have bought this game and I wonder how I could have missed it!

87

Very good game

mcofdiablo | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Medieval II: Total War Collection

I have been a great fan of Total War games since the first time I played Rome Total War. But somehow I managed to skip Medieval II: Total War, and when it was on sale I decided to correct this mistake.

For the fans of Total War games everything will be familiar - it is the best turn-based strategy game ever created (together with Civilization series). You choose the nation and then rule it. You decide who to ally with, who to fight with. You can conquer the whole world (as I did in Rome installment).

The gameplay has two variations: on global map in turn-based way you choose the destination of your armies, when they arrive the real time battle starts. There are lots of different formations and units. The strategy is very important as well. You can flank the opponent!

The graphics still look pretty good, though, for me it was never a crucial point. I can still play the games released ten years ago.

The expansion which was sold together with the game adds a few interesting things such as discovery of America and Crusades. So it isn't a cheap DLC that adds a unit, it is new campaign.

All in all I am glad I have bought this game and I wonder how I could have missed it!

95

Classic

mcofdiablo | Dec. 26, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition Deluxe

Well, Oblivion. It was my first big RPG game. I have spent so many hours just travelling in its world,having forgotten about the main story. It is beautiful. Although, the main story is also interesting to play, but it is pretty short.

You start as the nameless character (just like in Skyrim). You complete the first few tasks which serve as a tutorial, and then you are free to do anything you want. You can visit cities and complete different quests given by NPC's, you can enter different fractions (thieves, soldiers) and complete their quests.

Gameplay is exciting, as well. Comparing to Gothic, which is also considered as one of the best RPG's, Oblivion has some advantages. The main one is that you have to repair armour and weapons. Simple thing, but if adds some realism. And there are horses! I know, today it isn't a surprise, but back in 2009 it was.

All in all, if you missed this game, shame on you. Buy it. Right now.

75

Could have been better

mcofdiablo | Dec. 4, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

I had very high hopes for Mafia 2, because I liked the first Mafia very much. But what came out...Let's call it the game of unfulfilled promises and dreams.

To start with the pluses of the game, I have to admit the graphics look great even now. Considering the game was released in 2010 the facial animation impresses, and the game itself looks better than some modern ones. The shooting and driving mechanics are very well done. You feel different weapons and cars differently, you have to adjust which is really great.

What concerns minuses, the main character and story itself. It's just boring and poorly written. The main character is so plain and not interesting, you can't relate. The story has some bright moments, but for the most part you just drive the car. Over and over again. I felt that I was playing taxi driver simulator and not mafia game.

All in all, the game is not bad,it's mediocre. It could have been much better.

90

Great beginning

mcofdiablo | Dec. 1, 2013 | Review of The Wolf Among Us

Telltale games is famous for developing adventure games. They did them for a pretty long time, but were never considered a major studio. But everything changed after they released The Walking Dead game. It was a huge success. To tell the truth, for me personally it was their first game I have played, and I really liked. Thus I expected the new game from TT Games very eagerly.

Now we have the first episode of The Wolf among us. It is noir game based on comic series. You play as a sheriff Big B Wolf. Graphically the game looks like Walking Dead - they used the same engine and cell-shading style. But it looks incredible. From the very first frame - the title screen - I fell in love with this game.

Well, the game is a very harsh word. I would classify it as interactive movie - as you just go to locations, explore and interact with objects, and talk to characters. The characters are very interesting. There is no bad or good character - they are all in between - grey. That's what makes this game true to life, all characters have their own credible motives.

There are a few important decisions you have to make in the first episode, and we will see what consequences expect us further. But for now, the game is incredible thanks to Telltale Games talent to tell exciting stylish stories. Highly recommended.

90

Nice port from nintendo

mcofdiablo | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil: Revelations

Resident Evil franchise includes so many games and characters that now it's very difficult to follow the story. Revelations takes place somewhere between the 4th and the 5th parts.

The main story is divided into short episodes with different main characters (it's either Chris Redfield with his partner Jessica or Jill with Parker), for about 30 minutes each. The episodes are given not in a chronological order and they usually end with the cliffhanger, so it always keeps you excited about what is going to happen next.

Revelations are closer to the first parts of Resident evil games in its atmosphere and gameplay. There are not so many monsters, and there is always deficit of ammo. There are some puzzles as well.

The visuals are not as good as in the 5th or 6th installments, it's logical - the game is a port from Nintendo, but cutscenes look great. Controls are comfortable as well.

All in all, it's a good game for those who said that Resident Evil franchise went too far from what it was. This game is coming back to the roots.

85

A good shooter

mcofdiablo | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of Kane & Lynch: Dead Men

Kane and Lynch is a wonderful game that has its own minor flaws.

The best thing about the game is protagonists - they are so different, and yet they are stuck together, thus it is so interesting to follow their adventures. Speaking about adventures, the story is very well written, and there are lots of interesting and memorable scenes (especially, bank heist). The story of this game is way better than that of the sequel!!

The game has some minor flaws. Sometimes it gets repetitive, and graphics don't look that good nowadays. But it is not that important, at least for me.

All in all, I recommend it to all people who like shooters with two badass guys as the main characters.

80

Good game

mcofdiablo | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of Mount & Blade: With Fire and Sword

If you ever played a game from Mound and Blade series, you know that the core feature of the game is unique sword fighting mechanics. It is not as easy as it is in Skyrim or Gothic, you can't just click your opponent to death. You have to block, evade and wait for your moment to strike.

In With Fire and Sword installment they added new thing - firearms. It is a plus and a minus simultaneously. On the one hand, it is fresh, it changes balance of power. You have to look for new strategies, which is good. On the other hand, sometimes you die too easily and it's annoying.

In general, I recommend it to all Mound and Blade fans. Especially, on sale.

90

Very good game

mcofdiablo | Oct. 7, 2013 | Review of King Arthur II

Well, if you played the first King Arthur game you know everything about this one. I would say that the second part is just an improvement of the first one, which is actually good because the first one was and still is a great game.

The second one looks much better due to great visuals. It has achievements in steam which is very important for some people. Although, at the start it had a lot of bugs, now you can play it comfortably.

All in all, King Arthur remains unique game that tries to mix role play and strategy and actually succeeds. So definitely try it, especially when it is on sale.

95

Great debut

mcofdiablo | Sept. 27, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Batman Arkham Asylum was the first game for Rocksteady, and it was a huge success. No one expected a great game based on a comic book character, especially looking at cheap licence games from Activision.

But Batman proved that a licence game could be wonderful. The first thing that surprises you is graphics - it's gorgeous. The world is not big,but it's full of details.

The second thing is fighting system. It's a real gem in gaming. Fighting feels easy and yet engaging due to the fact that there are many combinations, and, of course, you want to try them all. Later similar fighting system was used in Sleeping Dogs.

All in all, this game was a first big step for small studio. And they improved every aspect of this wonderful game in Arkham City.

85

Good Game

mcofdiablo | Sept. 11, 2013 | Review of King Arthur Collection

It is a really well done turn-based RPG wargame.

If you played Total War games, you will know what to do during battles. The mechanics are a little bit easier than in Total War games series, but there are some interesting additions, as capturing the flag gives you a perk.

The most interesting feature for me in King Arthur was text quests. They are pretty well done, interesting and have consequences/ rewards.

In general, it is a very interesting mixture of two genres, and I think it is worth your attention and money during the sale.

95

I don't understand all the criticism

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 6

As the title says, I don't get it - why don't the people love this game?

The game looks gorgeous, especially, cutscenes (you have a lot of them) look great. Character models look pretty, light effects help create the necessary atmosphere. The only problem is the terrain textures - they are pretty weak, but that doesn't spoil the fun.

The gameplay is varied. You have four different campaigns with four different characters to play for. And they all have different gameplay style: with Chris you get third-person shooter, with Leon you get familiar Resident Evil with scares and a little shooting, playing as Jake you get a little bit of stealth and fighting, and the best one is for Ada (the only campaign that can't be played in Co-op). All campaigns tell one big story that can be uncovered only after finishing all of them.

All in all, I want to say that the game offers different gameplay style great visuals and interesting story. Basically, buying one game, you get four instead!!

80

Worth the price

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of Empire and Napoleon: Total War - Game of the Year Edition

I agree with the majority - it isn't the best game Total War series has, but it is still very interesting one.

The gameplay feels pretty slow sometimes, yet it gets addictive eventually. The magic of "one more turn" works.

The graphics still look pretty, even today. Although, I know lots of users have some problems with the sound, I didn't have it.

All in all, the game is worth buying at the discount price.

95

Wonderful

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

I haven't played previous games of XCOM franchise, and I didn't even know what to expect from this one. But the moment I launched the game I understood - I love it.

This game has two parts: first, you micromanage you base - decide what to research, do upgrades, ect., second, you fight against aliens in a turn-based way. It's a perfect combination the developers Firaxis tried and perfected in Civilization series.

Through interesting cutscenes you follow interesting story. The visuals are great, and gameplay is addictive. What else is necessary for a wonderful game?

90

Serious GTA

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV: Complete Edition

First of all, everyone who wants to play this game should bare in mind that it's not your typical GTA game you remember after beating San Andreas, Vice city and GTA 3.

It's immigrant story in the city of opportunities. There is no typical funny missions. It's drama. Of course, we have caricature characters here and there, we still have "funny" Rockstar humour, but it is different Grand Theft Auto.

I'm not saying it's a bad game. No way. It's wonderful!! Despite the date of release the game still looks incredible. We have detailed open world with tons of possibilities. Story is pretty inconsistent, but still involves you into the story, so that you can't stop until you know the end.

All in all it's the game everyone should play and decide for himself what he thinks about it.

100

Must have

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

It is Total War game. I shouldn't even add anything else. It's the best historical RTS series, in my opinion. I can't even tell how long I had been playing Rome: Total War. Then there were not so well-done Empire and Napoleon games. And then we had this one - Shogun 2.

First of all, it's one of the best-looking games I have ever played. Incredible level of details (which developers will surpass in the Rome 2, I am sure), the game looks wonderful, especially with Direct X11 turned on.

Secondly, the game gives you a variety of possible strategical movements: there are land battles and sea fights, espionage and peace treaties. You choose the way to play. Isn't it the reason to play it?

95

Masterpiece

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of Civilization V: Gold Edition

I am a great fan of Civilization series. I have been playing it since the third installment (I admit, not since the very first one).

This game is a very well-done combination of serious strategy and yet very easy controls. This game is friendly to anybody who wants to get acquainted with the series.

The game looks gorgeous, especially with Direct X11. This game makes me come back again and again, and it's a sign of a real masterpiece.

90

Racing with a good story

mcofdiablo | Aug. 29, 2013 | Review of Driver San Francisco

As the title says the story is the thing that surprised me most about this game. It is very well written and very well told through beautiful cutscenes. I admit, it is pretty simple. But tell me have you ever played racing game with interesting story? I didn't, before Driver San Francisco.

The gameplay is a lot of fun. You have story missions and tons of side missions which contain pretty interesting mini-stories interesting to follow as well.

The visual part is a mixture of beautiful car models and boring streets. But it is just a small minus comparing to overall feeling left after playing this game through.

95

An underrrated masterpiece

mcofdiablo | Aug. 15, 2013 | Review of Binary Domain

This game looks like an ordinary third-person shooter Gears of War style. But if you are into science fiction, movie "I, robot",and giant bosses, you will definitely love this game. The story is very interesting to follow, characters are memorable (there is even a relationship/ attitude system).

The only problem with the game I had was optimisation - the game lagged a few times.

In general it's a wonderful game to play.