Reviews by mrminecrafter1

95

One of The Best Story-Telling Games In Video Game History

mrminecrafter1 | July 25, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead

The zombie theme is a bit saturated, but Telltale has made it better. The story is based around Lee, the character you control, who is forced to fight off the zombie apocalypse while protecting some little girl who happens to save his life. While the zombies are a danger, the people who you meet are even more dangerous. Choices you make tremendously impact the storyline and also affect how other characters view you. One of the best stories in gaming history. The visual fits the game nicely and doesn't draw attention away from the gameplay or story. Gameplay consists of dialog choices, QTEs, and the occasional shooting. It's not too great or bad but the main selling point is the story. The controls are a bit wonky and the camera is a bit weird, but it still is playable. The soundtrack is fantastic as well as the sound design for the zombies for example. Overall this is one of the best games out there.

64

Impressive Technology

mrminecrafter1 | July 21, 2014 | Review of SPINTIRES

Spintires is one of the most realistic vehicle simulators on the PC market. The technology that is used in the game is absolutely amazing. Graphics are top-notch and the physics are incredible. The only real problem with the game is the gameplay itself. There is hardly any content besides lumbering wood and other jobs. There is multiplayer but you'll need to find a buddy willing to cough up money for some laughs in the game. A great technological achievement but not exactly a fun game.

93

One of the Best Arcade Shooters

mrminecrafter1 | July 20, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

This is another FPS shooter. Yay, he said sarcastically. But wait. The gameplay is fantastic in my opinion. I like the arcade feel of the game combined with hordes of zombies charging at you. Shooting barely has any recoil and it's really simplified compared to other shooters. It helps newcomers adapt to the game quite easily. The single-player campaign could be better, but the real joy is playing with friends. A small variety of zombies but the small cast is really great. Graphics are a bit dated but it is a 2009 game, so it gets a pass. Sound design is quite good with convincing horrifying zombie screams. Overall it's a really great FPS arcade game that is easy to learn for newcomers. Recommended.

84

Great Game, But....

mrminecrafter1 | July 16, 2014 | Review of Titanfall (NA)

It's a really well executed FPS game. The addition of jetpacks, parkour, and mechs really add some unique aspects to the gameplay. It's absolutely thrilling being given the ability to chain together infantry kills. The weapons are really well balanced and are great to use. The Titans aren't too powerful but they are certainly useful in combat. Graphics are pretty good and the game barely has any technical issues. The problem is the depth of the game. It lacks customization options for anything in the game. Titans have limited customisable options. Weapons are also included. Even your character is limited to pre-set options. A small number of maps that while are good, needs a bit more added to it's collection. More unique gamemodes would also help the game. All in all, a pretty good FPS title.

90

An Underrated Game

mrminecrafter1 | July 13, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is an extremely good game in my opinion. In this game, you could do basically anything. Blow up a car, hide a body, the typical open-world stuff. The depth of the systems implemented in this game is surprising deep especially the stealth system which is done pretty well. Graphics are pretty good with impressive lighting. The story is a bit corny at times but still pretty good at best. Overall I would recommend this game. RPG + Action + Open-World = Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Recommended.

92

A True Testament to the Show

mrminecrafter1 | July 10, 2014 | Review of South Park™: The Stick of Truth™

This is the best video game that respects the show it's based on unlike the Family Guy game. Great comedy and acting that makes you feel like you're part of the South Park TV show. The RPG elements is done really well but it does have a few problems here and there. Story is really great and the environment is done pretty good with many different areas to explore. Sound design is excellent as well as the soundtrack. A recommendation is guaranteed from me.

81

GRID Autosport: Not the best, but not the worst.

mrminecrafter1 | July 10, 2014 | Review of GRID Autosport (NA)

GRID Autosport is another racing game in the PC market. It fits more along the lines of a simulation racing game which fits well for some people. The graphics are pretty good and are definitely an improvement over previous installments of the series. The driving is quite good with accurate depiction of how each car feels. The A.I. is smarter than before but by a small amount. Overall it's a pretty good game, but it's not my cup of tea.

41

Godus: Game or Clicking Simulator?

mrminecrafter1 | July 6, 2014 | Review of Godus

This game has drawn quite the controversy. Gameplay mainly consist of clicking which is pretty boring for me at least. Artistic style is unique and reminds me of Tearaway's artistic style. It's pretty boring as you play a God that is supposed to help your population of followers through the times of history. Sound design is pretty decent and the soundtrack isn't necessarily good or bad. Overall it's pretty boring. Unless clicking is your thing, avoid this early access game. Another early access game that's pretty terrible. Shocker.

89

A Medieval RPG Game done right.

mrminecrafter1 | July 6, 2014 | Review of The Banner Saga

An excellent RPG game set in the medieval times that puts you into the task of starting your epic journey. The strategy involved is incredibly crafted. Every decision you make will affect in a rather different and significant way. Managing your caravan is just as important as combat in this game. Great sound design and also a really good soundtrack. The artistic style of the game is really great and fits the game nicely. Recommended.

93

Tomb Raider: A Wonderful Game

mrminecrafter1 | June 25, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider

This is different from the rest of the series. That doesn't necessarily mean it's bad. The graphics in this game are absolutely outstanding and ranks up in the top 10 most beautiful games on my list. The story is incredible, thanks to the excellent voice acting and animation. Watching Lara Croft grow throughout the game is really amazing. Gameplay is pretty good while admittedly linear. Every weapon is fun to use especially the bow. I would no doubt about it, pick it up. But caution to all Tomb Raider fans: This is a different game from the rest of the series. Completely different.

87

Tropico 5: Still Pretty Good

mrminecrafter1 | June 25, 2014 | Review of Tropico 5

Tropico 5 is not the best in the series. But that does not mean the Tropico series isn't a great series. The gameplay has been given a few minor changes here and there. Graphics are pretty good considering it's a strategy game. Soundtrack is enjoyable as always. The customization for your dictator has been reduced which seems slightly odd to me. It still feels like a Tropico game but with a few minor changes here and there. Overall I would recommend this game if you are looking for a SimCity-like game.

74

Valiant Hearts: A Sad Disappointment

mrminecrafter1 | June 24, 2014 | Review of Valiant Hearts - The Great War (NA)

I really had high hopes for this game. The storytelling is really fantastic in this game as well as the artistic style. It's more like a comic book than a video game overall. There are hardly any mechanics in the game and the ones that do exist are barely passable. I love story-driven games but a bit more gameplay and the game would've done better. Soundtrack and sound is excellent. The game overall isn't as great as I wished. Unfortunately, this game doesn't stand out. Recommended for people who look for story-driven games.

73

Quirky, but good.

mrminecrafter1 | June 24, 2014 | Review of Lords of Football

A unique twist on the soccer management genre. It adds a bit of Sims-gameplay to your team. There are multiple things you have to manage besides just the playstyle of your team on the soccer field. I have a bit more fun with this game mainly due to unintended comedy by players. Graphics are a bit outdated compared to today's games but I mainly blame game's budget. Sound is decent, but definitely needs more work. Overall I would recommend this game if it has a discount.

86

Space Run: A Neat Game

mrminecrafter1 | June 24, 2014 | Review of Space Run

Space Run is basically a moving tower-defense game. Your spaceship has to transport various materials and you have to defend against various obstacles. The gameplay is suprisingly fun. The frantic micro-management against incoming waves of enemies is really fun. Sound design is pretty good as well as the soundtrack. Graphical fidelity is pretty good considering the budget of this game. Overall this game is pretty good. I would recommend this to fans of tower-defense games. I'm not a fan of those games and this game just shows how well they impressed me.

77

Garden Warfare Review

mrminecrafter1 | June 24, 2014 | Review of Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare (NA)

This game is pretty fun. Not made for hardcore gamers, so don't expect too much for this game. After all this game is marketed for casual shooters and children, so the game might not appeal to you. The artistic style and graphic fidelity of the game is wonderful. Sound design is excellent and the soundtrack barely loops. The game is fun to play, but only at short bursts of 1-2 hour sessions. Depth and customization is fairly limited compared to shooters like Call of Duty: Ghosts and Battlefield 4. But I think it deserves the slide here. Overall this is a fairly fun game that you should get. But only at a discount.

67

Lifeless Planet: I'm a bit lifeless after play this game

mrminecrafter1 | June 19, 2014 | Review of Lifeless Planet

I'm not really a huge of adventure games. This may be the reason why. The environment is basically bare which leaves the planet lifeless. It makes sense considering the title of the game is "Lifeless Planet" but it makes for a really boring game. Graphics are amazing in this game. It's Crysis-level amazing but it has that sense it's simply beautiful. A bit of light platforming here and there, but it's not really enough to sell it as a platformer game. Story-wise, it's pretty decent. Bored the hell out of me, but this is because of my personal preference of games. After a friend's recommendation, I played his copy of the game and I now regret the decision to play.

93

Don't Starve: Best Indie RPG game

mrminecrafter1 | June 19, 2014 | Review of Don't Starve

Don't Starve is simply fantastic. The fact that it's an indie title is just mind-blowing considering it's not made by a AAA company. Gameplay is diverse and really in-depth with resource gathering, excellent fighting mechanics, and random world generation. The atmosphere is sold so well thanks to the excellent sound design. The unique cast of characters you can choose to play as is also a nice welcome. The art style of the game is done really well. There are hardly any technical issues which is a good thing considering it's a PC game. Overall this game is astoundingly great and shows the gaming industry the potential of indie gaming.

84

A Solid Outing for Wolfenstein

mrminecrafter1 | June 19, 2014 | Review of Wolfenstein: The New Order

This game is a pretty good addition to the franchise. Not one of the best shooters out in the market right now, but it certainly is more than above average. The story of B.J. Blazkowicz is just phenomenal. B.J. is a really like-able character alongside with all the other characters in the story. The diverse environment is really good which is essential for this game considering it's only single-player. Graphics are impressive at moments. I don't like the linear level design but it is being retailed as a classic shooter with modern improvements. It is still fun even if the level design is a bit weak, but that little flaw I noted is because I never grew up with old classic shooters. Overall this game is pretty good.

Recommendation Level: For FPS gamers, this deserves a bit of attention.

88

Max Payne 3: Review Time

mrminecrafter1 | June 13, 2014 | Review of Max Payne 3: Complete Pack

Max Payne 3 is one of the most polished video game I've seen. The graphics are stunning and physics react accordingly. Gunplay feels great and having bullet time gives you that moment of badassness, gunning down drug dealers with dual Berettas. The selection of guns is quite decent to say the least. The story is really good and has alot of backstory, so if you're new to this, then start reading on Max Payne. Multiplayer is decent at best. Framerate is smooth with a good video card. The only cons to this game is it's multiplayer and significant download size of 35 GB.

92

A Review of Injustice: Gods Among Us

mrminecrafter1 | June 11, 2014 | Review of Injustice: Gods Among Us - Ultimate Edition (NA)

It is a superb fighting game. On PC, it maybe one of the best options available . Compared to games like Street Fighter and Mortal Kombat, it is not better than those two series. But the gameplay is just marvelous. Interaction with the environment during fights is a really interesting game mechanic that works well. The soundtrack fits the game, but it is not something that I would prefer to listen to after a while. The graphics are pretty good but it is not the main thing that will wow you. The cast of characters to fight with are astounding, with plenty of good choices.

Overall I recommend this excellent fighting game.

93

Counter Strike: GO : Watch out, we got ourselves a champion.

mrminecrafter1 | May 25, 2014 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

The newest iteration of the Counter Strike is simply amazing. Everything has been improved and the series has taken a step forward with Global Offensive. The fun is still there and the graphics has drastically improved. Gunplay is still fun to play with. With Steam trading cards and buy-able in-game items, it only makes the experience better. The atmosphere of the game is simply created by the game and the players themselves. Every moment you keep your eyes peeled for the next enemy, fingers ready on the trigger. If you want an easy entry into the PC FPS games, this title is a must. Another great shooter title in the gaming industry.

66

Call of Duty Ghosts: A Former Shadow of Itself

mrminecrafter1 | May 25, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty: Ghosts (NA)

Call of Duty Ghosts is not the best game in the series by more than a mile. The campaign was quite interesting with the whole Ghosts concept. I actually enjoyed it a bit until the space parts came in. Space warfare was new and interesting but it didn't quite fit into the Ghosts concept for me at least. Underwater battles was basically space warfare except the clips sunk down to the ocean floor instead of floating off into space. Multiplayer was still the same. It's good but gets boring quite quickly. The movie DLC as I call them adds a small twist but is not enough to cover up all the flaws. Overall it is rather disappointing.

96

Civilization 5: The God of All Strategy Games

mrminecrafter1 | May 25, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

Hands down, the Civilization series is one of the best strategy games in gaming history. While Civilization 5 is not the best of the series, it still is one of the best games out right now. It has a bunch of content and involves quite a good amount of planning and thinking to win the game. Some of the DLC such as "Brave New World" and "Gods and Kings" should've already been in the game. Just be careful though. It's extremely addicting. Pick up your copy and conquer the might world with your Civilization.

91

Definitely a competitor

mrminecrafter1 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Mafia II

Mafia 2 is simply amazing. The storyline is unique and the characters are well developed. The atmosphere and detail of the game is just stunning. You could almost feel like you were actually in the city, roaming around as Vito Scaletta. There a couple of annoyances such as the voice-overs which are a bit irritating to the ears at times. Driving is a bit debatable. To some people, it feels realistic and great; while other people think that driving is like trying to drive across ice. Overall the game is definitely worth a shot and hopefully a new sequel comes out. GTA and Saints Row, watch out for Mafia.

88

Be The Goat

mrminecrafter1 | May 20, 2014 | Review of Goat Simulator

Goat Simulator is quite an interesting game if you can tell. You're controlling a goat for heaven's sake. It definitely is enjoyable depending on who you are. I like to have a good laugh once in a while and playing the game definitely gets a laugh out of me. The concept makes fun of other simulator games by having the terrible physics which to be honest is actually quite good. The graphical quality of the game is superb and actually looks good. The content of the game should keep you entertained for about 5-9 hours possibly. Even more content is being added so even more derpiness. A goat game. Simple as that. Get it.

84

Need for Speed: Most Wanted

mrminecrafter1 | Feb. 16, 2014 | Review of Need for Speed Most Wanted (NA)

This review is going to be hated by most NFS veterans for several reasons: 1. It likes Burnout Paradise but with a more serious approach. 2. Not a true sequel to the original Most Wanted. But for newcomers to the arcade racing and NFS series, this game is really good. The driving is nice and is not too hard to learn. Your way of unlocking new cars is by exploring the world which I think is pretty unique. The police A.I. and chases feel action-packed without going too dull too fast. The missions and activities get repetitive as you start to pass them. The graphics are superb and the sound design is fantastic. Looking for a racing game to start with? Pick this up.

85

A little disappointing

mrminecrafter1 | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham Origins

Let's cut to the chase shall we. The city was definitely big, but it had the San Andreas syndrome. Too much space with too little people. The story was certainly unique and cool, so credit there. The combat system is still solid and nearly identical. So in the end, Batman: Arkham Origins is not as good as the first two games but should still be enjoyable to most people. It is especially enjoyable to newcomers of the Batman series.

96

Ultimate Deal

mrminecrafter1 | Oct. 19, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Game of the Year Edition (NA)

This is not ground breaking in anyway. But it is more than fun to play. The gameplay is so interesting with a nice story to fall back on. With buddies to play with, it's get even better. Just the thrill of defeating your foes and trying to scramble to them faster than your friends, is just amazing. It's definitely a good deal. DLCs are more than decent.This is the time to buy it!