Reviews by rslancer

73

Great game

rslancer | Nov. 8, 2014 | Review of X3: Reunion

This game combines the space fighting sim freespace with some RPG aspects such as upgrading your ship, buying new parts, you can do missions, you can do trading. Theres just so much to do. And of course the graphics are super pretty. Its a somewhat old game but its still amazing looking at planets and ships blow up. better than x rebirth!

79

This is the definitive EU experience as of now

rslancer | Oct. 20, 2014 | Review of Europa Universalis IV: Conquest Collection

Everything we loved about previous EU has been refined and made even better. Graphics a bit better but more importantly game mechanics are better. Especially trade and colonization. Of course national ideas make a return and its great. My only complaint about EU4 is the insane amount of DLCs they put out. I kind of wish they did it EU2 style or even 3 and put out a few DLCs. Theres so many I can't even tell which ones you really need. Thats why buying this is good. you get them all!

70

pretty good as far as FPS goes

rslancer | Sept. 29, 2014 | Review of Resident Evil 4

Yep the usual FPS. Closest one to this is the FEAR series. Some scares here and there but the controls are hard. I think that may be due to the fact that this is a port but its still worth playing nonetheless if you are into FPS.

76

Good

rslancer | Sept. 22, 2014 | Review of Disciples 3: Reincarnation

For those unfamiliar with disciples, its a lot like might and magic. The fighting system is similar and vets of M&M will be right at home. I prefer this though because the graphics look a lot less cartoony. It just seems more realistic (if high fantasy had to be real that is).

60

great back in the day

rslancer | Sept. 22, 2014 | Review of Jagged Alliance 1: Gold Edition

This really was one of those classics but its aged pretty significantly. Wouldn't say its worth playing nowadays. They got the new JA which are similar but with better UI and graphics. I feel like its more tactical than the much raved new xcom so if you really want a turn based tactical shooter I say give the new JA a try and just skip this one.

65

a bit boring

rslancer | Sept. 18, 2014 | Review of Depth Hunter 2: Deep Dive

Its a worthy game when on sale. Problem is that its repetitive and there really isn't much to do. Sure you hunt some fishes turtles etc but they aren't all that different. To be fair though it does give a decent sim of what I expect hunting to be like. graphics and sounds are good but its just not that exciting.

71

Great DLC

rslancer | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of Medieval II: Total War™ Kingdoms

This is a great dlc. It adds tons of contents to MTW2 and really fleshes out the medieval world. Things like buildings, units, and new factions are added. That really freshens up the game even for veterans of MTW2. I'm a little unsure about the whole expanding it to the Americas idea though. Doesn't seem to quite fit the timeline and seems to break the immersion a bit but who cares it's more units and variety which is good!

71

Not that great

rslancer | Aug. 19, 2014 | Review of Mass Effect 2 (NA)

Someone needs to say it...I really don't get all the hype and positives about the game. Combat is repetitive shoot + cover and use some random abilities and repeat until bad guys are dead. Go around corner and do the same.

The great thing about this game though is the universe it depicts. I like that best about the game. Its really cool imagining how life is like in that game world.

I think it was better than first game which had excessive reuse of maps over and over again which Bioware also did for DA2...I dont' recall there being any reused maps in ME2 so thats good.

40

It was fun until it glitched...

rslancer | Aug. 16, 2014 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

So at 3-2 in the game my friend and I both noticed that the screen kind of glitched. It went kinda white shaded and blinked constantly. Very uncomfortable to to the eye. We couldn't play past that level due to the whole blinking. Presumably if you manage to get past the blinking ends. I can't believe the developers somehow didn't notice the blinking. Given that both me and my friend were on different computers and he has a really nice gig I imagine a lot of people have this problem...

Either way it was a fun coop hack and slash with some RPG in LOTR theme until the graphics problem...

73

Good DLC for RTW2

rslancer | Aug. 14, 2014 | Review of Total War: Rome II - Daughters of Mars DLC

This is a good DLC. One of the things that is best about RTW is that there is a variety of units available compared to shogun or even empire total war. This DLC adds to that variety and you really feel the base game fleshing out with more unit varieties.

That said, I can't help but feel like a lot of these units should have been in the game originally. RTW2 definitely doesn't feel like it had as much unit variety as RTW1.

57

Old School gaming

rslancer | Aug. 14, 2014 | Review of Blast em!

I'm not really sure how to describe it but back in the 90's they use to have quite a lot of these airplane shooters and this really resembles that. Its great nostalgia and what not but in the end its 2014 and gameplay has evolved beyond that. That said if your just looking for a quick gaming fix and want to shoot stuff up this is it for you. It has an ok sounds, graphics not great but gets the job done. Is pretty hard though I was never any good at these games.

73

Fun game

rslancer | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Overruled

Could use a little more work but awfully fun coop game. Reminds me of Super Smash Bros with all items turned on and very frequent drops. Fun time with your friends but nothing I would play by myself.

59

Boring

rslancer | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Dungeonland

I got this game thinking it would be a fun coop with my girlfriend and friends but it seems really boring. You don't get to really customise your characters in terms of abilities and it doesn't feel fun. A lot of the time coop games are kind of brainless and you just have fun with your friends failing/dying/ or just goofing off. For whatever reason this game doesn't have that. Graphics aren't that great either and the whole presentation of the clownish amusement park feels weird.

We have not tried one of us being the dungeon master yet though. Maybe its more fun like that...but as a coop with everyone playing on same side its really lame.

75

its alright

rslancer | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

Its alright. Definitely polished gameplay but honestly not that amazing. I think people give it a high rating partly because they enjoy the batman story/universe. For a person who is not too into the whole superhero/batman business I think the game will come across as mediocre. The sneaking around beating up baddies can be kind of fun and the combat system is interesting but not that amazing. A lot of the time you are just being guided around forced into certain paths to move along the story such as crawling through air ducts. Sometimes the air ducts have a point and can serve as a different way to ambush bad guys but a lot of the time its literally a path and you are being forced to do it which really forms a lot part of the game actually.

76

Generic FPS

rslancer | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Left 4 Dead

Its a fun game and rather brainless FPS. Loads of zombies swarm you and half the time you just spray and pray. No revolutionary gameplay here but nonetheless strangely satisfying to down hordes of zombies with friends and my gf (its a simple game so you can just tell your gf to shoot everything that moves)

75

Not sure if this was an upgrade from 2k7

rslancer | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of NBA 2K11

I have the 2k7 on the console and honestly I'm not sure if this was a big enough upgrade to warrant the purchase. I figured in 4 years time graphics would have an upgrade (which there is) and perhaps more realistic gaming; however, in the end the NBA 2k series is rather arcade like and you'll still be able to grab a player and avg 50 points a game with him just because you fee like it.

But hey we all enjoy it and buy it year after year. this is no different. get it on sale for 5 bucks and just enjoy it.

54

very uncomfortable

rslancer | Aug. 7, 2014 | Review of TouchFox controller for The Witcher 2

Honestly not quite sure why they made this. Doesn't seem to work really well. hard to reach buttons. Skins are kinda cool but I imagine touchscreen might work better with certain proportions on the device. Guess it just wasn't well suited for my proportions.

65

Very Generic FPS

rslancer | July 27, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R. 2: Project Origin

Its just a generic FPS with some weird ghost, mutant soldiers and stuff going on. They attempt to tell a story but honestly I didn't find it engaging and just finished the game shooting everything that moved and didn't really find out why other than that there is some bad guy i have to get to.

I think it would have been more fun if your use of weapons wasn't so limited. I often had to save bullets for guns like my sniper rifle just because you can go long stretches without finding more ammo. Since the story sucked I think it would have been better if I got to use whatever gun I wanted to but instead was forced to use a boring assault rifle etc.

25

Can't Even Play :(

rslancer | July 14, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution - Director's Cut

So I didn't really even get to play the game because this game's got head bobbing. I find that it makes me dizzy/nauseous and I'm sure there are plenty of other people out there with my problem because you can see on forums people complaining about it.

What aggravates me is that they haven't fixed it. I don't see why there shouldn't be an option to turn the head bobbing off. I'm not even sure why developers these days are so intent on making the head bob effect. Its not like we walk around seeing our world go up and down. Either way no way to turn it off so I can play five minutes at a time before succumbing and giving up. If your like me save your money and yourself some dizzying and don't buy the game.

73

good addition

rslancer | Oct. 11, 2013 | Review of Victoria II: A Heart of Darkness

its a great addition(and in many ways needed) to vicky2. That's my problem with this dlc. I'm usually ok with paradox dlcs because you don't really need them in the base game to make it good but for vicky2 that's kind of what happened. This dlc kind of patches things up that wasn't quite as good in vicky 2 and adds crisis system which is really cool. The problem is the price. 20 bucks is a lot for essentially a patch.

In conclusion just get the vicky 2 complete bundle and save yourself money!

85

Excellent!

rslancer | Sept. 29, 2013 | Review of Victoria II

Great game. Would highly recommend if you are willing to spend a lot of time trying to learn the game. I have played other paradox games and this I think is the most difficult to learn.

Its essentially an economically oriented game with some warfare/colonization as well. Warfare easy enough to understand...the economy not so much. Also you need the DLCs...makes the game much better.

61

Very minor DLC

rslancer | Sept. 21, 2013 | Review of A Game of Dwarves: Ale Pack DLC

This is a very small dlc. Doesn't add much but then again it doesn't cost much either. Also I do like the fact that its not one of those dlcs that you feel like should have been in the game to begin with otherwise the game would suck. I hate it when companies do that. This just adds some ways to keep your dwarves happy which is easy enough to do anyways shrugs

65

Way Over Rated

rslancer | Sept. 20, 2013 | Review of Mass Effect (NA)

Only thing this game really got right is the story which I will admit is pretty good. Everything else is pretty lame... Its a duck and cover then come out and shoot and repeat sort of game. Applies for pretty much 90% of the game. Maps are reused so often it hurts me. The "side quests" have no real meaning. Essentially all the same once you done a few. I couldn't bring myself to finish the game.

Skip this one and go straight to Mass Effect 2 if you must insist on playing these games. At least in the second one they didn't recycle the maps constantly.

75

Great Game

rslancer | Aug. 13, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age 2 & Dragon Age Origins Ultimate Bundle (NA)

I'm going to go and say what everyone probably already knows. DA 1 was AMAZING. Very immersive story if somewhat cliched but still very cool.Characters and their side quests were nice. The skills were fun and overall missions was fun too. I think most importantly the quests didn't seem like a pain to do unlike the second. Part of that was the fact that missions took place in unique locations. In DA 2 you get lame missions in maps that are clearly reused over and over again. Its incredibly lazy thing to do and the ppl who made the game clearly dropped the ball in the second game.

Overall the first game alone makes the purchase worth it though if your really curious and wanna try out DA2 go ahead, I think you'll find yourself pleasantly disappointed as I was !

90 for DA1 65 for DA2

89

One of the best paradox titles

rslancer | July 19, 2013 | Review of Europa Universalis II

This game is great. I really enjoyed this game. It has many different aspects: economy, warfare, research, building, trade, colonization. It kind of dabbles a bit in all. Overall it does well in all of them too. I especially enjoyed playing spain or england and colonizing the americas. The tradeing system is probably the weakest. It has a weird send your merchants to a market and over time they get outcompeted and thrown out and you have to keep doing it. Its kind of a hassle but could be worse. Definitely one of the best games I've played. Highly Recommend!

76

decent game

rslancer | July 17, 2013 | Review of Worms Revolution

This is a decent game to play with friends. Simple and silly enough that my girlfriend can play it and that's what I got the game for. It's a lot of fun playing with friends who are casual gamers. People have a lot of fun blowing each other up in weird ways and even hitting yourself by accident. Not a super serious game and shouldn't be viewed as such. Def worth a try though.

79

Great Game

rslancer | July 7, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

It is a lot of fun. Actually much like the most recent one Absolution. The graphics are just worse but its definitely still passable. Though strangely enough, it still takes a bit to finish loading screens. Definitely worth a try if you are looking to get into the Hitman series and is cautious about buying the more expensive Absolution.

Anywho, the game is about receiving missions, getting dumped into a sandbox, and then finding ways to kill your target. This is what lures everyone to the game, the idea of kinda being a hitman; however, this is not entirely sandbox because a lot of killing methods are set in stone and its more of a puzzle where you have to find the right elements to set a chain of sequences into action.

74

Decent Game

rslancer | May 15, 2013 | Review of The First Templar

Could be worse or better. Personally prefer Dragon Age if I was to play a RPG. Interesting setting and idea of a second companion person. Would be nicer if the AI on the companion could be better but then again that's like every game. Kinda cool to have a co-op mode but I don't know anyone else who plays this game so its just me and myself.. Maybe It will be better and more exciting with a friend? Worth a try at least when its on sale!

91

BEST total war game

rslancer | May 13, 2013 | Review of Rome: Total War

This is where I started the series and I have played most of the other ones now and this is definitely the best. None of the others really captured my attention like this one did. Lots of unit diversity between different factions so battles are fun to play. Lots of times, there are unique units like certain chariot units or war dogs and what not that really gives each faction a certain flavor of game play unlike certain other ones in the total war serious cough shogun 2 cough

The battles are great but easily "gamed." For example its virtually impossible to lose a town or city if you are playing with phalanx due to their insane endurance if you attack from the front so if you just wait a town center and clog the entrances a few hundred phalanx units can route several thousand enemy units. But you can stop yourself from gaming it if you choose to.

The AI for the campaign map is a little buggy. They like to make alliance/peace then break it the next turn whether or not they stand a chance.

The expansion pack included in this is also kinda nice. Adds a new dimension with the whole hordes idea but by no means that great. Just new factions and what not.

Overall a great experience and so far the best Total War game in the series. Hopefully Rome 2 will be even better :)

75

Decent Game but Overrated

rslancer | May 13, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown (NA) -

I'm new to the franchise so I'm not going to compare it to its predecessors but this game really isn't as great as other people make it out to be. Its a decent squad based turn based strategy game but it really is oversimplified like many other reviewers out there have mentioned. You have different classes of soldiers (healers, assaults, sniper) which is cool. I thought they implemented this pretty well. All of them serve a fairly unique role other than the heavy which I ended up pretty much never really fully utilizing because the game penalizes you for using heavy weaponry to kill which blows things up.

The real problem is that the missions are all too similar. I think they are patching it up to introduce more varieties of missions because on my second play through I encountered a mission that I didn't my entire playthrough first time around. The problem still persists though in that the enemies are not very dynamic, the mission is nearly always you go out and find the enemies but they never come to get you. Another problem is like I said while there are a variety of missions most of it boils down to simply you exterminating aliens. I really think they could have implemented other kinds ( for example get from point A to B, recover artifact, defend this point, blow up this area). They could have done so much more if they really put in the effort which unfortunately they didn't.

The graphics are great and the gameplay is pretty smooth though.

75

Decent TW

rslancer | May 13, 2013 | Review of Medieval II: Total War

I got this game from my friend and was really looking forward to it. I would say this is a decent TW game. Very similar to Rome total war. I didn't have to do the tutorial because it was that similar. The only real difference I really see is the presence of a pope and the division between castle and cities.

So essentially you grab a nation and you build up your cities and your armies in a turn based manner and then when your armies meet an opposing army you guys fight it out real time. I suppose the meat of the game lies in the real time fighting which is decent but for some reason just doesn't seem quite as fun as Rome total war was. Definitely better than Shogun total war 2 though because at least there is some variation between nations but less variation between units than Rome. I think that might be why its not quite as fun. Everyone starts off with very bland spearmans and horseman. Rome is just so much more interesting because factions have much more diversity in their units. The Carthaginians have some spearmans and elephants, the Greeks have their phalanx and the Romans have their swordmans etc. I'd say this game is worth a buy when its on sale if your a fan of the series or if you haven't tried it yet.