Reviews by patrickculhane

97

Huge world, dragons, make your own weapons and special powers

patrickculhane | June 21, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

The title tells you all you need to know. Lose yourself - I did!

87

Sucks you in

patrickculhane | June 21, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Great game and story about the folly of man and technology. It does take a few hours to get in to but it's well worth the wait. You get to pick how your abilities develop and as they do the game opens up. There was many nice touches that make the experience special as you hack systems, stealth attack and gain the ability to look through walls.

Challenging but in all the right ways.

97

The best possible value in a box

patrickculhane | June 21, 2013 | Review of Half-Life 2: The Orange Box

If you haven't played the Half Life series then you have missed out on a classic. It set the standard in it's day for graphics and story line. The best part was not only giving you a great series of weapons but the ability to turn almost anything in to a weapon.

Portal is unique as a puzzler and will have you playing many times just to find different ways through the levels.

Team fortress is OK and while a nice game felt a disappointment in such esteemed company.

Buy this now, you won't be disappointed.

73

Don't play in the dark

patrickculhane | June 21, 2013 | Review of Doom 3: BFG Edition

When I first played this I had no idea how unsettling a video game could be. Forced to make your way through zombie infested corridors, never knowing where the next nightmare would jump out of. After about an hour I needed a break as it was all too much.

The story does help make this more than a basic shooter. The only down side was the amount of time I ended up lost but only because it was all so dark.

95

You have the whole island to play with

patrickculhane | June 20, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2 Platinum

The missions are great fun but at times you forget them and find yourself having fun wondering around causing mayhem or exploring as you jump from one vehicle to another. Oh so many hours of fun.

85

A great time had with my son

patrickculhane | June 20, 2013 | Review of LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

This is a great game for any father with a young son. My son and I coop play and it's so much fun. The level of puzzles are just enough of a challenge and it's great to see little ones working it out before you do.

80

So many ways to come back

patrickculhane | June 20, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

This is a game that is good the first time but gets better as you go back and try new ways to take out your targets or complete missions without being seen. The options seem endless.

89

Stomach turning fun

patrickculhane | June 20, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed

A must for fans of free roaming fun. One of the original games that let you get to your goal in your own way. Scaling buildings and leaping in to the hay below does cause a chill - if like me you don't like heights. It can get a little repetitive towards the end but take your time to enjoy the beauty of the location.