Reviews by rslancer

25

Can't Even Play :(

rslancer | July 14, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut

So I didn't really even get to play the game because this game's got head bobbing. I find that it makes me dizzy/nauseous and I'm sure there are plenty of other people out there with my problem because you can see on forums people complaining about it.

What aggravates me is that they haven't fixed it. I don't see why there shouldn't be an option to turn the head bobbing off. I'm not even sure why developers these days are so intent on making the head bob effect. Its not like we walk around seeing our world go up and down. Either way no way to turn it off so I can play five minutes at a time before succumbing and giving up. If your like me save your money and yourself some dizzying and don't buy the game.

73

good addition

rslancer | Oct. 11, 2013 | Review of Victoria II: A Heart of Darkness

its a great addition(and in many ways needed) to vicky2. That's my problem with this dlc. I'm usually ok with paradox dlcs because you don't really need them in the base game to make it good but for vicky2 that's kind of what happened. This dlc kind of patches things up that wasn't quite as good in vicky 2 and adds crisis system which is really cool. The problem is the price. 20 bucks is a lot for essentially a patch.

In conclusion just get the vicky 2 complete bundle and save yourself money!

85

Excellent!

rslancer | Sept. 29, 2013 | Review of Victoria II

Great game. Would highly recommend if you are willing to spend a lot of time trying to learn the game. I have played other paradox games and this I think is the most difficult to learn.

Its essentially an economically oriented game with some warfare/colonization as well. Warfare easy enough to understand...the economy not so much. Also you need the DLCs...makes the game much better.

61

Very minor DLC

rslancer | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of A Game of Dwarves: Ale Pack DLC

This is a very small dlc. Doesn't add much but then again it doesn't cost much either. Also I do like the fact that its not one of those dlcs that you feel like should have been in the game to begin with otherwise the game would suck. I hate it when companies do that. This just adds some ways to keep your dwarves happy which is easy enough to do anyways shrugs

65

Way Over Rated

rslancer | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect (NA)

Only thing this game really got right is the story which I will admit is pretty good. Everything else is pretty lame... Its a duck and cover then come out and shoot and repeat sort of game. Applies for pretty much 90% of the game. Maps are reused so often it hurts me. The "side quests" have no real meaning. Essentially all the same once you done a few. I couldn't bring myself to finish the game.

Skip this one and go straight to Mass Effect 2 if you must insist on playing these games. At least in the second one they didn't recycle the maps constantly.

75

Great Game

rslancer | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age 2 & Dragon Age Origins Ultimate Bundle (NA)

I'm going to go and say what everyone probably already knows. DA 1 was AMAZING. Very immersive story if somewhat cliched but still very cool.Characters and their side quests were nice. The skills were fun and overall missions was fun too. I think most importantly the quests didn't seem like a pain to do unlike the second. Part of that was the fact that missions took place in unique locations. In DA 2 you get lame missions in maps that are clearly reused over and over again. Its incredibly lazy thing to do and the ppl who made the game clearly dropped the ball in the second game.

Overall the first game alone makes the purchase worth it though if your really curious and wanna try out DA2 go ahead, I think you'll find yourself pleasantly disappointed as I was !

90 for DA1 65 for DA2

89

One of the best paradox titles

rslancer | July 19, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis II

This game is great. I really enjoyed this game. It has many different aspects: economy, warfare, research, building, trade, colonization. It kind of dabbles a bit in all. Overall it does well in all of them too. I especially enjoyed playing spain or england and colonizing the americas. The tradeing system is probably the weakest. It has a weird send your merchants to a market and over time they get outcompeted and thrown out and you have to keep doing it. Its kind of a hassle but could be worse. Definitely one of the best games I've played. Highly Recommend!

76

decent game

rslancer | July 17, 2013 | Review of Worms Revolution

This is a decent game to play with friends. Simple and silly enough that my girlfriend can play it and that's what I got the game for. It's a lot of fun playing with friends who are casual gamers. People have a lot of fun blowing each other up in weird ways and even hitting yourself by accident. Not a super serious game and shouldn't be viewed as such. Def worth a try though.

79

Great Game

rslancer | July 7, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

It is a lot of fun. Actually much like the most recent one Absolution. The graphics are just worse but its definitely still passable. Though strangely enough, it still takes a bit to finish loading screens. Definitely worth a try if you are looking to get into the Hitman series and is cautious about buying the more expensive Absolution.

Anywho, the game is about receiving missions, getting dumped into a sandbox, and then finding ways to kill your target. This is what lures everyone to the game, the idea of kinda being a hitman; however, this is not entirely sandbox because a lot of killing methods are set in stone and its more of a puzzle where you have to find the right elements to set a chain of sequences into action.

74

Decent Game

rslancer | May 15, 2013 | Review of The First Templar

Could be worse or better. Personally prefer Dragon Age if I was to play a RPG. Interesting setting and idea of a second companion person. Would be nicer if the AI on the companion could be better but then again that's like every game. Kinda cool to have a co-op mode but I don't know anyone else who plays this game so its just me and myself.. Maybe It will be better and more exciting with a friend? Worth a try at least when its on sale!

91

BEST total war game

rslancer | May 13, 2013 | Review of Rome: Total War

This is where I started the series and I have played most of the other ones now and this is definitely the best. None of the others really captured my attention like this one did. Lots of unit diversity between different factions so battles are fun to play. Lots of times, there are unique units like certain chariot units or war dogs and what not that really gives each faction a certain flavor of game play unlike certain other ones in the total war serious cough shogun 2 cough

The battles are great but easily "gamed." For example its virtually impossible to lose a town or city if you are playing with phalanx due to their insane endurance if you attack from the front so if you just wait a town center and clog the entrances a few hundred phalanx units can route several thousand enemy units. But you can stop yourself from gaming it if you choose to.

The AI for the campaign map is a little buggy. They like to make alliance/peace then break it the next turn whether or not they stand a chance.

The expansion pack included in this is also kinda nice. Adds a new dimension with the whole hordes idea but by no means that great. Just new factions and what not.

Overall a great experience and so far the best Total War game in the series. Hopefully Rome 2 will be even better :)

75

Decent Game but Overrated

rslancer | May 13, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown (NA) -

I'm new to the franchise so I'm not going to compare it to its predecessors but this game really isn't as great as other people make it out to be. Its a decent squad based turn based strategy game but it really is oversimplified like many other reviewers out there have mentioned. You have different classes of soldiers (healers, assaults, sniper) which is cool. I thought they implemented this pretty well. All of them serve a fairly unique role other than the heavy which I ended up pretty much never really fully utilizing because the game penalizes you for using heavy weaponry to kill which blows things up.

The real problem is that the missions are all too similar. I think they are patching it up to introduce more varieties of missions because on my second play through I encountered a mission that I didn't my entire playthrough first time around. The problem still persists though in that the enemies are not very dynamic, the mission is nearly always you go out and find the enemies but they never come to get you. Another problem is like I said while there are a variety of missions most of it boils down to simply you exterminating aliens. I really think they could have implemented other kinds ( for example get from point A to B, recover artifact, defend this point, blow up this area). They could have done so much more if they really put in the effort which unfortunately they didn't.

The graphics are great and the gameplay is pretty smooth though.

75

Decent TW

rslancer | May 13, 2013 | Review of Medieval II: Total War

I got this game from my friend and was really looking forward to it. I would say this is a decent TW game. Very similar to Rome total war. I didn't have to do the tutorial because it was that similar. The only real difference I really see is the presence of a pope and the division between castle and cities.

So essentially you grab a nation and you build up your cities and your armies in a turn based manner and then when your armies meet an opposing army you guys fight it out real time. I suppose the meat of the game lies in the real time fighting which is decent but for some reason just doesn't seem quite as fun as Rome total war was. Definitely better than Shogun total war 2 though because at least there is some variation between nations but less variation between units than Rome. I think that might be why its not quite as fun. Everyone starts off with very bland spearmans and horseman. Rome is just so much more interesting because factions have much more diversity in their units. The Carthaginians have some spearmans and elephants, the Greeks have their phalanx and the Romans have their swordmans etc. I'd say this game is worth a buy when its on sale if your a fan of the series or if you haven't tried it yet.