Reviews by sas41

85

Your Best Bet on Multiplayer Melee Combat!

sas41 | June 8, 2014 | Review of Chivalry: Complete Pack

The title simply explains what you need to know. Chivlary is a great game, it has it's problems but it still is a great game, it even has a Steam Workshop Support and the Deadliest Warrior Expansion Pack is a great breath of fresh of air.

This game has some complex fighting mechanics yet still manages to be simple, it has a really easy learning curve, but has a long mastery curve, so easy to learn hard to master.

If you can pick it up along with some friends, this is a guaranteed fun!

But I should also mention that the game also has "hidden" DLC, most of the cosmetic unlocks in the game (not including Deadliest Warrior) are available for purchase in game, I was a little confused about that at first, and I find the price of these items quite high, some of them go as high as 9 Dollars or 7 Euros.

90

A bit late, but this actually is a good game.

sas41 | June 8, 2014 | Review of Battlefield 3

I know this review is a bit late, but I can't believe nobody wrote one yet. Battlefield 3 was a mess when it first came out. But as of the writing of this review BF3 is a functional and a really fun game. I spend over 300 hours in it and had a lot of fun, I got the game before a few months after the launch and it had it's ups and down but if you are looking for a solid shooter, Battlefield 3 is a good one.

The current price tag is really good if you missed out on the free giveaway or the Humble Origin Bundle, considering it was more than twice the price at release.

90

A genre defining title of its time!

sas41 | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas

My countless hours in this game were all worth it, and I will never forget it!

This is perhaps the best grand theft auto game, the reason being that after San Andreas, all the GTA games focus on realism, while San Andreas Focuses on fun instead.

There is not much to say about this game really, it includes a great ( by that I mean 2004 award winner ) soundtrack and countless hours of gameplay, it has a strong modding community and even a Multiplayer Moddification for it!

This is a MUST HAVE!

65

A great action game, but sacrifices some of it's RPG elements!

sas41 | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim is a great Action game, there is no doubt about that, but as a big fan of Morrowind, an older TES game, I think Skyrim sacrifices too much of its RPG elements to be a game, as good.

The game has a great modding scene and a great set of base content for you to enjoy, if you are new to the series, this is great game, but if you are not, this might let you down.

There is really not much to say about it, it is and Action RPG game with dragons, a really big world, and a good story behind it with many side quests to do and skill trees to go for.

Conclusion, it is less of an RPG and more of an Action game, and that is why my score is down, perhaps if it was not an Elder Scrolls game, my score would have been different.

45

A steb back from Civilization IV

sas41 | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® V

Civilization V is a Grand Strategy game or in other words, a 4X game.

Civilization Series are games about controlling an empire and conquering the world by any means necessary!

Unfortunately Civ V lacks the features and content that were in the older version of the game, Civ IV.

But with the release of the recent expansion Brave New World, Civ V can offer both the visuals of its own engine and content no less from it predecessor Civ IV.

If you want a complete experience I suggest getting the Civilization V Complete Edition or at least getting the Brave New World Expansion pack, but Gods and Kings is not that bad too, but I prefer BnW.

90

A Great Step Forward!

sas41 | Feb. 10, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® V: The Complete Edition

I am a Civilization fan and I think Civilization series is one of the most exciting games in the 4X genre.

Civilization (CIV) series are games about conquering the world, simple as that, the goal is defined, but the ways to achieve it are endless. CIV games are considered to be from the 4X genre, a series of Grand Strategy games where you take control of your own empire and set out to be the world leader by any means necessary.

This is CIV V, the fifth game in the series and the Complete edition is truly the definitive experience for this game, and here is why:

CIV IV Beyond the Sword was my all time favorite 4X game. It was because it was complete with everything Civilization series set out to be, with diverse and interesting victory conditions, extremely deep tech trees and with a complete set of almost every scientist, artist, architect, wonder and general that has left a mark in the world included in the game in a way, it was truly a game well worth the price.

But it WAS my favorite until recently, the change was due to the fact that CIV V had an new Expansion Pack called Brave New World.

Brave New World fixes the issues that were entangling the Original CIV V and adds the complexity and diversity that Beyond the Sword (BTS) had, combined with the updated engine of CIV V and the gameplay of CIV IV BTS, CIV V Complete edition is a must have for both fans of the genre and for those who are looking to get in!

The complete edition includes CIV V, CIV V Gods and Kings and Brave New World expansion packs along side other DLC, this is the reason why anyone planning to play CIV V should consider getting the Complete Edition!

100

The genredefining game that saved Bethesda from bankruptcy!

sas41 | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of The Elder Scrolls III: Morrowind Game of The Year Edition

The game that showed me the what and RPG should be like, a game that gives you so much freedom that most often than not, you will be lost! This is Morrowind, this is "The" RPG, and my all time favorite Elder Scrolls game, and here is why.

MW (Morrowind) is a game that from after the first 5 minutes, let you be completely free, you can go anywhere, do anything, kill anyone, steam any item, or break in to any house. Every Quest in the game is optional except the main quest and even that is something you may not finish in your first (10) tries. The entire game is based upon freedom and it tells you a story if you want to listen, and gives you the freedom to do or not do any of the quests. Is your quest to find a ring? KEEP THE RING! or Give it to its owner. The choice is always yours but beware, for there will be consequences! The game for its time is regarded as the genre defining masterpiece, a gem crafted so carefully, that to this day it stands the test of time simply by reputation. Every complaint you might have based on personal preference can be fixed by using 3rd party mods, some improving graphics with crazy levels of detail and hight polygon models and high-res textures, or completely changing the dice-roll combat system, this game is regarded as a classic, and for a good reason. It has so much replayability that, you might play it for months to come if not years!

95

A game that deserves more than what it gets

sas41 | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

I played this game once, I cannot play the same story more than once, and playing it once, was far more than worth the buck I put in to this game, this game is really under rated in general but highly praised by the fans of both the series and the genre, Arkham City is a total advancement from Arkham Asylum and a complete experience that is sure to keep you interested in bot the story, the puzzle solving and the combat, it has by far the best combat system in the genre and it is a freaking blast, I liked it so much, I dipped in the New Game+ mode as well, and I was interested enough to play it again, a true gem right here.

The Flow of the Combat is as fluid as it can be, fighting small but tough groups require you to keep a close eye on their attacks while the larger groups give you a god like feel and show you what a hero like Batman is truly capable of with all his martial arts training, and on top of all that you can even use your progressive items in combat as well.

The game tells the story through the eyes of both batman and catwoman, which is a quite well mix and their different play style is something to be praised since they both keep a quite nice flow of combat while the story it self is being told.

The storyline is amazingly well written while keeping you interested and suprising you every now and then, it sticks to its own cannon of the series picking up from Arkham Asylum.

A Must Play!