Reviews by penfold82

65

It's okay....

penfold82 | May 16, 2015 | Review of Platypus 2 - PC

I'm a bit on the fence about this game. I'm not the best at shoot 'em ups but there were a few things that bugged me about this game. The booster system is quite annoying, especially picking up the contents of crates that are so vital to your survival. Not a deal breaker, just annoying. The music is annoying as it lacks the arcade charm of most shoot 'em ups. Also there's the annoying issue of the sound coming out of only one speaker (though most people can fix this by switching to mono). On the good side, the game play is quite simple and fun. There are two difficulty levels and the option to play up to 3 player coop. The 3 player coop is a great feature and really increases the appeal of the game for me. The claymation graphics are quite fun but did make me somehow take the game less seriously due to the simplicity of them. Overall, the game is okay. I have enjoyed playing it but I'm not sure if it is engaging enough to make me want to finish it on difficult. Properly will try it with a friend or two but doesn't seem worth it by myself.

82

Great puzzle game

penfold82 | May 13, 2015 | Review of Rooms The Main Building - PC

I was quite surprised by this game. It's the basic sliding puzzle mechanics but there's a bit more to it. You can only move the tile that you are standing in and each tile has different features: walls, ladders, telephone teleports, swapping wardrobes and more. These little features add what is needed to a fairly ordinary concept. There are heaps of puzzles (rooms) and there is the option of playing with or without a time limit, making this game appealing to both the casual and serious puzzle-solver. The graphics are very appealing to me. They fit the overall gameplay and storyline very well. The music doesn't change much but is a suitable jazzy background style that also fits the game very well. It's kind of hard to explain but this game has quite a bit of charm that really helps to reduce the repetition of the gameplay. Overall, this is a quality game. It has enough unique features to stand out and great gameplay. The creators of this game have got the most important parts right and that's what matters most. A great extra feature is the dialogue and adventure-style parts that are quite enjoyable and also help to break-up the many slider puzzles. I think this game is worth it and definitely worth it if it's in a bundle.

70

Pretty neat game

penfold82 | May 10, 2015 | Review of Meltdown - PC

The screenshot of this game grabbed me so I decided to give it a try. It's a fun, no-frills action game that starts off easy but does gets tough. The graphics are nice, the gameplay is fun and the music and sound are suitable. As others have noted, the game does have a Bastion/Hotline Miami sort of gameplay and does feel a little slow at time. Despite its simplicity, the controls feel a little awkward when things get busy but then I'm only a casual gamer. Overall this game is fun but does require some grinding to get the upgrades necessary to clear some level. Still, for a cheap game it is pretty good.

70

Solid RPG

penfold82 | May 5, 2015 | Review of Battlepaths Steam - PC

I didn't expect a great deal from this game. Simple graphics and a low price tend to do that. But I have found this game to be rather enjoyable. As stated in the overview, it's a 2D RPG where you basically fight lots of monsters, get lots of loot and gain experience as you go. A tried and true formula for success. The game basically simplifies all the elements of the standard RPG game. Normally this is a drawback but Battlepaths seem to do it quite well. Combat is turn-based with the very little animation, weapons and armour are varied but still simple and the levelling up is reduced to a single point per level. The graphics are simple but easy on the eyes and the music and sound are quite suitable. Overall, the game is quite enjoyable to play but I have found it doesn't suck me in for hours at a time. It's simplicity means I usually play for less than an hour at a time (which is quite an advantage at times). This game is perfect for fans of the RPG genre who looking for a more casual gaming experience.

20

Not worth it

penfold82 | May 2, 2015 | Review of NPPD Rush - PC

I get that they were going for the old school arcade game but this really doesn't cut it. With so many retro-style games coming out these days in all genres, there is simply no reason to waste your time with this one. I played for about 15 minutes then stopped because it wasn't fun. The gameplay is pretty ordinary but the big problem is the graphics. In old games, you could always tell what everything was even though they had so little to work with. This game simply looks a mess and has no old school charm. As other reviews have noted, there are next to no options and poor features (music being one of them). Only buy this if you're a hard-core collector of games or steam cards.

90

Fantastic New World game

penfold82 | April 27, 2015 | Review of Sid Meiers Colonization Classic - PC

I have many fond memories of this game. Even with it's imperfections, it is a solid trading game with decent turn-based combat and good (though sometimes frustrating) diplomacy with the homeland, other nations and various Native tribes. Each country has its advantages and these advantages will likely have a significant impact on how you trade the game. This means the game has great replay value and, for slightly older gamers such as myself, huge nostalgic value. Also you can choose to play on a real New World map or a randomly generated map, which is a great feature. If you're into turn-based games with a good balance between trade and combat, it's pretty hard to beat colonization.

85

Excellent JRPG

penfold82 | Dec. 24, 2014 | Review of Book of Legends Steam - PC

I've only played a few of JRPGs but I quite like them. The Book of Legends has a similar style and feel to the others as you would expect. What is different about The Book of Legends is how big it is. There is so much to do in this game. There is plenty of exploration and interaction that you can do while trying to achieve the goals of the storyline. I've played for a few hours and have barely made a dent on it. The combat, which is frequent, can feel quite repetitive as there is little variation in combat as you wander around in a particular area. If this sort of thing doesn't bother you, you'll have no trouble sinking many hours into this game.

71

A great little game (limited multi-player)

penfold82 | Dec. 24, 2014 | Review of Age of Booty - PC

This game is great in short bursts. Basically you sail around capturing towns, picking up floating crates and destroying other boats to pick up materials for upgrades and special bonuses. It's easy to pick up but it can get pretty hard. The graphics are fine and the music is okay (very piratey) but the controls feel a little clumsy at times (probably quite suitable for a boat). The multi-player option is restricted to LAN (original online multi-player is broken) and requires a fix, which can be found on forums if you're keen to play LAN. Overall it is a good game. It's very simple and fun but it will only last a few hours in single player mode as it was originally aimed at being a multi-player game.

40

Not worth the pain

penfold82 | Dec. 17, 2014 | Review of Farming World - PC

Although I've only played this game a few hours, I've decided to give up. There is just too much that is not explained in this game. The only guide or manual of any kind is on Steam (it's too short to be a guide really) and is not in English. There are bits and pieces of useful information around but not enough to help you get into the game. The tutorial has a few bugs and it seems to be random as to which one you will encounter. Although there is heaps of information available in-game concerning the requirement of crops and the current conditions you have, it is difficult to see how these come into play. I've found the campaign mode frustrating because of the lack of useful information or useful information in hard to find places. This game has heaps of potential but until there is a manual or a comprehensive guide, I feel that it is not worth the time as there is nothing to encourage you to keep playing. The music and sound is okay and there's nothing wrong with the graphics but there is nothing that makes you want to plough through the painful task of working out if you've done something wrong or if it's just a bug. I recommend passing on this game. For me it scores 40 until there is some comprehensive help or guide.

70

Great idea but limited

penfold82 | Dec. 5, 2014 | Review of Pressured - PC

Pressured is a game based on simple maths. Your given a goal number that you must reach and 9 TV screens with smaller numbers (constantly changing) that you must click on to add up to goal number within a time limit. As you progress, the goal number gets higher and your time limit decreases. It's great brain training and surprisingly fun. The problem for me is that there really is nothing else to it. I can't play for more than about 20 minutes at a time and the lack of variety means that I rarely play it. But still, it is hard to beat for fun brain training.

68

Solid hidden object game

penfold82 | Dec. 4, 2014 | Review of Crystals of Time - PC

his is first hidden object/puzzle game I've played and I quite enjoyed it. The storyline is okay, the music is suitable and I quite liked the graphics. It took me about 5 hours to complete (I am new to the genre) and I found the game engaging. If you're getting stuck and frustrated, there's a hint button that gives you a general idea where to find what you need for the current puzzle. I tried to avoid this as it's more satisfying working it out yourself. The main disappointment for me was that the game seemed to finish quite quickly. I thought I was about 2/3-3/4 of the way through game when I was on the last couple of puzzles. Overall, this game is great for anyone who is a fan of this genre, but has little to offer anyone else (apart from Steam trading cards).

67

Good retro game but no "special" feeling

penfold82 | July 22, 2014 | Review of Canyon Caper (1) - PC

I'm not a platform expert but I thought I would give it a try. I really enjoyed it to start with. The colours are bright and fun and have that retro platform feel to them. Music and sounds fit in nicely. Controls are simple and you can get straight into it. But for some reason, I just wasn't drawn into it and found that the novelty soon wore off.. It may just be that my fond memories of these games cannot be matched today, especially with all the fancy new games out there. If you're a big fan of platforms or a hardcore retro fan, this game should suit you quite well. As for me, I'll see how far I get but I don't think it will hold my interest long enough for me to finish it.

91

A much neglected game

penfold82 | July 14, 2014 | Review of Warlords Battlecry 3 - PC

I bought this game ages ago and really enjoyed it. I have probably sunk more hours into it than any other game. The RTS is done well but as others have noted it is not the best. What is good is the variety of races and the way that they all work quite differently from each other. This alone would make for a fun game. The storyline is okay and does provide some interest although nothing special. The RPG element of having a hero that can be highly specialised is probably the best feature. The variety of skills and how they combine together provides for quite a bit of fun experimenting and each class will have different strengths depending on what race you are using. This RPG feature alone also make for a fun game. Put RPG and RTS together; fantastic! Resource management, in game quests, retinue of champions that can gain experience and be used again and again until they die; all great features. What I love about this game is how all of these come together for a fun and unique experience (even if it is a bit dated).