Reviews by overburning

70

Lovely concept.

overburning | Dec. 22, 2012 | Review of Waveform

A very simple game where you control your way through the level using sine (or cosine) graph. It has very little to do with maths however, just a very novel mechanic that is quite elegant in its execution. A simple drag of the mouse manipulate the wavelength and the amplitude, which can get quite difficult given the constant time pressure and obstacles through the level. The levels are short, making it ideal for a 5-10 minutes play section, though it can be quite easy to just keep playing. All in all, an addictive little game with a novel concept.

70

Decent DLC.

overburning | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Nightmare in North Point

There is not much new in this DLC, however, like the main game, the willingness of the developers to just being a bit silly and take advantage of the quite unique setting in video gaming pays off. The horror theme and Chinese zombies brought out some funny moments, not quite laugh-out-loud, but amusing. Other than that though, the gameplay itself is pretty repetitive, but given that it's based on the rather solid combat system of Sleeping Dogs, it is still fun to play through.

90

Fantastic game with some disappointing flaws.

overburning | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Really great game, one of the best of 2011 in my opinion. Having recently played Dishonored, stealth of DXHR feels a bit restricted, but nonetheless, it is a solid, cover-based-sneaking-around stealth game, with a certain degree of variety in completing a mission. The infamous boss fight is terrible however, and along with the disappointing last act (especially after the promising story before it), left a sour taste in my mouth. Still, it is a stealth game with a degree of freedom, and a very good one for the most part.

90

Great game from someone who doesn't like Batman.

overburning | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

I do not like batman, and yet I love this game. Story is great, the world is filled with details and easter eggs, and Joker once again steals the show. The FreeFlow combat system is perhaps the best I've ever played, every punch/kick is so satisfying. My only criticism is the boss battles, which pretty much follows the same formula, and that the game sorta forced you to go back to previous area for collectibles.

90

Overall a worthy sequel.

overburning | Dec. 21, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham City

Batman Arkham City is, in my opinion, simultaneously better and worse than Arkham Asylum. Again it is a very detailed world to explore in, and it is nice that they tied in collectibles with easter eggs. The combat is as good as ever, and the boss fights are vastly improved. Yet the story seems to have suffered due to the open world nature of the game. It is less focused and as a result, the vast cast of villains seemed to have been underutilised, especially if compared to the superb effort of Askham Asylum.

80

Great stealth game, perhaps not so great Hitman game.

overburning | Dec. 20, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Absolution PRE

A highly enjoyable stealth game, although some may find it a problematic Hitman game. Levels are smaller and divided into sections, there are also quite a few missions where the goal was to evade rather than to kill. Still, the game is still highly replayable with different solutions, and plenty of 'accidents' to try out. The game is also beautiful to look at, with diverse environments and highly detailed textures. Biggest problem as of now is the new disguise system, where people can spot you from afar, thus encouraging a stealth approach, often playing like Splinter Cell or Deus Ex Human Revolution (IO is working on a fix though).

90

Best open world game since GTAIV.

overburning | Dec. 20, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

Easily the best open world game after GTA. Combat is Arkham City-esque, probably less polished, but arguably more fun as it requires more player input with the ever expanding combo. A very solid story, lacks a bit in the character department, and the whole theme of conflicted identity never really got explored. Very surprised by the portrayal of Hong Kong, there are some confusion between canto (traditional Chinese) and mando (simplified), but overall a lively city that successfully remind me of the real place. Nothing new or innovative, but the whole package is executed fairly beautifully, bottom line: it's simply a really really fun game.

85

Great strategy game with some flaws.

overburning | Dec. 20, 2012 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown dns

Perhaps of the hype, I was actually slightly disappointed with XCOM: Enemu Unknown. The actual gameplay is great, a modern strategy game rather than one that rely on nostalgic. It is easy to learn and difficult to master, partly due to the probability-based gameplay. However, I am surprised by how many technical issues this game has, random freezes during the enemy's turn, and any level with multiple floors are barely playable as the game seems to confuse between which floor are the units on. The story element are also pretty poor, perhaps showing the lack of experience Firaxis had in this department. That said, the tactical gameplay more than cancels out these flaws, and makes this game a must-play for any strategy game fans.

95

Cannot recommend it enough.

overburning | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of Dishonored Nexway

Arguably redefined the stealth genre, stealth made quick. Player freedom within a level is huge, using the verticality of the level, there is a real sense of freedom in the player controlled movement. Dishonored also has a very distinctive art style, and an extremely well-realised world, with plenty of opportunities for people who are interested to dive deeper into the lore. Silent protagonist however really limited the character development, but still the story was effective if predictable.

80

Simple fun.

overburning | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

A silly, fun open world game that knows what its strength is. From the first mission on, it is obvious that Saints Row The Third is going to be a crazy, over-the-top game, and the developers know that. Some of the laugh is a bit cheap, and it is disappointing that a pretty big portion of the main mission take the form of the side missions. Nonetheless, if the reason you play game is just to have some fun, you can't go wrong with Saints Row The Third.

80

Great campaign, generic gameplay

overburning | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line dns

Spec Ops: The Line is a pretty typical third person shooter except for its story. The shooting and cover mechanic is everything you've seen before, which, combines with the relatively slow start of the story, can be quite discouraging. Yet if you stick by the game, the story is fairly interesting. It is not the standard military dudebro story, but a thought provoking one, whether it is an effective story is up for question, but that's more than most games provide us already. I would recommend this game to anyone interested in a story, but for those that just want a fun shooter, there really isn't anything special about its gameplay.

85

Immersive world and story.

overburning | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of Mafia II dns

The first time I played Mafia 2, I found it lacking in many respect, the world they crafted seem underutilized, a lot of areas you will never explore (unless by collecting those wanted poster). While the environment is beautiful and immersive, the same character model of the pedestrians frequently break the immersion.

Once I replay it however, I start to realise how great this game is. Despite what it may appeared to be, this is not an open world game nor a GTA clone. Its focus is entirely on its story, a brilliant period piece. The problems that existed within that story structure (eg. having you belongings taken away for narrative reason several times) is much more tolerable once you realise this is a not an open world game. It is far from perfect, but it is also the only game where I walk around (not run) and drive carefully to avoid any damage simply because of how much I enjoy being immersed in this world.