Reviews by psychicparrot

78

Enjoyed this a lot

psychicparrot | April 14, 2014 | Review of ATV Fever

Basic, no-nonsense racing game. Great for racing game fans like me - cheap, cheerful and solid gameplay. Plenty of races to keep you busy for a while, too. The only problem I had was some audio bugs (the distance system seemed bugged) but I was able to ignore it and enjoy the racing.

30

No controller support, lazy port.

psychicparrot | Dec. 23, 2013 | Review of Monster Truck Destruction

It says TAP TO CONTINUE on menus. There's no controller support. Yes, they changed the target platform in Unity and hit publish. They made no attempt to make this work well on the PC. Complete waste of what would be a totally awesome game. Of course, if you like playing racing games on the keyboard (which I haven't since the 90s) then maybe you will be ok with it. I'm not. And I'm down-rating it because of the lack of effort on their part in converting this to PC.

84

Great racer!

psychicparrot | Oct. 10, 2013 | Review of Need for Speed: The Run (NA)

It's beautiful, the physics are great and there is more than enough content to keep coming back for.

Even after I finished 'the run' I wanted to do it all over again - it's exciting racing and the landscapes are really varied along the way, keeping it fresh the whole way through.

As a fan of the original NFS franchise (before Criterion ruined it) I enjoyed having the familiar car physics back, yet somehow more refined for this one, rather than the Burnout physics of the last few NFS games.

Any true racing game fan should be more than happy with this game, but my only criticism is the story. I didn't like that I had to play as some muppet that got involved with debt and crime - I had absolutely no sympathy for his situation. Would have been better to play someone who had genuine need to do the run rather than stupidity, but the action was good all the same and I just tried to put it out of my mind that I was playing as an idiot.

Great game! I'd say this is the best NFS game since NFS Underground. Much better than Most Wanted and far more depth than Hot Pursuit.

53

Gets better laters on..

psychicparrot | Oct. 8, 2013 | Review of Redneck Racers

I didn't like this at all, at first. I gave it 36.. which I now think was a bit unfair. I find that after playing it for a while, it gets better .. it's actually quite fun. Don't expect Need for Speed, but you can expect some silliness in a kart racer styled game.

The levels are too long, which means that until you start unlocking faster tractors is can be quite a bind. If you can get through the first bunch of levels and unlock more stuff, it does actually start to get fun!

Not great, but certainly good for a little Sunday afternoon silliness.

72

Doesn't have instructions

psychicparrot | Oct. 8, 2013 | Review of Glacier 3 CAP

Since there's no controller support and no instructions, here are the keyboard controls (thanks to the guys at Team6 for sending these to me):

Arrow Keys for steering , = Machinegun . = Rocketlauncher / = Grenades Right CTRL = boost Space = Parking brake B = back view F1 through F5 = different camera angles ESC = Menu/back key

It's a great game, but it could REALLY use controller support and some way to change the screen resolution would be nice.

Worth getting in a sale, I reckon, though. It's combat, it's racing. Don't expect anything more and you might enjoy it :)

76

Happy fun!

psychicparrot | June 11, 2013 | Review of Bollywood Wannabe

It just makes me smile. I love the way other characters join in the dancing as the level progresses and the animations are great.. if I could change one thing, it would be to make the beats appear above the player's head so that I could watch the dancing AND the beats. I find myself watching the beat at the bottom of the screen and missing out on the dancing unless someone else plays and I watch them.

I think it's a great fun diversion from the usual games we're all playing and the music is fantastic. If you like music and dancing, you may well enjoy this - it's quite uplifting to play :)

80

Exciting fun, good racing.

psychicparrot | May 31, 2013 | Review of GRID 2

Great fun arcade-style racing, amazing graphics and lots to keep you busy.. but.. I think it's lacking some kind of spark that GRID had. I don't know what it is, but it's just not quite as good. As racing games go, it is a really good one - I just don't see it being a 'classic'.

75

More fun than I expected!

psychicparrot | March 4, 2013 | Review of UAZ Racing 4x4

UAZ Racing is similar in style to MotorM4x: Offroad Extreme, only it takes more of a fun, slightly arcade approach to the offroading. It's not as pretty as MotorM4x but it's certainly more aimed at fun driving than punishing realism.

The physics may not be all that realistic, but there's enough depth in the driving to make it feel significant in terms of skill requirement and enough to make the levels challenging and, in turn; rewarding. There are a good number of levels, too, so if you struggle with one you can always have a go at another and come back to it later.

As someone else said here, there are only four vehicles- it's a shame because I would have loved to have had more choice or perhaps vehicles to unlock. That said, I find myself getting stuck in a 'just one more go' loop when I play it and getting quite immersed by the experience anyway.

If you get this on sale and you're a petrol head like me, this is a great little game for the collection.

80

A bit short but great fun!

psychicparrot | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of Street Racer Europe

I don't care what anyone else says, I thought this was a great game! The only downside for me was that I wanted more. Silly physics and crazy cars.. love it! Not completely sure about the price, though, as the game is so short. Wait for it to go on sale, nab it and enjoy the game for what it is - arcade racing fun!!

99

I love this game!

psychicparrot | Dec. 4, 2012 | Review of WRC 3

Plenty of events, awesome graphics, beautiful physics.. just wow. I love this game. Better rally action than any of the Dirt games and better physics, too. If you like racing, you should have this game!

36

Close, but no cigar.

psychicparrot | Dec. 2, 2012 | Review of Redneck Racers

The graphics are fun and the idea is good, but the execution is way off. The games biggest problem is that the pace is too slow. The tracks are also too long and the whole thing is just too easy; I've completed around 10 races with hardly any real challenge and I'm already quite bored with it. If the game ran faster and there was more of a challenge then perhaps the tracks wouldn't seem as long as they do, but it's quite laborious which is a shame because I think there is a ton of potential that just didn't come together. Faster game speed, shorter tracks and more powerups would have made this game a barrel of fun. Pity.

75

Great fun!

psychicparrot | Oct. 25, 2012 | Review of Streets of Moscow

I got this for $5 - for that price, I'm really happy with my purchase. It's a fun racer, not as technically great as a big title like Need For Speed so you will have to accept a few things 'as they are' but I'm enjoying the races and customizing my car was surprisingly more fun than I expected. There is a lot of gameplay in it to keep you coming back. With a game like this, I like to just have a few races at a time then go and do something else- so it's a great little time filler like that and some casual racing fun.

The only big issue I had was that whenever I tried to start the game for the first time, it crashed with an error about not being able to initialize PhysX. A quick trip to the NVidia site to download the latest drivers fixed this problem, though. So try that if you hit the same problem.