Reviews by rstokes

96

Amazing game

rstokes | May 13, 2014 | Review of Dark Souls II (NA)

If you enjoyed demon's souls, or dark souls you will love this game. Its more or less more of the same in a more refined package. The game is imo more difficult, but it is FAR easier to co-op this time around so you have tons of people saying the game is super easy because they just have other people beat bosses for them. It takes alot of elements from both previous souls games and combines them into a very well made medley of concepts and mechanics. Shields are not all 100% block anymore so evading is more important in the beginning of the game, endurance no longer raises both equipment load and endurance (they are two separate stats now), and now death has a mix of demon's souls and dark souls mechanics. Instead of a flat 50% hp death penalty or no penalty at all, you now lose small chunks of your total health the more hollow you get.

I could go on about the game but the short version is this. This game is absolutely amazing and Ive enjoyed every second of the game thus far.

79

epic co op game

rstokes | Sept. 8, 2013 | Review of Dungeons & Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara 4 Pack

Super fun arcade style sidescrolling action rpg. It truly shines when played with friends and this pack makes that much easier

91

Somehow more over the top than Saints Row the Third

rstokes | Aug. 25, 2013 | Review of Saints Row IV NA

great game, it manages to go totally bat $hit crazy while still managing to keep itself grounded. You are in a simulation trying to fight alien overlords and restore earth. You can travel either conventionally in cars and such or you can just race across the city with your super powers. The main quest line is great and none of the missions feel like something you could otherwise do in sandbox mode. Saints row 3 felt a little hollow while 2 was amazing. Thankfully this game takes more after 2 than 3, its large, its fun, and its about as crazy as you can get.

66

Decent game

rstokes | July 7, 2013 | Review of Velvet Assassin

Semi competent action stealth game. The story is a bit out there and the gameplay is average. Nothing really special about the game.

86

epic bundle

rstokes | June 18, 2013 | Review of Ronimo Games Collection DNS

I purchased this bundle a few months ago and I still to this day play a few of the games in this collection. Both games by themselves are great

88

Solid racing experience

rstokes | May 29, 2013 | Review of GRID 2

Following in the footsteps of the first GRID, GRID 2 expands by giving you more cars, more tracks, and better graphics. Does enough different to feel like a new game while still remaining familiar. Definitely worth a purchase

82

Very ambient music

rstokes | May 29, 2013 | Review of Krater Original Soundtrack

This album is all instrumental electronica. The songs are competent and quite entrancing, this is a great album to kick back and relax to or play quietly as you get some sleep. The whole thing is very relaxing and sounds great on its own, this cannot be said for every video game soundtrack. It may not be for everybody, but if you enjoy electronica and dont mind there being no lyrics, you will love this CD

67

Convoluted combat, very eastern story

rstokes | May 27, 2013 | Review of The Last Remnant

I simply could not get into this game, I enjoy Japanese RPGs as much as the next guy, but this game just falls short in so many ways. The music during boss fights is maddeningly repetitive, and the combat system is just flat out odd. Its a weird mix of RPG and strategy, direct, and indirect commands. If you dont mind your group going on auto pilot after a few vague commands and the inability to adapt quickly, you may enjoy this game.

53

Turd of an MMO

rstokes | May 25, 2013 | Review of Rift

While i can say the graphics are great and the class system is alot of fun (even if they removed a ton of its fun by making templates and instantly giving you all the souls). I have to admit this game is total crap, every mechanic is recycled from some other MMO and usually done poorly to boot. Trion must be smoking crack if they think this game is worth 15 a month, I played the beta and a month after release before this game got stale as old bread. Recently raptr had a giveaway where i received another copy of the game and a copy of storm legion, so i decided to start a new account (since applying a different code to my first account didnt give me the 30 days as promised) and It only took me around 2 hours to remember why I stopped playing in the first place. The content is stale, the community is all but gone, and those "rifts" and "invasions" are just a nuisance in this empty game. I feel like I stepped back into 2005, Clunky interface that never quite feels right, that whole BS death run thing that was so big in mmos 10 years ago, and so much particle effect it literally blocks the screen. I remember large rifts were just an orgy of particle effects that made it impossible to see yourself or what your aiming at, nothing has been done to fix this and even on low its a huge issue.

The game is in process of going the way of warhammer online, swtore, conan, and all the other crappy MMOs that didnt quite cut it.

83

Telltale doing what they do best

rstokes | May 24, 2013 | Review of Hector: Badge of Carnage

Another great telltale adventure game, The jokes may be forced at times, but for the most part its a funny game. Not quite sure how i feel about the whole "episodes" thing yet, at first glance it seems like a way to sell a single game 4 or 5 times, but since telltale doesnt sell individual episodes im quite confused as to what the point is. Pverall its a great game worth a playthrough or two

75

Not bad

rstokes | May 21, 2013 | Review of Law & Order: Legacies

While the game seems at first glance like it would be a total waste of time, keep in mine telltale games generally does a pretty good job with their adventure games, and while this is no Walking Dead, It still feels competent and complete. Standard adventure game mechanics with alot of dialog but overall a fun game atleast worth a try

43

Honestly cannot recommend this game

rstokes | May 3, 2013 | Review of Defiance Digital Deluxe Edition

The idea of it is great but trion is doing a piss poor job at maintaining this game. The combat is a ton of fun and the first few hours are a blast, but once you have completed two or three quests and a single arcfall, you have literally seen and done EVERYTHING there is to do in this game. Its supposed to be an mmo but within my first ten hours I had finished every single main quest (laughably short) done every type of random event (and also pass the level restriction where they STOP giving you a reward worth getting [lockbox keys] ) Done all of the games "co-op maps" (also known as rewardless instances, got the fastest car in the game, and seen every type of arcfall they have made.

The claim on this game was "impact the tv show"... TOTAL BS! The first week of release they introduced something call "episode missions", which were nothing more than scripted events with no choice or obvious impact on the TV story, then after that they scrapped the entire idea. There has yet to be a second set of episode missions so that is a flat out lie and false advertising!

Now to explain loot! First of all (not a bug but an explanation) the way you acquire weapons in this game (aside from farming shops for something decent) is collecting a currency "lock box keys" then using them to buy boxes with a set number of random items inside them (grenades, shields, guns). They come in three flavors Tier-2[8 keys] Tier 3 [24] and tier 4 [64], now you'd think the higher tier would give better loot, right? Wrong! They all pull from the same item pool, the only difference is amount of loot, Tier 2 =2, Tier 3=3, Tier 4=4... No you did not just stroke out, trion has tricked people into dropping all their keys (or real money since they are in the item store as well) on 4 items when it would equal 16 if bought through tier 2 boxes. This is total lunacy and since you stop getting keys from events rather quickly and are forced to farm arcsfalls or (designed to be MUCH MUCH easier) spend real money to get [now this is the important part] a chance at gear.

Very poorly made game, nothing but broken promises, and money grabbing mechanics. At F2P I would say "give it a shot", but at maximum retail price 69.99, I would have to say stay away from this and wait till it goes F2P because if mine (and others) experience and the "in game" numbers are any indication. It will be soon

At its current state 43 If it went F2P 58

83

One of the best multiplayer games you will ever play

rstokes | April 23, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Overflow

Part COD, part mount and blade. This game is in a league of its own when it comes to multiplayer mayhem. With the recent updates levels mean much more and the new weapons are a great addition to the game. Skills reigns supreme in this game, learning to trick your opponent into a baddly placed attack or a poorly timed block will allow you to conquer the battlefield 1v1. I highly recommend this game

74

Less like Tomb Raider and more like Uncharted

rstokes | March 5, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Steam

If you are looking for huge sprawling tombs filled with puzzles then you will be let down. The tombs for the most part are linear side missions with one puzzle and a big shiny chest at the end, the rest plays like uncharted mixed with rpg elements. Its very cinematic, and the combat (which is the focus of the game) is action oriented with a basic, player crouches near cover, cover system.

The game is pretty fun overall, But I find the new Lara Croft rather annoying. I understand they intended to show her transitioning into a tomb raiding badass but they play too hard on the "helpless girl" motif, she spends far too much time moaning in pain and acting helpless when Lara Croft is supposed to be a super intelligent, resourceful badass.

Aside from it not feeling like a real Tomb Raider game, and the way Lara is portrayed, If you take the game at face value its actually alot of fun

76

Great indie title

rstokes | March 2, 2013 | Review of Krater

Krater is a isometric strategic action RPG where you control a group of three in search of riches and loot. The combat is real time, so you cannot pause mid fight to issue commands, this makes the game rather hectic and death can be permanent or result in serious unerasable injuries which gives combat a fun flight or fight feeling.

It has co-op but only through short mission like scenarios, which always end too soon. Kind of lame they released it with the promise of co-op only to make us wait several months for a watered down version. If you enjoy diablo, baulders gate, or torchlight, you should give this game a chance

93

Worth it Experience

rstokes | Feb. 22, 2013 | Review of BioShock (RoW)

Hands down one of my favorite first person shooters of the current generation. Atmosphere, customization, splicers, and the ability to shoot bees out of your hands, this game has just about everything. The story will keep you paying attention and the games rock solid mechanics will keep you replaying this game for years to come

62

BLEH

rstokes | Feb. 21, 2013 | Review of Ninja Blade

The game feels extremely generic of the ninja hack and slash genre, not much in terms of innovation here. It also seems the developers have an unhealthy obsession with QTE events, im not sure if they religiously play Shenmue or what but the constant QTE battles really gets old fast, especially since a missed button means death and the last 5 buttons all over again, not much of a reason to stay on your toes tbh.

Fun to pass some time but done expect ninja gaiden

82

Fun realistic racer

rstokes | Feb. 20, 2013 | Review of Shift 2: Unleashed (NA)

Track racing made with a next gen engine. Nothing too special here, the graphics are amazing and the cars feel realistic enough. Pretty in depth car customization, from colors, to parts you can make your car your own.

Nothing special but at the same time if you want a great looking racing game and don't own a ps3 or 360 this will scratch that itch pretty well

74

Oldschool shoot em up fun

rstokes | Feb. 20, 2013 | Review of Painkiller: Redemption

In the days before modern shooters with all their fancy lens flares and checkpoint systems, there was painkiller. Instead of some loosely held together story about something you really dont care about, painkiller simply gives you a weapon, a level, and hundreds of bad guys to mow down.

Think top down shooter from a first person perspective, totally worth the price

61

Aims high but falls short

rstokes | Feb. 19, 2013 | Review of The Saboteur (NA)

While not terrible, this GTA style action adventure game sets you in WWII as a french revolutionary. The game is very bland, and nothing really sticks out in this game. It can be said the art style is great, but when the rest of the game is so run of the mill, I fail to see how it matters at all

83

A+ shooter

rstokes | Feb. 19, 2013 | Review of Crysis (NA)

Graphics aside, crysis may be one of the most fun shooters ever made. The hyper realistic engine allows you to just get lost in the game world, and the physics allow from some truly fun sandbox gameplay.

Beware there is a bug on the final boss that has prevented me from getting further than the first few phases before the game crashes to desktop.

Still a great overall game

85

Amazing Sequel

rstokes | Feb. 18, 2013 | Review of Dead Space 3 (NA)

Everything done well with dead space one and two has been brought back, the things wrong with the game were fixed and the game now is just about as amazing as it could be. They brought back multiple suits like in dead space 1, and thankfully all your upgrades apply to all of the suits. You can build guns from a slew of parts and mods allowing you to customize your weapons with up to two different attachments.

The scares are mostly the same surprise scares, but still skillfully executed. Just about everything was done perfectly here resulting in one of the best survival horror games in recent memory

71

First person crime solving hack/slash and shooter

rstokes | Jan. 25, 2013 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins

Condemned is a great FPS that upon its release was quite original. You fight bums with a HUGE variety of melee weapons, use your cell phone for investigating, and wander down dark corridors. While it's not an incredibly deep game, nor is it particularly scary, It is however a ton of fun and well worth a play

99

Holy God Is this game amazing

rstokes | Jan. 25, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

They simply dont make games like this anymore, and im not even looking through the jaded eyes of someone who played the game years ago and has long since forgot most of it. Having just finished this game less than an hour ago I can see why this is hailed as possibly one of the best PC games ever made, the story is just incredible and the overall scale of the whole game is awe inspiring.

Most RPGs you really dont feel the impact of your choices and often you are left wondering if what chose changed anything at all. This is not the case for Deus Ex. Some choices are immediately apparent, while others will become clear if you decide for a second playthrough (which you should).

What the game does right it does perfectly, but what it does wrong it crashes and burns badly. The graphics are absolutely awful even taking the date of the game into account (although there is a DX10 mod out there that makes it far more bearable), Voice acting is hilariously bad, and there are a handful of (unimportant) areas where walls and floor are missing or horribly misshapen.

But for all its issues this game is possibly one of the best games I have ever played and not a single issue is enough for me to take a away a single point.

I dont give 100s because there are no perfect games, but this comes as close as any game will.

64

Redundant item

rstokes | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: Rusanov's Axe DLC

This item would shine if it were in the 15-25 item level bracket, but since there are so many level 5 DLC items it comes off as totally useless. If you only own the base game this could be good but if you own all the DLC as I do this item is completely useless

91

great DLC

rstokes | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: The Demon Lord Belial DLC

A+ new area for the darksiders 2 game. You return to the shattered earth as death. Breathes a few more hours into the game and is a great addition to the great game that is darksiders 2

89

Great action game

rstokes | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Darksiders

While on the surface it may appear to be a simple button masher, the games hides a quite intricate combo system that allows skilled players to chain HUGE combos for massive damage. The puzzles are anything but trivial and the story is one worth listening to. Overall i would highly recommend this game

69

Speed buff for despair

rstokes | Jan. 19, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: Deadly Despair DLC

What this item does is increase the "charges" you have with your horse despair, allowing you to sprint longer before needing to allow your sprint to recharge. Think carrots from ocarina of time and you'll get the idea

84

Kung fu tournament

rstokes | Jan. 15, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Zodiac Tournament

Something about the active melee combat system of this game makes arena fighting less repetitive and far more fun. Also it adds tons of content in addition to a new tournament to fight in. Worth a buy

80

No clue why this game gets so much hate

rstokes | Jan. 11, 2013 | Review of Dungeon Siege III

I personally loved the game, the graphics are effective, the action is fun, and the controls translate perfectly to a controller setup (my preferred method of playing any game that's not a FPS or MMO) If you are looking for a fun hack and slash that holds your interest then look no further, Though I cannot speak for co-op as I had never tried it but have heard its poorly implemented.

60

A great looking MMO that gets old fast

rstokes | Jan. 11, 2013 | Review of Rift

I played this game from the initial beta stages to about 3 months after release.

The "soul" class system is a ton of fun to mess around with and allows you to customize your toon to an extent, meaning some soul combos are just flat out better than others making a vast majority of the possible combos obsolete.

The gameplay and combat is like any other MMO and the game's "rift" system works better on paper since as the game's subs dropped many areas of the game simply became unavailable for long periods of time. You cant always find the required amount of people to defeat a rift or invasion, so while the idea is great, it does little more than frustrate you when a quest hub is full of elite NPCs and you cannot do squat about it.

The graphics however are great and will truly test your hardware, but overall the game is simply another run of the mill MMO with an interesting class system. Try guild wars 2, its infinitely more fun and doesnt require a monthly sub (seriously how are they still charging a sub for this game?)

51

mediocre action game

rstokes | Jan. 11, 2013 | Review of The First Templar DNS

Everything about this game just screams "average". From the controls to the combat, everything is just plain "meh". It truly feels like a game released simply for the sake of releasing something. Hits dont have any feel of real contact and the visuals are behind its own time. Worth a pass

87

The medieval answer to COD

rstokes | Jan. 11, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare PRE

If you are looking for a multiplayer game where you can chop off a friends head then kick his limp body to the ground, look no further. Chivalry is a fps melee hack and slash where two teams are pitted against each other to accomplish various goals. Modes range from deathmatch, team deathmatch, king of the hill, and last man standing style deathmatches. The combat is very skill based and gives you a slew of ways to trick and kill your opponents (or allies occasionally). Overall its one of the funnest multiplayer games I've ever played

65

Not bad

rstokes | Jan. 10, 2013 | Review of War of the Roses: House of York Armor Set

Purely cosmetic, so if you enjoy the york style armors and crests then this may be something you want to invest in, If not this is a pass as it adds no real content to the game beside some skins

99

Controller Required!!!!

rstokes | Jan. 3, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

Never before have I played a non MMO game that has completely absorbed me quite like dark souls has. Nearly everything about this game is flawless, the graphics are amazing, the controls (with a controller as it should be played) feel very natural, and the engine is amazingly well optimized for a company that knows little to nothing about making PC games. You will constantly be on the edge of your chair and you WILL ragequit the game several dozen times per playthrough, Something about dark souls will have you booting it back up after 5 minutes though. Words couldn't even express how I felt after I finally bested dragon slayer Ornstein and executioner Smough after the 100th try and that will always stick out in my mind as the most impossibly difficult fight I have ever faced in a video game.

The only gripes I can list are the atrociously implemented Co-op peer 2 peer system which makes playing with friends more difficult than the game itself , and from software's lack of native PC settings. The latter of the two is easily remedied with a mod called DSfix however, which allows you to set the resolution of textures (no longer stuck at 720p), remove the games 30FPS frame limiter which causes the game to lag terribly on even the best systems, and adds a plethora of visual settings PC gamers are accustomed to. Which is a shame because not everybody will know to use the mod and they will assume the game is poorly coded, which could not be further from the truth. With the frame limiter off the game NEVER dips below my monitors refresh rate and lag is completely eliminated.

The game is as close to perfection as I've ever seen, but the awful co-op and the necessity of using a graphics mod to make the game playable keeps me from giving it a perfect score. Still all issues aside this game is an absolute joy to play. I've never given a game a 99 before and believe me when I say this game has earned every last point

89

In a league of its own

rstokes | Dec. 28, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third - The Full Package dns

Nobody does open world sandboxes like saints row, and the most recent addition to the franchise is no different. While not as long as the previous saints row (honestly feels rather padded) what little content you do get is a absolute joy to play. The missions may not be as plentiful but most dont feel like standard gameplay which is a very good thing. The DLC adds alot of content to the game, from cars to weapons/clothes, and even enabling some cheats. If you love an open world and lots od destruction, this is the game for you

83

Multiplayer madness

rstokes | Dec. 14, 2012 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare PRE

Chivalry is a first-person action team-based multiplayer game. The weapons range from swords to axes to mauls to bows and arrows and even a great sword. The combat is highly skill-based you are given three attacks one block one kick and a feign button to help trick your opponents. The game feels very natural and visceral, and kill animations will keep you playing for hours. Most weapons are rather well-balanced giving each class its own unique play style. From the first time you behead an opponent you'll be hooked!

76

A few good Genesis games

rstokes | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of SEGA Megadrive Collection - Series 2

This pack is worth the price for the games Ristar and Kid Chameleon alone, The rest are good games but the two mentioned are some of the best games made for the genesis. Ristar is a lighthearted platformer where you play as [who would have guessed it] Ristar, a small star with stretchy arms. You defeat enemies by grabbing them and headbutting them and there are more secret areas than in any other game ive played, So if you are the exploring type this game will be right up your ally.

In Kid Chameleon you play as a child superhero that has the ability to alter his abilities depending on what costume he is currently wearing. So for instance, the knight suit (if im not mistaken the first one you get) is a heavy set of armor that allows you to charge and break blocks with your lance. The fun in the game comes from the sear variety of costumes you come across, each with a totally different style of gameplay.

Other notworthy games I see are ecco Jr, Fatal labyrinth, and Alex Kidd. I love these genesis bundles

80

If you love EVE this is for you

rstokes | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of EVE Online - 30 Day Starter Pack

Consisting of a Ship, skill boosts, and the ability to fly Destroyers right away, This starter pack is a great way for newer players to get on their feet faster, or for older more seasoned players looking to supplemental their experience.

85

Amazing MMO

rstokes | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of EVE Online - 14 Day Free Trial

Truly one of the greatest MMOs ever made, and not MMO in the WoW sense of the genre. Its more like a "Do anything you want parallel universe" MMO, where you can even overthrow some of the largest user made corporations, run resource mining operations, or a billion other things. Very open but not for everybody, if your looking for a game where you can roll your face on the keyboard and "pwn nOoBz" you're in the wrong game.

73

Another great sega pack

rstokes | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of SEGA Megadrive Collection - Series 1

This genesis pack contains a few side scrolling beat em ups (one being my favorite genesis game from my childhood "comix zone") Crackdown, Golden axe, and comix zone. Both 2D and 2.5D platformers Sonic 3-d and vectorman. A on the rail shooter Space harrier 2, side scrolling action Shinobi III, a war sim Gain ground, a fighting game Altered beast, and of course Ecco the dolphin a relaxing rather placid game where you play as a dolphin trying to rescue its friends (but you will spend more time breaching at high speeds looking for secret areas and obsticals to jump.

I love these packs, brings me right back into my childhood. If you grew up in the 90s and owned a genesis this is for you

71

Great Hack and Slash RPG

rstokes | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of Titan Quest Gold

Titan Quest Gold contains both the core game and the game's only expansion "Immortal Throne" Which adds several new classes, raises the level cap and opens a whole new chapter. A playthrough should take around 10-20 hours depending on how many side quests you do and how much you explore.

The game's combat and UI feels familiar but not necessarily copied, for example it uses the standard point and click to move/attack controls but it features a dual class system, which when paired with the large number of classes the game has, allows for some interesting combinations.

Bottom line is if you enjoy point and click isometric RPGs such as diablo or torchlight, you will also love titan quest

81

For alot of older gamers this was our first 3-D experience

rstokes | Dec. 9, 2012 | Review of Sonic 3D Blast CAP

While it doesn't play at all like a regular sonic game, I cant help but think back to this game with fond memories. The camera is static and the levels are multi-tiered rectangles with a few hidden paths leading to extra points. Its not particularly difficult, and you finish levels by collecting all the animals and dropping them off in designated areas.

All and all its not bad

81

More concentrated refined than previous entries

rstokes | Dec. 8, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Absolution - Professional Edition (NA) Overflow-

The hitman series has always had some rather humerus aspects to it, for example people seem to instantly forget your face or suddenly recall you as a good friend when you change your clothes, which makes the A.I for a lack of better terms, seem more or less retarded. This game does well to add to the list by having 47 (yes that's his name) in a cut scene appear to cut off his bar code tattoo after leaving the agency only to have it still there but now it has a band aid covering half of it while the rest still happily greets every people standing behind you. As far as games go there are at best misdemeanor offenses and do little to dissuade you from enjoying the game as a whole.

The levels seem much smaller, giving you less options to make the kill than in previous installments, but honestly I did not mind a bit. The pacing is kept at a comfortable speed so you never feel bored, you are either planning, lying in wait, or killing. The games new "instinct" system is a nice addition to the series but at times seeing where everybody in a level is at all times takes alot of the excitement out of a kill. You know when and where that guard will pop up, and the game is all to happy to show you his exact path. I like how it can be used to blend in if you starting to be discovered, but im indifferent on it showing enemies behind walls.

All in all, Hitman Absolution is worth your time and money and will be a great addition to any action gamer's library

81

Only to be played with friends

rstokes | Dec. 8, 2012 | Review of Magicka

Magicka is an isometric co-op centric Action/adventure game where you assume the roll of a nameless Wizard set off to save the princess or kill the bad guy or whatever, the story isint what makes this game worth playing. What makes this game stand out is its combat system, you hit one of several hot keys to queue up a element type to unleash devastating (or useless) attacks, each element causes specific effects when placed next to complimentary elements or in the correct order. You can also use modifier keys to alter how your spells are cast, you can aoe, self cast, or shoot projectiles. While this is amazingly innovative and endlessly fun, while playing solo the game just feels like its incomplete, you soon find the missing piece after you join a online match, which is both hectic and rewarding.

The problem in the game lies in that large flaw though, its really only meant to be played with other people, and since we all know the internet is full of D-bags the games friendly fire system usually makes random groups a nightmare. You will constantly be killed by new players, people will endlessly complain about not getting a weapon, and other will just flat out murder you to get whatever is in your hand at the moment. You soon learn why 80% of the online games are password locked.

This game is meant to be played with actual friends, as in people you know and will communicate with. If you can get a group of 3 friends to join you it can be one of the best times you have online in a game, but without competent partners the game is just frustrating at best.

If know at least one other person who wants to play the game is great, I would give it a 96

But if you are the forever alone type this may just not be worth the trouble, I would give it a 66 if you factor out real allies

Total I would give it the mean of those two scores, an 81. Solid buy if you are looking for a co-op slaughter fest

84

All the fun of the DS version

rstokes | Dec. 8, 2012 | Review of Scribblenauts Unlimited (NA)

The original scribblenauts was very unique in that it allowed you to solve puzzles by using any object you please (really what the game allowed but im splitting hairs) .For example, you could solve a puzzle of cracking an egg with anything from a foot to a T-Rex, and anything in between. This game improves on that formula by allowing you to use adjectives and by significantly increasing the games vocabulary. That being said, how much fun you have in game completely depends on your own imagination, so while some people (myself included) will find the game almost too fun to put down, others may not enjoy the freedom as much.

But hey, any game that allows me to recreate scenes from some of my favorite video games and movies (look it up on google) Is worth it in my book

88

Atmospheric shooter heaven

rstokes | Dec. 8, 2012 | Review of F.E.A.R -

If your looking for a game that will scare the crap out of you look no further, Monolith does a great job utilizing lighting and shadows to genuinely make you uneasy, and there almost always seems to be something at the corner of your eye. Now keep in mind this IS a 7 year old FPS so the graphics will be dated (but effective) and the controls will feel like a 7 year old shooter, the mouse jerks a bit to much for my taste, but these negatives pale in comparison of the overall experience put out by this game.

If you love FPS games but hate horror flicks and/or games that really try hard to scare you... This may be a pass for you, as there a dozens of more modern shooters that just flat out do the whole run and gun thing better

But if you love horror and really want to play a trouser wetting game, Whether or not you enjoy FPS games this will defiantly scratch an itch video games very rarely reach.

75

Solid DLC

rstokes | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of Dishonored: Dunwall City Trials

This DLC provides you with a handful of new challenge maps (think Batman's arkham series challenge maps, but more open) I really appreciate how they only charge 5 bucks for their DLC as opposed to the industry standard of 15 or 10. Overall its deffinatly worth a buy

80

Several great genesis games

rstokes | Dec. 7, 2012 | Review of SEGA Megadrive Collection - Series 3

If you are like me and grew up suckling at sega's teat nursing your budding video game addiction, then this bundle is right up your ally. It contains RPGs (sword of vermilion), Co-op hack and slash goodness (golden axe), quirky platformers (decap attack) and even the therapeutic Ecco.

98

One of the greatest stealth adventure games ever created

rstokes | Dec. 5, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year -

This is a perfect example of how to make a superhero game, and not make it suck. The controls are tight and responsive, the graphics are great even by todays standards, the stealth actually functions as stealth should (you dont feel like you are trying to sneak past somebody with a mental handicap or inversely an eagle eyed henchmen), and the replay value on this game is among the highest of any game I have played.

Easily one of the greatest games I've ever been privileged to play

98

Vast improvement over oblivion

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Much like most open ended games this game allows you to do nearly anything you want within reason. Feel free to immediately start the main story line, or walk in any direction instead. The game's quest system will work around what you have done to ensure you are always coming across new things. Truly the perfect game to get lost in as of 2012, its guaranteed to become the benchmark for which action RPGs are judged

94

After dropping 200+ hours into this game

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

I have to say it is among my top ten games of all time. You can spend weeks just wondering the wasteland finding random things to do. Then to top it off you can then reroll walk in a different direction and spend another few weeks exploring. The guns finally shoot where you aim, which makes vats less of a necessitous than in fallout 3, it also isint as slow at the start so it is far more likely to hold a fickle gamers attention.

You can fight for the NCR, Ceasar's legion, Mr house, or for yourself, All of which lead down different paths and to ultimately different endings (tho the endings are just short cut scenes, they still give a decent sense of closure)

79

Reminds me of the flash game days

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken

Classic feeling side scroller with enough new additions to keep it from feeling like it should have been released 15 years ago. Co-op is a blast and this is one of the few PC games that allows local co op so you can play with friends if you are like me and have a few controllers attached to your PC

77

GTA set in the 40s and 50s

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of Mafia II dns

It takes alot from the GTA series but does enough unique things to not brand it as another GTA clone. You start off fighting in WWII and end.. well i wont spoil it... The story IMO is better than the more recent GTA titles (im looking at you 4) and the characters are very memorable. Great game overall

73

Amazing game

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of Dead Island: Game of the Year (v1)

Great hack and slash RPG set in a zombie infested resort island. The story is rather shallow and the weapon variety could be better but the game is just so much fun you wont mind too much wading thru an awful story. The DLC's add a few extra hours of gameplay, one being an arena style battle, the other being a shooting oriented chapter while you play as rider white (the dude on the radio guilding the game). Overall its worth your time and money

55

Would be great if it didnt follow one of the greatest games ever

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of BioShock® 2 DNS

This game isnt really bad in any way, infact its actually rather fun. But this game is a shining example of what happens when a producer gets greedy and takes an amazingly successful IP and forces another development studio to create another. If this game was the ONLY bioshock game I would give it a 80 or so, its not great but not bad either. But the simple fact that this is the lackluster sequel to one of my favorite games of all time has me giving it a 55

96

Single greatest FPS ever made

rstokes | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of BioShock DNS

Everything about this game is flawless, the atmosphere, the story, the graphics, just everything is perfect. This game surpasses its sequel in every conceivable way and is overall a much better game. If you have not played this game yet you are doing a serious disservice to yourself as a gamer

98

Damn is Salvador short

rstokes | Oct. 15, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA) DNS

It's finally out and its better than i could have ever imagined. The graphics are breathtaking and every last detail looks hand drawn. The classes all feel sufficiently different while not holding a monopoly with a specific type of gun like borderlands 2 did like SMGs with Lilith or Assault rifles with Roland. The antagonist Handsome Jack quickly becomes a character you want to kill and that urge only increases as the story unfolds and you learn more about him. The story of borderlands 1 felt secondary to the looting and killing, but 2 feels like while they not only improved on the killing and looting (more on that in a bit) they made the story surpass even that. The game is shockingly dark and takes a few rather unexpected twists that will stick with me for a long time. The gun system used in the first game has been completely overhauled, giving a much more diverse set of tools to murder the denseness of pandora with. I dont feel like there are as many useless guns in this game as there were in the first. Some guns you honestly just have to shoot once or twice to see the weird way they fire, bullets bounce, fly slow, break apart, explode, behave like stick bombs, or countless other varieties of projectiles used. Its not as clear which gun is better by looking at stats alone, which can be seen as a negative but i rather enjoy running to marcus's shop to fire a few rounds at the bandit tied to a gun target to see how a gun fires and what kind of damage i can expect with it (This is really helpful btw dont ignore the fact that he's there)

I could go on for hours about how great this game is. Great graphics, amazing blend of first person shooter, diablo loot, and action rpg mechanics, a memorable story, and as the slogan says "Bazillions of guns". So in short BUY THIS GAME

84

Worthy action RPG

rstokes | Oct. 15, 2012 | Review of Bastion Cap

Great narration, amazing graphical style, and hack and slash action worthy of praise. Instead of mountains of loot you are given a small handful of weapons which you can upgrade as you progress. Its rather repetitive even for a hack and slash, but the narration and quirky style of the game will have you finishing the game several times

92

More fun

rstokes | Oct. 10, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2: Mechromancer Pack Steam

The mechnomancer class is a great change from the classes already in borderlands 2, She feels like she has the most well rounded talents and the most powerful special ability (dethtrap) Deff worth the ten bucks !

25

Turd of a game

rstokes | Sept. 25, 2012 | Review of Bulletstorm (NA) DNS

Bad voice acting... Check. Violence for the sake of shock value... Check. Meh gameplay.... check. This game is nothing more than an attempt to be as shocking as possible for all the free press that comes with the title, Nothing about this game is fun, the guns suck, the enemies are borderline retarded. Just stay away from this game unless you can score it for under 5 bucks. At 5 dollars its not a bad way to spend a few hours but i wouldnt value it at anything more

96

Borderlands on steroids

rstokes | Sept. 23, 2012 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA) DNS

I did not expect a whole lot from this game for some reason, but I was totally blown away by the variety of items and the versatility of the classes in this game. If you think their "bazillion guns" comment was just PR, you sir are wrong. The gun and just about every other item for that reason is highly randomized, and not just stats. Were talking different projectiles, Different skins, dozens of effects, much more so than the previous borderlands. A+ game

99

Truly a game changer for MMOs

rstokes | Sept. 23, 2012 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Digital Deluxe Edition (NA)

Its been a while since a game has completely changed how I play an entire genre. Guild Wars 2 Is such a game. Addictive combat, hard as nails branching path dungeons, and social/loot features that make you want to work with other players not compete against them to finish your quest first.

Its worth mentioning that the moment you are done with the tutorial you are able to enter the games two different PVP modes. Massive 500 player Server Vs Server combat in WvWvW battles, and the standard "battlegrounds" mode called Structured pvp or Spvp. The main difference is in WvWvW you are using your character but you are buffed to level 80 so you are not as weak as you would expect, you gain XP and items for killing players and completing events.

Structured pvp on the other hand is a totally different character that is parallel to the one you use in wvw or pve. You are buffed to 80 given a free pvp pet, all your skills and abilities unlocked, and you can purchase new weapons or armor for free. You cannot level your pve chatacter in this mode but you can level your account wide sPVP rating which allows access to cooler looking gear (not better, the game is highly skill based not gear based)

I could go on for days, Do NOT miss perhaps the best MMO released in several years

88

Great game

rstokes | Sept. 23, 2012 | Review of ARMA II: Combined Operations

The game alone is amazing, the fact that it allows you to play the zombie survival mod DayZ is just icing on the cake. Do not pass up.

83

Grade A adventure game!

rstokes | Aug. 11, 2012 | Review of Deponia DNS

Normally I detest adventure games but this German gem has made a believer out of me. Great mix of old school game play and hilarious over the top humor make for an amazing time. Truly worth the price tag

91

Well worth atleast one playthrough

rstokes | July 25, 2012 | Review of Dead Island

Think borderlands, meets the zombie apocalypse. Its not particularly scary but you have a constant sense of dread while playing alone. Co-op is alot of fun and adds a huge amount of replay value. People complaining this game is nothing but zombie killing should have their brains examined, This is a zombie game what were they expecting? Aliens? The quests vary from "go there and get this" to "go there and kill this" ok the game isint deep but i dont think anybody walks into a game called Dead Island expecting a emotional roller coaster, if they do they really need to learn to have realistic expectations. If you go into this game expecting a sandbox with tons of weapons and dozens of ways to dispatch of the undead with a well made co-op mode, then you will be extremely satisfied

65

It was ok

rstokes | July 25, 2012 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution Augmented Edition

I didn't really dislike Deus Ex HR. But i didn't particularly like it either. It felt like a watered down Metal gear to me. I really didn't like that the melee system was linked to energy and removed you from the game world for several seconds. I finished the game and dont see myself getting any of the DLC or ever playing it again, a totally forgettable experience

89

Diablo meets smash TV and has a child with Tomb Raider

rstokes | July 24, 2012 | Review of Lara Croft And The Guardian Of Light

If you are looking for the puzzles and platforming found in previous tomb raider games then you may not be as disappointed as you may initially think. While its not as direct and explicit as other tomb raider games, the platforming and puzzles are still there but now from an isometric viewpoint. I cant comment on controls since I used a gamepad, but with a controller the game feels pleasantly reminiscent of the old ps2 Dark alliance games. If you have a friend who owns the game make sure to play co-op as it is an absolute blast. It feels like a very niche game appealing to a few tomb raider fans who love Diablo, or the Diablo fans that enjoy tomb raider. I can say I fall into that niche and this game scratches an itch very rarely reached by games since Dark alliance 1 and 2

74

I liked arkham Asylum more

rstokes | July 24, 2012 | Review of Batman: Arkham City

When a game goes open world, it loses a certain direction to it. That's how i feel about arkham city. Arkham asylum is amung my favorite games of all time, but this feels like more or less of the same, and i cant help but feel like they just took the end game of arkham asylum and copy and pasted the gun wielding baddies into a huge. That's not to say I disliked the game, it was a fun experience from start to when I lost interest, back to when I picked it up and finished it. I suppose Im slightly jaded since the previous game ranks in my top 10 but I was expecting so much more. Regardless Arkham City is a solid game (with one retarded story line) that will provide hours of entertainment to batman and stealth action fans alike

87

One of the most impressive RPG I've played

rstokes | July 24, 2012 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (NA)

Skyrim had a lot of hype leading to its release, and im happy to say that it did an amazing job living up to the hype. The game is huge, open-ended, and you can approach nearly any task in multiple ways. I have been able to play the game several times and not experience the same quests (aside from the static main quests) by simply walking in a different direction at the start. Each town offers a plethora of things to do and explore.

The game is not without its faults but I cant imagine how a game this large can be made without its share of bugs, Still with a horse able to climb a 90 degree angle you cant help but scratch your head and wonder how some of these things got past the quality assurance team.

Overall its a game truly worth its price tag, Im 200+ hours and still counting

96

Beta impressions

rstokes | July 24, 2012 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Digital Edition (NA) PRE

I was shocked at the depth and complexity of this games last two beta events. Choices you make actually have a rather large impact on your personal story (and home instance) to the point of completely changing what missions it presents you with. Combat is fluid, fast, and ferociously fun. The ability to dodge and the removal of tanks and healers means your life is now in your hands. Gone are the days of blaming someone else for your death, now if you die YOU did something wrong and YOU need to alter what you are doing to prevent a similar death.

The only complaint I have is I now have to wait a month until Im able to delve back into tyria :(

98

Worth every penny

rstokes | Nov. 21, 2011 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (NA)

A vast improvement on the series since Oblivion, new graphics engine that looks just stunning, for the first time I actually feel like i can see for miles, and i dont mean just a blurry texture in the distance. The combat is more of the same as previous TES games, one button is attack, hold it for charge, other is block. Only difference now is the addition of dual wielding, allowing you to hold two swords, or two spells, or a staff and a sword, or whatever else you can imagine. Very fun game im over 60 hours into it and I still feel like Ive got a world ahead of me (Ive barely touched the main quests)

84

Very well made game

rstokes | Sept. 2, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution Augmented Edition

While not the stealth/choice powerhouse it was hyped up to be, Deus ex Human Revolution still managed to exceed my expectations. The game gives you several different ways to deal with most obstacle, and upgrades called augmentations can open up new doors.Though I never really felt like my decisions had any impact on the game, and load times were horrendous (then again it did motivate me not to die). All of that aside the combat system is extremely satisfying, with a heavy emphasis on stealth and the use of cover to complete your objectives. You are given the choice to kill or knock out enemies, though it seems more like a coma that can only be broken with a light tap from a comrade. I was also very disappointed in the graphics, not to say they are bad. Actually far from it, Most of the game is highly detailed. But while some characters/textures are detailed and HD others look like something out of a 2006 shooter. Even Jensen's coat seems to have a rather low texture compared to other characters clothes. In short its a solid mix of a FPS , RPG elements through augmentation, and a stealth action. If you're computer can handle the high requirments i would highly suggest this game, hell even if it cant play it through onlive