Reviews by mostnatebe66

85

Unanticipated Gem

mostnatebe66 | June 18, 2013 | Review of Remember Me

Now I'll admit this game popped up on my radar in a bit of peer pressure as some friends really loved the look of it but the first gameplay shown didn't have me sold. But they a few days later another gameplay was released involving a helicopter fight of sorts that's when i started my own love for it. It was passed up by many gaming companies for its female protagonist which i think is quite a silly reason. Now the gameplay is a bit linear(keeps it from a perfect score cause i really want to explore this world more, but i cant bring it down to 8 or 7 just because of that because they DID introduce a world i want to explore and my own enviousness of the world shouldn't affect the game it's self) Now the story is solid.

If had to I'd give it a 8-5 to 8-7 if there was a story graph above on this rating thing. I say 8ish because it is a bit of a obvious scifi title and the story is a bit deep ya kinda have to be open to sci fi in general to really appreciate i as such I've graded accordingly so that linear, fighting gamers will know what they get into when considering it. The combo building is a bit blah at first but i really liked it and as someone who loves remember combos as it makes me feel like im learning stuff mid-gameplay amount my own memory skills. As a fan of the open world genre of games it IS a bummer that i cant do that here. The fighting combo remembering makes me remember how Sleeping Dogs caught me by surprise as a great game as well. I feel like a bad-A$$ beating people up as Nilin

Sounds are just top notch, the voice acting is about at English dub anime levels where they sound they could fit the character well but a part of you thinks they could have played it a little less or in some cases a bit more dramatic. Nilin's actress is top notch i will say. Now the game sounds are also great i often play with headphones to not to annoy a tenant i share a wall with and i was thoroughly enthralled with the game and fully immersed.

Now lasting appeal does get an 8 as that its about an 8 hour campaign that once again is very straight forward. But the game is still a great addition to my collection and i will have something to trophy hunt on till i get The Last Of Us in 10 days. The graphics are beautiful and i didn't notice many graphics bugs and if there were any they certainly didn't catch my eye or ruin the game.

Now full-disclosure I WAS spurred to do this because the so many reviews about this(IGN specificly god how i dislike them) were just so unfair so it may be closer to a 4 to 4 and a half but there are no halves and even 4 seemed like a dumbed down score. Honestly i preordered this read reviews last and was like OH GOD I made I HUGE mistake. Then i got it today, started playing it and had NO clue why this was was happening the game is so good and so great. The reviews had me believing that it was horrid filth with its bads far outweighing the good and thats just not true. All and all I really suggest you play this game please don't let the big name game reviews be the ones you go to for your game news. Trust yourself and trust your instincts I think you'll be pleasently surprised, I know I was

68

Changing GW2

mostnatebe66 | June 18, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Heroic Edition (NA)

When I read that GW2 would be changing up the RPG formula to make more party compositions viable, I was both disappointed that my favorite profession (monk) was gone and excited that something new and possibly better was coming to the genre.

ANet was hands down 100% successful in making any party composition effective, but this came at a huge cost. If every profession is supposed to be basically interchangeable in a party, then it's by design that no profession has an overly important job. This makes differences between characters' roles extremely subtle and relegates everybody to doing basically the same things in slightly different ways.

Besides those types of simplifications, the skill library in GW2 has seen major "streamlining." In GW1 PvP, an entire match could rest on how PRECISELY a person used their character because so many of the best skills were conditional and CC. One ranger could cause a team wipe by correctly interrupting a healing spell and then interrupting several resurrection spells in a row. A monk could successfully counter a follow up spike by identifying the target early enough to cast protective spirit, or a mesmer could preempt that with diversion, or a warrior could disrupt that spell, and on and on.

Again, in GW2, designed around the idea that nobody is too important to replace, no profession has that kind of power any more. CC is still around, but who cares? Nobody has skills that are really that important to winning or losing; all you can do is hamper their DPS efficiency.

This change in focus from "precision" skill usage to "efficient" skill usage makes GW2 less like the trading card games that inspired GW1 and more like something somebody should write software to do automatically: tab, 1,1,1,2,4,4,3, repeat

73

Good first effort

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | Review of Kingdoms of Amalur - Reckoning - US & Canada

I purchased this game on a whim and had real trouble putting it down. The graphics aren't anything spectacular, the story is basically pointless, and the side-quests are basically the same thing over and over again. Yet this game had me mesmerized for the few weeks I played it.

The game feels more like an MMO than a traditional RPG and the skinner box of MMO's is what kept me going. I found myself clicking through the dialogue wheels as quickly as I good so I could find more loot to upgrade. The upgrade system is definitely broken as I was doing otherworldly damage by the end of the game.

The combat system is also what kept me interested. I played as an assassin character and loved sneaking up behind enemies and zooming around the map with my various powers. It's a shame that this game will never have a chance to work out the kinks in a sequel, nevertheless it is a fun game.

84

Slight step back from the original

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | Review of Crysis 2: Maximum Edition (NA)

Make no mistake, Crysis 2 is an incredible game. The graphics are stunning. The level design is great (linear, but great). The nanosuit adds an exciting new dimension to the FPS. Controls are tight and responsive. Overall, I would have to say that Crysis 2 could be the best FPS of the year (beating Halo: Reach and CoD:Black Ops). Could be the best FPS of the year.

Sadly though, some minor AI bugs reduce the experience from "astounding" to "great". You will notice AI walking into cars, getting stuck in the environment, not noticing car alarms, etc. With a package as tight as Crysis 2, it is really surprising that the AI suffers from these issues. While people new to FPS games may not notice the buggy AI, FPS patrons may become frustrated as big budget games usually do not contain these issues.

The buggy AI drops the score down a bit, but otherwise great. This is still a contender for game of the year status and should be considered by any fan of the FPS genre.

90

Great mechanics and beautiful world

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | Review of Crysis Maximum Edition (NA)

FAR CRY was one of the best FPS games ever sold. It created such a following that can only be compared to that of UNREAL and the original HALF-LIFE. CRYTEK, the developer of both FAR CRY and CRYSIS, clearly did not rest on its laurels. CRYSIS is an EVEN BETTER GAME in many aspects. And toping FAR CRY is NOT an easy task...

Graphically the game is GORGEOUS! (Both DX10 and DX9 compatible). Moving in the jungle is just unbelievable: the natural foliage, the game of light and shadow, the clear flowing water...The weapons are exceptionally well designed (familiar shapes but mostly futuristic) and their muzzle flashes add to the game realism.

Replenishing your ammo is almost never a problem, provided you are frugal with your snipper bullets. A nice cross-genre touch: most weapons are enhanceable with targeting-lasers, sniper-sights and silencers. The "weapon" you will enjoy more is, of course, the nanite-muscle-suit, a kind of augmenting exoskeleton that serves as both armor and turning you into a super-human.

The sound has also been well worked on. There are a number of moments where sound clues are the warning you will get. The sound of an enemy crawling towards you is not a good omen...So get rid of those old headphones and plug in a good set of speakers.

The levels are beautifully designed and the AI PHENOMENAL! I had a group of enemies flank me as I was engaged with their comrade who was left as bait! Shoot an enemy from cover only to watch him seek cover as well - until he or one of his comrades spot your position!

Overall, the gameplay controls is very similar to that of FAR CRY (and most FPS nowadays). I do have to point out that movement is precise and effective. Running is fast whereas crouching is stealthy. For longer distances, vehicles become available. The game also sports a multiplayer - although it may require lowering the video specs to avoid lagging.

50

Dull melee combat abounds

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

I wanted so much to like this game. The reviews seem to be all over the place centering on what appears to be one's love of anything zombie-related to the pros and cons of fps games. Both of which I really enjoy. Sadly, I am in the camp of really disliking this game. I suppose one could start with the proverbial, "This game would have been awesome if..." but there are so many things that could go there it would take up many pages.

Simply, this plays like a late 90's fps with mundane and rather pointless quests. With today's coding and interface options a player ought to be able to completely customize his/her toon and rig. Being confined to an "island" the graphics should be much richer and more diverse. The interface with other NPCs is also clunky and substandard by today's standards. I did not have some of the issues that other players have with loading the game and so forth but I didn't feel the game was taking advantage of the assets my high end system has to offer.

Check/save points are completely ridiculous nowadays, one should be able to save at any given point. I could go on and on but most of the other folks have covered the long list of issues with this game.

It's like going to see a movie you just know is gonna be great based on the commercials only to discover the movie was a terrible waste of time and could have been so much better. Sad that I paid $13 to download this game, I feel really bad for the folks that paid full price.

95

Improvement and Terror

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | Review of Dead Space 2 (NA)

Dead space 2 is a giant leap forward from its predecessor in every possible way, so if you were among one of the lucky ones who had the pleasure of playing the original Dead Space, chances are you will find yourself enjoying Dead Space 2 even more. That being said, if you had your mind blown by the original like I did you can stop reading right now and buy this game, you won't regret it!

For those of you new to the Dead Space games you're in for a treat if you decide to get this game. Words can't describe how cool everything looks, graphics have never been very important to me but I have to say that Dead Space 2 has the best graphics of any game I've ever played, hands down. The amount of detail that they put into everything from the enemies to the environment around you is staggering. I caught myself just staring off at things around me for minutes at a time just absorbing all the incredible details.

In the original Isaac was the voiceless hero of the game who you take the role of playing, there was nothing particularly wrong with him not speaking. It worked for that game. In Dead Space 2 they equipped Isaac with a voice done by a great voice actor and I personally feel that it added a lot in terms of how much more you're able to empathize with him and it just makes it a more interesting gaming experience overall. The other characters in the game like Eli and Strauss also had very solid voice actors.

This game plays out like a blockbuster movie and there are literally no dull moments to be found the entire way through. It's a perfect example of what edge of your seat action should feel like. This is a quality that was passed down from the original. Personally I found the game more suspenseful than actually scary or terrifying or anything, but I could definitely see it frightening people who scare easily.

One really cool feature of the game is the hardcore mode. It was probably the hardest video game challenge I've ever had and took me months of on and off playing to finally beat it. The reason it's so difficult is because you're only allowed 3 saves the entire game and if you die you have to start from your last save. It can be frustrating at times but it's incredibly rewarding when you finally hear the achievement ding. I thought it was very cool of them to add such a great challenge to the game, it helped give it even more replay value than it already has.

Speaking of replay value, this game has tons! If you're like me you'll want to go back and play it as many times as it takes to collect all the achievements and to take advantage of the "new game +" option.

In closing, I can't really compare this game to anything else out there besides the original Dead Space so I can't really use any other games as a point of reference. This is a good thing though as it's a very unique and interactive gaming experience. It's really in a league of its own as far as FPS's go. I usually stick to RPG's but this is one of the rare instances where I break out of that genre, pick up my plasma cutter, and go in guns blazing! If you're a fan of horror, sci fi, action, FPS's, or if you like movies like Event Horizon ect... I think you'll definitely find you thoroughly enjoy this title. Do yourself a favor and play this game!

92

Horrifying

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | Review of Dead Space (NA)

I played an early demo of this game and was shocked when I saw the many different ways Isaac could die throughout the game. It took me a few years to work up the nerve to play this game because I'm a wimp when it comes to scary games.

The game did not disappoint. Great visuals, great upgrade system, and a great feel with the weapons. I love the creativity in destroying the Necromorphs (limbs first). The story and world of this game is something I got into as well. What is behind these markers? Why are you seeing these visions of your girlfriend? These questions are answered throughout and everything culminates on the planet in the denouement.

The way the story is presented through audio logs and text logs adds a lot. The overall feel of the ship is just horrifying, with messages scrawled in blood throughout. This game was a definite surprise for me and I would recommend it to anyone that wants a good story and scare.

75

Leashes and Kicking

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | Review of Bulletstorm (NA)

The title of this piece refers to an interview I once saw with the developers of Halo: Combat Evolved. This was Bungie's big goal, to create 30 seconds of fun for the gamer, and then let him do it again and again. And it worked - Halo is arguably one of the greatest FPS franchises in the business!

However, without fail, the same thing could be said for just about EVERY shooter out there. Point, shoot, reload, point, shoot, reload... Still fun though, right?

People Can Fly and Epic Studios have done just that with their new opus, Bulletstorm. Only, this time, they added a couple new wrinkles to that 30 seconds; a nifty new tool, the tether; and a carnival house devoted to pain! Just about everywhere one looks in Bulletstorm, one sees something they wouldn't want to get too close to in real life - cactus covered in deadly spikes, exposed electrical wiring, man-eating plants, etc. Each of these things are designed to be used by the player to rack up crazy combinations of over the top violence visited upon the bodies of maniacal (and most probably cannibalistic) muties out to kill you. The more you manage to wring out of a combo, the more points you get. However, since points in Bulletstorm equate to cash, and cash is what you need to buy more ammo and upgrades for your fabulously twisted weapons arsenal, it behooves the player to be as creative in his kills as he possibly can. This "skillshot system" is what changes everything - People Can Fly obviously love video-games, and it shows in a perfectly balanced system designed to reward player creativity with bigger and better toys...

One example is the flailgun, a weapon you find early on that shoots spiked grenades connected by a chain like a sadistic bolo, perfect for tying up a foe which you can then use to fling into a group of his buddies before remotely setting off the explosives, multiplying your skillshot count by the overall amount of enemies. If any of them end up stuck to a cactus, or slamming up against an explosive barrel, you get credit for those things, too! All these seemingly disparate mini-atrocities add up to one big score, which the player can then use to buy themselves something nice from the store. And since every item in the store is a weapon or something weapon-related, that "something nice" is definitely gonna be something you like. This, of course, is just one small example - not only does each weapon have a secondary mode, they also have their own specific skillshots to unlock inspiring the player to use each weapon in ways he may never have thought about before!

As for re-playability, Bulletstorm has that in spades. Playing thru the campaign opens up challenge areas you can take on separately by yourself, or with a couple of friends (the main campaign has co-op as well!). Your scores are kept track of and placed on the gamerboards for everyone else to see. The better you get at manipulating each one of these spaces, squeezing out more and more skillshot points, the better you end up being in the campaign upon every consecutive play-thru. In the end, the experience is akin to billiards - the better you get at it, the more satisfying the experience. And with graphics this good, and characters this fun to hang out with, you're gonna want to get better...

87

So hard, So addicting

mostnatebe66 | May 28, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

I almost skipped this game. I was pre-ordering several games (can't even remember what they were) but I was not familiar with this title. I don't know why I pre-ordered it, but when I did, I almost cancelled my order. Then, when it came, I popped it in the PS3 and played for about 10 minutes, died about 3 times, and got very frustrated. Why is this fun? What is going on? I took it out of the game, and played Drake 3 (which really is a fantastic game in its own right).

I was about to move on to Skyrim when my wife put Dark Souls in one night. Why? I'm not sure. Neither is she. But she died. Quickly. And died again. And again. And then we realized that dying was part of the point of the game, and we should just let it roll. So we did. And then about 12 hours later, we came up for air.

We have been playing this game nonstop, every day, for a couple months now. We have not yet completed this game to our satisfaction. We will continue to play it. It inhabits our thoughts, our plans, our dreams. It is beautiful, frustrating, haunting, and fascinating. The slow spinout of the story line is incredible, told with much inference and deliberation. The graphics are peerless--simply magical--and the sound design of worthy of the Lord of the Rings movies!

We love this game. It is amazing. If you are into dark fantasy, and are willing to be a little frustrated up front but know you can hang in there, then get this game. This is easily the best game of this genre that we have played, and one of the best in the last 3-4 years. I give it an enthusiastic 10/10.

93

Immersive, Beautiful, and Thought Provoking

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Metro: Last Light

I adored Metro 2033 and was anxiously awaiting this sequel. The THQ closing had me worried about the fate of many of their games, including this one, but it was released regardless.

The gameplay is more fluid than the previous game and the controls are definitely more intuitive. Traversing the dark tunnels of the metro and viewing the sunrise are astoundingly beautiful. There is so much to like about this game...story, graphics, and gameplay.

My first playthrough I used stealth when possible but usually ended up in a massive shootout. My second playthrough is in the extra immersive ranger mode and all stealth is what I've been trying to do.

All told, great game with fun stealth mechanics and gunplay.

88

Out of nowhere

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033

Metro 2033 is quite the surprise. I heard nothing about this game when I first saw it in the store so I checked it out and thought it looked interesting so I decided to pick it up, and I'm really glad I did. This is a really good looking game with an amazing game environment and character design. The level design is really good and there are a lot of cool weapons and game play mechanics.

The only part I was disappointed in was toward the end of the game. Not the way the game ended, which was really amazing and had some very innovative game play, but there is an area that you go to that is breathtaking and when I saw what was in there I got really excited about the potential for some very exciting moments but I was sadly disappointed. Maybe you can go back there in the sequel, hopefully there will be one.

I had never played any of the Stalker games, Metro 2033 was made by the same guys, and now I think I might have to go back and check some of those out.

Great game that looks amazing and was a lot of fun to play. If you're a Fallout and Half-Life fan, which I happen to be a huge fan of and have played through all the games many times, then this is the game for you.

74

More of the same....

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

This game can be put simply....gorgeous world with all the same mechanics and story elements of the previous two entries.

Skyrim had been one of my most anticipated games since it was first announced. Counting down the days until it was released was tedious and filled with anticipation. The introduction captivated me but afterwards the game began to feel just like Morrowind and Oblivion with a few upgrades to the mechanics.

Combat is still the same clunky mess that it has always been. This is probably the biggest disappointment for me. I really wanted combat that felt real, like in Dark Souls. Instead the player gets tricked into believing the combat is better than it is by the periodic killcam. Killing dragons was supposed to feel epic but was more annoying than anything. Dragons constantly flying overhead attacking but never landing.

The main story was boring and cared nothing about what was happening in it. The only enjoyable and original story came from the Dark Brotherhood which always seems to be the best part of The Elder Scrolls.

Overall the game is entertaining for awhile, but the been there done that feel of the game detracts from the overall experience.

80

Fun, but missing something.

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

This game is a blast to play with friends, if you ignore the story. My first play-through left me confused about what actually happened with the story. But the thing is... I didn't care. Leveling up and finding new weapons and ways to cause destruction with friends was a blast. This game is like an action rpg on steroids with the steroids being loaded into a cannon and shot into the world, all shown from a first person view.

The environment throughout is pretty neat and the game takes you from frozen tundras to caustic caverns and from deserts to high tech cities. Absolutely worth a try, especially now that you can often find it for five dollars nowadays.

90

Addicting, hilarious, and all-out Fun!

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Borderlands was a fabulously fun but flawed video game. The story was uncompelling; the characters were few and far between and barely fleshed out; the enemies and environments weren't very varied; the vehicles seemed slow and unispired; the menus were cluttered and hard to navigate; and the maps were pretty sparsely detailed and uninteractive. That said, the gameplay of shootin' and lootin', plus the humor and the radical art style was an addictive mix. The use of the controller was perfect. It was truly inspired to lump the first person shooter in with the action role-player. I have spent countless hours playing and replaying Borderlands since I first got my hot little hands on it back in 2009.

Enter Borderlands 2. What a difference three years can make...

Using what looks to be the exact same engine as the first, Borderlands 2 is at once familiar and completely new. Everything that endeared the first game to millions is immediately present, from the art style to the perfect controls, but the differences make themselves clear right from the beginning. Instead of the constant desert of the first game, the environments are varied and rich. New enemy types make themselves known right from the beginning, but are at home with the familiar fauna of the original. Now it's not just the enemies that are dangerous, but the environments provide their own dangerous flora and booby-traps to contend with.

The story is much more engaging this time around, what with new characters that provide depth and a new arch nemesis that players will love to hate. What's not to love about a homicidal megalomaniac with a wicked sense of humor that goes by the name of Handsome Jack?

Running around in a car is a lot more fun this time around. They're faster and easier to control, plus the variety of makes and color schemes are greatly appreciated.

Much improved are the menus, which are easier to navigate and more intuitive. The maps are not only more detailed, they also allow the player to set their own way points. Basically, everything that fans could complain about in Borderlands was fixed for the second outing...

That said, there are still a few caveats. Like I mentioned previously, the engine looks to be identical to the first, and all of the additional artwork and AI types appears to be taking its toll. New environments and things added to said environments take a graphical hit the first moment they appear on screen. For instance: every time you open a container, the contents will appear blurry for a few moments. Big deal. The amount of fun that Gearbox has managed to squeeze into just about every second of this fantastic game will keep the player coming back again and again.

I definitely recommend this title to everyone who loved the first game, and to everyone who just likes a fun experience.

81

Great stealth gameplay, awful and pointless boss fights.

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Positives: Anyone who enjoyed the original Deus ex for its open-ended gameplay and dark cyberpunk atmosphere will feel that this game does justice to the series. Human Revolution eliminates the mistakes that Invisible War made. Since it has been over 10 years since the original, HR had to incorporate some modern gameplay mechanics. For example the new cover system helps with stealth and combat tremendously. At first I was very skeptical about regenerating health, but because head-on firefights are so dangerous, you might later be grateful for it. Overall, the game plays very well as a combination of role-playing and first-person action. Together this creates a very absorbing effect. I was surprised at how many hours of sleep I lost because I couldn't put the game down after bedtime.

Negatives: A while after the game was released, it was revealed that some parts had to be rushed to make the 2011 deadline. If you look around game news websites you will find that Eidos Montreal outsourced development of its boss fights to a third party. Most people have already complained about the confrontational boss fights. Also, it is known that whole levels, like the Montreal hub and upper Hengsha, were cut out because the original scope of the game was too ambitious. The most noticeable effect of this is that game felt severely truncated from what it intended to accomplish, and the main conspiracy of the plot never gets explained fully after already pulling you far in. Likewise, you rarely get to see the consequences of your decisions because there is not enough game to allow for it. The ending scenes felt phoned in; again, a symptom of last-minute rushing.

Although Human Revolution feels like an incomplete game, the portion you are able to play definitely lives up to (and raises) the Deus ex standard.

50

Difficult to get into

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds II Cap

I purchased this game looking for an open-world RPG to tide me over til the release of Skyrim. Couldn't have been more disappointed with this game. Didn't care about the characters, the story, the setting, or the combat.

I was expecting something more from this game and never received it. I initially thought the idea of orcs helping you as an intriguing idea but I ended up not liking them particularly much. I went back and played some of the old Isometric Infinity based rpg's of the '90s instead of waste any more time playing this game.

95

Surprising and Nostalgic

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA)

This game flew completely under my radar back in 2009. I was eagerly awaiting the sequel to Mass Effect when I realized this game was coming out the November prior to ME release. I've played many BioWare games of the past...Baldur's Gate, Neverwinter Nights, KOTOR, and this game brought back the nostalgia I felt playing those games.

The different origin stories for each character was simply awesome. It made re-playability a lot easier. The skills provided were also something to be lauded.

The character interactions are usually the best part of any BioWare title and I loved interacting with my party. Morrigan, Zevran, Oghren, and Lylliana provided some of the best content of the game.

The story begins are your typically high fantasy story would and evolves to cover the entire kingdom. Expansion has great content and a pretty good story as well.

85

95 percent awesome

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA)

The beginning of this game exceeded my expectations. The beautifully crafted takeover of the Earth was a brilliant thing to behold. I was able to port my saved games from each installment into this one and it really felt like it was my story. The mission to save the Krogan race was one of the most emotionally packed moments of the game.

Trying to collect enough assets to shift the tide of war was fun, until it became apparent that it meant basically nothing. The ending is based not a prior choices made, but on choice of doors... A, B, or C. This greatly upset me since BioWare touted that choice was one of the most important features of the series. Well, all the choices eventually culminate in the same thing...major disappoint. And following that choice the game just ends with a scene from another world ending the story of the Shepard.

95

Amazing Choices and Story

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

ME2 feels just like what a sequel to ME1 should feel like. The graphics are amazing, the music, the cinematics, the characters come alive, the dialogue options are all there, and there is so much to explore and do and collect within the game that make it worth playing. If you enjoyed the epic storyline of ME1 and were hoping the sequel was just as good, you will not be disappointed with ME2. I actually picked up this game after losing my save file from ME1, but I was able to re-create my Commander Shepherd and continue making the choices I made with ME1. There is also a nice little add-on to the game that allows you to review the back story and make the decisions you made from the first title when starting a new game in ME2.

One thing I don't like about ME2 is that the character customization options seem to be lacking. You can't change the equipment or appearance of your squad. There aren't a lot of weapon or armor upgrades. The level up process seems kind of pointless, and I never understood how to use any abilities aside from shooting a gun. So while it is nice to try and use these extra combat techniques, I really don't feel like the character menu does much for me.

The suicide mission has to be one of my favorite moments in gaming. The preparation I took prior to that mission actually worked against my crew. All the same I loved it.

88

BioWare meets Star Trek

mostnatebe66 | May 27, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect (NA)

This game is incredibly imersive. There is a long deep main story line that really keeps the game moving along and tons of side quests to bring the universe to life. With any RPG its the details that kill games. Not Mass Effect. The developers focused on every aspect of the game play and really polished it to a high shine. The biggest downfall is that it was developed for the Xbox and so the graphics aren't as good as you would expect from a game this incredible well put together.

Overall the scenes are a lot of fun. there are so many different ways to approach battle that its hard to get bored too quickly. The two problems I had were first in all the side quests the building layouts are incredibly repetitive. Its almost exactly the same except that furniture has been moved around. Second the AI can be a bit annoying and aggressive. The easiest tactic to win any battle is to sit back and wait for them to come to you. That's fine and all but i expect more out of my battles then sniper frag fests.

There are tons of side quests and tons of places to explore. the side quests even intermingle among one another and some of the moral choices are very ambiguous making the decisions you make much much more interesting. The only problem is that unless your physically writing down where you have explored you often get confused and end up revisiting the same planets over and over again. The controls while driving around planets is often erratic as well.

Interesting to travel after Saren and then find out the big reveal near the end of them. This only sets bigger things in motion for the series in-to-which the scale of the series comes into play.

100

The Depths of the Universe

mostnatebe66 | May 26, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

This game satisfied not only my passion for a great story but my insatiable appetite for destruction. The vigor system, much the same as plasmids, works brilliantly in the flow of battle. The harder difficulties of the game are definitely worth playing through. The 1999 mode changes the structure of the game dramatically as I feared death at each and every corner.

I loved the ideas presented in the story and thought the major details presented were fleshed out, for the most part, by the end. The idea of interpretation within the story makes re-playability that much more interesting.

The graphics at times leap out at you screaming at you with oh my god moments. Overall, they can't compete with with the realism of Battlefield or Metro. But that isn't the point with this game. The textures are a huge improvement from the previous Bioshock titles and the lighting looks great throughout.