Reviews by odren

86

Great game

odren | July 27, 2013 | Review of Legacy of Kain: Soul Reaver

The voice acting in this game is incredible. this alone is enough reason to give it a try. the gameplay is good and still holds up well today, combat is interesting and the variation in the types of enemies is certainly interesting.

89

very enjoyable

odren | July 25, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins – Ultimate Edition

This is certainly the version of the game that you want to buy. First thing it includes all the DLC which if you bought the standard version you would still be required to buy of course if you wanted the DLC (also to note that this version and the standard are virtually the same price anyway) it also includes the expansion which while not as good as the base game added plenty more hours to the game and it is enjoyable. Highly recommended

74

Improved a lot of Empire

odren | July 25, 2013 | Review of Napoleon: Total War

The world map was less ambitious yet with more focus to a number of different aspects I would say that Napoleon is a better game than Empire and the time period is interesting enough that I would encourage anyone to give it a try

70

It's alright

odren | July 25, 2013 | Review of Empire: Total War

Empire is a good game, yet i'd say that it is probably the worst of the total war series. it just did not work as well as the others. yet one thing to be said is that the modelling on the ships is fantastic and finally being able to fight navel battles was a huge step forward, they are also quite difficult and the wind just has a habit of being against you. land battles are also a bit dull as they come down to the same thing over and over again, mainly because the AI is really dumb. yet there are mods that improve this and therefore improve the challenge of the game. it is a good game and is worth having a look at.

89

A very good game

odren | July 22, 2013 | Review of Commandos 2: Men of Courage CAP

I first played commandos 2 years ago and I found it enjoyable, it was difficult and took some time to work out ways to do its very varied levels and also to collect all of the bonus books in each level. I enjoyed it enough that i play it every so often even to this day. if you've never played it then it's worth giving it a go and if you played a long time ago it's worth giving it another go

82

a bit of fun

odren | July 22, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Blood Pack DLC

It adds samurai movie blood spurts, and beheadings and for Fots when peopel get hit by armstrong guns there is like an explosion of blood which is quite amusing

94

very good

odren | July 22, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai

there's stuff exploding, lines of men dying in seconds, charges falling apart beneath a hail of bullets, all quite exciting. other than that the gameplay is good, the maps are quite remarkable to behold, the models are beautiful and it's a great extension to Shogun 2 so you should probably buy it

100

Probably one of my favourite games of the last few years

odren | July 22, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

I've played a lot of it, probably too much, yet it is a great way to spend time if you have nothing else to do. managing your faction so that you survive the turmoil of the period of sengoku jidai is interesting, and the battles themselves are large and quite engaging, with each individual fight dropping into motion recorded animations making it seem as if the AI are actually fighting (It works a lot better than it did in Empire) the game has nearly limitless replayability so i recommend it a great deal

80

very enjoyable

odren | July 22, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

X-com is a great game, it was let down at release by being quite buggy, but since then most of those bugs have been ironed out and now the game is pretty stable.one of the most enjoyable things i found about X-com was ironman mode, which means you only have one save file for a game and the game automatically saves after every turn so that every move you take is final and if someone on your team dies then that's it. it adds more tension and makes you as the player more cautious which i found made the game more enjoyable

81

wizard death simulator

odren | July 22, 2013 | Review of Magicka

you'll explode a lot. the game has a great sense of humor and is really fun coop game, with the flexible magic system which has some hilarious results well worth playing

90

still great

odren | July 21, 2013 | Review of Rome: Total War

Rome total war was extraordinary, I still remember the hours i spent with this game when it was first released, and I still play it from time to time now. it will be interesting to see if they can improve on what was and still is an amazing game with Rome 2 which is out later this year

95

A great little game

odren | July 12, 2013 | Review of To The Moon Cap

It's really quite something. It accomplished quite well creating a sense of emotional attachment to what was happening in the story. something that most games do not manage. it is well worth your time.

80

Adds a lot to the game

odren | July 12, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World

Brave New World is a good expansion to the game more so than God and Kings was. it adds a lot more and improves a number of the systems that were in place. the ability to spread religion through trade routes finally makes a way for you to actually spread religion without using the units designed for that purpose. the new cultural and diplomatic victories make pursuing these goals more interesting and worth ones time. the reworking of the social policies is good and interesting. I recommend this expansion highly as it greatly improves Civilization 5

75

still a solid game

odren | July 6, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

first thing to say is the game is not blood money but that is understandable. though it is still a good game with lots of different ways to approach levels and with a good enough story to justify the new approach to the way they made this hitman game.

95

a game worthy of your time

odren | July 6, 2013 | Review of Civilization V: Gold Edition

Civ 5 while some may argue is not as good as Civ 4 it is still a worthy successor and with the expansion packs becomes a very good game with plenty of things to do, and plenty of civilizations to play as. almost certainly every game you play will be different to the one before meaning it has almost endless replay-ability. certainly worth picking up

81

A good bit of DLC

odren | July 6, 2013 | Review of Dishonored: The Knife of Dunwall Nexway

Enjoyable with two distinct ways the storyline can play out just like with the main game, meaning that there is at least two playthroughs in this DLC. the 3 missions that are in the game are varied and interesting and as a whole add quite nicely to the world of dishonored. certainly worth picking up if you enjoyed the game alot.

80

Enjoyable

odren | July 6, 2013 | Review of Dishonored Nexway -

The game is great with multiple ways to approach each level this makes it quite replayable. the powers are also enjoyable to play around with. the setting and graphics style is also really nice

84

A good game

odren | July 6, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

It's a good game, with a good story with quite a lot of customization and because of this it provides the game with lots of replayabillity which means that it's more value for money which is always good

80

probably the best Assassin's creed

odren | July 6, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

The design on the locations is quite spectacular, the story has enough drive behind it to see it through to the end and the combat is much smoother than it was in the original Assassin's creed

90

solid title

odren | July 6, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

I enjoyed this game a great deal, it added to Arkham Asylum in terms of gameplay particularly with the combat aspects.It has lots of different things to do so it can keep you occupied for quite sometime. I enjoyed it enough to buy it twice so I highly recommend it

80

Enjoyable game

odren | July 6, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition dns

A very good game with a number of interesting environments to explore that keep it interesting, the sheer amount of differences between the environments adds interest to the entire game. However I found that many of the quest lines fall short. It is a good game for exploration but the story is pretty bad, and the quests can quickly become quite boring.