Reviews by ravestar

80

3 Good Games In 1 Package

ravestar | July 5, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R Pack

I know FEAR 1 since it came out. Even then, it has captivated me, it was also the first horror shooter I've played. Since the two successors interested me and I wanted to know how the story goes on, I bought the trilogy and not a bit of regret.

THe story is very well done.With every part of the game, the setting and gameplay were also changed slightly. By that I mean that everything was done in FEAR 2 and 3 was enhanced. I did not like it now, but to me it was always just around the story.

Conclusion: FEAR Trilogy is worthwhile if you like horror shooter like Dead Space and you will be interested in the story.

73

Nice Horror Adventure

ravestar | July 4, 2013 | Review of Necronomicon

Necronomicon is on the whole quite a nice adventure game, a nice diversion in between. There is a creepy atmosphere but the linear control for the game a boring: Some locations may only be visited if you have previously performed a particular action, and no other sequences are possible. One must be willing to solve riddles, however it is sometimes very tricky.

The scenes get more and more gloomy, as you explore vaults and eerie experimental laboratories (sometimes you moves completely in the dark). In addition, there are logical errors where links between some sequences are not explained. The ending is quite disappointing.

Still this is an interesting story and well developed atmospherically. I recommend this game for fans of mystery games who can appreciate the details in the creepy presentation and mysterious story.

95

FF VII Is One Of The Best RPG ever!

ravestar | July 4, 2013 | Review of FINAL FANTASY VII

Final Fantasy VII is a classic among the role-playing games. Classics in this sense that one can always load it back and replay it, without being boring.

Of course the graphics that set standards at that time is, now out of date. But what does it matter? FFVII is filled with thoughtful characters and the captivating story, detailed battles, as well as the ingenious music.

The only thing negative which is on ALL Final Fantasy is that you must read the dialogues for yourself, it is not "spoken" at any point, but this is a minor issue.

Added bonus is that the PC version to come off a lot better with the translations. This is a must play because the development of the characters and their relationship to each other is what makes the story unbeatable. FF7 is no doubt a highlight of the Final Fantasy series.

86

Company of Heroes 2 Is A Solid sequel

ravestar | June 26, 2013 | Review of Company of Heroes 2

Anyone who has played the predecessor to Company Of Heroes 2 will feel right at home with the game system. As a fan of the series, the game might not seen to have change much at first glance, but it;s obvious there are improvement and new elements once you go deeper into the gameplay.

Lots of little things come to attention later on, such as in the cold weather, the soldiers may be frozen to death. The multi-player mode is very good, although still lacking some variety here and there in terms of modes.

The Theatre of War mode is very successful executed and great fun! The story in the campaign is very closely modeled on original locations, and the graphics for an RTS is absolutely the bomb!

Of course there are also negative points such as the pathfinding of the troops (AI and own) and the hardware requirements for a decent gaming experience..

Nonetheless, it is expected that at least the AI will be improved with the Patch update. This is a fast-paced and exciting Strategy game, those who liked CoH Who will love COH2.

83

Adventure in Dubai

ravestar | June 24, 2013 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

Spec Ops: The Line delivers with it's interesting setting in Dubai, good atmosphere and very good action. The story could very well fit into a movie, it visually very well presented (a few bad textures aside) with great graphics.

The main characters are well developed enough that you feels the emotions with them. I also like the cool soundtrack.

However the gameplay didn't offer much new ideas and the difficulty level require patience for beginners.. Also the length of the game is not very long, just over 10 hours for me to complete.

I found Saving initially stupid - on the other hand, it later become clear to me that this "death - and continue to play immediately in the same place" is basically just a measure to shorten the game time.

Conclusion: This game is worth the money. It is a polished product where the developers really put the finishing touch on various aspects - and players should have alot of fun with it.

86

NBA2K13 Is A Must Buy For NBA Fans

ravestar | June 24, 2013 | Review of NBA 2K13

Thi is a absolute top quality game, anyone who is a basketball fan should get this. Why?

NBA2K13 has highly realistic gameplay and relatively high degree of difficulty, The opponents AI are pretty good, which create a tense and challenging encounter.

Very Extensive game modes ...You can customzie players details down to the shoes, bascially you can create and modify everything.

The career mode is great fun, you take the created player and proves yourself in the rookie mode to be drafted as soon as possible against the best in the NBA. There, you play to be better than regular players or get off the bench for minutes of the game depending on how you can prove yourself.

With each success, it also earns you some money which you can invest in skillls to improve the players. So NBA2K13 is worthwhile buy and, a lot of fun for basketball fans.

79

Recommend for Fans of the Genre

ravestar | June 21, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

Dead Island is a zombie game, which seems to be the rage nowadays. But still credit where it's due, the game is well executed and a fun experience. It felt like the designer took the best elements of past zombie games and fit it into Dead Island. It take place on a island, zombie are roaming and you have to stay alive and kill zombies. The graphics are beautiful and the levels are well designed (jungle, street and hotel).

The variety in gameplay comes with the different type of zombies to keep you alert. I also like the main story, and overall Dead Island is a very good hybrid of zombie and shooter gaming.

67

Not Bad Shooter With Interesting Story

ravestar | June 21, 2013 | Review of POSTAL

I didn't like the sequel, but the original Postal is actually quite a decent amount of fun. It's a violent and somewhat disturbing game so it's not everyone's cup of tea. The story here is based on the sterotypical postman who goes nuts and kill people, only that Postal Dude wants to kill everyone in town. I like the ending, that's all i will say about it.

The gameplay is straightforward and simple, you shoot everything in sight. The lack of variety does get boring, but that's why the story is important to carry you through. All in all, Postal is actually worthy of a buy, considering the price you can get it for.

55

Boring and Broken Game

ravestar | June 21, 2013 | Review of POSTAL 2 Complete

Postal 2 is a bizarre game filled with dark humor, but it fail to make use of that concept to deliver anything really good. This is like GTA open world where you can choose to explore and use a number of ways to complete the missions. Sounds good? But it's, a poor version of it, with lackluster audio and gameplay. I grew tired of the presentation and level designs very fast, because it's not very well thought out.

The graphics are terrible by today's standard. The game looks, feel and plays like something from a decade ago, because it was. It seem that Postal 2 was designed to shock and grab attention, but it is let down by mediocre gameplay and design.

82

A Pretty Good Open World Game

ravestar | June 21, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

Mafia II is right up there with GTA, Saints Row and Scarface as one of the best open world gangster game. You play a guy, who works his way up in the Mafia by constantly following orders (Shooting, driving, beating up people, climbing, sneaking, make money, etc.)

The story takes place over years and is set up with black humor and exciting scene. Weather and climate of the huge city varies from chapter to chapter (day, night, winter, summer, rain, etc.). The feel from the fifties has been designed with great attention to detail. You always discover new sights and.NPC passersby have witty conversations with each other.

The only negative is that there are no side missions that you can choose freely from, the story is linear. An online or multiplayer mode is not included. All this did not bother me in the slightest. Overall, an entertaining excursion into the 50s is what Mafia II delivered..

83

A Pretty Good Strategy Game

ravestar | June 21, 2013 | Review of Age of Conquest III

Age of Conquest III is recommended for fans of strategy games, llike RISK. In fact, you can tell there's alot of influence from that game. However Age of Conquest 3 expand on the concept with dozens more locations, scenarios and empires to deliver much more variety in strategic gameplay.

This key addition allow you to complete the campaigns in many different ways. The user interface is straightforward and easy to understand even for beginners. In fact the game was not challenging for me even on hard difficulty setting but there's always extreme difficulty. The graphics are nothing fancy but easy on the eyes, so no complains here.

Overall, I would recommend Age of Conquest III for fans of strategy games.

65

Medicore RTS Game

ravestar | June 20, 2013 | Review of Tropical Stormfront

Tropical Stormfront PC version is a bad port because of the controls. It's hard to recommend this game when there are noticeable flaws in the gameplay and design that make it a forgettable gaming experience. One example is the planes, you can't control them at all, you can only build them. That's a very strange concept for a RTS.

Tropical Stormfront has poor controls, because it was initially released for mobile gaming. The transition to keyboard and mouse didn't work on the PC version. The audio in the game is also VERY repetitive, emphasis on VERY. You keep hearing "Ok" when moving units, that became annoying fast. Think of this as a mediocre version of Command And Conquer.

76

Light Hearted Fun

ravestar | June 20, 2013 | Review of Nancy Drew Dossier: Lights Camera Curses

Nancy Drew Dossier: Lights, Camera, Curses! by Her Interactive is a pretty good addition to the series of games involving Nancy Drew. The story itself is pretty good and consistent throughout the game.

There are puzzles to be solved along with mini games to add some variety to the gameplay. I like the level design here, as the environment looks really good. The audio is pretty nice too, you have to hear it to apperciate it better.

However this game is abit short and can be completed in a few hours. It's also quite easy, which are the two main negatives of the game. So it's really for kids and gamers looking for a relaxing and easy adventure. Don't expecting a deep and complex detective solving adventure.

83

New Update of A Classic

ravestar | June 20, 2013 | Review of Reaxxion

Reaxxion bring you down memory lane, this is a new updated release of the classic brick breaking genre. This is a fun and easy game suitable for kids and people looking to have pass the time.

Some of the boss levels are hard, and you repeat the whole level if you fail to beat the boss, which is kind of annoying. The music is kind of repetitive as well, wish they had offered more variety in the soundtrack.'

I like the secret levels and power ups options, which add variety to the gameplay. I finished the game in close to 18 hours anyway.

Reaxxion is quite a challenging and fast paced game in the later stages and is recommended for fans of brick breaking genre.

81

Not Bad At All

ravestar | June 20, 2013 | Review of Mark Leung - Revenge of the Bitch

Mark Leung - Revenge of the Bitch is a parody of of Final Fantasy, and a pretty good game by itself. When I first heard of the game, the title made me curious enough to check it out.

It make fun of anything in pop culture with characters like jostin bieber. The cut scenes are great, making me laugh with over the top characters. You step into a world as Mark Leung who goes around killing animals and get involve in a religion warfare involving the Church of Vegetology...

The funny and unexpected storyline is what kept this game interesting, The negative things is that the characters catchphrases are repeated, so it gets abit annoying after a long time. The level design is also abit boring and plain to look at.

But overall Revenge of the Bitch is a fun game for those with a sense of humor, this is a good way to pass the time.

88

A Worth Addition to Deus Ex Series

ravestar | June 20, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a game about choices, there are plently of ways you can navigate each of the level and progress in the game. I think this may be the best Deus Ex game yet in the series, it's certainly the biggest,

Some of the levels are very big which is ideal for exploring the environment and doing side quests. The game is great for the stealth fans who like to hide and sneak their way through the missions, you earn rewards for successful stealth.

The complains would be the graphical glitches, but they don't affect the experience much. Still the graphics look outdated by today's standard, and certainly not as good as in the trailer.. The fights with various boss in the begining can be very challenging when you don't have much resources..and require replaying over and over.

Overall, this is still a great game and is recommended for fans of the original Deus Ex and the RPG genre.

85

Great Hidden Object Game

ravestar | June 20, 2013 | Review of Midnight Mysteries 4: Haunted Houdini

I'm a fan of hidden object games and Haunted Houdini is one of my favourite, mainly because the story involve one of the most famous person in history. The concept is interesting and the graphic are pretty good. So right away, I'm hooked by the presentation and concept. Haunted Houdini is great if you love exploring magic and supernatural environment.

Some of the puzzles were abit too challenging, but you do have the option to use the solve function to progress the game.

Overall this is a excellent addition to the Midnight Mysteries series, I felt that the designers did a great job capturing the characters and feel of that era.

79

A Pretty Good Sequel

ravestar | June 19, 2013 | Review of Jagged Alliance: Collectors Bundle

I have long been waiting for a sequel to the classic game, espcially with implementation in the three-dimensional world, the developer did a relatively good job.They found a good way to give the tactical component become a fresh experience in Jagged Alliance - Back in Action.

The new Plan & Go system, which runs in a real-time mode and can be scheduled during breaks in the action works surprisingly well. The sectors are all well designed with quite abit of variety and you are always discovering something new on each map. The game has a full 50 hours of play time. There are many quests that are all quite varied and refreshing from the usual "Bring so and so many objects of type X to Y" missions.

Granted, sometimes the AI is just too easy at lower levels. it's enough to make a noise somewhere or attack from distance, then the rest of the enemies comes running along. This makes Jagged Alliance especially easy for experienced games.

The DLCs are nice bonus to the main game, adding new missions which expand the gameplay. This is a worthy bundle to check out if you are a fan of the original.

67

Not The Best In The Series

ravestar | June 19, 2013 | Review of Patrician IV: Gold Edition

The original Patrician game was a milestone in the economic simulations genre, Patrician II and the unofficial sequels in the Caribbean were also great games. After all the advance praise of the series, I had actually high hopes for Patrician IV, but I was disappointed. Patrician IV is not a bad game - but the entire interiors of the buildings are still standing almost at Patrician II level.

The cities are also relatively deserted - no crowds in the streets and the maximum zoom level is also disappointing. In addition, all cities are more or less the same.

The trading system is definitely the best part of the game - after all it's a business simulation where you can. control the sales and purchases of goods. This aspect is well done. But the gameplay is much more accessible and, unfortunately, actually easier to defeat than the predecessor. I also didn't like the automated trading feature.

Overall, this is not a bad game, but it's certainly not as good as the previous Patrician games.

77

Recommended If You Are A Fan Of Tropico 4

ravestar | June 19, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4: Modern Times

Tropico 4: Modern Times expansion brings a dozen of brand new missions, expanding the story on different islands. It bring modern 21 century setting and environment to the gameplay. You have to a fan of the main Tropico 4 game to like this DLC, because it has the same good and bad things from the series.

It's the largest expansion so far I think, with many new buildings, edicts and opportunities. All new features are practical and solved many old problems. The downside is that the "Tropico feeling" is unfortunately lost. It now feels more like, as if you have to build a futuristic city on another planet.

Conclusion Ultimately, probably everyone has to decide for himself whether he wants to play a futuristic Tropico. From the scope and technical playing here, the Modern times extension is worth without a doubt for fans of the game looking for more content.

60

A decent simulation game

ravestar | June 19, 2013 | Review of Airline Tycoon 2: Gold Edition

Airline Tycoon 2 is the follow up sequel to the game of managing the airline company and the Gold Edition comes with new DLCs such as 2 airlines from the first game. In the game, you want to make a profit running the airline company, it is a pretty decent simulation, presented in a relax and non serious manner.

The graphic is quite easy on the eyes and energetic, with a cartoonish style that is appealing to young players. There is alot of voice acting included, as you talk to people everywhere in the airport which adds to the game.

However the gameplay experience is not enjoyable, due to the long loading screens and bloated user interface. For example, it's hard to see which staff are assigned to each plane which become a problem the longer you play the game, Overall Airline Tycoon 2 is not a bad game, but it fell short of being a recommended buy.

92

Fantastic RPG World

ravestar | June 18, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition dns

Definitely the best RPG on the market. : The only negative things that stood out were some logic errors and minor graphical glitches.

I was very impressed with the variety of missions and the many storylines, there's always something new to discover, you will get a few surprised.

The graphics are amazing, the sound is great, clear and realistic sound effect. Voice acting fit well with the characters. This is a must for every RPG fan.. You can totally go into the world of Tamriel. The DLCs are great add ons along with the numerous mods available make the PC version the best one yet.

85

Beautiful Adventure Game

ravestar | June 18, 2013 | Review of Remember Me

The designers bring this mix of gothic, cyberpunk, Zukuntfsvision and Neo Paris into your living room, with great details, smooth frame rate, cracking sharp textures, smooth animations, beautiful lighting effects and beautiful views. I have a only road raced 20 times up and down'm just to soak up the atmosphere .when it rains, the surroundings are reflected on the wet ground,

The combat system is intuitive, smooth and presented nicely. Remember Me is great fun, it avoids frustrating moments, plunge you into this world. You'll fight, run, jump, run, climb, steal thoughts, Push Open Doors, trigger mechanisms, fight boss and listen to the dialogues, you delight in the staging of a great story.

For those who like the action-adventure in the vein of Tomb Raider, Uncharted or Batman, I recommend checking out Remmeber Me.

83

School Was Never This Fun

ravestar | June 17, 2013 | Review of Bully: Scholarship Edition DNS

Jimmy Hopkins is the main character of Bully, and a likeable guy too despite all the trouble he gets up to. The environment is a school filled with bullies and you must fight back to gain respect. This is like a less violence version of GTA taking place in a school, with more juvenile humor thrown in. You take out rivals by using banana peels or itching powder, instead of guns and cars..

The missions in the game involve fighting bullies and chasing girls with chocolate or flowers.. The gameplay is pretty good, similar to what you find in most open adventure titles.

I didn;t like the waiting time between missions and setting, it was too long and felt tedious. Overall, I enjoy the concept of Bully, after all who doesn't have the fantasy of being a naughty student in school? Recommended.

88

Tomb Raider Deliver Adventure and Story

ravestar | June 17, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider

This is my first Tomb Raider game, after reading alot of positive reviews about it. I'm glad to say this game deserve two thumbs up. The graphics are outstanding and beautiful throughout the story. The story is great and well planned. I had fun navigating the challenges and levels and there were many cool moments where I surivied seemingly against the odds situations.Playing the character of Lara, she is a likeable character with alot of emotional moments in the game.

The two thing I don't like is that the game difficulty is abit easy and the multiplayer mode feels lame amd rushed. Overall, if you like action adventure game, Tomb Raider is defintley worth checking out.

82

Polished and Smooth Farming Game

ravestar | June 17, 2013 | Review of Youda Farmer 3: Seasons

Youda Farmer 3 Seasons is a pleasing addition to the series. The town is destroyed by a winter storm and it's your job to rebuild the place by creating food products and delivering them.

It is more polished than before and the gameplay is fun. The mechanics can be abit difficult to grasp at first, but it can be learned.

The addition of the Restaurant and hotel didn't work, as it's too difficult to deliver in time. Overall, the gameplay generally struck a right balance between difficulty and pace.

The graphic is awesome and bring you into the story with a very polished look.. I would recommend buying this game if you are a fan of fast clicking games. There's a total of 76 levels, so it's offer reasonable game length.

50

Not A Fun Game

ravestar | June 17, 2013 | Review of Youda Legend: The Golden Bird of Paradise

Playing Youda Legend The Golden Bird of Paradise is not a terrible game, but don't expect a slick and exciting time. The theme of the game is to find random hidden objects, with a hint system ensuring new players can progress without too much difficulty. You find items in all kind of places, from jungles to airports.

The graphics and music are pretty solid, but unremarkable. That's the main issue with this game, it's a safe formula with no new concepts that fans of the genre have not experienced.

I also found it almost impossible to progress on some levels. Some of the objects were way too hard to be find, to a point of frustration. Even with the help of the hint system, it took a long time because the items were too small.

The game is not very long, you can finish it in a few hours, so overall It's hard to recommend the Golden Bird of Paradise..

87

Walking Dead Is A Great Zombie Adventure

ravestar | June 16, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

I had never watch the TV series or even read the book. So this was my first exposure to the Walking Dead. At first, it was kind of boring, but things really started to become interesting after the first plot twist.

The characters are well developed and likeable. Obviously this is a zombie game so the main mission is to fight zombies and look for resources. The Walking Dead Game is a great story about choices and characters. Decisions you make in the early parts will come back to help or haunt you later on.

The excellent storytelling carry the game through the average and basic gameplay. The presentation is realistic with quality voice acting and facial expressions. . If you love zombie and adventure games, this is a great buy for the price. I'm now a fan of the series and look forward to the next installement of the game.

91

Believe the Hype - Bioshock Rules

ravestar | June 16, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

I'm not usually a fan of shooter, but heard great things about this game. Bioshock infinite is the first that I played out of the 3 in the series. I was blowed away by the awesome graphic, flow of the game and engaging storyline. Columbia is just a stunning world to look at and explore around.

This is the best game I played this year and probably in awhile. I really enjoyed the story told here, without spoiling it for anyone. It's not often you think about the meaning of the story as you play it. Kudos to the designer for that. I like the character of Elizabeth.

The only negative was the gameplay, as it's was abit easy to play through on the lower difficulty setting and became predictable.

91

Even Better Than Arkhym Asylum

ravestar | June 16, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

Batman Arkham City follows up on everything that was right about Asylum and improved on it. The game feels more smooth and looks even more amazing. The setting of the city allows Batman to explore a much larger and interesting environment. It's really quite a sight watching the city from the buildings and then scooping down to fight the enemies.

I also like the fighting mechanic, it is straightforward and fun. The villains seem abit more difficult to defeat this time round, that's a good thing.

I hate to say it, but this game using Window Live is a negative as I couldn't save the game again. Other than that grip, I had a fun time solving puzzles and destroying the villains in the game. Batman Arkham City is a worthwhile buy for sure.

88

Saints Row The Third Is Fun and Crazy

ravestar | June 16, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

People like to compare this game to GTA series, I would say that is not accurate. The open world adventure is a genre, not a franchise. Saints Row 3 allows bring more freedom and humor, in an over the top fashion. This is like having GTA on roids.

For example, there's plenty of ways to beat up a random citizen and cause mayhem in the street, something GTA is lacking. This is a dark humor kind of game, so it is suitable only for mature players and not for kids.

Personally i didn't care for the main storyline much but was engrossed in the gameplay which is an adventure in itself. Highly recommended for fans of this genre.

85

Great Game But Why Window Live?

ravestar | June 16, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Batman Arkham Asylum is a great game, definitely a impressive engine as you can tell from the graphics and level design. As a fan of Batman, it was a fun experience to play as the Superhero against the Joker, the concept works.

The fighting mechanics are straightforward, allowing you to beat up villains easily. I also like the ability to 'stealth up onto corners of the ceiling and sneak down on the enemies. The detective vision mode is pretty cool, it made you feel like a Superhero!

My only complains would be that the game is saved only by using Window Live, and it didn't work for me. That was frustrating as it meant I had to play the game over several days without the benefit of a save slot.

Other than that, this is a fun game and recommended for fans of the Batman character and action adventure games.

78

Fun Game That's Worth A Look

ravestar | June 15, 2013 | Review of Youda Survivor

Youda Survivor involve being on a island and fighting for surivial. The island is beautiful looking and the story involve you being a hero that came to help the people on the island . This is a fun and energetic game that is challenging enough without being frustrating.

The game is presented in a non serious comical style and the storyline doesn't go very deep at all. The main component is the gameplay which invovles....managing chickens and using their eggs to create various goods. You also get to summon rain and the wind, while digging water holes. The next task is to collect food, brew portions and fighting against pirates.

Overall this game is more complex than others similiar ones by Youda. It involves controlling the energy levels for doing each tasks. When there's no more energy left, you have to restart the level. Another element is the time and weather will affect you, for example hot weather leds to you being dehydrated faster.

As usual, this is a type of game you either love or hate. The concept is very straightforward and replay value depend on the gamers. If you enjoy click and move games, then this is the right one to buy.

65

A Basic and Simple Game

ravestar | June 15, 2013 | Review of Youda Jewel Shop

Youda Jewel Shop is a simulation game where you craft jewelry and sell them to customers. The challenge is to do it as quickly as possible for an increasing number of customers. There's combinations of things required for each order, including colors and type of material.

The more complicated order require longer time and the customers will leave if they wait too long. Occasionally you also help other jewelers to fight off thieves, which in turn earn you bonus items.

Don't expect a deep simulation of running a jewelry business, this is a basic just for fun clicking game. The graphics are bright and colorful, easy on the eyes. The soundtrack is rather annoying, so have something else on in the background.

I find the overall theme boring, so I would recommend this only if you are buying this for young kids or want to pass time on a boring day.

72

Worth The Buy

ravestar | June 15, 2013 | Review of Youda Fisherman

This is similiar to other click and move games by Youda, it's mindless fun where you compete against the speed of the task involved. In Fisherman, you control a fishing harbor and boats to hunt fish and then turn them into other goods. You can sell them for gold or wood, which is required to maintain the machinery that power the boats. The obstacle comes in the form of pirates ship which you can defend by building towers.

So there's also a little element of tower defense gameplay, which get challeneging in the latter stages. The speed get kinda frantic as you progress with the mutiple tasks of handling the boat, fishing, pirates and wood.

This game is worth a buy if you are into this type of game, which is based on fast paced clicking, sure to generate fun and laughter for kids and adults alike.

76

A Great Looking And Fun Game

ravestar | June 15, 2013 | Review of Youda Farmer

Youda Farmer ticks all the right boxes for me, it has great looking graphic, a refreshing gameplay, nice audio effects and a fun concept based on farming. The game can be mastered by using the right technique, to overcome the frantic speed in the latter stages.

The main gameplay involves growing crops and selling them to local shops. You deal with orders from the customers by clicking on items in the farm and then shifting them to the truck for delivery.

As usual in Youda games, you get to upgrade the machinery and items to produce everything faster and better. Sad to say, that's the only variety here, as there's no real storyline here. You can expect to finish the game in 5 -6 hours. This is a game you can play whenever you are bored. It is very much a click and move type scenario, like Pac Man. Mindless fun is how I would sum it up.

82

Old School RPG Fun

ravestar | May 9, 2013 | Review of Landstalker: The Treasures of King Nole™

Landstalker was a great game when it was released, and is still a pretty good game even now. Sure the graphic are outdated and the gameplay is nothing to shout about. But the level design and the overall atmosphere is one that will satisfy RPG fans.

You play as Nigel on a treasure hunt, battling monsters and solving puzzles along the way. The characters and levels are all designed in a 2d cartoonish way, which may or may not appeal to everyone. I like the simplicity of the story and it's a nice little adventure concept.

The gameplay is actually not easy, especially if played on a keyboard. In the 180 degree movement sphere, you have to battle various enemies who surround the character.

The soundtrack can get abit annoying at times, as it's rather repeative to the point that I poinder whether to turn the sound volume off.

Overall, Landstalker is still a fun game, slightly letdown by flaws in the gameplay and soundtrack. But it's got a nice story and character which you will want to explore. Recommend if you are a fan of old school RPG games.

75

Something is Off

ravestar | May 9, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

The latest entry in the Hitman Series is a mixed bag. As someone who just finished playing Blood Money, I have to say Absolution is abit of a letdown in that sense. However if Absolution is the first Hitman game you ever play, you might feel more favorable about the experience. No question about it, Absolution is a new and different entry in the series.

First off the graphics is outstanding, looking like a movie at times. But I question whether the brighter and better graphics is actually suitable for the dark and somber themes of Hitman. Perhaps Absolution is so beautiful looking that it's harder to feel like a cold blooded HItman.

Another letdown is the soundtrack, Jesper Kyd is no longer the composer and the result is underwhelming. I realized how much his score add to the atmosphere of Hitman when playing Absolution and it is sorely missed.

The biggest flaw is the gameplay design. Despite many negative views of the disguise system, I feel it is a realistic concept which actually make the game harder to play. The main flaw is actually how linear each mission has become. No longer is this an open world sandbox where only the end goal is pre determined. Instead you have multiple checkpoints along the way, which means you can't explore or try different ways to finish the target.

Absolution is not a bad game by any means, it's just a limited game and fall short of the expectations. Shame that the developer mess up a successful formula it already had.

89

Classic Games Worth Checking Out

ravestar | May 3, 2013 | Review of SEGA Megadrive Collection - Series 4

This collection of Sega megadrive games features some of the best games of that era. Despite the 2d graphics, you get a very fun gaming experience here. The concept and gameplay of these games more than balance the older graphics.

The notable inclusion here is Street of Rage 1 and 2, widely considered as cult classic in the beat them up genre. There's plenty of replay value here, as the levels and villains come in a variety of patterns.

If you like RPG, Shining Force and Landstalker are both included to satisfy that genre. I was impressed especially with Landstalker, which ticks all the boxes for what makes a great RPG.

Gunstar Heroes is one of the best action shooter of that era, with awesome bosses to battle and a strong gameplay mechanics. It is simply fun and worth replaying.

For these above games alone, it would be a worthy pack already. But the other games are also fun, which means this is a high recommendation for retro gamers.

91

Great Entry GTA Series

ravestar | May 3, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

This is a game which divide opinions, but I would highly recommend it. GTA IV take place in Liberty City, model after New York City. They did a great job of capturing the vibe of the place.

It's a impressive experience with the trademarks of the GTA series. You get a huge map, lots of missions and a rise to the top storyline.

The voice acting and graphics are the best so far in the series, and the radio stations are fun to listen to. The main story of Niko Bellic is engaging, a fresh off the boat foreigner trying to succeed to America. I find the character likeable as we learn more about his troubled past. The anti hero character dramatize the emotional experience as the story unfold.

The only issue comes with the PC version, you will need good hardware to run the game. But overall, this is a great game that's well worth playing and is the best GTA so far in my opinion.

85

Super In Depth Game

ravestar | May 3, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

The main thing that is preventing me from giving GTA San Andreas a higher score is the story. It's a good tale of friendship and betrayal, but it got draggy at parts, especially in the countryside. The game is very long and the map is massive, if only the story was as great to balance all that.

With that said, I highly recommend this game if you like open adventure and crime genres. This is a true sandbox experience, you can do things like buying clothes, working out, shooting cops or just beating up random people on the streets.

The missions here are of a wide variety, so you are likely to love and hate them depending on taste. There's a gang shooutout which was really fun, then there's a mission where you tap buttons to music rhythms....seriously. Still I would say the majority of the missions are interesting, with only a few let downs.

The graphics still hold up fairly good even today, but the gameplay mechanics do feel abit outdated. I love the radios, the music is awesome and make the long car rides more tolerable.

If you never play GTA before, this is a great place to start as this was a pretty notable point in the evolution of the series.

88

Still The Best

ravestar | May 3, 2013 | Review of Football Manager 2013 Steam

This yearly series has evolved over time, to become one of the most complete simulation game in the market. You can play in the top leagues in England, Spain, Italy, Germany among others.

Having not played FM for several years, the big surprise was the 3d football match, it adds a great deal of excitement and depth to the whole game. The match engine is pretty good, with reasonable animations and engaging crowd atmosphere... You actually get to see how the team plays, which makes you analyze everything from tactics to individual roles.

The rest of the classic stuff are still here, allowing you to deal with transfers, training and squad management. The newer features are team talk and media conference. For me, I found these two new aspects abit tedious after awhile, but these are concepts that will get better.

There's also a classic mode which is a simplified version which speed up gameplay alot. It's a nice touch, allowing players to choose how they like to play the game.

Overall if you are a football fan who think he/she can manage a club to success, then this is a great simulation game to check out. .

67

Could Have Been Better

ravestar | May 1, 2013 | Review of Kane and Lynch Pack

The story and key characters are engaging. Kane and Lynch take you on their crazy ride as they rob banks, battle cops and criminals. That's probably the main positive of the game.

The graphics are comfortable to look at, but not mind blowing. The soundtrack is strong but the sound effects during gameplay is mediocre. While Kane and Lynch feel like a cinematic story, it is let down by the overall presentation.

Main weakness of Kane and Lynch is that the game plays like a incomplete work. The weapon mechanics feel disconnected and loose, it's a weird feeling. When I shoot, there's no real sense of impact. Even moving around is not the smoothest experience.

I also dislike the point to point structure, move, shoot and move got tedious really quick. I can't explore the environment much because this is not an open world sandbox.

In terms of replay value, the single player campaign is not exactly long. I manage to finish Dead Men in 8 hours and Dog Days in 6 hours. The online mode is fun if you can get friends to play with....since there's not much community for it. Overall, this is a average game series, if you can pick up the pack on sale, it's a decent buy.

87

Simply Awesome

ravestar | May 1, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money Capsule

This is my first Hitman experience after hearing all the hype about the series, I was pleasantly thrilled. This game play better than it looks, it's an engaging experience once you are the player.

The main fun is that you can murder the targets in many ways, which bring variety and replay value. There's a stealth and disguise system, which adds abit of strategy to the setup.

The mechanics are definitely the biggest improvement based on videos I seen, every action just look smoother compared to earlier games.

The graphics are good even by today's standard. You won't be blown away but it's still comfortable to look at. The soundtrack is pretty cool, helping to enhance the atmosphere as you sneak around.

The only weakness would be that the overall story is not the greatest. It's basically a ,mission to mission structure. However the missions are so fun and well designed that you'll won't care.

Overall I recommend this game, if you like sandbox open world types games where you can explore and be open ended.

88

Polished and Awesome

ravestar | April 29, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Pack

The pack itself is pretty much the game and all the DLC released, so get this if you want the complete edition.

The main game is very nicely done, here's what impress me about Sleeping Dogs...

I like the graphics, presentation and soundtrack, it's obvious effort was made to capture the atmosphere of HongKong. Everything looks bright and easy on the eyes. You can hear the conversations of the NPC walking around and Cantonese songs in the car. There's also various reference to the HongKong culture, such as red envelope, cock fighting and pork buns.

The game has a nice mixture of seriousness and humor. The key story is that of an undercover cop, which is a refreshing concept in this genre of open world adventure. The missions are fun, mainly involving hand to hand combat, driving, shooting and chasing people all over the place.

The DLC are pretty good as well, with three main expansion standing out for story driven fans.

Zodiac Tournament is a nice little fighting survival scenario but abit short.. Nightmare in North Point is kind of corny but the visual of the zombies is cool. Year of the Snake is probably the best DLC, it's certainly the longest in term of length.

The other expansions such as Swat and Street Racer add additional content, but are rather short. The Dragon Master Pack is full of cosmetic upgrades, nice if you want new costumes and appearances.

Overall, this is a great purchase for one of the best game of the previous year. Highly recommended.

78

Fun Little Game

ravestar | April 29, 2013 | Review of Youda Sushi Chef

This is a neat simulation where you take on the challenge of being a sushi chef who has to meet the various orders of customers. If there's one Word to describe the game: FUN!

The game involve mixing a combination of specific meats and veggie with rice to make different sushi. Plus you'll also have to order new ingredients which takes up time.. This game is about SPEED. You'll have to point and click with the mouse at pace as the amount of orders increase, but accuracy is also important. If you mess up 1 ingredient out of 8 required, the whole sushi could become worthless

It takes a while to remember the various formula for different sushi types, but once you do, it's much faster to roll them onto the conveyor belt..

Along the way, you'll get upgrades in equipment and environment. Better equipment means faster process of making sushi, while the upgraded environment makes your customer more willing to wait before they give up on the order.

The presentation is also authentic, it looks and sound like a sushi restaurant, from the equipment to the sound effects.

The drawback of the game is that it's repetitive nature. You get to play in 6 restaurants which offers hours of gameplay, but there's not much variety in the environment and challenge. It's all about serving the sushi faster and faster as you advance.

Verdict: It's a fun game if you are up for testing reflexes and speed of reaction. The graphics, audio and gameplay combine to make a good gaming experience.