Reviews by mulletov

90

Rapture: A Nice Place to Visit But You Don't Wanna Live There

mulletov | Jan. 24, 2014 | Review of BioShock (NA)

The original Bioshock is an amazing story driven FPS that combines elements of exploration, RPG, and twitch gunplay to deliver a near perfect game. The controls are so tight and responsive that I was able to play it using an Xbox controller where I usually prefer to play shooters with the mouse+keyboard. The game immediately submerses you in its world from the get go and you discover Rapture as a failed utopia. There is a lot of action as you kill splicers, big daddies, turrets, and many other freakish Rapture inhabitants. Yet there are also some slower paced exploration and puzzle solving moments scattered throughout the game to give you some breathing room and work your mental muscles. I particularly liked the hacking minigames which resembled Pipe Dream. You can also level up your character with special tonics to give you superhuman abilities in addition to your gun skills. This was quite fun and really helps in combat. The story is amazing as well with a great twist at the end that I did not see coming. If you like games with purpose and great storytelling, Bioshock is a definite must buy.

80

First Person Puzzler

mulletov | Dec. 31, 2013 | Review of Portal

It's amazing how this game seems to have grabbed an audience almost as large as that of the Half Life series. Considering this game was originally bundled as part of the Orange Box, it's now become its own franchise. And I can see why, I have never played a first person platformer puzzle game like this. It will make you think and twist your brain trying to figure out all the puzzles and tricks. It runs on the Source engine so the controls are precise just like you were playing Counterstrike. I think fans of games like Half Life and Left 4 Dead would definitely get a kick out of this. Although it's a puzzle game, you do have to be careful of turrets and bottomless pits that can kill you. I like the fact that it feels like it takes place in the Half Life universe as you could be playing a character that wouldn't feel out of place stepping out of a Half Life game. There is humor and the sound effects and graphics are similar to other Valve games. Check this one out and see if you can figure out all the puzzles without google.

80

Welcome to the Borderlands

mulletov | Dec. 31, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Yay, Borderlands, one of the most original and colorful FPS games I've ever played. If you like character stat progression combined with item collection, this is the game to get. It's quite a large game with lots of quests and exploration to do. I played through the whole game solo because I couldn't find a good group of teammates who weren't overpowered or maxed out on stats. Even solo the game is fun. The graphics are amazing. At the time, I was using a HD 5770 and was still able to play on high settings. If you like a good story, great graphics, and loot collecting, check this game out.

95

One of the Best Co-op Zombie Shooters Ever

mulletov | Dec. 28, 2013 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

I spent about 2 years playing L4D2 regularly. My favorite aspect is that it is co-op. If you hate competitive FPS games like Call of Duty or Battlefield, you should definitely check this out. It requires a lot of teamwork to finish campaigns with all 4 survivors making it to the finale. The best part of this game is the mod support. The game comes stock with 4 or 5 campaigns and Valve has even ported all campaigns from the original L4D into this. You basically get both games for the price of 1. Be sure to check out the custom campaigns Ravenholm, Left 4 Mario, Warcelona, 2 Evil Eyes, and Death Aboard.

95

The Start of Something Good

mulletov | Dec. 28, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Like other reviewers have said, this was the best modern Batman game at the time of its release. Previous Batman games had horrible controls or broken gameplay, looking at you Batman Forever. The really only good old school Batman game was the original Batman on NES by Sunsoft.
This game came along and blew away everyone's expectations. The gameplay is similar to Metal Gear Solid. You sneak around undetected and try to stealth takedown enemies. The cool thing is if you are found out, Batman has some amazing combat skills that make you feel like a bada$$. The more combos and chains you pull off the higher xp you earn.
The game is huge for just taking place at Arkham Asylum. Similar to games like Metroid and Castlevania, you'll be doing some backtracking through areas that you couldn't access before but later gain the necessary skills or tools to traverse them now. I had to play using a FAQ to find all the little secrets. And the detective mode is cool effect. If you remember the x-ray scanner scene from Total Recall, you'll get a kick out of this. You can basically view enemies through walls right down to their skeletons. I think the biggest con of the game would be enemy variety. Being that this was the first modern Batman game, I guess the developers didn't want to throw too many villains in their first outing so you won't see the majority of rogue's gallery until Arkham City.

90

Maximum Payne

mulletov | Dec. 27, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

I recently completed Max Payne 3 and I thoroughly enjoyed it. This is a straightforward third person shoot 'em up. You spend pretty much the entire game just shooting enemies. There's some golden guns parts you can collect but they aren't necessary for completion. This game most closely resembles Uncharted in gameplay. You make extensive use of cover and there's a large array of weapons to pick up and try out. There's the bullet time effect which I didn't really find myself using a lot because it felt ineffective even when headshotting enemies. Once you fall out of bullet time, you end up lying on the floor out in the open. And yes, the enemies take a lot of bullets to go down.

The presentation is very cinematic and you play through several flashback levels which help flesh out the story of why Max ended up in Brazil. I think the setting gives the franchise a fresh start to tell a new story without too much baggage from the previous games. It also allowed the game to take you to a variety of locations for interesting firefights. My favorite level was the last mission with the song Tears by Health playing in the background while you're blasting enemies leading up to the finale. Rockstar really knows to make a movie like game with a good story. The graphics, music, and gameplay are top notch. Get this if you liked Stranglehold, Gears of War, or Mafia II.

90

FPS Stealth Tactical Espionage Action sounds familiar

mulletov | Dec. 27, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

If you liked any of the Metal Gear Solid games, then this is the game for you. It's set in futuristic Detroit just like Robocop and even has mechs. You play as Adam Jensen the security chief for Sarif industries. Due to an attack on the company, you get cybernetic upgrades called augmentations that make you a one man army. This game has a very different feel from most FPS games out. You have the option to play through it without killing anyone or go in guns blazing. I used the non-lethal route on my playthrough and found it quite fun to sneak and not get caught. What allowed me to do this without too much frustration was the quicksave function. If you make a mistake, just quick load. It's kinda like reversing time.

There's a lot to do in this game. Theres 2 major hub cities to explore and interact w/ NPCs and do side missions. There's hacking mini-games, character leveling progression, and the various augmentations are fun to experiment with. I never played the previous Deus EX games but this game has definitely got me interested in the franchise.

80

Duke Nukem The Return of the King

mulletov | Dec. 27, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

This game gets a lot of hate and I can understand why. Yes most fans had to wait over a decade for it to finally release and by the time it eventually came out, the world had moved on. I played Duke Nukem 3D back in the 90s on a 486DX2 PC and it was awesome at the time and I was a fan. I knew about all the delays for DN Forever but I was not sitting on the edge of my seat waiting for its eventual release like hardcore fans. I picked up this game fairly cheap and enjoyed every moment. There's a lot of variety here from driving a monster truck to being shrunken down to a miniature Duke and platforming out of tough situations. Go in with low expectations and you will have yourself a great time. Go in with the mindset that most of the gameplay was probably planned out back in the 90s and they just gave it a shiny new coat for present day tastes. This game is extremely playable and enjoyable. If you like Serious Sam, The Expendables, and Arnold Schwarzenegger movies, this is right up your alley. Consider it a throwback to the simpler times of FPSes. You can just turn off your brain and blast everything in sight.

90

True Crime Hong Kong Returns

mulletov | Dec. 25, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

Sleeping Dogs ranks up there with the best open world sandbox games. The main difference with SD is that your main weapons are your melee attacks. Yes you can use guns but your martial arts skills are way more fun to use. This game has environmental kills so you can throw enemies into dumpsters, bury their heads in fan blades, and impale them on swordfish heads. The great thing about this game is its Hong Kong setting. It provides so much more diversity from what you'll typically see in other open world games like GTA or SR. Street vendors speak broken English. You can check out the knockoffs and interesting foods just like you were in Chinatown. Get this if you liked Stranglehold and Saints Row.

88

Great Story for a Military Shooter

mulletov | Dec. 25, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

This game should get more recognition. The gameplay is awesome, similar to the Uncharted series. The shooting mechanics are great. You use cover and environmental hazards to kill enemies. Although it's a military shooter, the story is actually quite interesting with a nice twist at the end. You are part of a 3 man commando team deployed in Dubai looking for survivors of a failed operation. Sounds really similar to Apocalypse Now and I'm sure that's where the inspiration comes from. Get this if you enjoy movies like Apocalypse Now, Full Metal Jacket, Blackhawk Down, or Platoon. I started playing with an Xbox 360 controller but switched to mouse+KB to get greater accuracy for aiming.

80

Straight up shooter with some twists

mulletov | Dec. 24, 2013 | Review of The Darkness II

I really liked this game. Yes it was short but nowadays I really don't have much time to play long games. It is a straightforward shooter with a mafia supernatural story. I would liken it to Prey meets Mafia II. The darkness tentacles make this more interesting than your typical FPS. You can use them as your main weapons if you're really good. They can rip up objects to throw as projectiles, melee enemies, absorb health, and perform grisly executions. You also level up your abilities which is a nice little incentive to use the darkness as much as possible. I love the graphical style too. It's very colorful and comic book like. There is actually quite a lot of variety in levels and settings to reduce the boredom of shooting similar bad guys throughout the game. I maxed it on a i5 3550, GTX 570, and 8 GB RAM.