Reviews by reginleifx

60

Decent platformer

reginleifx | Dec. 13, 2014 | Review of Canyon Capers

Having played many platformers in my life, I can say Canyon Capers is not one of the worst of them, but it sure is the worst I have played in a while.

Gameplay is decent. Levels have different objectives like grabbing all the gems on them or finding a certain portal before you run out of time, which brings some variety to it. You will get hit by enemies a lot, since there seems to be some flaws in their hitboxes and your character's. Sadly, the game's difficulty is too low, and chances are you are not going to die.

Graphics are alright. Too colorful for my liking, but I guess it fits the game.

Canyon Capers' soundtrack is forgettable.

Overall, I think it is not a memorable title. Get it if you see it on sale and want a quite easy platformer.

80

Pretty good Rail Shooter

reginleifx | Dec. 11, 2014 | Review of Heavy Fire Afghanistan

Do you miss those old school arcade on-rail shooters, like Virtua Cop or House of the Dead? Then this game is a must buy. The game's graphics are okay. But this is the kind of game where you don't really care for them, you care about gameplay... And its gameplay is absolutely fantastic. Basically, you have an assault rifle and a handgun, which you use when you're out of ammo in the former one. You can use grenades as well. In case you have never played a game of this kind before, I am letting you know that your character moves automatically, and all you have to do is shoot. This game features a cover mechanic as well, which is great. Heavy Fire Afghanistan's soundtrack is not great, but it fits the game. The game's plot is average, but I do not think it is a setback. Overall, this is a good game if you want to revisit what now is a pretty much dead genre, but I recommend getting it when it is on sale. If you are not into its core gameplay mechanics and want a great plot and stunning graphics, skip it.

95

Mind blowing First Person Puzzle Shooter

reginleifx | Dec. 7, 2014 | Review of Portal 2

In case you have not heard of Portal yet, let me sum it up for you: It's a First Person Shooter in which you solve puzzles by using a gun that shoots portals. Sounds easy, right? Wrong. The game's plot is alright. It is not perfect, but it still is quite interesting (especially if you have played the first one and always wondered what GladOS' origins were). Graphics are amazing. I mean, they are not out of this world, but they could have been worse. Soundtrack is good. Not going to complain, but it is fitting. Where this game shines, is its gameplay. It is a great improvement from the first one (which was also great). The main focus of the game is to solve physics puzzles, using portals that you create with your gun, however, you will find new elements the more you progress, and by the end of chapter 8, the game gets actually pretty difficult if you have not gotten a hang of it. Do I recommend getting it? Yes, even at full price. In case you have not played neither this or the previous entry in the franchise, get both as soon as possible.

85

One of the best Platformers I have played in a while

reginleifx | Dec. 7, 2014 | Review of Giana Sisters: Twisted Dreams

I am not a fan of platformers, to be honest. When I got the game I was sure I would not like it at all. However, I was wrong. Giana Sisters' plot is not good, and it feels more like an excuse plot (pretty much like 8-bit era platformers), but the point where it shines is its gameplay. You play as Giana, a girl with two different personalities (Cute Giana and Punk Giana), both featuring a different skill, and the world looks different depending on which personality you're playing as at the moment. Switching personalities is something you will be constantly doing to solve puzzles, beat enemies, and I've even done it to see changes between both versions of the world's backgrounds. The game's soundtrack is great, tracks have a techno feel when you're playing as Cute Giana, and are metal-ish when playing as Punk Giana. If you're into challenging platformers with quite easy controls, this is a must have. However, I'd recommend getting it while it's on sale.

50

It could have been better

reginleifx | Nov. 29, 2014 | Review of Blob from Space

It hurts me to say I can't recommend this game. It has a lot of potential. There are a few mechanics that are great, but poorly executed. The game is a bit of a puzzle platformer you can beat in twenty or so minutes. You play as a blob, that came from space. In order to surpass every obstacle in your way you have to transform into enemies so you can get their abilities, like being little or flying. Transforming is great, but since the controls are overly sensitive, chances are you are going to mess up a lot. It features an okay soundtrack. Most songs are incredibly repetitive, except for the ones made by Rebecca Tripp (Which is just one, if I'm not mistaken), so I ended up muting the game after a while. The art style, while cute, could be better. Keep in mind that the game is still in Early Access, so it might get better in a year or so. In other words, the game is not good right now.

85

Awesome "shooter"

reginleifx | Nov. 13, 2014 | Review of Velocity® Ultra

I bought Velocity Ultra expecting an old school arcade shoot 'em up. I was wrong, I got something better. The game is a shooter, with a twist. Your objective is to rescue people who have been involved in a black hole incident, so shooting enemies is not going to be your priority. There is a teleport feature, that is of great help during most levels, since you need to use it from time to time to get to some upgrades or survivors. There are some puzzle elements as well. Graphics are alright. I cannot say much about them Velocity Ultra's soundtrack, albeit short, is fitting and actually pretty good. Get Velocity Ultra if you want to play an overall innovative experience.

85

Neon lights and violent genocides

reginleifx | Nov. 6, 2014 | Review of Hotline Miami

Hotline Miami is a quite violent game in which you kill Russian mobsters because some person tells you in different phone calls. Who are these people who are constantly calling you? Why do they want you to murder these other people? Gameplay is great, there are two ways of playing Hotline Miami: Either you enter a room and start shooting everywhere with a gun, while trying not to get killed, or you can be stealthy, using melee or throwing weapons, and checking your enemies' movements once in a while. The amount of weapons you can use in this game is incredible. The soundtrack is awesome, and it's fitting, since there is an 80's feeling to it, and the game is set in that decade. It took me eight hours to beat it with 100% completion, and it can take up to 12 hours if you try to go for all of Steam's achievements.

85

Do you miss Cat Mario? Play this!

reginleifx | Nov. 6, 2014 | Review of Eryi's Action

Eryi's Action is a troll platformer game, made by the people behind Cat Mario. If you have played that one, then you know what to expect when you play this one. Gameplay is good, it looks like a regular platformer, until you realise the game will try really hard to get you killed all the time. See that harmless flower? Oh, you are dead. You want to select a level? Trap activated, also, you are dead again. It is all a matter of learning where each trap is, and do your best to avoid them (and think thoroughly, because some of them are hard to get around). Eryi's Action's soundtrack is okay. It sounds cute, as cute as the game's graphics. If you are looking for a game that will make you scream in rage, then this one is for you. Get ready to die, a lot.

80

Brilliant puzzle platformer.

reginleifx | Nov. 6, 2014 | Review of Another Perspective

This game is quite good. It is a rather simple puzzle platformer, in which you switch between clones of the main character to see things from different perspectives, and then get to the goal of each level. The game has a pretty good narrative, which can get a bit confusing if you are not paying much attention to what is being said. It all changes depending on which clone you are playing as at the moment, which means, each clone has its own perspective, both on their way of thinking and the level designs. The soundtrack is great, although I did not find it memorable. Puzzles are quite easy, but there were a few that got quite frustrating because I was dying repeatedly due to my own mistakes. Get it if you see it on sale, Another Perspective can be beaten in around an hour or so.

86

Made in RPG Maker, but it is not an RPG.

reginleifx | Oct. 31, 2014 | Review of To The Moon

What can I say about "To The Moon" that has not been said already? It is a wonderful experience, with a beautiful soundtrack, great characters, and it is able to soften the hardest hearts, it will leave you weeping for hours after you finish it. Now, the game feels more like a visual novel than a videogame. It was made in RPG maker, but it features no fights (Well, except for one half an hour into the game), it certainly is not an RPG. It could even be considered a point and click adventure. It features a few puzzles here and there, but they are easy to solve. To wrap up, this is a game you should get as soon as you possibly can. I have heard of some people who did not like it, because of its graphical style, or how little gameplay it had, so you should probably keep that in mind.

85

An allergic person's nightmare: Dust

reginleifx | Oct. 31, 2014 | Review of Dustforce

This is a game that features an antagonist we usually fight in real life: Dust. Dustforce is a game with almost no plot at all, but it does not matter, because the game is beautifully designed. Its gameplay is fluid, and it requires much skills (specially in later levels), but it never feels unfair. There are four playable characters, each one having different stats than the others, so you can pick the one who adjusts to your playstyle better. Its soundtrack is beautiful. It is relaxing, and fits the game's atmosphere. Get it if you are looking for a challenging platformer. You will not regret it.

80

Old School Point and Click adventure.

reginleifx | Oct. 31, 2014 | Review of Deponia

When I got Deponia as a gift, I was sure I was going to love it. And I was right. Deponia is basically an old school point and click adventure, like LucasArts' classics. It is a game that every person who loved those games should have in their libraries. The soundtrack, albeit short, is fitting, and when you finish the game you will probably miss the few vocal songs it features. Voice acting was good. Not the best I have ever heard, and I think its quality could have been a bit better. Deponia has a few surprising plot twists, and the plot is good overall.

70

Kind of like a B-Class movie.

reginleifx | Aug. 7, 2014 | Review of Afterfall Insanity Extended Edition

Let us get this out of the way: AfterFall might not have a good plot, nor a great soundtrack, nor great gameplay. So why am I rating it as a 70/100? Because it is incredibly fun. The game is flawed, but, even though the combat system may feel kind of awkward at moments, it is probably the best aspect this game has, and probably the reason I would buy it again if it was on sale. Visually, the game looks gorgeous, considering it is an Indie title. Most animations are fluid, although some of them look terrible. The game can be quite scary at times, so if you're into the genre, and don't care much for graphics/plot/soundtrack, give it a try if it is on sale. You might like it

90

One of the best in its genre.

reginleifx | Aug. 7, 2014 | Review of BioShock

When it comes to First Person Shooters, I usually get bored after playing the first hour of them. However, BioShock is different. BioShock feels like an FPS/RPG/Survival Horror hybrid, it has a really scary atmosphere, as well as a rather bleak plot and backstory. Your character can spend a substance called "ADAM" to get new skills, which is quite hard to get, and how you get it is up to you (will not say how, since it could count as a spoiler). Gameplay is great. You have to use your plasmids (which are kind of like magic) wisely, as well as your weapons, since ammo can be hard to come across. You can upgrade almost everything, your plasmids, passive skills, your weapons. You can even craft things with the proper materials. The game features a good soundtrack, which can feel spooky from time to time, or even kind of dissonant, depending on which part of the game you're currently at. BioShock also has multiple endings, depending on the player's choices.

85

Probably the best game in the genre.

reginleifx | Aug. 5, 2014 | Review of T.E.C. 3001

To be honest, I am not really into this kind of game. However, I saw this game and thought "I should give it a try". The gameplay is great, there are three different kinds of levels, each feeling a bit different from the others. Being the "basic" kind of level the best, in my opinion, since it kind of feels like yet another runner game, with enough tweaks to make it feel unique. The game also gets really challenging by level 20 or so. The soundtrack is good, if you're into techno you are going to love it. Sound effects are great as well. Graphics are awesome. Overall, I think this is a game everyone would enjoy.

90

Still a masterpiece.

reginleifx | Aug. 4, 2014 | Review of X-COM: UFO Defense

In case you have never played an X-Com game, the plot is pretty much the same in every entry. There is an alien invasion on Earth, it is your job to get rid of it. Gameplay varies a little from entry to entry (Excepting "The Bureau" and the latest one). In this case, we could say the gameplay is divided into two different phases: The managing phase, in which you manage the anti-alien bases, different platoons, research, manufacturing, among other things, like detecting alien presence in different parts of the world. Then there is the combat phase, in which you control one of your squads, and battle alien forces. Now, the game is challenging, even in the first difficulty setting for beginners. You really need to take care of everything happening in the world, and there are many ways to lose the game. Graphics are alright, considering it came out in 1994. Sound effects are generic, and the soundtrack is okay, to say the least.

90

Pure fighting gold.

reginleifx | July 20, 2014 | Review of Skullgirls

I have to admit, I am not a fan of fighting games, but this is the first game in the genre I have ever felt inmersed in. Considering it was made by an indie company (Lab Zero), the game has gorgeous graphics. Also, the animations are really well-made, which shows how much effort they put into the game. Gameplay is solid, with tons of combos, and a system that punishes players who create endless loops of them. The game may not have much content still, but Lab Zero is constantly working on patches, creating new DLC, most of which are free for three months after release. When it comes to online gameplay, you might have some lag issues from time to time. The Original Soundtrack is awesome.

90

Best plot in the franchise.

reginleifx | July 14, 2014 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

Though most people say it's the worst game in the franchise, I think it is the second best entry in it. Yeah, gameplay might not be as good as in previous entries if you're used to playing just to cause mayhem, but, I think it actually is a great thing, since it makes the whole experience a lot more realistic. So, no more jetpack, no more ridiculously big weapons I won't talk much about the soundtrack, but I'm going to say most radios are excellent, and they feature almost every genre you can think of. There's Latin-American music, Jazz, classic Rock, whichever genre you feel like listening to, you're likely to find it here. Now, the plot is where this game shines. At first, it feels like your regular Grand Theft Auto plot, guy comes from another city or country, gets picked up by family or friend, yadda yadda. But after a few plot twists you'll find out it's not as regular as you might think, and these plot twists and the fact that you have to make some decisions at some points of the game are, in my opinion, the best thing this franchise has introduced to any of its games. Graphics are good, but sadly, the game is terribly optimized.

75

Better than expected

reginleifx | July 5, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 6

I have to admit, that I really wasn't expecting Resident Evil 6 to be good. I'd stopped liking the franchise ever since 4 came out. But after getting RE6, I think I am into it again. Gameplay is good, every single action is fluid, and you can pull off different moves which makes the game a bit easier if done correctly. The game is challenging, since, even though there are loads of guns for every character in each campaign, finding ammunition for them can be quite difficult and you're highly likely to be surrounded by enemies most of the time. However, the lack of hard puzzles are the reason I stopped being a fan of the franchise, and puzzles are pretty much the only thing you will not find in this game. Visually, the game is beautiful. The soundtrack could be better, but still good. About the game's length, it took me 23 hours to beat, but I was not even near to 100% completion, so, I guess it should take completionists around 50 hours to beat, which makes this probably the longest entry in the series.

85

Loads and loads of weapons.

reginleifx | July 4, 2014 | Review of Borderlands

Borderlands is definitely one of my favorite games of all time. The plot might not be excellent, but it still is entertaining. (Not going into much detail, since it's easy to spoil.) I've read somewhere, that it's basically a "Elder Scrolls/Diablo/Fallout" mashup, and it kind of feels that way. The random drop system works kind of like Diablo's and one of the game's most appealing features is the weapons that can be dropped. There are literally millions of possible weapons. There are also different kinds of weapons, with your character getting better with them as you use them. Gameplay-wise, it feels like an FPS/RPG hybrid, that's why some people compare it to The Elder Scrolls. There are four playable characters, each one has different passive skillsets, and an active skill. There are different skilltrees, which allow players to try different builds out. It's a challenging game, and it's also long (took me 30 hours to beat, 45 hours with DLCs. The soundtrack is kind of good, to be honest.

70

Retro game that could have been better.

reginleifx | July 4, 2014 | Review of Satazius

Satazius is basically another side scrolling shooter, like Lifeforce, Gradius, R-Type. However, it's not as fun as those games still are. The gameplay is alright, your ship starts really slow, but you can find some upgrades for your speed, which still doesn't help much. Your weapons can be upgraded as well, but they're changes that can barely be felt. The soundtrack, compared to other shooters like this is not good. Satazius is also easy in my opinion. You can save your Super Weapon for bosses, and kill them in just a few seconds. Get it if you're into the genre, and feel like you should get every single Side Scrolling shooter.

90

Who says videogames don't make you think?

reginleifx | July 4, 2014 | Review of Portal

Portal is an awesome game. Sure, it's short, but it's fun to play, and quite challenging. Portal's plot might not be one of the best ever made, but I still felt like getting to the end and see its outcome: You basically are a girl trapped in Aperture Science's test chambers, and there's an insane AI (GladOS) who makes you go through different tests. There are lots of jokes in the game, some of them are actually quite grim, yet funny. The main gameplay mechanics are physics. You have to solve puzzles using physics and portals. Some of them require a lot of thought, while some of them have really easy solutions that make you feel bad about yourself once you see how easy they were to get through. Portal's soundtrack, even though it's kind of hard to pay attention to, is quite good. And I think most player will remember the credits' song for quite a long time. Overall, I think this is a game everyone who hasn't tried it out should get as soon as possible, as well as its sequel.

89

Not really a sandbox, but still awesome.

reginleifx | July 4, 2014 | Review of Mafia II

I remember getting this game a year ago, and giving it a try a few months later. Mafia II might not have impressive visuals for the year it came out, however, it's not something you should care about. The gameplay is great, since it's basically a quite linear sandbox. Sure, there aren't many things to do but to follow the plot (Which I'm going to talk about later), but you can still do the basic things almost every sandbox has, like stealing cars, fighting pedestrians, and running from the law. Now, I really love how the police works in this game: Depending on your wanted level, they'll take different actions (1 Star, they'll give you a ticket, 2 stars, they'll try to arrest you, 3 and 4 stars, they will try to kill you). The game is quite realistic, with things that have really happened being talked about in the different radios, which are great as well. However, there's a bit of anachronism (That is, there are things that didn't happen in the game's time period), like songs from the '60s being in a 1945 radio. Soundtrack's actually quite impressive. The tracks made for the game fit really well, and the radios are amazing as well. As for the plot and characters, well, they're awesome. Most of the game is basically a flashback Vito (The main character) is having, in which we get to understand quite a lot of things about his life, like, why he became a member of the mafia, and how he did it. Most characters are charismatic and lovable, and most players I know wanted to get to the end to see whether Vito and Joe (His best friend) got a happy ending, or not.

85

Good plot + Batman + Challenging gameplay = Great game

reginleifx | July 4, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

I'm not a fan of superheroes, although Batman is an exception, of course. After playing so many bad superhero games, I thought this would be one more of the bunch, and, it's not bad at all, actually. Graphics are great, even though it's something I don't actually care for. The soundtrack is awesome. I think every single song in it could be a masterpiece. The plot is actually pretty good, and you actually want to get to the end of the game to see how it ends. The game is kind of tough, but pretty short as well (Took me around 12 hours to beat). There are tons of collectibles you might want to get to achieve 100% completion, and most of them are well hidden (In, I couldn't get them all). Stealth mechanics are great, and, in my opinion, the moments you are stealthing, are the best in the game. Fights are kind of repetitive in my opinion, if you're playing with an Xbox 360 pad, it's basically pressing A most of the time, and pressing Y occasionally. The Batsuit can get tons of upgrades, some of them are actually quite useful, like, upgrading your health, but some other are useless, in my opinion. Overall, it's a great game. It has a few issues here and there, but they depend on the player him/herself.

85

Definitely one of the most fun Indie Titles I've played

reginleifx | July 4, 2014 | Review of Super Meat Boy

This game is great. Sure, it does not have great visuals, and the plot is not great, it just feels like an old platformer. However, the gameplay is fluid and challenging, there are lots of traps you have to avoid making contact with, and it's harder than it sounds. Meat Boy's movements can feel a little bit slippery (This depends from player to player, I believe), and, in case you don't like playing as him, you can unlock some other characters by visiting secret levels, or getting bandages, which are really hard to collect, but add a lot of gameplay time if you're a completionist, and most of them are really fun to play, at least in my opinion. Now, the soundtrack is wonderful, it fits the game well, and almost every single song in it is catchy. Overall, this game is great, and it's a tough challenge for those who think most new games are too easy for them.