Reviews by mitzager

75

Good RTS.

mitzager | April 11, 2011 | Review of Earth 2160 Capsule

Earth 2160 is a good game. It is the last game from the Earth series (2140 and 2150). I was a fan of 2150 (didn't got a chance to play 2140) and since a pc games magazine offered it for free, I gave Earth 2160 a shot. The first thing I noticed about the game was the improvement in graphics. Everything looked great, and the units details were amazing at ground level. The game has a campaign for each faction and the gameplay is different for every one. The story of the game is average, but the voice-acting is horrible, and it kinda bothers me that every mission of the campaign is like a skirmish game. The multiplayer makes the great. It's a lot of fun and you it offers a lot of variety in tactics. It definitely worth buying, especially that it's on sale now (3.29 is a great price).

100

Buy it, it's awesome.

mitzager | April 9, 2011 | Review of Empire: Total War

Many people complained about bugs and other lots of problems the game had on it's release game, but Creative Assembly released a lot of patches since then that make the game much, much better. If you're a Total War fan, you have no excuse to skip this installment, you can alternate it with Shogun 2, the latest awesome game from Creative Assembly.

85

Fun, fun, fun

mitzager | April 9, 2011 | Review of Blood Bowl: Legendary Edition

Blood Bowl is based on the Warhammer world, and a much more violent American football. The teams are composed of the races that populate the Warhammer univese, like humans, dwarves, dark elves, goblins, chaos, etc.

The game is a turn-based strategy, you have to roll the dice to determine the success/failure of your action in that turn (like in a table top game). It's very difficult to explain the mechanics of the game, you have to play it to see for yourself.

The game features a campaign, where you have to choose your race and create a team and play through some contests and get your way up in the rankings. But I recommend playing with friends via Internet or LAN. The game graphics are okay, specific to the Warhammer universe, but the commentary of the game gets repetitive very quickly.

I recommend this game to everyone, even if they're not fond of Warhammer or American football. You either will love it or hate it.

90

Very good RTS/RPG hybrid

mitzager | April 7, 2011 | Review of Spellforce 2: Gold Edition DNS

If you enjoyed the first Spellforce or the Warhammer Dawn of War series, then this is a game for you. It's a great mix of RTS/RPG elements and has a very friendly interface for casting spells. The story, along with the gameplay are interesting, and they will keep you a long time in front of your PC. The graphics are pretty nice and they give an unique fantasy feeling to the game. The only thing that it's missing from the game is a RPG multiplayer (it has RTS only) or even better, a co-op campaign like in Dawn of War. This game is great and will keep you busy for hours and will not regret buying it.

40

Disappointing

mitzager | April 7, 2011 | Review of Knights of the Temple 2

Knights of the Temple 2 is a mix of RPG, a hack-and-slash and an adventure game. The game continues the story of the first one, only 20 years later, but doesn't manage to keep you hooked up, even though it has a few surprising twists and turns. As a sequel to an already average game, this game didn't have a lot of chance from the start. It has a few new things like multiplayer and a little non-linearity, but it still has a lot of bugs and it's very boring. The graphics are decent (for 2007 of course), but doesn't have nothing spectacular. I recommend these game only to those who have a lot of spare time.

80

Great casual game

mitzager | April 7, 2011 | Review of Beat Hazard

Beat Hazard is a game for everyone. Doesn't matter if you are a casual or hardcore gamer I think you will enjoy every track you play. The gameplay is very simple, inspired by Asteroids and the music affects the type of enemies that spawn and the power of your lasers. What bothers me if that you have to play a heavy metal songs to get higher scores, it's almost impossible to survive on a calm song (you can take it as a great challenge). Can't wait for the Beat Hazard Ultra DLC which promises a lot of new features, including co-op. Until then, buy this game, you won't be disappointed.

72

Gothic Forsaken

mitzager | April 7, 2011 | Review of Gothic 3: Gold Edition

Gothic 1 is my favorite RPG. Ever. The first two installments of the Gothic franchise are excellent games, which despite their bugs manage to create an immersive experience, doubled by an unique atmosphere. The problem with Gothic 3 is that it kept only the bugs and let the rest aside. The story is pretty good, but below it's predecessors, but the quests are very boring and repetitive...and 90% are the same with those in MMORPGs (bring me 10 wolf hides :| ). The graphics are okay, but that's not what the Gothic series is about, and the soundtrack is excellent, composed by the genius Kai Rosenkranz. Forsaken Gods is the disastrous expansion of Gothic 3. I didn't play it with the community patch that that was released lately, but back then it was horrible. I was having major stuttering on the rig that ran Gothic 3 on high details, the story is just awful and the bugs are way too many. This shouldn't have existed. Gothic 3 is worth playing for Gothic fans, but forget about Forsaken Gods.

Note: Even if this is a review of Gothic 3: Gold, I won't rate Forsaken Gods.

95

What survival horror should be...

mitzager | April 6, 2011 | Review of Penumbra Black Plague

I can't say anything about Black Plague without mentioning Overture, the first episode of this epic installment. I'm surprised I didn't find it on Green Man Gaming, because Black Plague continues the story from the cliff-hanger the first one let us. Anyway, Penumbra series (except Requiem, which was a disappointment) is one of my favorite survival-horror/adventure games. The unique thing about Penumbra is that even though the perspective is first-person, you don't have guns or any other weapons to defend yourself (there are some melee weapons if I remember correctly...but you have to be very patient with them). There are a lot of enemies in game, but the darkness is your best friend. This is what horror in games is all about...to make you feel incapable of defeating your enemies, running and hiding are your only alternatives.

The atmosphere of this game is great, I recommend playing with the lights off and headphones. The story has some elements of Lovecraft's work, which contributes in creating a horrific experience (in a good way, of course). The puzzles, an important part in every adventure game, have a medium difficulty, but more interesting and challenging than the latest game of Frictional Games, Amnesia - The Dark Descent, game that I recommend also.

In conclusion, I have to say that both Penumbras are a must for every survival horror or adventure enthusiast.

85

"Just...one...more...turn!"

mitzager | April 6, 2011 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® V

Civilization is one of my favorite franchises and I was waiting Civ 5 long before the official announcement. I played hundreds, if not thousand of hours of Civ 4,and it seemed the perfect turn-based strategy game...until Firaxis announced Civilization 5 :). I was hyped from day one as it promised massive changes in gameplay, like hex tiles or one unit per tile. When it was released I was a bit disappointed with the game, but that's maybe because my expectations were sky-high. I liked the transition to hexes/ one unit per tile, now you can have trench wars, instead of making a 'stack of doom' and wipe everyone, like in the previous Civ.

Overall the Civ 5 is more tactical than it's predecessor. The thing that bothers me about this game is that Firaxis simplified it too much (I understand that they wanted to introduce new players to Civ franchise, but please let the marketing department to deal with that, don't ruin the gameplay by making it too noob-friendly)...especially the micromanagement and the economic system, which is really weird (i sure miss the wealth/research slider). The civics were replaced now with social polices which are interesting, but have a major flaw: you have to choose if you want a democracy for your people or dictatorship from the early years of your empire and you cannot change it later. Another problem with the game is the poor optimization. It's true that I don't have a high-end computer and the game is very complex but I think that the developers could have worked a bit more on this aspect. The graphics are awesome, even if I haven't experienced them at maximum detail, and the soundtrack is really good, but I miss the Grammy Award winner Baba Yetu. In conclusion, the game is great for new players, and a good one for old ones. It has it's problems, but I'm sure Firaxis is already working on an expansion that will make the game a lot better. If we look back in time Civ 4 vanilla had a lot of problems too...