Reviews by pman

70

A decent Add-on to the Sims series.

pman | Oct. 23, 2011 | Review of The Sims 3: Pets (EU)

Sims expansions don't exactly have the best reputation for being good value, however this add-on seems to break the trend. While some other sims add-ons just seem to offer new objects to place in the house, this add-on offers entirely new game play opportunities as you control the pet. Of course, there are still a number of new items for your sims to interact with if that's your thing. I recommend this for anyone who is a fan of the sims series or even just to animal lovers.

90

Good DLC, well worth the price

pman | Oct. 23, 2011 | Review of Battlefield: Bad Company 2: Vietnam

I very rarely purchase DLC for my games, but, being one of my favourite games of all time, i felt obliged to buy this expansion pack for Battlefield BC2 and let me say I am very happy I did so. Firstly, for the price this DLC package is HUGE featuring four new multi player maps, 15 new Vietnam era weapons and plenty of new vehicles! However, by far my favourite part of this DLC is the music, which is riddled with classic 60's tracks. Although this DLC does not add to the solid single player campaign, i still strongly recommend this DLC for any fan of Battlefield BC2 or even the classic Battlefield Vietnam.

95

A Winner!

pman | Oct. 23, 2011 | Review of Battlefield: Bad Company 2

Even though this game was released over a year ago, it is still my favourite online multiplayer experience. The small 4 man squads and unique spawning system ensures that you are always able to join and back up your friends for some truly great gameplay experiences. The graphics still look really good and are even on par with a few of the games released today.

I've also never had any issues with servers or with finding an available game. To sum it all up, this is an amazing game and well worth the asking price, so, if you're looking for a fun online multi player experience with a surprisingly good single player campaign to back it up, I strongly recommend Battlefield Bad Company 2.

85

Really solid game

pman | Aug. 16, 2011 | Review of Sanctum

Sanctum is a game that attempts to merge 2 different genres of games and does so with tremendous success! Sanctum is a mixture of the tower defense and first person shooter genres.The game is fun on so many levels, however later in the game the supply of new weapons and towers seems to slow down and can sometimes make the game feel a bit Repetitive, however this is just a small blemish on an otherwise extremely entertaining game with a variety of game modes. I strongly recommend this game for tower defense and shooter game fans alike!

86

Really good DLC

pman | Aug. 16, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Vietnam DLC

This DLC is excellent, particularly for the asking price. It gives you a real bang for your buck. I would say just the new magic ability is worth the price, as it is probably the most entertaining spell I've come across in Magica. Everything else in the pack is an extra, but good extras at that. the new maps and style are fantastic, perfectly capturing the Vietnam theme. The game continues to be funny and entertaining in this DLC pack, I strongly recommend this DLC for anyone who has played the original magika and enjoyed it.

69

I guess it's acceptable

pman | Aug. 16, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Wizard's Survival Kit DLC

This DLC is cheap. Dirt cheap. However, I still wonder weather it is worth it... it seems like this is the kind of DLC which should have been included in the original game if not included in an update...I suppose the most worthwhile part of the DLC is the new power to summon meteor storms. Apart from that the other items don't add much to the game, they really just feel like cosmetic options. Overall i guess for the very low asking price it is worth it for the new ability, but only if you really enjoy the game. I recommend this for fans of the game only.

66

A decent game, made better through it's musical premice

pman | Aug. 16, 2011 | Review of Beat Hazard

This game doesnt have too much going for it. It's controls, visuals and game-play can all be easily bested by other arcade shooters on the market. What really sets this game apart from the competition is the use of your own music library to aid in the creation of the levels. This opens up almost limitless game-play possibilities as there are as many unique levels as there are songs on your computer. So, if you are a fanatic of the arcade genre, or perhaps love using your music to craft gameplay experiences (ala audiosurf) then i strongly recommend this game for you. However, if you are new to the arcade shooter genre and are looking for the most intuitive controls and best graphics, i recommend you look elsewhere.

90

Severely Under-rated

pman | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Far Cry 2

I bought this game back when it was first released and, like most other people, went through a period of frustration whilst playing this game and decided to stop playing for a few weeks. However, after a while i came back and pushed through this annoying section in the game and what i found on the other side was a rich selection of weapons, amazingly fun game-play mechanics, solid environmental effects and finally, a well written conclusion

I think most people got frustrated at the way weapons were purchased in this game. Diamonds are the currency, and these must be found in hidden briefcases throughout the massive 50 square kilometer map. I agree, sometimes this made being able to afford new weapons painfully slow, however I feel this made the moment what I finally got a new weapon much more rewarding than in other games. Also, the range of weapons in this game is really quite large, easily out-doing most other shooters. (pick up the flamethrower for some extra fun)

Another aspect of this game that I enjoyed was the environmental effects. As you swing at trees with your machete, branches fall off realistically. However, by far the most impressive environmental effect in this game is it's fire. The fire spreads realistically from tree to tree and building to building and can be one of the most fun and effective weapons in the game, however death by your own fire can be quite frustrating.

Finally,the story. Personally, i thought the story was okay all the way through until the ending, where i though it really shined. The game had me on the edge of my seat by the end of the game and in the last few minutes allowed me to make a moral choice which would alter the outcome of the story and added a certain degree of re-play-ability. However, that being said it is still fun to run around in free roam after you have finished the main story, purchasing every weapon to maximize your deadliness. I recommend this game to anyone, particularly if you're a shooter fan like me, as this game really requires you to put some hours in before you can truly begin to enjoy what it has to offer!

60

Great story, not much else

pman | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Mafia II dns

After hearing only good things about this game from a few friends of mine, i decided to check it out. While the game does have an extremely deep and rich storyline and decent game-play, it doesn't have that much else. The game on a whole is far too short, almost at Half Life 2 episodes length, and those games cost around 9 dollars.

So, in short if you want a game that will last you for weeks, this is not the game for you. Instead i would recommend something a bit longer, such as Grand Theft Auto IV, or the underrated Godfather 2. However, if you're in the mood for a great story that feels like its cut off way too soon, or if you can get this game for cheap during one of GMG's great sales, then i strongly recommend this game to you.

85

Welcome back worms!

pman | Aug. 15, 2011 | Review of Worms Reloaded

Worms 2 was my favorite game when I was young, and now with this remake i can enjoy all those memories again. This remake has everything that made the original worms games so fun. Crazy weapons, funny sound effects and genuinely solid game-play. this is an excellent and much needed addition to this series after some very questionable games.

The only negative thing i can say about this game is that it is perhaps a bit too similar to worms 2, there doesn't seem to be too much in the way of new content.

However, that being said i still highly recommend this game for anyone who enjoyed worms in their younger years, or someone who just wants to see what all the fuss is about.