Reviews by puppymang

80

Decent port.

puppymang | Jan. 25, 2013 | Review of Ace Combat Assault Horizon Enhanced Edition (NA)

At first I had my worries thinking maybe this will be a shoddy port considering it's coming from Namco Bandai but to my surprise it has a lot of improvements and i think it truly deserves "enhanced edition" as a title. Aside from having 1080p and 60fps support out of the box also supports a wide variety of input devices (mouse, keyboard, controller, joystick) but some may not function properly as reported by some users on the steam community hub. It should also be noted that this game includes ALL DLC PREVIOUSLY RELEASED ON CONSOLES which is a really nice addition and makes the whole package worth the price (and wait).

Now..first thing everyone who gets this should do prior to starting the game is changing the control type to classic and disabling assistance. It's for your own good. After that's done you may carry on as normal and enjoy the game.

The HUD is a bit messy and information like speed and altitude may be hard to see because the letters aren't bright enough. The on-rails-dogfighting is a bit silly and probably makes too easy.. unfortunately you kind of have to use it for the story mode (truly wish you didn't) but overall the game can be alright once you disable the crutches.

The game itself is nice and the graphics are alright although the story is a bit silly and tries too hard. I recommend it if you're in the mood for some arcade style flying that can also be goofy at times because of all the skins that are included in the game.

75

Don't expect too much

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Strike Suit Zero

I'd like to say that if this wasn't an indie game the score would probably be 5-10 points lower.

Maybe I expected too much from all the hype train but I'm fairly disappointed in many things this game lacks to the point where I feel like this should've been delayed a few months so it could have a bit more polish and maybe a few extra features. When they said "space sim" I was kind of expecting some kind of first person COCKPIT VIEW especially because they talk about supporting the ouya and all that good stuff but there is really no "cockpit" because first person view is just the same thing without your ship on the bottom center of the screen so theres really no point on using that view. Even though the game sounds neat with a joystick you're better off playing with a mouse because itll grant you way more precision and speed than a controller or flight stick will ever give you for a game like this The sound track has a few nice songs but overall they mostly feel similar and repetitive. Gameplay could be nice and it's not like some flying games where you circle and circle and circle until you manage to get on somethings tail and then shoot til you win but it also feels like the AI is a bit too dumb because most of the time they wont even attempt to dodge your missiles and sometimes they just fly straight as you're shooting them down. Visuals are nice and the game is colorful but something about it just makes the areas feel flat so maybe that could also use some work. Overall it's a nice game but don't expect too much because it feels like they rushed it so it could be released which is understandable seeing as it's one of the first kickstarter games to be released and they didn't have a budget THAT high but I hope that if they make more games they include more detail and polish it a bit more.

60

maybe for a $1

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

Sniper ghost warrior is something that could've been good but went completely wrong. The sniping physics are really neat but thats pretty much about it. Level design is mediocre, AI is dumb, story is... it has a story?. All i recall is killing dudes because the game told me to and It must've gone on for about 8 hours or so. I don't even remember where it's supposed to take place. All I know is that I was some guy in a wookie suit and I had to kill the bad dudes who spoke spanish and the gameplay felt like any generic shooter except that this game had flashy bullet physics (only for snipers). The multiplayer is pretty awful and is like generic shooter #13193 with everyone being a sniper so its all hiding and waiting with the occasional guy who decides to explore a bit and dies shortly after he moves. But that's not the only thing. Game is dead and the multiplayer might have 1 empty server and that's it.

85

USE A CONTROLLER

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Devil May Cry 4 dns

DMC4 is actually surprisingly fun and a really good PC game but you should be warned that your hands will probably have crippling pain after playing for a few hours if you do not use a controller. The game does not have any sort of mouse control and it'll be all keyboard unless you have a controller. The visuals of this game are really nice and the level design is pretty well done but on the downside there is a lot of back tracking and you might find yourself wondering where to go or what to do for some time until you remember the way back to whatever place you need to go to. Combat is CUHRRRAAAAZZYYY and it's nice that you get multiple characters to play with different play styles and flashy moves but the movement could use a little bit more polishing. Story is a bit cheesy and generic for a japanese game but I think the gameplay makes up for it.

70

fun enough, but repetitive

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim is fun for about 100 hours or so but it depends on how long it takes you to realize that the game is extremely repetitive and unless you like spending hours and hours messing around mods but not really doing anything then I don't really recommend this game. The gameplay becomes a potion chugging fest, especially when it comes to fighting dragons. The quests are all go to X and kill Y amount of things then come back. The story is fairly boring and forgettable. Side quests are really repetitive and boring. Animations are just as clunky as any Bethesda game. Dynamic snow is hardly noticeable On the bright side the game has improved graphically but not by much and some things are enjoyable like playing as a rogue and stealth killing everything without alerting anyone. But as I said before, it gets old.

82

Co-op fun

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Lost Planet 2

First of all I have to say I probably enjoyed this game more than I should have but the coop was fairly addicting to me and I strongly feel like it was underrated. Lost planet 2 takes a different path from LP1 and changes completely from single player to coop play which is a neat idea but I have to say it was a bit poorly executed. The biggest cons of this game are that controls are actually worse than LP1, the mechs aren't as cool, the story isn't as interesting. On the contrary the game looks much better than the first and the multiplayer modes are more varied than along with more weapons and more customization options including silly emotions and skins for your character. Even though the story and length of the game are lacking the actual coop game play in this game is pretty well done, especially in higher difficulties. You really need to be working together with other players to get through. Another thing I also liked is that it has a few references from the first game which can be cool and then there is the mech combination which is probably the coolest thing in this game, its like the robots from power rangers. If you have friends that are willing to get this game you should definitely get it together and enjoy jolly co-operation but don't count on playing the multiplayer too much because at this point it's probably dead so you've been warned.

80

Huge improvement over X-Blades

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Blades of Time

Prior to playing this game I decided to try out X-Blades just because they were supposed to be the same MC but truth be told both games are entirely unrelated and the MC, Ayumi, doesn't even have the same voice actor or look the same. The gameplay is pretty fast paced and the it stays true to the hack and slash genre, they also keep the gunsword which is featured in X-Blades however it's nowhere near as powerful as the regular sword attacks. Visuals in this game are very pretty, much brighter than X-Blades (that horrid brown and bloom), and the level design is also fairly good with almost no backtracking which is popular for this genre. Story is surprisingly a lot more interesting but it all feels short and rushed. Really hope they make a sequel for this game and if they do I also hope that it's a lot longer than Blades of Time as this game is probably about 8 hours long or even less which is actually a lot better compared to X-Blades which was about 4 hours long If you like hack and slash games I recommend picking this up especially for a reduced price.

75

worthwhile fun in antaloor

puppymang | Jan. 24, 2013 | Review of Two Worlds II Cap

Although the game's story is pretty generic and predictable the gameplay and side quests in this game are fairly amusing and you can easily spend more more than 25 hours or so just trying to complete them all. Overall the visuals of this game are alright but that's just talking about the scenery, the characters themselves are pretty ugly and sometimes even scary looking, more than the undead. The sounds and quality of music are pretty normal and standard for a western RPG so that's pretty forgettable. Now.. the voice acting.. dear god the voice acting - to sum it up its hilariously bad. Literally funny because it's so bad. Gameplay is actually somewhat interesting, at least the magic system. Archery is pointless and melee combat becomes insanely overpowered and is also clunky but still fun. Overall it's a fun enough game to keep you playing but generic in some areas which may end up being forgettable for lots but not everyone. If you're an RPG fan you should definitely try this game.

70

Pretty, but forgettable

puppymang | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

From a technical aspect, sleeping dogs is a great game with lots of shine and polish; As a game, sleeping dogs fails to make a big impression. While i was able to immerse myself in the streets of Hong-Kong as an undercover cop, I noticed that the story felt rushed and the characters were mostly forgettable. The side quests just kind of stopped and a lot of things felt unfinished by the end of the game, despite having done all the ones available to me. The story was pretty predictable and the only character worth remembering was your buddy, everyone is pretty unlikeable and irrelevant. The game also becomes a bit too easy once you find the wonderful tea shop and the food vendors because that magical Chinese tea sure works wonders and that roast duck gives you amazing healing abilities so I know what I'll be having if I ever visit Hong-Kong. Aside from the flaws, there's plenty to do in-game to make it worth the time and money spent, at a discount of course.

95

Patience and perception test

puppymang | Dec. 23, 2012 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

I don't think I've played a game for so long that isn't an MMORPG in my life. I pre-ordered this game off GMG (at a discounted price because GMG is awesome like that) about a month before release, having my doubts of course, and I don't regret it one bit. The atmosphere, the gameplay, the PVP, the jolly co-operation, almost everything this game tries to do, it does it well.. the only exception being the story which is mostly left for the player to interpret through the lore and conversation with NPCs. Whenever I recommend this game to others I ask if they are patient and are willing to take their time to learn things because this game may seem easy enough after the first few hollows you face but after you open that giant gate you realize that it's not that simple. As a result, many people fear the difficulty that Dark Souls has to offer.