Reviews by romenjack

93

All around fun

romenjack | Nov. 14, 2014 | Review of Medieval II: Total War Collection

This game had everything that i loved about Rome Total war with all the fun of the first Medieval Total war. The combat is expansive and enjoyable. It challenging enough to be fun but not punishingly so. The economy can be a little frustrating at times and just make you want to put in a cheat code to get lots of money just so you can get to the actual fighting but the struggle to maintain a large army and also have money in the bank can be part of the fun. The separate story campaigns are not only fun but can give you a little more perspective on History and why things happened the way that they did. You can understand the fear when the Mongols are nearing and just tearing through everything that they make contact with. All and all a fun time that you will waste way to many hours of your life palying.

69

The Weakest of the Total War Games

romenjack | Nov. 14, 2014 | Review of Empire: Total War Collection

I have loved the Total War Games since if first played Shogun, and i was so excited to see that in this game they would be focusing on the Colonial Area of history. The thought of having guns, navel battles and artillery was truly exciting. And also disappointing when nothing seemed to work. While improved in the later expansions it is never really fixed. The AI is stupid and has no grasp of tactics. it is almost impossible to have any money in the game to the point that at the end of each turn you are just hopping that you stay in the black, and the AI is worse and managing their economy then you are.
I hope that some time in the future they make a squeal that fixes all the major problems of this game, because I think that would be an awesome game but for the most part this game was just a big disappointment.

88

Hours of Entertainment

romenjack | Nov. 14, 2014 | Review of Age of Empires II and The Forgotten Expansion

I first played Age of Empires forever ago and it has aged well with time. The city building and army managing is still just as fun now as it was back then. One of my biggest gripes about this game is lake of diversity. While each faction has its own special unit that also has a special look and ability, most of your generic units all look the same and or have the exact same states. Unlike in the total war games where they try to portray each nation as accurately as possible in Age of Empires they try to keep the game as balanced as possible. That being said if you approach this game more like Warcraft 3 then in many ways it is far more expansive and diverse focusing on fielding large armies in formations and managing your food resorces.

80

Fun but Should Have Been Better

romenjack | Nov. 14, 2014 | Review of Alpha Protocol

Alpha Protocol tried to do lots of new and interesting things that had mostly never been done before and I feel that it tried to do so many things that it was unable to be grate at anything. Dialog was well written and could even make you sweat bullets at times, but the choices being so veg it made it almost a guessing game of what you would actually say. Combat was fun and different but could be clunky at times. Stealth was effective and seemed to be what they wanted you to aim for but then at the end of the game they made it impossible for you to be stealthy. The story was well written and interesting however it could get a little confusing at times. There were points in the game that I wasn't sure why i was actually doing what i was doing. That being said as soon as i beat it the first time i immediately played through it again, and then again, and then again. It's fun fast pasted and even a bit nail biting at times. While I wouldn't recommended it over some other games. if you are bored and looking for a new game to play while waiting for the next big release then give this one a go.

89

Good but Should Have Been Better

romenjack | Nov. 14, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex Collection

Let me start off by saying that I did like this game and the story was interesting and well told. The fact that it was so good is what made the problems with it ever so obvious. This is a game that relies on your choice of combat style, be it talking, shooting, or stealth. then they throw you into boss fights that you have to fight it out only you have no upgrades in guns. While the DLC does help fill some, and i mean some, of the plot holes and contrivances in the game. there will still be many times that you are doing things just cause. All that being said the world is beautiful, the gameplay while clunky at times is still fun, the story seems real and the moral implications of its subject matter is something that we ourselves will probably be facing in the next 20 to 50 years. If you like Games like Mass Effect than you should defiantly give this game a try.

85

Dragon Age 1.5

romenjack | Nov. 14, 2014 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins Awakening (NA)

While Awakening is not big enough to be considered a stand alone game(at least by Bioware standards) i feel it is to big to just be considered DLC. The story takes off right after the game ended and you are now trying to rebuild the Grey Wardens in Ferelden. Then oh no stuff happens and you have to fight Darkspawn. My grates problem with this game is the lack of depth. While the story is there and it is very interesting it just seems to rushed that you never get any time to actually absorb what is going on. Also one of the main villains has almost no introduction and the game just seems to assume that you read the book that tells his back story. The gameplay is just more of the same in origins only with a few new skills an abilities. All in all if you like Origins and want to play more than you will enjoy this. If Origins didnt really do it for you then do not be expecting this game to be the thing that changes your mind.

93

Full Circle

romenjack | Nov. 14, 2014 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2

As Shogun Total War was the first of the total war games i had ever played it had a very close place in my heart. So when they were making a second one I was both very excited and concerned and after how terrible of a game Empire Total War turned out to be I was worried that maybe they were starting to loose their touch. But it seems like they have learned from the mistakes of their past and have made one awesome game. There are a few flaws to be sure. like the fact that artillery in this game never seems to miss and will just wipe out an entire unite, for the most part the the battles are solid. Managing the world is fun and you dont have to use cheat codes just to stay in the black in your finances. all in all if you are looking for a 4x game or like other total war games then there is no reason you shouldn't buy this one.

89

One of the best stories out there

romenjack | May 25, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead

If you are looking for an action game with lost of zombie killing and explosions then don't bother with this one. What this game dose is tell the story of a man trying to survive and keep a shred of his humanity.

This game drives home the narrative and the game is basically one giant conversation giving you multiple options on what to do. It also has one of the best moral choice systems ever in a game. you don't get good points or bad points and the right choice is not always obvious, most of the time it isn't. but for every choice you make there are consequences that carry over to the following chapters.

However where the game fails is in the actual game play. The controls are hard to use and the camera angles can make it confusing to move around. the graphics look just like a comic book's and sometimes can even look odd. however this game does what it sets out to do and that is telling a gripping story that will have you wanting more.

94

Awesome Game, Awesome Story

romenjack | Nov. 5, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA)

The story is grate, the writing is awesome, and the characters actually have different personalities that are interesting. every origin story is interesting and actually has effects on the rest of the game even if they dont effect much. And the romances of your companions are actually engaging though still suffer from the bioware syndrome of say all the right things and they will throw themselves at you. the part where this game lacks though is the fighting mechanic. while i do like the tactical aspect of it and the difference in difficulty from normal to hard is extreme and really adds a challenge but it can be slow and suffers from the mmo set up of two people standing there hitting each other and the fist one to run out of health looses. overall a fun game, fun story, and you will definitely play it several time.

84

Not as good as most people think.

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

I know a lot of people will disagree with me, and dont get me wrong i loved this game there are just lots of things that bring it down. the game play is repetitive and really does not fit in the world that they created. where as in the first game all things in the game where part of the world and also effected why things were the way that they were in this game they were there more for fan service. at one moment they are talking about the morality of killing and the very next moment i am taking my claw hook and digging it into a police officers face. that being said the story really was worth ever bit of it all. with an ending that really does just have you starring at the tv screen as you are trying to put the pieces together of the bombshell they just gave you then after ten minutes of starring at the main screen and you restart the game to play through it again. i do wish that the game had focused more on trying to escape with the girl and staying hidden as appose to the mass slaughter that you do in this game.

96

Life Changing

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (NA)

does this game have problems? Yes. are there so many glitches that there will be times you just want to rage quite? Yes. is the game so awesome that you will play it for hours on end anyway. You bet. while this game can become a bit of a grind fest and there are a lot of fetch quest and you have to wonder why there are more bandits and evil mages in Skyrim than there are normal people it doesnt make plowing through all of them any less fun. while this game suffers a little bit of the fable mentality that you are of the world not in it, and nothing that you do actually changes much of anything, and like with most elder scrolls games the stuff that happens before the game sounds far more interesting than what is going on right now. but the stories are always interesting and keep me plugging along. the landscape is breathtaking and the combat is the best yet. and the mods that are out there for this game will take it all to a whole new level.

80

That Ending

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 3 (NA)

It is so hard to write a review for this game. on the one hand it was awesome and i enjoyed playing it immensely. the problem is that it is by far the weakest of the trilogy. there are bugs and glitches in this game that none of the other games have had and while i know they were going for a tone and the like but they cut out most of the dialog options. there were several times that i went several minutes and never chose what i wanted to say, it is now you get one choice at the start of a conversation and then one at the end and that is about it. in fact there is an option to take the dialog options out of the game completely. while this game did a good job of tying up the over all story arcs of the game at the same time it makes almost all of your previous choices worthless, as no matter what you chose the same thing happens anyway. and that brings us to the ending. and boy is it terrible. even after the extended cut dlc there are still a lot of problems with it. it comes out of left field and does not fit in the game at all. and the problem is not that it is sad but that it doesnt make any since. is the ending a deal breaker? no. does it drag down the rest of the game? yes. i know that they are probably trying to set it up for another game but i wish they had done it another way. play the game have lots of fun just know that the ending is forced contrived and in many ways stupid.

86

Good Game

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

The problem i have with this game is in the story. a lot of problems that were in the first game were fixed, like the combat and the repetitiveness with your surroundings, where it lost me was the beginning. a lot of actions that you take seemed really forced and out of character there are several things that happen that make you tilt your head and just hu, they set up a lot of questions and just kind of wave them off like no big deal and Shepherded just shrugs and goes with it. they flooded the game with lots of new crew-mates and while i didnt mind this at the same time i felt like some of them were really flat and uninteresting (Jacob) as where in the first game even the crew members that were not team mates i grew attached too in this you will care about half of them and just kind of ignore the rest. sadly i also felt that this game was a little incomplete. once you get all the dlc for it then you can play it and be like yes that was a good game and my liking of it does go up when i play all the dlc in the game. i loved the fact that they put interrupts in the game i felt that it did add a lot more to your character and really i wish they could have put more. i dont really like how they changed the leveling system though i do understand why they did it the way that they did and again it was nothing that hurt it in any major way. i do wish they had spent more time on the talking parts and fleshed out some of the characters more and i think that the game would have been a lot better if they had just changed the first 2 hours of the game and would have made the rest of the game flow better but still worth playing a few times.

93

The Best

romenjack | Sept. 15, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect (NA)

Probably my all time favorite game. It has a grate story, awesome writing, and the best crew a commander can ask for. now a lot of things in this game are far more come place now like the ability to chose your gender or voicing the main character and still having dialog options but this was one of the first of its kind to ever do so. while yes the gameplay in the first one is probably the worst and there is a lot of clutter in the GUI none of it was really damaging to the flow, and while people will complain all day about the elevators in this game the fact of the matter is this was an attempt to not brake immersion and while i noticed the elevators in the first game never did i complain about loading screens so it worked it just made people angry about the same thing. one of the things that makes this game stand out is its attention to detail. very little in this game is left unexplained nor are they cramming the information down your throats. if you want to know how mass effects work you can talk to some people about it but more than that you can go into your codex and spend hours sometimes reading about all these things. not to say this game doesnt have flaws because it dose. the pacing in the game is a little inconsistent, and the side missions can get very repetitive, seeming that you go to planet get in mako drive around find base go in base kill people rinse and repeat and the third time or so that i played this game i was starting to feel that it was a bit of a grind but even that wasnt enough to make me stop doing them. i do wish that your back story at the beginning played a bit more into your story and that the actions that you take had a little more effect in the game beyond the council yelling at you for whatever it is you did or didnt do. over all an awesome game that i think i will be playing for many years to come