Reviews by ojotas

60

Get it if you really like mechs

ojotas | June 28, 2012 | Review of Front Mission Evolved

I compare this game, with Space Marine, both comes from a franchise with sucess in another genre. But sadly in this case Front Mission Evolved leaves too much ground to cover, the gameplay is fun, but somethings you will find it repetitive. This game is not like the others Front Mission. And is not near to MechWarrior, is more like the Transformers game because the Wanzers have poor customization.

90

Great DLC

ojotas | June 28, 2012 | Review of LA Noire: DLC Bundle Capsule

Regardless of the suits, this dlc have all the cases mentioned in the description, and this cases are in my opinion, better than the main game cases. If you enjoyed LA Noire, you will enjoy this DLC.

60

More of the same

ojotas | June 28, 2012 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever: The Doctor Who Cloned Me DLC

This DLC is like Duke Nukem Forever (DNF), you dont play it for the story, you play because you are a big guy with guns and you want to shoot everything, even your clones, yes in this game you fight againts your clones. Sadly most people who wants to shoot everything want to have all the weapons they find, they dont want to drop a weapon to get new ones.

All i have to say is if you dont like DNF, this DLC isnt for you, because doesnt add anything new.

65

Not that great as i expected

ojotas | June 27, 2012 | Review of Risen 2: Dark Waters

I expected this game to be the great comeback of Piranha Bytes, sadly it wasnt. The first Risen is better than this one and for me, Risen 1 was like Gothic 1, so i was specting Risen 2 be like Gothic, probably that was my mistake. This game have some good new features like Fast Travel, like Skyrim, once you find a new city you can fast travel back to that city. Other good features you can enjoy are Vodoo, its quite fun take control over an npc and do what you want. Talking with your crew while controlling npc is really fun. Sadly while the new features are fun, there are no so much of them, and the game is simplified, your melee weapons are 1 handed swords (slashing) and epee (piercing) thats all melee you have, there are no big axes or big swords. There no bows in the game, they added guns, pistols, shotguns, and rifles. But its not the same as a bow. An the magic, well magic wasnt one of the strong points in Risen 1, but in Risen 2 magic is like nothing. The Vodoo is the only magic in the game, and you can use at your main skill. Because you cant farm creatures with Vodoo. That means you cant use magic as your primary source of damage. The story of the game is good, and besides i dont like pirate-theme games, the pirate part of this game is quite fun. The graphics are good. The bosses looks really nice.

In conclusion: The main issue on this game is that they simplified too much the character, leaving 0 customization to it, if you are fan of the Gothic Series you probably going to feel dissapointed with this game.

75

Fun but expensive DLC

ojotas | June 27, 2012 | Review of Risen 2: Treasure Isle PRE-ORDER DLC

Like i said in the review of the Air Temple DLC, Risen 2 DLC are expensives. This DLC is probably better than the Air Temple, because diggin treasures is fun, but regardless of that you dont have too much to do. This DLC offer a new island to explore and find treasures. A new crew member and some quest about Steelbeard's treasure which is quite weird because Steelbeards says nothing about this treasure.

70

Expensive DLC

ojotas | June 27, 2012 | Review of Risen 2: Dark Waters - The Air Temple DLC

This DLC adds a new Island In Risen 2, and add some new creatures and quest, but even with the new island, quest and Eldric. There no so much to play, i think the devs should merge the 2 DLC and make it one, or make them cheaper. Its not a bad DLC, you can play it and enjoy it, but its expensive for what it offer. All Gothic DLC were way bigger than Risen 2 DLC.

75

Unique gameplay

ojotas | June 27, 2012 | Review of Gain Ground

This game, is a like an strategy, puzzle, action game. You can play it it coop with a friend. The game consist in levels where monster guards the entrance for the next level and hostages, you can save hostages and use them on further levels. You start with 3 characters and you have to choose 1 to play the level, if he dies you pick another one. You will get more characters if you complete the level rescuing the hostages. The game is quite hard, so dont buy it if you are a casual gamer. In conclusion: If you are looking for some real challenge, coop gameplay and you dont care about old graphics, you should try this.

85

The best Magicka DLC

ojotas | June 25, 2012 | Review of Magicka: The Stars are Left

You played Magicka? You enjoyed Magicka? You dont want to buy all DLC's? Well this is the DLC that worth buying, it offer a new campaing. With new magicks, new enemies and new bosses. Cthulhu is a nice challenge. There are some fun puzzles to solve. On the side note, you have to know that you wont have all the magicks from the main campaing, just a few like Haste and Revive, and the new ones that comes with this DLC. In conclusion: If you enjoyed Magicka, there no reason for you to not buy this DLC.

90

One of the best RPG ever

ojotas | June 25, 2012 | Review of Gothic 3: Gold Edition

The World of Gothic 3 is huge, it has 3 big areas, with a lot of towns to visit in each. I have to say that i played this game at the release date, when it was buggy as hell. It took me like 70 hours to end it, even it was buggy it was fun. But now with the comunity patches, the game has improved a lot, and by a lot i mean a LOT. The graphics are better, the gameplay is better, the IA is better. For example the first minutes of the game you free a small town from the orcs, without the comunity patch it was really easy the orcs dont even look at you, you can just slash their back and kill them. WIth the new comunity patch 1.75. The IA improved a lot, the orcs are smart, if you slash their back, you will aggro them and they will attack you and you have to dodge, block, etc. In conclusion: If you played Gothic 1 and 2, and you skipped this one because of the bugs, you no longer have that excuse.

85

DLC that worth paying for it

ojotas | June 25, 2012 | Review of Dungeon Siege 3: Treasures of the Sun

This DLC add like 6-8 hours of gameplay. Its a hole new map to explore, new creatures to kills, and the most important, more loot! If you played and enjoyed Dungeon Siege III, this DLC is a must. The Aranoi Desert is quite big, offering a some challenging boss-battles.

70

It could be better

ojotas | June 25, 2012 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

One of the biggest problem with this game is the port, Dungeon Siege was a PC franchise, why DS 3 have to be a port? If you want to enjoy this game you must have an Xbox controller. The Online coop is good if you are the host of the game, otherwise you will be like the slave of the host. You can help the host during his game but you wont be making decisions, and your character exist in the host game, not in yours, that means if you wanna continues the game alone, you cant. You can enjoy this game playing alone or with a friend offline, thats make the game more fun, doing boss battles harder and fun, you just cant slash the bosses to death you have to coordinate with your friend. The graphics are nice, there are some nice effects and physics.

In conclusion: Dungeon Siege III is a good ARPG, with fun coop offline gameplay and interesting story.