Reviews by papazdo

95

Where games can go when AAA take risks.

papazdo | Sept. 2, 2014 | Review of LA Noire

Something different and new, Rockstar Games have created another masterpiece again. Combining mystery and action they have somehow added a very interesting narrative over the piece that reminds me very much of 1940 and 50s noire film. Action does not come very often, though when it does, it holds up well and feels like GTA. This is one definitely worth playing if you've ever wanted to be a detective.

95

A Feast for the Eyes

papazdo | Sept. 2, 2014 | Review of BioShock Infinite (ANZ)

Games like this come very rarely. One of the most aesthetically pleasing game I have ever played. A story so deep that will require multiple playthroughs. Supported by an amazing soundtrack, stunning design and fast and exciting gameplay makes every hour in this game an absolutely thrill. It has its flaws and can leave you wanting more in some of its mechanics, though the game provides a lot more than what other games dare to do.

+DLC IS GREAT TOO.

65

Showed potential, lacks finish.

papazdo | Sept. 2, 2014 | Review of Contrast

Great design mechanics and ideas, with an incredible artistic vision, but execution is lacking. The game feels far from finished. I really wanted to like this game. I enjoyed for what I got to play, though can’t help being frustrated by the abrupt end in around 3 hours of gameplay, as this game could have been so much better. I recommend only on a deep discount.

85

Excellent Presentation!

papazdo | Sept. 2, 2014 | Review of Stick it to The Man

Very funny game and fun to play with great puzzles and fantastic presentation. I was won over just by the Menu and Music. Song stuck in my head.

90

Does the Show Justice

papazdo | Sept. 2, 2014 | Review of South Park: The Stick of Truth

Censorship kinda ruined the Aussie release for this game slightly. If there is any way of playing the uncensored version I recommend. Many of the Nazi voices in the game are removed, and instead just awkward silence. For the cut scenes, just youtube search.

Other than that, this is the best TV to Game translation i've ever seen. Feels like a 10 hour episode of South Park. Gameplay is fun, funny and not too challenging.

The game had no a low chance of being good... and ended up pretty great. These types of game rarely work out. Matt and Trey can do anything. Obsidian nailed the look.

The only complaint I would have is that the humor of the game feels more like Season 1 - 3. Where recent South Park seasons have become quite clever in providing interesting the social commentary. Not a big deal, hopefully there is a South Park 2.

I'm a massive fan of South Park, and this game does the show justice.

I'd give it 100, but there could be improvements.

90

Machine Games, give me more please.

papazdo | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Wolfenstein: The New Order

Just a awesome single player game. Can be replayed at least twice. (Alternate timelines giving you different puzzles and various ways to navigate a level. Easily one of the best first-person shooters I've have played for a while. Easily some of the most fun I've had shooting and navigating levels since Half-Life and Metro.

  • Shooting Feels Fantastic. Let's you dual-wield everything.
  • Game allows for stealth in many areas and if excecuted correctly, you can kill many guards with ease.
  • Highly Satisfying to Kill, Headshots are very rewarding.
  • Game looks fantastic, sure there are low-res texture, but it still easily one of the best looking games i've played for a while. Blood splatter is everywhere.
  • Story is simple, yet highly entertaining and engaging. Nothing Mind-blowing.
  • Upgrade/Perk system does not distract, upgrades and unlocks depending on your playstyle.
  • Soundtrack is brilliant, including 3 fake German songs.
  • Negative... Not enough fake Nazi music.

I wish more modern shooters could feel this good, buy it if you like FPS.

99

One of the greatest

papazdo | Aug. 21, 2014 | Review of Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

Easily one of the best games I will ever play. The gamepad connects as an emotional tie with the brothers. It's clever, brilliant and ambitious. An incredibly beautiful masterpiece.

Highly recommend to play with a gamepad. As you move the one brother with the left stick and the other with the right stick. With each brother containing one action button.

The game is short, can be completed under 3 hours. But I recommend to just leave 3 hours free and just immerse yourself in the story and the world and the gameplay and watch your mind be split in two from the controlling the two brothers.

Many rate The Last of Us as the best way to implement narrative in games, which ends up playing more like a film than a game. They clearly have not played this. In Brothers A Tale of Two Sons, the gameplay is essential piece to the narrative puzzle.

80

A fantastic re-imagining of a Classic Sega Game.

papazdo | Sept. 5, 2013 | Review of Castle of Illusion

It's short, cute and absolutely magically.

I was a huge fan of this game, when i was much younger and was probably one of the best games on the Sega Genesis. The original levels are all remade. The new levels contain a lot of the same structure from the original classic game, though with a new modern twist.The game now has a voiced narrator, which is woven into the game quite well and does not distract.

The soundtrack is brilliant on every original track. The classic soundtrack is also included into the options for you to play through the game in.

The physics of Mickey feel quite good and is quite easy to maneuver around the levels. (able to adjust direction in mid air quite easily) Precision platforming is important and the controls and handling are solid to make it all fun. The game can be replayed as you can try collect a range of items in each level.

The game took about 3-4 hours to complete. Though can probably done quicker if you really try to speed through it. The game is quite beautiful so I took a lot of time exploring more levels and enjoying each environment.

Most of the game is easy, though does progressively get harder towards the end. The final boss can be quite difficult for some, though it is a satisfying challenge to complete.

Though the PC port could have been much better. On Day 1, the game is currently running at a locked 30fps (or lower, some users are experiencing trouble even reaching this for various strange reasons) 60fps is usually the standard of PC, though this is playable at 30fps. There is no steam icon or tile icon for this game yet, and the download is only 1GB. So somebody at Sega is not doing their job. (the game also runs under DirectX9) And i really doubt this game needs 4GB ram... Hopefully patches are soon to follow, though I've seen indies release much smoother than this and PC support does not seem like it is there yet.

When the game works. It's fantastic. Reviews have been hard comparing this to the recently release Rayman Legends. Though this game doesn't try to do what Rayman does. This game is there to provide a retelling of the original classic Sega game, and it's a very good one at that. 100% worth playing if you enjoyed the classic, and 100% worth it during a sale for newcomers or even the platform genre.

80/100 It's a great game, but don't expect a masterpiece, it doesn't try to do anything new or grand. It's a nice short experience and what it does it does very well.

87

Masterful Story Hidden in Standard Shooter Mechanics.

papazdo | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line (ANZ)

This game is absolutely incredible. It is a lot of fun to play, the weapons and gameplay all feel familiar if you are used to cover based shooters. The story and level progression are very linear although this is where the game's story really tricks you. The gameplay does not stand out, but it all holds together very well in all aspects.

The marketing and presentation of Spec Ops make you feel like you are expecting a normal standard generic shooter. You begin the game and of cause start attacking the enemy. Although this is one of the first games that I've ever played, that make you really question what you are doing and whether killing the enemy is justified. Saying much more may really spoil the experience, but completing the story is well worth the journey.

The game should only take around 5-6 hours to complete, though it can be replayed. As the story is so good it is well worth repeating to delve deeper.

The game works very well and should run well across most systems with a decent graphics card. The game also looks gorgeous running at high settings. Not because of any high textured details, but because of the excellent art direction and level design. It can be quite breathtaking at times at how pretty this game can get.

Players that enjoy story in video games should defiantly be picking this one up.