Reviews by mirta000

60

doesn't lie about what it gives you

mirta000 | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of The Sims 3: Pets

As the product says you do indeed get pets for your sims. Nothing more and nothing less. Need a more in-depth description? Alright!

The town - absolutely loved the included town with this expansion. It's like autumn that lasts forever! Except it's not your every day autumn, but rather a very red tinted autumn. Which looks beautiful!

Now pets:

You can own horses, cats and dogs. While you can create a crazy pet by going into character creation (fur colours, just as sim hair and skin colours, are unlimited, so if you want a pink cat, make one!), however unlike in The Sims 2 you don't get a pet store (unless you bought the ultra special limited edition), so if you don't want to break immersion by making a pet in create a sim, you'll just have to live with adopting a random one.

Pets themselves - while pets themselves have some nice interactions that you can make them do (like you can send cats hunting for example), the fact that you can control them ends up not being such a big deal after a while. They also require more attention than in The Sims 2. My cats social needs would drop so fast, that the only thing attention wise I could compare it to would be a toddler.

Final verdict - loved the town, however pets were far much more of a hassle than I thought that they would be.

60

prettifies your game and adds some new activities

mirta000 | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of The Sims 3: Seasons

First let me start this saying that yes, there are new activities. Now you can build like 10 different kinds of snowmen, decorate your home for each different holiday, go to the park and earn festival tickets! But it's nothing that you couldn't live without.

The reason why I bought the expansion:

  1. Aliens. Even though they are very hard to catch, finally we have aliens in The Sims franchise again!
  2. Weather. While I'm not much into the activities that come with the weather, I love how alive it makes my game feel. Finally you can feel the passage of time. Finally the game is changing like real life does!

70

everything that was supposed to be in the game to begin with

mirta000 | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of The Sims 3: Generations

There are two ways of looking at this expansion pack:

  1. EA wanted to profit off you by cutting some features off and then releasing it as a separate expansion
  2. It's an expansion made to expand the core gameplay and not one that is fantasy themed.

Now whether you'll enjoy this one depends on what you like. If you love playing with big families, playing with sims of all ages, you'll most definitely enjoy this one! If you're not that much into simulating simple life and want something magical, or if you're not into simulating life in general, this one is not for you unfortunately.

For me though this was a must buy. I do have my doubts as to why an expansion pack came out with features that were supposed to be in the vanilla game, but it fleshes out sims lives so much (even by providing such small everyday items as strollers, you have no idea what a quality of life improvement it is to not be stuck at home with your toddler!) that I just have to have it.

90

better than other shooters

mirta000 | July 4, 2014 | Review of Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare

I don't know about you, but I got tired of the same old same old when it comes to shooters. Each shooter has to be realistic and has to be set in the modern era...

If you're like me, then you're going to enjoy something unique! Set in plants vs zombies universe, Plants vs Zombies Garden Warfare is a very adorable competitive game. There are only 4 classes per team (8 classes in total), however as you go trough the game unlocking more customization options you'll notice that each class has many many many variations that do impact gameplay.

The game does have micro transactions, however the points are very cheap to buy (0.80 pence for 13000 points) and you can earn anywhere between 5000 to 20000 a match, so don't worry, if you don't want to spend extra money, you won't have to spend a dime!

Some people have expressed a concern that plants vs zombies garden warfare is in a completely different genre than the other plants vs zombies, however I don't see that as a problem. In my eyes it's a fun little detour of the series.

To sum up: really worth getting!

90

a great sequel!

mirta000 | May 23, 2014 | Review of Tropico 5

Tropico 5 changes a lot of systems, yet stays familiar. It simplifies some aspects, yet makes goals harder to accomplish.

new installations:

Humour. This game turned out to be funnier than I expected! Every single line that your Presidente says is quite ridiculous (like for example "finally Tropico is free from modern medicine!" or "Welcome Tropico police force to its new home! You can strip search me any time dear officers, oh and by the way your forgot your handcuffs at my palace"), every single research message is humorous and even some of the mission statements are.

You have less base buildings and their functions have been simplified, however the research track provides many many different extra buildings, that you need to spend time on.

dynasty system - you get to choose less perks, however each family member of your can carry perks of their own. You can use your family members on buildings as managers, or you can send them on missions.

Is the game worth it? Yes. Most definitely yes. The charm of Tropico has not been lost. It's different in many ways to the previous ones, however still worth playing!

100

this is how sniping shold be done in games

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | Review of Sniper Elite V2

The reason why this game is so good is solely down to its shooting mechanic and the A.I.

Let's talk about the shooting mechanic. The sniper bobs up and down and you need to concentrate your character's breathing to make it more stable. There is bullet drop. There's a kickback on your rifle and you can't just snipe while running.

Now let's talk about the A.I. The A.I. is very good. If you're just going to stay in one place they will find you sniping from there quite quick. They are also good at aiming, meaning that getting your character exposed can mean instant death.

Then there's also some nice little add ons. Such things as for example a kill cam that shows you all the injuries that your bullet caused to the enemies insides. You can turn in to the minimum, or you can turn the kill cam to the maximum and enjoy the glorious inside explosions with pretty much every single kill.

There's also a co-op mode, that's very fun. You are essentially going trough the same single player story, but your friend will most likely enjoy sniping beside you.

This is how real shooter games should be made. If you're interested in realism in your combat games you should definitely pick this title up.

95

one of the best co-op games

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

Now what does this one have that Left 4 Dead 1 does not? And why you should buy it?

It has better ambient sounds and more details in the environment (such as more grass, more trees, etcetera). The graphics are better. There's more people playing the multiplayer. And that's about it. Unlike the first one the environments are no longer dark and I don't really like the new characters that much, but that's my personal opinion.

Now for someone that's new to Left 4 Dead:

both Left 4 Dead 1 and Left 4 Dead 2 provide an excellent 4 friends co-op experience and 4 versus 4 experience in the versus mode. Both games have a large mod community, therefore you and your friends should never run out of new maps to try and survive the zombie apocalypse in. Both games should be played with friends. They are simply not fun as a single player experience.

My personal opinion - both Left 4 Dead 1 and Left 4 Dead 2 are great games and one should own both :)

90

a great game to play with friends

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead

4 person co-op and 4 versus 4 makes this one of to go games when me and my friends want to play together.

"Now why would you choose this over Left 4 Dead 2?" One might ask. Even though graphics are worse and there's less ambient sounds Left 4 Dead 1 has a scarier setting, because unlike the second one pretty much all the missions happen at night. The characters also seem to have more personality in this one.

After the game has released there has been some extra free missions added, however if you and your friends run out of game modes to play there are some very creepy fan made maps and campaigns. The community of modders for both Left 4 Dead and Left 4 Dead 2 is huge, therefore none of those two actually ever run out of new maps to play in.

The only draw back for this one is that there's less people online than in the second one, so if you're buying make sure to buy it together with some friends so you all could play together :)

65

like GTA, but with children

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition

cons a story filled with American school stereotypes. For a person from Europe it's hard to relate graphical quality feels outdated by now pros the class mini games the open world that opens up after a few chapters the slot machines in the festival place.

I found that this is not a game for me. The graphics are slightly outdated, the story (like I already said) is very American audience based and the things that I like are far in between. However it's not a bad game. If you would like to play GTA but with children instead of adults this could be the perfect game for you!

85

unique combat, fun story

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | Review of Overlord

You are the evil overlord waken up to lead an army of demons and command them to do your dirty deeds!

The unique aspects of the game: One, you're not really fighting yourself you're commanding hordes of different imps to help you past trough the game. There are various different imps good at various different things so choose your army carefully! And at the same time you're not playing with an RTS view point. Your hero is standing right there, in front of you, being vulnerable as you command hordes of your followers. Two, you're the anti-hero. You're evil and made to do evil things. You can still do good things, but nobody will blame you if you do bad things. This is something very few games do.

Just for the sole uniqueness alone I would recommend it. Though the game does story telling in an entertaining way too, so stay a while and listen to it :)

95

a completely new experience!

mirta000 | May 21, 2014 | Review of LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

I wouldn't recommend going into this game if you haven't read the Harry Potter books, or watched the movies, or played other Harry Potter games. Lego Harry Potter doesn't focus on being accurate, it focuses on being funny!

And funny is what it is good at. Playing this game is a completely different experience to playing other Harry Potter games from other companies. There's pretty much no talking, all characters pull funny faces and fast gestures at each other and every single cutscene brings something unexpected.

Each year is also pretty much as long as a year in previous Harry Potter games. You are guaranteed at least 10 hours of entertainment with this purchase.

Also did I mention local co-op? Grab a friend and play together! Though having a controller to play this game with would be advisable.

70

good multiplayer, alright single player

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Collection

Only buy if you have a friend that will buy this as well. Why?

Well the multiplayer versus mode is great. It's really fun to be a predator, alien or a human and fight the other player. Especially having in mind how differently all 3 play from each other (warning - playing as the alien might make you dizzy). Why I say buy it only if your friend buys it too? Well the game is old and by now there's probably not that many people playing it.

Single player is decent on its own if you overlook a few problems. Such as for example human females having no shoulders and looking outright ridiculous. And no, that's not a glitch. It's just that designers designed them that way. Other than that the single player story is better than just tolerable and while A.I. is not the smartest it might be an entertaining game to play from time to time.

Short version of my review: multiplayer is better than single player, however very few people are still playing multiplayer, therefore you should find a friend and you should both get the game to get the most out of it.

75

No longer survival horror, but still fun

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 5

I can only comment on the co-op part of the game. Single player part didn't even seem interesting enough to try.

Downside: this game in the franchise can no longer call itself survival horror. Sure there are still lots of powerful enemies to fight, however you don't exactly have to save your ammo and bright environments make it not scary at all.

Upside: still fun to mess around with friends. There are voice commands, so if you feel like it you can spam your friend by yelling the same phrase over and over again. There are quick events in the cutscenes where your character can splat in very creative ways making your friend laugh.

Small warning to those with slow reactions: some button mashing parts almost made me cry. I failed over and over and over again. In some cutscenes you need to press a button fast, in others mash it with a very equal, but rushed pace. If you, like me, have problems with that kind of quick events this game might be not for you.

100

crazy

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

Warning: This game is not for children.

The first thing that you'll notice is that this game allows you to create the character in any way that you want it. Want an unnatural skin colour? Go ahead! Want to make incomprehensible zombie sounds in every single cutscene where you're supposed to talk? Why not! Want to recreate a movie star? Well you should most definitely be able to!

The second thing is the crazy over the top story. Save a porn star. Break all your bones by throwing yourself under cars to falsely claim insurance money. Participate in a game show that features lasers and has a cat as their mascot.

How about the variety of things that you can wield and dress as? Want to have a katana? Why not. If you want to wield a ridiculous object that you should not be fighting with - go ahead! How about running around with a swim suit? You are allowed!

In the co-op the story kind of progresses as if there is only one of you, however it doesn't make it any less fun. So grab a friend to join you in insanity!

Consensus: a must own title. It's like GTA. But much more ridiculous.

100

best played co-op, but single player is possible too

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Magicka

There are multiple things that makes this game a must buy.

First one - the comedy story. The game is so humorous that you will gladly face chapter after chapter even if you have no friends online to share the experience with you. The plot is crazy and leaves you questioning "what's next?" a lot. Couple that with some crazy achievements (such as "This is Sparta!") and suddenly the game is worth playing even if you're alone.

Second one - the unlimited combinations of spells. You're given runes. Runes to determine how strong the spell will be, what it does, how it casts... They won't directly tell you what they do, because you see the runes are simply elements. It's your combinations that will determine the effect.

And the finally - the fun of destroying your friends while playing co-op. Feeling fiendish? Put some fire into that heal spell. I'm sure that your friend won't mind... Oh your friend found that awesome staff! Want to get it for yourself? You know what to do!

Consensus: can be played alone for the humour of the story, but best played with friends because of all of the destruction to each other that you can cause.

100

better than the first one

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

This one still has everything that the previous one had: an evil sadistic robot that makes sarcastic comments, funny monologues, hard to solve puzzles and dizzying portal mechanics. However it has something the first one didn't have - co-op!

Now co-op is the most fun place to be. Not only do you get emotes that your robots perform perfectly in sync with each other (like high five, hug, etcetera), but you also get laughter out of destroying your friend again and again and again. Oh, it's not supposed to be a versus. But you can make it into one by refusing to perfectly time your portals.

Oh and this one still has a funny end credits song. You absolutely have to hear it. So go and play trough the game right now!

100

a funny puzzle game

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Portal

The game is very short. But that's probably the only downside of it. Most of the game feels like a tutorial - you're introduced to a mechanic, then you're asked to use the said mechanic in a complex puzzle.

First thing that makes the game great is humour. You see you're a test subject of an evil sarcastic robot named Glados. She is there trough out your full journey making comments. The second thing that drives this game is the portal mechanic that will make your head spin. Sometimes it just gets so confusing! The third and final reason of why this game is an absolute must have is its credits song. Now go and beat the game to listen to it!

No, seriously, this game did a lot of things right and you should listen to people here and get it!

80

a simple puzzle game with complex solutions

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Scribblenauts Unlimited

Very easy and straightforward puzzle game. You encounter quests and have to figure out what item does the quest giver want. Now here comes in the part that will decide how much fun you'll have with this game. How good is your imagination? for example if you would find a depressed clown how many ways would there be to cheer it up and still keep it hilarious for you yourself? In this game you can spawn absolutely anything. Therefore every single quest has multiple solutions. However how many you can think of will depend on your imagination.

Having that in mind this game can be very fun for you to play hundreds of times, or you can feel bored after one playtrough. It is up to you. If you think that you're up for a challenge go ahead and buy!

70

fun, cute, but easy

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Mini Ninjas

This game is a fun little ninja game where you focus on collecting friends, abilities and beating bosses. A regular level will have collectibles in secret places, but very little exploration and be very much a corridor runner. The enemies in the game are not challenging. The only kind of challenge comes from the bosses. The game is very cute though and has a fun and innocent story. Even though the game is easy to beat, it never bored me.

Overall consensus: very child friendly, good for adults to see if they want some harmless action game fun, though do not expect much difficulty out of this one :)

85

a unique multiplayer experience

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Natural Selection II

It's a fun mix between a strategy and a first person shooter. Both sides have to have a commander. Those will be responsible for upgrades and telling the troops where to go. A good commander is very very important. Now everyone else spawn as troops. On a human side this is a regular horror FPS - you get a gun (upgrades determine what kind) and you go down the dark corridors shooting scary aliens. On the alien side it's a bit more complex and more fun in my opinion. Upgrades allow you to morph into a specific amount of very different aliens. You can be a slow moving tank that kills up close, or an easily killable spitter than hangs on the ceilings. There are many different aliens good for many different things, but the only way to make a successful push is to work as a team. This is what the game is mostly about successful commanders and good team work. In my opinion it's a great multiplayer game if you're on the winning team and unfair one if you're on the losing team - because you can simply be losing because your commander didn't get the right upgrades. It's still one hell of a game to experience. Most definitely recommend it.

90

great way to pass the time

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Reus

Reus is a very interesting mix between strategy, sandbox and simulation. You get to control the giants that at first will decide what kind of bio domes will your world have. Afterwards the bio domes become populated with people and your giants start slowly leveling up (by placiing some important people on their shoulders), that unlocks abilities that allow them to add extra resources to specific bio domes (like for example swamp, desert, plains wildlife, minerals, etcetera). The idea of the game is to either play however you want or fulfill achievements. Achievements also allow you to set up games that last for longer. There are different ways that your villages can grow (you can help them with science projects, agricultural projects...), but be careful not to make the villages too greedy because they'll attack each other and then your giants too! Or make them too greedy on purpose and watch the world burn. It all depends on your playstyle!

Consensus: a play it your way sandbox simulation that is great if you want to waste some hours :)

90

an adorable puzzle platformer

mirta000 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Fly'n

What makes Fly'in stand out is its art style. The environment is going to give you fuzzy feelings all day! You sing to flowers and save little trapped creatures with unhappy faces. Some creatures you actually trap because they're afraid of open spaces. And don't let the art style trick you - the game is still plenty difficult.

I recommend this game to everyone - you can restart any level and try it till you beat it, so it's even good for children that will be able to adjust to the difficulty over time and if you're not an overly macho adult - pick this up as well. You won't be disappointed!

90

a decent roguelike

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

unlike in Rogue Legacy you can't upgrade in Binding of Isaac, so you have the same chance of reaching the last room on your first go as you have on your 100th one.

For a roguelike this is a really good game. You never know which randomly generated room will be deadly and which will give you an item that you have never seen before. As you go trough the game you will be unlocking new characters that have different stats. Some have less health, but more damage, others have more health, but less damage.

You won't easily get bored of this game. Every time when you'll die you'll tell yourself "just one more try" and end up playing hours on end. There is a goal to reach for and that makes you even more determined to try and try again.

I must warn though the story is quite gruesome and it's not the kind of game that I would buy for a child. Good fun for an adult though.

80

fun with friends hard alone

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | Review of Tower Wars

The game focuses on you having to do both - building towers to defend and sending out minions to attack. Resources are always running out, so you'll have to decide on which one will you focus more.

The A.I for single player is really deceptive. I chose the easiest level (the plank I believe) and it still brutally beaten me. It wasn't my first time playing either, was practicing against my friends for quite a while before. If you really want a challenge - play against the A.I. The challenge really makes it fun. The multiplayer is something to waste quite a few hours away on. The loading screens take a silly amount of time, because one of the friends will load in and the other one will only be allowed to start loading when the first one loaded in, but besides those few downfalls this game is something you should consider playing against your friends.

Consensus - you can buy it for the multiplayer if you want to have a fun time, or you can buy it for the single player if you want a really huge challenge.

100

Want some crazy? Get this!

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | Review of Psychonauts

This game is not only for everyone, but I think that it's a must play for any gamer. You're playing as a kid that can get into other peoples minds in a camp for such kids. However your parents disagree with it and they want to get you out of the camp, therefore you only have so few days to become a psychonaut. The game is a nice mix between the crazy inside other peoples mind and the weird that you find while wandering around the camp. It also has a monetary element - collect coins and spend them for new awesome gadgets. Some of the quests in the game are challenging to complete, some will surprise you and some are just entertaining. Either way it's most definitely worth buying.

100

a great combat simulator

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

This game is a solely multiplayer fighting game, but it's good at what it does. There are several different maps and game modes. Weapons in the game range from ranged, light and heavy and they all feel very different.

The combat is what this game is so awesome for and it's something that you have to experience. It's controlled with your mouse alone, but it's more complex than you could think. Where you swing and whether the enemy counters counts, whether you block and where you block counts, whether you're doing a light or a heavy attack counts. It's very fun to play for that sole reason - you have so much control over your swings that it will be your skill and not your stats that will land you the kill.

I recommend this game to all of the PvP enthusiasts out there!

70

it's alright, though not for me

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | Review of Don't Starve

The game gives you a simple goal - to survive. I found out that that mostly includes wondering around to find food, then to find gold to build upgrades, then to find dung to build a farm. The game will continue to get harder as it goes forward. If you lose your sanity, by not spending the nights next to a fire, everything that's positive will turn dark, however even if you will stay sane slowly more and more enemies will spawn. The game has a level up system - the more days you spend alive, the more exp you get, the more characters you unlock.

Now why is this not for me? First I found the lack of goal to be a problem. I never thought that I would, because I like plenty of roguealikes, but I did. In Rogue Legacy you're trying to upgrade to beat all the bosses, in the Binding of Isaac you try and get to the last room. Here, there is no goal. You find yourself respawning and donig the same things over and over again. Sometimes the world generation is amusing though and you get to experience something new, but normally after you get familiar with the biodomes the interest kind of fades. Second reason - I can not own a house to hide in. Sounds silly, I know. However in both Project Zomboid and in Minecraft I can set up something that is mine. Here my things constantly get trampled by animals, because while you can build fences, you can't build gates, meaning that no matter how many walls you'll build there will still be gaps, so in the long run fences and walls seem pointless.

For what it is though it's a good game.

80

One of the top games to play with friends

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | Review of Killing Floor

Every time when there's a lot of my friends online and we are deciding what to play this is one of the suggestions. Because the game is fast paced, fun and hosts up to 6 people. Just like in Left 4 Dead you're fighting zombies, except that in here you're fighting waves of them and after a wave you can run to the shop and buy more guns. The shop appears in a random place, so getting to it in that short break in between waves is a challenge in itself.

The hilarity that ensues is priceless. Perhaps it will be a scare moment when a zombie jumps on you, perhaps it will be laughter about your friend getting attacked while not expecting it, but it will surely stir up some sort of emotion in you.

Warning - the game is only as good as the company that you play with is. As a solo experience it's not that wonderful. A fun thing to play with friends though.

80

crazy crazy game

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | Review of Costume Quest

You play as one of the two twins trick-or-treating on Halloween. One of the twins gets kidnapped and you go on a long and crazy quest to save them. You assemble the team and use your costumes to fight the evils ahead to get to your sibling.

The story is very sweet. It's about two siblings that dislike each other, but in their hearts love each other. It's also about making friends. It's such a good hearted game that I would recommend for any child (and any adult searching for a sweet story).

The fighting mechanic is quite easy. I did not have any trouble going trough this game at all.

The environment is imaginative. You are impatiently waiting for a new chapter, because of how extremely the environments change.

Looking for something sweet? Or just want a laugh? Get this game, because it's most definitely fun!

85

awesome for what it is

mirta000 | May 19, 2014 | Review of Zombie Driver

Like to drive your car into objects? Like to see gore? Like destruction, but still want to do good? Want a story with a twist? Then this game is for you!

The gameplay is very simple - you drive over zombies for extra money while rushing to the survivors to save them from the zombie apocalypse before they get eaten. You also have to be mindful about your car - if you hit too many objects or zombies hit you too much your car will degrade.

Cons? The game is really short. Pros? It's an extreme level of fun!

100

For that price it's more than worth it

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Dead Hungry Diner

Do you like games where you have to play as a waitress? For example games such as Diner Dash? Well then you will love this one!

It's exactly as a waitressing game should be. You're solved a puzzle of where to place your customers to keep them from fighting, be able to serve them all and earn the most points. After earning some money you end up upgrading your waitress to do waitressing faster and more efficiently. The story is well written, even though quite silly and playing the game feels like a blast.

You'll probably run out of levels after 2 hours or so, however to get all of the stars it took me 14 hours. It's a diner game that's actually better made than others on the market, yet it's cheaper. If you ever thought of getting a waitressing game, get this one!

100

is worthy to carry the name of Deus Ex

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

When comparing to the first Deus Ex I'm having a hard time deciding which is better.

Both have good atmosphere and wonderfully executed set up. Both have very varied and imaginative levels. Both have good story. And both have various different means of defeating your foe.

The new game is only medium length if compared to other MMOs (20 hours or so), however it's worth it. The dialogue is great, choices do matter, even though the ending is slightly artistic (I would have thought that they could have bothered animating it), however that's exactly how the first game ones. The 3rd one lives up to its name wonderfully.

To sum up: Like the original Deus Ex? You'll like this one too.

85

a good entry to the series

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim®

Cons

The dungeons are all a bit the same and very repetitive. The main story includes a lot of steam punk themed dungeons and to be honest after a while it becomes very tiresome.

While the combat system was improved the game has less spells in total, meaning that being a mage is so much less exciting.

Pros

Good main story line and some interesting side story lines. A story line about fighting dragons most definitely beats closing Oblivion gates repeatedly in Elder Scrolls IV. Some side quests are also so much better than in the previous installment (notably the thieves guild story line), there's still a lot of secrets that you can find while exploring and separate side quests will still entertain you. Some quests are worse though (assassin's brotherhood is very incompetent in this one). OVerall the story line is a plus though.

Exploration. There's more to explore than before! The world looks beautiful and running from one side of it to the other feels amazing. Finally there's animals, such as deer and rabbits. It feels more immersible than the previous installments .

To sum up: while not my favorite, it's a solid installment into the series and it did have some much needed upgrades over the previous one. For RPG lovers out there I would recommend getting it.

95

Everything the first one was, but better!

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Mass Effect 2: Digital Deluxe

Pros:

A very good fleshed out story. The game allows you to jump into the second installment without going trough the first one, but I would still recommend playing the first one beforehand. You are working for an organization that was regarded negatively in the first one. This game allows to see both sides of the coin.

More teammates than ever before and even more complex relationships! You have to recruit them, each one comes with their baggage, they will fight and you'll have to stop them and it's very satisfying when you make such different personalities work with each other (or see them all fall into shambles!). More romantic interactions as well!

Story. The story is richer and more fleshed out in this one. It seems like everyone suddenly got a personality. And exploration still feels just as rewarding.

Cons:

The new combat system. There's less buttons, meaning that sometimes your character will jump over a box instead of taking cover. There's less stats that you can put points into.

Exploration with a vehicle was taken out. While it did make the game more action paced and less dragging, it's still ashame to lose it.

80

A decent RPG

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Fallout 3

bad points:

the wasteland is full in cities, but empty outside of them. Sometimes you have to walk for quite a while with only monsters and will beasts to keep you company.

I would have liked more side quests. In comparison to the other Bethesda franchise it feels slightly lacking.

Has some issues with running it. At point I had to use all kinds of magic to stop it from crashing. At one point I had to avoid looking at one type of mob, because my system really hated it.

good points

The atmosphere. New Vegas didn't do atmosphere this well and the game being in 3D is far more immersible than Fallout 2. It feels like a proper wasteland. And just when you feel like it's the same old same old suddenly a ruin surprises you. Suddenly you find some lore, or get a flashback, or meet an NPC. Exploration feels fun.

The combat system. Shooting feels satisfactory. VAT system not only helps but allows you to see some magnificent splatter of what formerly was your enemy.

The story and the side quests that are there. Some are dark. Some deal with moral problems. And suddenly when you think that the game can't throw anything new to surprise you, you end up in a virtual representation of 1950s trying to shut the simulation down.

70

Extremely dated, but wroth it.

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of The Year Edition

Let's start from the cons:

the combat system is dated. It relies on your stats to determine your chance to hit or miss, which means that no matter you want to be a flexible thief, an unstoppable mage or a fierce warrior, you'll still spend countless hours killing cliffhangers outside of a town to level up.

A lot of worthless text. NPCs have very little to say that's unique to them. That means that whether you ask about the town from a bartender, or a guard, the version that they tell you will be word for word the same.

Graphics. Especially the low FOV. Fellow players that are suffering from dizzyness from FOV doing low - get ready to mod!

Pros

A very very unique atmosphere. I recently bought the Morrowind Isle DLC for Skyrim and well... It doesn't capture the magic of this one. If you're interested in TES series this is one instalment that you're not allowed to miss.

Story. The story and the side quests are all very interesting. The world feels worth exploring. There's so much lore in this game.

To sum up - it's not anywhere the standard of a new game. It feels clunky and old. However it's a must play for all that it is and for everything that it feels like.

95

one of my favorite games

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion Game of the Year Edition

Let's start by listing the strong points:

the combat system is much better than Morrowind's. No longer is there a percentage of hit miss, if your sword collided with the enemy you hit. And there's more spells to pick and choose from than Skyrim! Not to mention the ability to create your own :)

Story

The main storyline is not very strong nor interesting. For a while you're going to be juggling a future king and the amulet. One goes missing. Then the next. Then you close a million gates, even though they're all the same repetitive dungeon over and over again, however the side quests are so worth it! Get involved with the assassin's brotherhood, become a thief, or perhaps a magician? Why not just be a fighter in a fighter's guild or go trough arena quests? Want to learn what famous orc suicides because you tell him that he is actually part vampire? Find the quest and do it! As for the expansion included - one of the best games in the series. Period. Shivering Islands is a really insane place. Use psychedelic mushrooms, have cheese for all as celebration (scratch that! Someone might dislike it! Cheese for no-one!) and discuss wholes filled with clouds (or was it clowns? Clouds don't smell as much).

all in all I think that I've spent around 1000 hours in total in this game. 200 hours if you do every single sidequest is normal for a playtrough. Make it about 5 hours if you do only the main story. It's worth buying 1000 times over. Doesn't matter you joined the series at Skyrim, or Morrowind, or if this is your first game.

90

if you like RPGs and Southpark you'll like this

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of South Park: The Stick of Truth

The game plays like an early final fantasy RPG. You select your class (your class can be Jew), you get a buddy to fight along your side, you get set on the main quest line and then you're free to go out and explore! When exploring you'll occasionally run into turn based combat sequence where you select what abilities to hit the badies with and then the baddies hit you back.

What really makes this game amazing is the story. It's exactly what Southpark is - part social commentary (trough out the whole game you're collecting followers on a social networking site which is a big part of the game), part over the top crazyness (fight space aliens that are trying to probe your backside!), part dark humour (even some of your attacks are quire vulgar).

Cons? For an RPG the game is short. It's around 10 hours for full completion with all of the sidequests and collectibles. Whether 10 hours is worth 40 pounds - that's your decision. Though time-money ratio is still significantly better than of any movie in a movie theater.

Pros? It's exactly what Southpark stands for. Game developers got the main writer of Southpark to write it and it shows. No inconsistence. No boredom. If you're a fan of Southpark then this game is a must have!

Overall it's an unforgettable experience.

10

do not get it

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Mass Effect 3

The final chapter of Mass Effect Trilogy is not what it should be. It feels like a completely different game than what other Mass Effect games were.

Interesting and long missions turned into "protect me" or "do some fetch quests". No longer do you really explore. No longer does the missions include actual socializing and complex stories. Plenty of missions in this one were reduced to either getting an item at the end of a room filled with bad guys, or protecting someone as they get to do something awesome while you get to shoot some bad guys.

Less team members. Team members from the last games are seen for a very brief amount of time. Like for example Legion that you saved at the end of Mass Effect 2. You see him for one mission and then he goes off. The same holds true for every other character of Mass Effect 2. Developers did not know how to tie in the amount of choices that you had in Mass Effect 2, so they simplified it. They most definitely shouldn't have.

Multiplayer is a con. How can that be one might say. Well easy - nothing that you do in single player counts. How much forces you have fighting the reapers in the end is completely dependent on how much of the multiplayer you'll play.

The ending. The ending makes no sense. It's a big gaping plothole. Best to imagine that your character just died in the previous installment.

Perhaps Mass Effect 4 will fix the series, however as this one goes - pretend that it does not exist.

80

one of the best early city simulators!

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of SimCity 4 Deluxe Edition

It does what the previous installments did, only better.

The game consists of building a city while catering to the wants of the population. You have to build the type of plot that your citizens want at the moment - it can be industrial, living or shopping districts. Then you have to think about what your citizens will need - water, electricity, garbage disposal services. You have different ways of going about all of this. You can go for clean energy ,or you can build a messy powerplant. You can build a large garbage dump, or you can build garbage. All of this will lost you money. Money that you'll collect back in taxes from your citizens. Then there's an extra layer of difficulty - your citizens will require schools, police, firemen services. I was never able to be able to afford enough of these for the whole city, so you have to compromise - taxes sky high or no school in smaller villages?

Ran out of space? No problem! In Simcity 4 you can connect your cities to other cities around it and build those other cities yourself! Let's say that you built a town with no industrial zones - well when you'll connect that said town to the one next to it and start playing in the one next to it, the need for industrial zones will be sky high, but the need for a living area will be low!

Terrain forming tools - build your forests, mountains, lakes and rivers. Whatever you want to build - you can build! Though remember that some terrains can be quite a challenge to build on later!

Driving missions - sometimes the game will offer you some driving missions. If you fulfill them you'll get a lot of money. They can range anywhere from "get these children to school" to "catch a criminal". The driving is not top notch in Sim City 4. The cars in front of you can randomly disappear from existence for example. However for what it's worth the mode is fun.

Cause your own disasters! Want to destroy the city that you just built? you're free to do so!

By now there are more complex simulators on the market (cities XL would be a good example), however Simcity 4, despite its age is still worth getting and playing. It was a really good simulator for its time and it's still quite good!

65

short, slow to start, but good

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Youda Sushi Chef

In its core it's a memory game. You have set amount of ingredients, you're given a menu with the description of how many parts of what you have to put to make a specific food product, then clients come in, they order and you have to serve them as fast as possible. After a while you run out of ingredients and have to spend time ordering more and waiting for it to arrive. The money that you earn you spend on upgrading your equipment to be able to serve your clients faster, then you move up to a newer, more popular restaurant and have to start upgrading all again.

Pros: if you like these kinds of serving games you'll like this one. It starts easy and gets harder and harder, until you're getting such difficult orders that you're pondering whether you should fulfill them or not. For what it's worth this game is fun.

Cons: the game is really short. Took me about 2 hours to beat it fully.

40

Too casual and too expensive

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of The Sims 3 (EU)

I did an in depth comparison between this one and it's predecessor on youtube and my opinion is not the most popular one. I dislike The Sims 3, even though I loved the previous entries to the series. And here's why:

While the recolouring options have been increased the base game gets you significantly less hair styles, clothing items, furniture, etcetera. The customization is really important to me and after a while you just feel like you're playing the same person over and over and over again.

Map creation is more complicated than it should be. Want to design a map? Download a map editor and struggle to place trees one by one without them floating in the air. The previous installment had it very easy - you had an option in game to choose a layout and then create all of the buildings and place decorations without having to leave the game.

The game is too easy. Need drop was reduced to ridiculous amounts. So much so that now sometimes you end up thinking what to do with your sim at nighttime. The sim should be sleepy. But it's not even tired yet!

a semi pro - always alive town with sims growing and moving about is a great improvement! However it can break. I remember starting a challenge where I'm supposed to repopulate a town from zero with sims of my own and switch between the families to play with them. Well after you reach a certain limit the sims that you made pregnant "forget" that they're pregnant, some sims disappear, etc. If you're not planning on playing a complex challenge though it's definitely a plus!

Badly optimized - if you're planning to only play The Sims 3 vanilla, without any expansions this is not a problem. However after installing all expansions you end up with a 40 GB game that runs really really slow even on a high spec PC.

my take on it - too easy, not enough customization, hard to make your own content, however if you never played previous entries into the franchise, or enjoy the easy difficulty then you will probably enjoy it. It most definitely has some good points of its own, but I would say - sit this one out.

30

does not fit with the rest of the franchise

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of SimCity Societies

I bought this when it came out, expecting a newer, better sim city 4 and boy oh boy was I disappointed.

Out the window went all the important simulation aspects. No more worrying about water, electricity usage, the amount of jobs required, the amount of pollution that you're causing... All of the complex elements were replaced by smiley faces. Money generating buildings stress your people out, entertainment buildings generate smiley faces.

Pros: Good for a child's first simulation game. Easy to understand, easy to use. No more zoning, now you put down a building directly and you can even select its style!

Cons: all complexity went right out the window. So if you're a serious simulation fan I can not recommend this one at all.

70

a wonderful memory from the past!

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Hotel Giant

Hotel Giant (unlike the second one) only has a sandbox mode, however that did not stop me from enjoying it and recommending it!

You start out by selecting how many years you want to play, how much money you start with and the location of your hotel. Later you get to select the appearance of your hotel and then you can start building!

Now here is where decision making comes into play

How many rooms will you build? What types of rooms will you build? Single bed? Double bed? Multiple beds? Economy class? Or something really expensive? The game will provide you with the list of the people that chose your competitors hotel instead of yours, so you can always check what's the most popular type of room.

Facilities. Will your hotel have a restaurant? A bar? How about a spa? Or a business meeting room? Maybe some shops? Different rooms require different amount of space. There's nothing sadder than building a spa and hearing a constant complaint from customers of "it's not big enough". You also only have so much space to use for building, therefore you have to think carefully. Would I rather provide a service or have more rooms?

Advertising opportunities. You can offer packets to your guests. Would it be useful to sell the use of a business meeting room and a 4 bed room for two nights in a packet together?

It's all about thinking, building and watching little simulated guests use your facilities, complain and praise them. While it's less fleshed out than Hotel Giant 2 I remember having a lot of fun with it.

85

a wonderful game!

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Cities in Motion

I'm a sucker for simulation titles and even though I don't really like transport simulators I loved this one!

Complex systems: each transportation system has its own advantages and disadvantages. Going to go with the regular buses or will you invest a lot of money and build a metro?

strategy required: what does the particular city need from you? Is it worth it to include that remote suburban location or should you focus on the main city only? What places are going to be the busiest? Who are your customers? How much should you pay your workers? How much should your tickets cost? Is there enough Vehicles running on a specific line?

Objectives: the career mode gives you a primary objective and there are some secondary objectives that you can choose to fulfill. Secondary objectives normally give you money, however how much you would lose can be greater than how much you can gain. Rationalize. Is it worth it to promise to that person to have a transport line running at that particular location?

Minor bugs: couldn't figure out how to force an underground metro to work, however it's not game breaking.

Like what you heard? Purchase it!

10

Not worth it

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Cities in Motion 2

When I got the second one, I was expecting something along the lines of the first one - moderate game speed, difficult levels that are fast, lots of transport simulation. Good points: the transport simulation is still there. The levels are still nice and it still includes lots of thought. Really in that regard it is as good as the previous one. What killed it for me: the very slow gain of money. With the game fast forwarding after you have set your transport systems in motion you will be siting there for hours just waiting for the money to pile in. And it's not like you can leave the game running trough the night - oh no, you have to readjust the prices constantly!

tldr: if this game has "skip a week" feature it would be a very solid game! However as it is right now I can't recommend it, because you'll spend too much time just sitting there readjsting prices once in a while and you'll spend very little time actually setting up and building your transport systems, which is (in my opinion) the fun part of the game.

100

want to derp? Be a goat!

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

The game is all about breaking stuff, exploring, breaking the game and doing crazy things. There are achievements to encourage you doing even more crazy things (like for example sacrificing all the sanctum items, or becoming the goat queen!). Will the game occupy you for long as it is at the moment? No. It's just a game to herp and derp for a few hours. However this month we're promised a new map, local multiplayer and even more razy things to do, not to mention the endless moding potential! It's most definitely worth it!

100

a great game!

mirta000 | May 16, 2014 | Review of WildStar

Playing the beta and it is a wonderful game. Let me try and break down everything that is important.

The game has action combat with ground targetting (no soft or hard targetting you have to do it all yourself).

While it does feature the trinity every single character can spec for their support role (for some this will be healer, for others a tank, the game decides depending on what class you picked what your support role would be), damage, utility (essentially it is crowd control, VERY useful) or a hybrid (in your talents there are branches that are half support/half damage, half utility/half damage and half support/ half utility), from what I've tested in the 20 levels and the first dungeon that people are allowed to run even DPS classes are expected to bring at least some skills to help with survival. It's very team based.

The game has cartoony graphics and a sense of humour. The main missions would make you think that one side is entirely good and the other side is entirely gray, but as you progress you get to see how complex the role is. A lot of lore is put into single man instances, instead of being locked away behind raids.

Lots of zones to level in. From what I've seen there are 4 starter zones. The leveling speed is, well I would compare it to Tera or World of Warcraft. As in a character will probably take you around 2-3 weeks to level fully if you're really into it, a few months if you will be playing rather moderately.

20, 40 man raids, 40 man guild battles (they're called warplots, but you need to assemble a 40 man team, so I asume that it will be guilds that will be doing that mostly), fun battlegrounds (and there's quite a few of them!), from 2v2 to 5v5 arenas, dueling and open world PvP (if you decided to flag yourself for PvP or are on a PvP server) is most of the end game. And to be honest that's plenty! This game will keep you busy for years!

Sandbox features: get your own house! Build stuff on your plot! Make a jumping puzzle around your house! Have a portal, a buff station, a dungeon, a crafting station, etc next to your house and invite your friends over! Lots of crafting professions, one of which is architect that focuses on furniture making for houses. Mounts are customizable.

This game has a lot in it, it's a mix between the nostalgic hardcore games that actually made you work for stuff and be a team member and between new titles that will offer you something to do no matter how little time you have to play every day. I absolutely love it! I hope to see you all on Nexus on June 3rd for those that don't want to preorder and on May 31st for all of those that already preordered.

10

pretty bad

mirta000 | May 13, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls® Online: Imperial Edition

Was there during the beta and still read the forums for this game. Worst to best:

Worst: problems that the game is facing. This game is losing its battle against bots, exploits were allowed to run for so long that economy is out of balance (players were able to duplicate money and items for weeks), the current bug that is rampant for a few weeks now is that people are getting charged from 2X to 4X for their subscription, are not receiving their subscription upon paying, have their subscription cancel for no reason and similar problems. I wouldn't recommend subscribing until this is fixed, unless of course you don't mind being overcharged.

Story and overall environment: This game is not Skyrim. The story is rushed and incoherent, the environment looks murky and bland, questing is grindy and slow, combat has target assist, most of the abilities have to be attached onto enemies trough tab targeting. If you're looking for that famous RPG experience you won't find it here.

PvP balance: there's overpowered combinations and those are not getting balanced. Expect to have to run werewolf or a vampire in pvp if you want to get anywhere.

music: the musical score in this game is quite good. I know a friend of mine that enjoys playing the game just for that reason.