Reviews by on2wheels


patience rewards the best loggers

on2wheels | Nov. 26, 2015 | Review of SPINTIRES - PC

Yes it's a driving simulator, but not your average kind. This is offroad logging and exploration like you've never seen. Real time ground deformation and tree destruction. Real time water physics that can damage your vehicle if you're not careful. Winch your truck out of trouble, but only if you plan your routes accordingly. Multiplayer mode lets your buddies bring extra fuel and repair trucks. Tipped your truck too far and lost your load? Worry not my Russian friend, there's mobile cranes to reload the logs and complete the objective. Manage your fuel use wisely and you won't need to make extra trips to the fuel depot across the map either.


I enjoyed this, and i use mouse/keyboard

on2wheels | Nov. 26, 2015 | Review of Dirt Showdown - PC

Not a bad little crash up demo derby/racer, it has all the things a game needs, multiplayer, challenges, career mode, 60fps, but in the end it really made me want Wreckfest to be finished sooner.


should be called a mouse button tester app. not a game

on2wheels | Nov. 26, 2015 | Review of The Lord of the Rings War in the North NA - PC

But seriously, besides all the left button clicking, you feel so underpowered almost all the time. Forget about doing it solo, co-op is pretty much required for some boss fights. Thankfully I have a good friend who loves doing coop games with me and always wants to be a good partner. Aside from that there are some decent settings that really do complement the movies, however it does show it's age now that it's a few years old, the visuals are looking a bit dated. Bottom line I was eagerly awaiting the end and promptly uninstalled when we did beat it.


more of the same WOlfenstien

on2wheels | Nov. 26, 2015 | Review of Wolfenstein The Old Blood - PC

But not enough to warrant a price like that for so long. I suppose die hard fans won't mind but this was too short for me to justify anything more than half off. Sure it looks as good as The New Order, but that's it really. In fact you might be disappointed that it is this short because just as it gets going good and you want more, it ends! There are a few times where you can choose different options but nothing major to change the outcome of the game, just different achievements earned.


not enough different than 3 for me

on2wheels | Nov. 26, 2015 | Review of Far Cry 4 NA - PC

I loved FC3 and have waited for a deal on this for a very long time, so long that I can't believe there hasn't been a significant price drop since it came out. Finally got it on vip a few weeks ago, and if it weren't for the deal I'd be upset that I spent the cash on it, there's just not enough improvement over the previous game to warrant the price especially this many months after release. Ubisoft has it's head in the clouds over this game. Don't get me wrong, FC4 looks very good in most places, but that's just not enough for me, and I think alot of customers would agree if they're honest with themselves.


a nice diversion from the norm.

on2wheels | Dec. 29, 2014 | Review of Murdered Soul Suspect - PC

There's not too much challenge here, and a fair bit of handholding to get you in the right direction. Otherwise it's a nice change of pace, with some decent eye candy to go along. The solving crimes portion is a bit of a joke since there doesn't seem to be any punishment for not guessing all the right clues the first time, and dialog can be a joke at times but doesn't ruin it by any means. The worst thing, and possibly the only bad part, is the QTE when encountering an enemy. Fortunately it doesn't happen all that often. Not a bad deal when on sale, and won't take you too long to complete either.


not having played the first ones...

on2wheels | July 26, 2014 | Review of THIEF NA - PC

...this is a relaxing stealth-puzzle-exploration game along the same lines as Dishonored. In fact, it will make you think you're playing Dishonored except without the fancy magic abilities, but that's not a reason to skip this. In fact it's all the more reason to get it in my opinion. The eye candy is quite good, with some of the best looking textures I've seen in any game, sadly most of the maps look the same so get used to seeing those same hi res textures. The AI can also be a letdown since it is quite predictable, but there are times when you need to stop and think how to complete a level without being seen. That of course is the main goal of a thief, which is where this game shines; with you being unseen. Bottom line, if you liked Dishonored, you probably will like this. If you don't like exploring and using your imagination you'll probably hate it. To say it's the worst remake ever might be a little harsh. If you look at what Square Enix did with Hitman Absolution they tried to make it more appealing to the average gamer, and that is what I think they did with Thief.


a bit short but still an improvement

on2wheels | July 13, 2014 | Review of Sniper Elite 3 - PC

I won't bash the game but I can't give it a 100 like some other reviews, simply because there are glitches that really shouldn't have made it to the final game. take xray cam for instance; they pride themselves on it and still it won't work in coop mode which they also brag about. The coop was a huge selling point for me and after convincing my coop partner to also preorder from GMG we both were disappointed that xray cam doesn't work in coop. Aside from a few other small bugs (FOV is tighter in SE3) that may be fixable in patches, this is still a solid game for stealth fans, so if you like run n gunning, stay away from this and even SEv2. They did improve visuals, and the new setting in Africa is a nice relief. More levels or DLC missions are much needed however.


Once the novelty wears off...

on2wheels | July 1, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite Nazi Zombie Army Overflow 1 - PC

You can guess where this is going by my title. I wanted this game badly when it was announced, but all it does is makes me want to reinstall SEV2. Sure shooting zombies is fun, but when there's hundreds of them and most of your ammo is for a sniper rifle, it just gets tiresome. On the good side, these zombies do look nice and their heads explode rather violently, which is an elegant touch if I do say so. Rebellion has to be commended for their focus on coop in the SE games, this one is missing the spotting feature of V2, but it's still decent without. Having said that, you should have at least one friend who owns this, preffereably 3 to make it a full game and get all the achievements, because there's hardly anyone playing in public matches right now, it may pick up after this summer's sales but honestly, unlike the "Empty Lung" feature in the game, I wouldn't hold your breath.


Simple, fun, but a few minor flaws

on2wheels | July 1, 2013 | Review of Dogfight 1942 - PC

First off let me say it was fun to fly around in an old WW2 plane and there's quite a variety of them to use. They made flying so easy, it's not like a simulator at all, which is nice for casual gamers like me. They also added this neat feature where it quick zooms your sights on the nearest targetted enemy, which makes it even easier to shoot them down, and the nice thing is you don't have to use it if you don't want to. Visuals are actually quite good too, though I did have times where it ran real laggy, as some of the posts in the steam forums talk about, but strangely enough, restarting steam or rebooting my pc fixed it, Nvidia 560Ti. And I probably need a format by now anyway. The only major gripe I have is with one mission where you have to land a plane on grass to pass a mission. They don't tell you exactly how to do it, so it took me many tries to learn where to put the plane. After nearly throwing my mouse at the screen, I finished the game easily after that, and it is kind of short without the DLC. Only 2 Acts. So I'd get the DLC if you really want something near a full experience.


great little RTS, dead MP

on2wheels | June 4, 2012 | Review of Oil Rush HD - PC

This is one of those gem's in the rough. I had a lot of fun with this, the sound and visuals are amazing for an indie dev, in fact your gpu will work harder than some AAA games. You have almost full control over your units, the only downside for me was not easily being able to turn them around once you've sent them to a destination. But overall this has a story that relates to the real world and our obsession with oil. The devs have their own forum where more people go to talk about the game, the steam forum is dead, likely from not having any marketing for this game at all. If this went on sale and more people realized how much fun this could be, alot more people would be talking about it. I found it a bit short for the price, if they can double the number of maps in SP it would be a sweet deal.