Reviews by sergebelanger22

85

Not as good as the first, but still good.

sergebelanger22 | March 24, 2014 | Review of GRID 2

In Grid 2, you will race your way through 5 seasons, each consisting in a variety of races and challenges.

The fun part is that there is a good mix of races. The downside is that you earn every car. You have a choice to make when you select the cars to win, however you can earn the other right after by doing a single race. So, in the end, you will earn every car and that will not be that hard.

However, the difficulty of the races vary a lot. the drift events that were quite hard in the first, are now ridiculously easy. And some other, like head-to-head hard incredibly hard.

There is a new type of races, named Touge, where you have to finish first, but not hit the other car. This is nice and this adds a bit of fresh air. There is also a demolition derby mode, but unfortunately this is not part of the solo campaign.

The sound and graphics are very good on a good PC. If you want, the cars can be damaged and affect your driving, which I personally love.

Globally, if you like racing games, you will not be disappointed. However, do not expect as much from it than from the first Grid.

75

Gears of War in the Warhammer atmosphere.

sergebelanger22 | Feb. 27, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40000: Space Marine

Warhammer 40000: Space Marine is the first game, as far as I know, that is not a RTS in the Warhammer universe. It is a 3rd person shooter, very similar to Gears of War.

At the very beginning of the game, you have only your bolter and a melee weapon. After that, you gain the ability to equip with 2 more weapons for a total of 4. As you continue your progress, you get better equipment. There are not many though.

Through the entire game, you will fight orcs. A lot of orcs. You will kill thousands of them. Near the end, you have to fight a different race, but I will not make spoiler here.

The game is filled with crash. I played around 8-10 hours, and around every hours I had a crash to desktop. Hopefully, the game saves quite often so I did not have to replay a big section of the game.

Also, when you are in boss fights or where there are a lot of dead bodies, you always get stuck in them when moving around. This happens a lot and it is very frustrating because you can get stuck near a box and a body for example, and then an enemy come and hit you in the face, and you cannot move. So, either you die trying to escape or try to kill him even if you know that you will die if you do not have have enough power remaining.

These are the 2 major issues that I encountered in the game. Other than that, the game is very cool. The story is good, even the end is nice. The controls are easy to learn, the same as in Gears.

There are few hidden objects that tell you a little more about the story but not much. You are always take by the hand through the entire game, so you will always know where to go. You will also use a lot of switches. Use the switch to open a door, grab some ammo, use another switch, run through an empty room, use another switch... You get the twist.

Globally, this is a good start for Warhammer in the 3rd person shooters world, however there are several issues to fix before I can say that this is an excellent game. Hopefully we will see some more coming, even if THQ is now dead. RIP.

75

A good add-on

sergebelanger22 | Feb. 15, 2014 | Review of Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War II Chaos Rising

Warhammer 40K: Dawn of War II Chaos Rising is an expansion for Dawn of War II. The menu is the same, as it is also the case for the in-game interface. If you played the original game, you will be able to start and make your way trhough the game in about 8 hours. Each missions take around 20-25 minutes. except for the last one who took me over an hour.

A new addition in this expansion is a corruption/redemption effect. What this means is that there is some gear or mission objectives that will either corrupt you or lower this corruption (named redemption). There are 5 different endings on all depending which way you play the game. I don't really know if the ends really worth redoing the whole game, but still, this is a plus.

The geaphics look correct nowadays, however the sounds is sometimes horrible. It is scratchy when there is a lot of action going on the screen.

Other than that, the cursor sometimes get lost and I have to press ESC and quickly find it back when I'm in the middle of a combat. This is really annoying.

Otherwise, the game is great. If you like the Warhammer franchise, do not wait and buy this game.

60

Need for speed slides away

sergebelanger22 | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit (NA)

Need for Speed Hot Pursuit is another remake of an old game with which NFS is trying to make easy money.

I loved the original game with the car chases with the polices. This one is not an exception to this. Getting chases by helicopters and police cars is very fun, and chasing cars as a policeman is even more fun.

However, I am not the biggest fan of unlocking cars by raising levels. I prefer keeping my money to buy the cars that I want. And since we start the game with Porsches and BMWs, you quickly feel bored of driving your Lamborghini at the 5th race, even if this is a Lambo! It does not feel special since the cars more or less behave the same, i.e. they slide in the turns. It's impossible to take a turn without sliding and drifting. I know it's an arcade game, but they could have been cheaper on the slides!

The cars look good, although they are way too shiny. The sound is great, I cannot complain about it.

The story is made of around 90 events, In around 60 of them, you drive as a racer and need to evade the police or simply beat your opponents. On the other 30 or so, you are the cop and need to bust racers of drive your car to the finish line in a certain time, which is totally useless in my opinion.

Globally, if you want to have few hours of fun, that's a good bet. If you want to play for a while with a racing game, do not buy this one. After few hours, you will get bored.

80

Fun, but very hard for beginners.

sergebelanger22 | Feb. 6, 2014 | Review of Trials Evolution Gold Edition (NA)

In Trials Evolution, you are a rider who needs to complete a path, by crossing rocks, tires, cars, jumps, etc..

There is a lof of stuff to unlock in this game. Some are easily unlockable, some will require courses to be done and redone several times in order to get additionnal medals, which unlock the next courses or licences. Accessories and clothing are unlocked by spending in-game cash on them, but they do not add anything special, other than being aesthetics.

The courses are rated from easy to expert, and believe me, some are really hard to even complete, so finishing them in a certain time is not an easy task.

You might want to give this game a try, but only if you do not mind retrying several times the same course, otherwise you will get bored before even getting to the halfway of the game.

89

Good old side scroller

sergebelanger22 | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of DuckTales: Remastered

You miss the time where side scroller fitted with nearly impossible to complete? This is the game for you.

You want to play with your kids? Fine, select Easy and you will have unlimited lives. You are not able to complete the game in one shot? Play on Medium. This will save the game after each level completed. You want the ultimate? Play on hard.

This is the exact same game as the original, but in HD. There is no little extra. Just do not expect anything else. If you agree with this. Play it. This game is simply made for everyone. From the nostalgics to the kids. Our Scrooge loves to speak though, but you can skip the cinematics if you are tired of them. There are 5 levels and completing these 5 unlocks the final level. You can unlock some artworks by getting money throughout the levels. However, unlocking everything needs completing the levels multiple times.

Globally, if you like the side scrollers, try this one. This will remind you the good old time.

90

More interesting story from a North Americain.

sergebelanger22 | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Assassin's Creed III (NA)

In this one, you play as Connor, a metis who wants to save his village from the British and gives freedom to all. This is the first time that the action goes on this side of the Atlantic. It feels very different to run in Boston and New-York, compared to what we are used to (Constantinople,Jerusalem, etc...). It feels refreshing to see French and English soldiers fighting in this series. There is a small recap at the beginning of the game, but you might want to read more on the story before starting if you care about the story. If not, you will miss a lot of reference throughout the game.

There is not a lot of new weapons though. You use your tomahawk, but it is used more or less the same as the other weapons. The combat is pretty much the same as before, however some combats will be harder than before.

A new addition is that you can craft some items to either sell them of offer them to specific people in order to complete side quests. Speaking of this, there are a lot of side quests which lengthen the game by 3 at least. Most of them at least gives you a little something, so you may want to do them. Just do not get all the feathers. This is the only thing that should not be done in my opinion.

The part with Desmond is still weird, but the end needs to be reached with him or you will miss a big part.

They added naval missions which are very fun. You really feel like you are having the power when you sink the other vessels.

They also added hunting. You can hunt deer, beaver, etc.. I did not really care about this, except to complete some side quests.

There were few bugs encountered, but only once it was an issue. I was stuck in a waterfall and I died. Other that that, the bugs are only cosmetics, so I do not really mind.

In the end, AC3 needs to be played for the story and for all the stuff that it contains. It really looks good forward.

70

Assassin's Creed 2.5

sergebelanger22 | Jan. 21, 2014 | Review of Assassins Creed Revelation

This is the last game in which you play Ezio. Ezio has few new items, like bombs and a hook with which he can slide from house to house.

The story is as usual, strong. A lot of historical facts or buildings can be found for those who like history. There is a good recap at the beginning of the game, so if you want to start the Assassin's Creed series with Revelations, this is possible. The combat is pretty much the same as before.

There is a tower defense section that was added to the game. You play it once and it is over. I do not really understand why they added this though. As in Brotherhood, you can still recruit assassins and send them on mission.

The part with Desmond is pretty weird and useless in my opinion. It is similar to Portal in the way that you have to go though some levels by using not a portal gun, but some pieces that you put in the air and walk on.

Globally, this is not a bad game, but I was hoping for more than this. It really feels like they needed to launch an Assassin's Creed game this year and they were not ready for a complete game, so they release this.

80

A very good sequel from a non-fan of the franchise

sergebelanger22 | Nov. 28, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

Hitman Absolution takes place after each of the previous titles. You have to protect the daughter of a woman that you know from the previous titles. All along the game, she gets kidnapped and you need to find her at all cost. The graphics look great. Audio has some bugs. For example, you kill someone and throw him in a container and he continues speaking. Playing with my computer speakers, the voice were muted. I had to use my headphones. With them, no issues. If you have already played a Hitman game, you will not be lost. The game is extremely hard, with some rare checkpoints.I have played it at Hard (yes there are 1-2 harder levels than this) and in some occasions, I stopped playing for a while because I got frustrated. You will restart several times several levels. Be advised. You will even get used to some parts and do them a lot faster than you did the first time. The game has around 20 levels. That will take "8 hours" to complete the game, but in fact you will have played around 20 hours. There is a Contracts mode which give you access to contracts made by all of the community. This adds a lot of playability. You can create some and challenge you friends with. I would recommend this game for everyone who wants challenging games.

70

You cannot name this one something else than Fallout.

sergebelanger22 | Oct. 24, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas Ultimate Edition

Fallout New Vegas is the newest game of the franchise. The Ultimate Edition will give you access to the game and the 4 DLCs, which all take around 8 hours each to complete and a good 40 hours for the game itself. I personnally have spent around 100 hours in it and at the end, I went a little faster through the missions since I was getting a bit tired of doing missions. So if you like exploring and grinding, this is without any doubt for you.

As each Bethesda's games, this one is filled with bugs, crashes. This breaks the story and I do not understand how a game can have so many of them not being fixed. I must have had at least 30 crashes to desktop. This is the biggest con that I have to say about this game. The other main point is that the story is the weakest I have seen in the Fallout series. You start the game at a doctor house, who put you back on your feet after you nearly died. During the whole game, you look for the person who tried to kill you. This is done by going from city to city, asking everyone if they have seen the guy. At the nearly end, around the 2 last hours, you have to make some important choices which will make the end changes.

Graphics look the same as Fallout 3, so it really look dated now. The sound was horrible with my speakers, so I had to use my headphones. With them though, it sounded great.

If you like the Fallout atmosphere, for sure you will like this one. It gives you plenty of hours of gameplay at a low price. But expect a lot of bugs/crashes.

65

Sniper Elite takes a shot beside the target for few aspects.

sergebelanger22 | Sept. 13, 2013 | Review of Sniper Elite V2

At first glance, I thought that Sniper Elite V2 was for version 2. In fact, it is named V2 in reference to these rockets that were developed during world war 2 by the Germans. So, after you get this, you can easily see the story coming. You have to stop the "bad Germans" from launching these rockets. Once again, the story is not the strength of this game. It is just another reason to shoot at some Germans and Russians.

The graphics look ok, but are not great. Sound is good once you have headphones, otherwise it is of poor quality.

I played on the highest difficulty level and there were few places where I restarted several times, especially where there are other snipers in the entire city and no save point until you complete your objective. These save points are sometimes too far from each other, so you have to be very careful when you walk forward. Also, the enemies seem to have eyes to see you from miles away. You cannot walk without being shot, so as soon as you hear something, you better got to back off otherwise you will be killed.

Very often you will have to shoot at gas cap to make vehicles explode. This is some of the hardest objectives to get done in the game. This takes a lot of patience and talent since you have to wonder about the wind and the distance. The slow-mo of the bullet leaving your gun to your opponent's head is nice at first, but after a while, you really get tired of it.

I played this game right after playing Sniper Ghost Warrior 2, and without any hesitation, I highly recommend more Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 than this game.

83

Sniping has never been so fun!

sergebelanger22 | Sept. 3, 2013 | Review of Sniper Ghost Warrior 2

I've waited for Sniper Ghost Warrior 2 so much. I really appreciated the previous one even if it had some little setbacks. Now, most of them have been fixed and it is a better game.

The main downside now is that the single player campaign is too short, as it is often the case in the shooters. At normal difficulty, it takes around 7 hours to complete if you do not look too much for the hidden objects. If you decide to find them, you can increase the length by few hours, but it adds nothing to your experience.

The other downside, that is also common with the shooters, is that there is absolutely nobody online. There were 2 servers when I connected, one being locked by a password and the other one was empty. So, if you buy it, be advised that you will have a single player only game unless you plan on playing with your friends.

There are not only cons, there are also a lot of pros about this game. First, the graphics. They simply look great. The game has been built with the Cry Engine 3. City Interactive is not recognized for great looking games, but this one is a great one.

The sound is also incredible. When you are hidden in the leaves, you hear the bees or flies and you really feel like they were just beside you. However, I had to use my headphones because with my speakers, the voice of my spotter was often too low so I did not hear him calling the shots.

The gameplay is perfect and shooting someone from over 300' is so satisfying. The enemies do not hear you from that distance as in the previous game. This has been fixed and this is good.

I cannot do something else than recommending this game. It is so much fun, and that is the primary goal of a video game in my opinion. So go and buy it!

90

A lot less bugs than in Years 1-4 makes it a lot more fun.

sergebelanger22 | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7

I have to say that I have played about every LEGO games so far, and this one contains about all the fixes that should have been included in the previous ones.

There is no more glitches about the cauldrons, where you cannot complete the game unless you start a new game from scratch. The only bug I encountered is that my character was stuck behing a staircase. Since I played local multiplayer, I just had to abandon and get back into the game and that was fix. We did not lose anything since the other player was still in the game.

I still love the fact that the screen splits so the 2 players can mostly go on their own way. Also, it splits in a way that it is easy to find your partner when you need to help him.

As usual, there is plenty of stuff to find for the completionists. It takes a good 25 hours if you want your 100% completion. There are 200 characters to find and buy (with in game coins), there are 200 golden bricks to gather and 24 levels +1 where you have to get 1 000 000 coins.

Graphics look as nice as a LEGO game can be in my opinion. The sound needs to be cranked up a bit, but nothing major.

I recommend you to play this game with your kids or girlfriend/boyfriend. It is a lot more fun with a person beside you and who can help you when you are stuck on a puzzle or want to get somewhere and it just seems impossible from your point of view.

At around 20$ in regular price, it sure worths every penny.

70

A good RTS but a lot too hard for average people.

sergebelanger22 | July 26, 2013 | Review of Majesty 2 Collection

First of all, I never played Majesty 1. Therefore, I will not compare both here. I will review from a point of view from a newcomer to this franchise.

The tutorial is made well enough so that you get used to most of the buildings and buttons quite fast. However, as it is the case most of the time, the trickier options are never explained. So at some point, you find yourself reading more on the game and you learn new things even if you got 70% of the missions completed.

The game has around 16 missions. This does not seem a lot, but some of them can take you few hours, so expect a good 30 hours. If you have bought the Majesty 2 Collection, it contains 3 extensions which all contain around 8-10 more missions. Plus, it also contains a Map Editor which I never used so far. The extensions are more or less the same than the original game. If you have played the entire walkthrough and have enough, do not buy the extension. If you want more, then they worth it.

The game has no difficulty level. The missions are themselves classified as beginner, advanced or expert. So, if you have issues with one, you are really screwed. That is where some people may find it frustrating. Personally, I could not complete the last mission of any of the campaign. I have retried them at least 10 times each trying different strategies. None worked.

Graphics look dated for sure, it is a 2009 game after all. However, it is still playable. This looks like Warcraft 3 I would say. The music is good when you are in the game, but can be annoying for a person who hears it from outside of the room.

The whole gameplay was new to me. You do not control the characters, you put money on top of the missions to attract them. So, you can put 500$ to explore specific area, or to defend a tower, etc.. Sometimes it feels good, but sometimes it just feels broken at all. There is for sure improvements to be done on this side.

I bought the complete package on sale at 5$ and I do not regret it at all. If you find it at this price, it certainly worth every penny.

65

By wanting to be a sim, it failed being an arcade or a sim.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Need for Speed: Shift (NA)

EA has put a lot of marketing on Shift, praising that it was a competitor to Gran Turismo and Forza. However, it is not. By doing this, they put the arcade style aside and now it just seems to be neither of the 2 types.

They now added a lot of real tracks in the game, as Laguna Seca, Road America, Nurburgring, etc... They are mostly well represented, except for some few curves that look different from Forza and GT. At least, this will not be seen by a lot of people.

The graphics now look dated, for sure, but it is still playable. The sound is simply horrible. You always seem to hear tire squeaking in every turns. That is absolutely terrible. The cars all seem to have the same sound, no matter you drive a Ferrari or a Camaro.

The controls. Do not think playing with a keyboard or a controller. I have an XBOX 360 controller and it is really though to race with it. The cars always seem to go sideways. Apparently, there are some mods to improve them, but I have not tried them yet.

You gain experience in every races. You can gain experience by driving aggressive or with precision. So basically, whatever you do, you get XPs. You hit someone, you get points, you take a turn perfectly, you get points. This has the impact that everyone wants to spin out everyone. The AI is so dumb that they will hit you in the door in a straight line. Sometimes, they will be stopped completely in the middle of the road, for you do not know which reason.

There are 4 categories of cars + drifting cars. Drift in NFS Shift are the worst drift races I have ever played. The cars cannot be controlled except on an oval. You will spin out or go left and right every seconds even on a straight line.

I find that there is not many cars, but NFS does not have a reputation to contain hundreds of cars, so I cannot blame them. You can buy modifications for them, but it is very generic. The description can be, Muffler: Adds a 3.5 inches exhaust. You raise level so fast that after only 2 types of races out of 4, you can race in the highest class of the game and have a lot of money.

NFS Shift does not worth playing, unless you are a fan of the NFS franchise, and even then...you probably have a favorite which is not this one.

85

An average solo campaign but great multiplayer. Sounds familiar?

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Crysis 3 (NA)

In Crysis 3, you play as Prophet. You will more often than not be accompanied by Psycho, two names that should sound familiar if you have played the previous games.

As in Crysis 2, you start fighting against the CELL, then a certain moment, find yourself against the CEPH. These last ones are the strongest. Some of them need special weapons to get killed. However, the enemy is so dumb sometimes. You can kill 10 guys in the same staircase by staying at the same place. When they find you though, they do not give you a lot of chances. You have to leave in a hurry or face them to death. I would suggest you to play the game at a higher difficulty level than you usually do to fully enjoy the game. It will be a good practice for when you will play online.

There are some intels hidden here and there, however they do not add much to your experience. They add up in your info screen, but do not get any New sign beside them, so you do not know which one did you take that you have not read. They are fairly easy to find since you have the ability to mark almost everything in the game, including guns, ammo, intels, vehicles and enemies.

As in each Crysis, the graphics look very good, even if I was not able to run them at max capacity. There were some physical bugs though. I have seen guns and guys in the air, dead. The sound is generally excellent also. Gunfights are epic.

The story is not that excellent, but is still enjoyable. It takes about 8 hours to go through if you find for the intels hidden. However, this is not the place you want to be. You want to go Online and play multiplayer. There are plenty of modes and plenty of people. You will find a game, and even if you are a beginner, be able to shoot someone. This is nice for someone who wants to start in multiplayer since you have a chance to do something even if you have not played it for over 100 hours. The more you play, the more experience you get and unlock items for your guns and gadgets. This is similar to Battlefield 3 I would say.

Globally, this is a pretty good game for everyone who is looking for a shooter to get through the summer.

65

Playing Batman without sound is so disappointing.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

Batman Arkham City takes place after Batman Arkham Asylum which was a pretty good game in my opinion. There was for sure place to enhancements, but the base was built strong. Warner did a great job in continuing the story, but failed incredibly technically.

First I must point out that I bought the game digitally. Near the end of the installation, an error message pops out. After some researches on the Internet, I found out that you have to put the files in a folder that does not contain any spaces, otherwise the game will not install.

Then, once the game was installed, I decided to play it in another language than English. Second mistake. Apparently this game does not like this language. In a lot of dialogues, you see people talking and no sound comes out of the speakers. You have to enable the subtitles if you want to understand the story. Apparently, there is no patch for this bug other than playing in English. I just find this inconceivable nowadays.

These bugs pushed aside, the game is good, but the story is really short. As it was the case in Arkham Asylum, the Mystery Man enigmas longer the game a lot, but if you do not want to do them all (400 in this game), you will pass quickly through the game (around 6 hours). You better have to rent the game in this case. If you want to complete every challenges and side missions, expect a good 40 hours. They can all be completed if you have a lot of patience. Some are trial and error quests and some need more reflection. Completing some of the side missions will leave you unsatisfied, as it was the case in Arkham Asylum.

If you buy the Game of the Year Edition, you have few dlcs included. Catwoman adds few missions to the story as well as 40 additional enigmas. The story will take you around 1.5 hours and expect few hours to complete the enigmas. The story is played at the same time as the main story is played with Batman.

Harley Queen's revenge adds around 2 hours to the story. It is recommended to play it after completing the story since it contains spoilers. It is nice as you can play with Robin.

The other dlcs only adds challenges. I will not write a lot on these since I really have no interest in them. If you played them in Arkham Asylum, you will be very familiar here. You need to take down enemies from different ways, eliminate them in a certain amount of time, etc... If you like these kind of challenges, you will not be disappointed since there are a lot of them.

Other than that, playing as Batman is still very enjoyable. You have a lot of gadgets, including a couple of new ones as well as some others that were in the previous game.

Once the game is completed, you can play it on new game plus mode, which allow you to change skins and be able to use all of your gadgets right at the beginning, but that definitely is not a must for anyone other than for the trophies/achievements hunters.

If you have not played Batman Arkham City yet, I would say that you might want to look for it if you are a fan of the series, but you better got to buy it in hard copy, not digitally.

80

A great game that needs time to be appreciated to the full.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Game of Thrones

Without any background on the Game of Thrones series, I strongly doubted of being able to love this story. Apparently, I had no reason to do. The game is all about story, friendship and family. If you want, throughout the game, there is a lot of information on the different houses, characters, areas, etc... You can spend a lot of time reading text, which recommend to be quite close of your screen since the text is a bit small. But, if you lack info on something, for sure, it will be in the game.

You play 2 different characters, which are most of the time accompanied by one person each. So, you control 2 characters almost all game long. You can slow the combat to use your special abilities. This reminds me Dragon Age, but without being really able to pause completely the action. If you play on Hard, the combats are very though. You will need to bring several potions with you or you will not be able to complete it, trust me.

You can play as Mors Westford, who is a night-guardian. You can also control a dog, which is pretty nice to eliminate enemies from behind. However, the same animation is played while you do. This can become repetitive after a while, but you cannot do it too often anyway in the game.

The other protagonist is Alistair Sarwick, who is the oldest son of the King. He will want throughout the game to protect his father's throne. He has the Fire ability, which is more or less used.

There are several collision bugs. When you open a door, you can pass through it even if it is not finished opening. However, the sound is pretty good and the civilians discussion do not get too repetitive, unless you stick to a place for a long time. On the other hand, some guards will recognize you even if it has been 15 years that they have not seen you and that fact that you are fully dressed with a full mask, cuirass and boots. That removes a bit of immersion to the game.

There are quite few secondary missions, some are well hidden. They will give you some extra XP to upgrade your character's abilities. You may be able to fully upgrade them if you do enough of these side quests, but I only was able to max my character in the last chapter of the game for my part. I missed 3 of these missions I think, according to in-game stats.

Globally, if you like games with strong story, even if the combat might be sacrificed a bit, this is definitely for you, even if there are some critics that might have put you on the defensive. Go ahead!

90

A very humoristic game with a retro style.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of DLC Quest

In DLC Quest, you are the hero who needs to save the princess from the bad guy. Sounds familiar? It is a wink at many games. Everything in the game needs to be bought, with the in-game coins of course, starting from the music going to maps, passing by a horse armor.

The game is made from a 8 bit design. It is a simple platformer, very similar to Super Mario Bros. You speak with some NPCs in order to have a little clue on what is waiting you beyond that specific point. The game is not very long, it can take you maybe 1-2 hours to complete, but at around 1$, you cannot ask for much. It is funny from the beginning until the end. There is a "fake end" and a "real" one. So, if you think you finished the game, continue to search until you get the in-game achievements, which have nothing to do with steam or games for windows live achievements.

There is nothing much to say about this game, other that I really enjoyed my experienced with it. Save your tomorow's coffee and buy this game. It really worths playing.

55

A bad add-on to a good game.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

Alan Wake's American Nightmare takes place after the original game. You are in Arizona and need to defeat Mr. Grinch, who is in fact your double. He uses your identity to be you in the real life. He has both your life, and your wife. You need to find a way to stop him.

If you have not played the original game, I recommend you to at least read the wiki to understand the story. It is very weird, and you will be more implied in the story if you already know the characters and why you are in this world.

The combat mechanism is exactly the same than in Alan Wake. I played the original game on the Xbox 360. I used my controller to play this game on PC, and the controls did not change a bit. You will be familiar in few seconds with them.

The atmosphere is quite the same than in Alan Wake. However, there is a lot more ammo. There are ammo caches everywhere and they regenerate by themselves. You will never need to run away for your life. The difficulty is also a problem. If you are used to these types of games, play it on hard. The medium difficulty gives no challenge. I think that I died only once throughout the game. It takes few hours to complete it, that said you will play the game 3 times! I will not tell more about this, but that is the main downside of this game. I would have like more to play a shorter game than a fake long one.

The graphics and sound is good. It has not change from the previous game though.

There is a challenge mode in which you have to survive the longer you can. That does not really interest me, so I will not speak of it here. I do not find it valuable.

Because that the game has been lengthen artificially, I cannot really recommend it. The survival feeling that you got in Alan Wake has been lost with the many ammo caches that can be found throughout the game. If you really want to know what happens after the original game, I would recommend you to read the wiki on it, that would save you precious time.

80

Self Control required!

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Stoked: Big Air Edition (NA)

In Stoked, there is no attempt to have a story as it is the case in Amped. You select your mountain, you ride. That's what it is all about.

You can ride on 7 different mountains. However, you will have to unlock them all one by one. This is where some people will not like this game. If you are stuck on an event, you will not be able to advance much further. Each event will be locked until you finish almost everything that is available. If you are not able, try again. All the events are feasible though, some will require skills, some require also a bit of luck. Some are very easy, some are very hard. The difficulty is not consistent though the game.

There are different types of events. There are some photos to take, you will need to do specific tricks. In some other cases, you need to gain enough points by doing any tricks. There are also some races, which are the thoughest events in my opinion. Sometimes, they rely so much on luck. There are also sponsors event in which you need to perform the types of tricks that the companies like.

The controls are very accurate, compared to what we are used to in the Skate franchise, to not named it. Also, for the grabs, the controls are very often shown on the screen which ease it for the newcomers and you do not need to open the menu to get to the grab bible, which shows every single trick of the game. On the other hand, if you are not familiar with the sport itself, you might have some hard time knowing the difference between a frontside and a backside. However, you can find almost everything you need in the manual that comes with the game. Or else, you can look on the web. It is all explained.

Graphics look good for a quite old game. However, as it is the case in the snow/skate games, there are several collision bugs, where it will take you few minutes to get out of a rock or a tree. Sound is fairly good, but I must admit that after a while, I prefer listening to the music from my own PC.

Globally, this is a pretty good game for the fans of the genre, but for the others, you might get frustrating more often than not. For over 40 hours of gameplay, it surely needs to be played, moreover knowing the low quantity of snowboard games on the market these days.

95

Another excellent game that comes from Remedy.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

As you probably know, Alan wake is a writer. He needs some vacation because he suffers from the writer's block. So, his wife and him decide to take some vacation in Cauldron Lake, when she gets kidnapped. Throughout the game, you will try to find her. You will get helped by your manager, Barry, as well as by few other characters. I have to say, the story is good but is really hard to understand at some times. By chance, there are some manuscript pages that you can find throughout the game that help you understanding it. I recommend you to search for them, and to read them all in the order.

In the game, there are also some coffee thermoses, TVs, radios and some other stuff that you can find, but they really are as useless as the feathers in Assassin's Creed. You can find some weapons caches that you can find that will help you a lot since you will not have too much ammo very often, except when you are close to a boss fight.

Speaking of weapons, you will use mainly your flashlight, which is used to remove the darkness over the enemies, and then and only then you will be able to kill them with your gun (handgun, shotgun, rifle, grenades, etc...).

The graphics look great, even for an old game. The music is very good. Everything in this game is about atmosphere, and the music fits perfectly with it. When you are in the woods and the music starts, you know that there is something coming, but you don't know where the enemies will come from. It is very stressful. Also, since you are a writer and not an athlete, you will not be able to run for long, so starting to run for your life is though since you will become breathless quite fast. You really have to use the objects and the light to your advantage.

Since I bought the game new, both dlcs were included (The Signal and the Writer). I would not pay much for them, but since it was free, I cannot complaint. They are ok, not more.

When starting a new game, there are only 2 modes available, normal and difficult. I played it on difficult. If you are a beginner or not very experienced, I strongly recommend you to play it on normal. If you search a lot for hidden objects, I would say that it may take up to 15-20 hours to finish it. Then, you unlock the Nightmare mode, in which you will be able to find some additional manuscript pages that were unavailable at the other 2 difficulty levels. I don't know it that is sufficient to tell you to replay the game though.

The only downside to this game is that every hidden items are shinning, even in the darkness. This removes a bit of the atmosphere when you see a thermos several feet away from you in the forest. Also, you will always know where to go since Alan will often tell you that you should try to do this or that.

If you have not played Alan Wake yet, run to the store and buy it now.

80

A Fallout game, on rail.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033

Metro 2033 is a FPS, set in a post-apocalyptical world. It is based on a 2005 novel of the same name, written by Dmitry Glukhovsky.

The atmosphere is everything in that game. You have to put your oxygen mask to be able to breath when you are in radiated areas. You have a certain quantity of cartridges for it, so you have to hurry up sometimes, or scavenge some from the dead bodies. You will fight against mercenaries as well as against few types of beasts that were probably radiated.

I would say that the difficulty level is quite high. I played it at hard, and there are few places where I needed to try and retry in order to get passed them. When the enemies shoot you, your health decrease incredibly fast. You cannot afford to take several hits.

In this game, the money is in fact the military ammo. There are 2 types of ammo. The regular, which was built after the nuclear incident, and the military which were build before. These ones are stronger and are in demand in each city. So, you can use them in your gun, or keep them to buy some guns, upgrades, health kits, etc...

The story is a bit weak. You need to deliver a message to another metro station during the first half of the game, which was a bit too long for what happened in my opinion. The second half is where all happens. A lot of actions, and a better understanding of the story itself. There are 2 endings to the game, but they do not differ much from the other. I do not recommend to play twice only for that. So, expect to do only 1 walkthrough. There is no multiplayer mode to this game, so if you find it somewhere cheap, buy it. If not, you can rent it and probably go through it in one week-end.

The graphics sure look dated in Metro. Controls are a bit clumsy. You cannot go to cover with a button press. You can only get cover behind the objects by standing or crouching behind them, which make me feel like I was playing a 90's game. I did not encounter many bugs, only few dead bodies that were bugging. Nothing major. You can see your objectives by bringing on the screen a pad and use your lighter to see them if you are in the dark. You also have a timer on your wrist to indicate how much time you have left in your air cartridges. The sound is great, all along the game. You can hear when your character needs a mask as he starts coughing.

Globally, a well done game that did not have all of the shining that it deserved.

75

A good espionnage game that brings back some old Splinter Cell.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

Deus Ex: Human Revolution is the first game of a Studio based in Montreal. They also had a good fan base before starting this game and had to perform well if they did not want to disappoint them. The game is good, however, it has his downsides.

The story starts in Detroit in the mid 2020's. The Sarif industries, for which you work for, are being attacked and you need to find who did this and why. You play the role of Adam, the Security Chief of that company. The story is well explained, however there are a lot of books that you find that are supposed to add a little something that are simply useless. A lot of computers that you hack are also useless, but that takes part of the game.

The difficulty level of the game in general is quite low if you go directly to your main objective, but can be higher if you decide to search every little areas. However, the boss fights are really hard, especially at the beginning where you do not have many augmentations. The more the gam advances, the easier it gets since you can get some "augs" that are really really useful to sneak by the guards.

The sound is good, even though it is not as used as in some other games. The graphics looks ok. However, there were several collision bugs throughout the game. One time, I even had to reload the game since Adam was stuck crouched beside a civilian. You can move boxes around, and most of the time, they do not end where you wanted them to be.

There are several weapons that you can use through the game, from the pistol to the rocket launcher passing by the tranquilizer gun. You can also theoretically finish the game without killing anyone (except the bosses). However, this is very hard to be done.

There are choices that you have to make through the entire game. They were supposed to change the entire story, however they do not change it that much in my opinion. I would not recommend to redo the game to see them. The same thing can also be said for the "different endings". There are 4. A cinematic will differ slightly at the end, but nothing much. You can save before making your choice, so you can just load and see them.

If you are interested in stealth games, you should definitely play Deus Ex. Expect a solid 25 hours of gameplay and a lot more if you want to search every little pieces for extra stuff.

75

Not so bad for a budget game.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of The First Templar

In the First Templar, you will play as Celian, a Templar who wants to recover the Holy Grail. He will be helped throughout the game by 2 people. However, you will never be 3 in the game. When one character will come into the story, the other will leave, until he comes back and then the other one leaves. That makes it interesting since you can control each of them, so it varies the gameplay a little bit since their skills are not necessarily the same.

Right at the beginning, you will observe that the graphics date. There is no physics at all. For example, the plants and trees do not move even if it seems to wind. There are very often collision bugs. If you follow a wall, it may happen that the other side or the frame of the wall will be seen.

The sound is poor. The sound level is unequal. Sometimes the characters will talk very quietly and some other times they will talk normally. There are a lot of scripted events that occur through the game and very often, the sound will not be appropriate for the move that your character performed. For example, cutting the throat of an opponent will more sound like if you had broke his neck.

However, there are also strengths to this game. The story is great, there are several items to collect: chests that will give you more clothing, chests that give you special ability for the level, gravestone that explains you the story, etc... However, they are often shiny objects of indicators that give you big clues on where the items are. So, that removes a bit of the fun factor for searching the hidden stuff.

The story is straightforward, you will be on a rail from the start to the end. Some paths will only be unlocked after you did specific actions. However, if you want to unlock everything, you will have to take different paths and them come back to the main point. If you look enough for the hidden stuff, you may miss 5-6 items throughout the game, but not more. That will take you around 12 hours to complete the game, which is pretty decent. However, there is no replay value at all, except at the end where you have a decision to make. If you want to see the different one, you just have to replay the last level and you will be done with the game.

Controls are very easy to get used to. Within 30 minutes, you will master them. The game is also fairly easy, I recommend you to play at the hardest difficulty since at normal, I died maybe 1 or 2 times and it was during the puzzles. Speaking of the them, they are very easy to understand but may be tricky to get through since the collision detection is not so good.

You will gain XP by doing main and secondary objectives which you can then spend in a skill tree for each of the characters that you control. Do not expect something very complicated, but it does it. However, some of the actions that you will unlock will probably never be used by you. I used mostly the same combos and they worked well though the entire game, even in the boss fights.

For sure, you can't compare this to Assassin's Creed, however if you like games that are not complicated, contain action and a good story and you are able to deal with poor graphics and sound, you will be pleased with it. However, if you expect crazy graphics, forget it. The First Templar sure worths a rental for a weekend.

80

The underdog of today's rally games.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of WRC 2

As the name says, WRC 2 is the second game of the franchise. This is the only one to have the official cars and tracks from te WRC series.

First of all, yes there is not a lot of cars in this game, but that is due to the always decreasing list of car manufacturers in WRC. We cannot blame the game for being true to the series. There are about 8 different categories, starting with the Suzuki Swift S1600 up to the Subaru Impreza or Lancia Delta Integrale HF '91. Each category contains about 4 cars, which is enough for me considering that you will do several races with each of them, giving you the time to appreciate or hate them.

Same thing for the tracks, they are all there: France, Germany, Great Britain, Portugal, name it. There are also few tournaments consisting of 3 or 4 rounds battles, 1 on 1. This was the worst race for me, since all you do is racing 4 times in a row the same circuit, against a car that you will not really see since the other racer starts on a different part of the circuit. This is just long. However, the real circuits vary from snow to asphalt, passing by dirt and gravel. They can be bumpy, wet, large or shallow. I really enjoyed each of them.

You have to build your own team, hiring mechanics and public relations representatives. The more you have, the more parts you will be able to upgrade ath the same time or the more you will be able to have sponsors. This adds a nice managing aspect to the game.

There is a tutorial for the beginners that shows you the basics of rally. It is really nicely done. If you are familiar with rally, do not spend time on it, just skip to the Road to WRCC Championship as they name it.

I had several crashes to desktop when upgrading a particular car when I was in the menu. So much that at some point, I could not change my sponsors at all when I used that car. At least, the game was saved since I was in the menu. Also, it happened few times that in the menu, I only saw the car skeleton until I entered a race, completed it and then came back in the menu.

Graphics look dated, as it is the case for almost all of MileStone games. The in-car view is also not the most detailed, compared to Forza or Gran Turismo. However, it is still so pleasant to race using that view.

For the more enthusiasts, you can tweak a lot of settings on your car, although you are not forced to. You can or not use flashback, which will allow you to rewind if you made a major mistake. The difficulty level can be adjusted at anytime between the rallies, allowing you to set brake assist, traction control assist and few other options. So, it gives the chance to the beginners as well as the more experienced drivers to play this game, as long as they keep in mind that this is not an arcade game, this is a rally simulator. Do not expect anything close to Dirt 3.

I played the whole game with an XBOX controller, but I guess that it is more fun and realistic to play with a steering wheel. The controls are correct since you can map them the way you want.

A lot of improvements were made over the first game, and for sure there are a lot that still need to be done, but I really look forward WRC 3. If you are like me and were disappointed by Dirt 3, run to your local game store and buy this game.

85

One of the best detective game from the last decade.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of L.A. Noire Capsule

L.A. Noire takes place in the late 40's early 50's, as the name states it, in the City of Angels. You play as Cole Phelps, a former soldier who was promoted to inspector due to some brilliant actions during World War II. However, it is very vague how you earned your medals, how you were promoted. They try to keep you quite far from it all the story long. You will learn few details here and there as you progress through the story. I found the story very good.

The atmosphere is perfect. You hear music from that time that really existed, cars that really existed too, buildings and streets that were part of L.A. at that time too. You will also learn about all the bribing that existed between the police, the government and the companies.

You take part of 4 different departments: traffic, homicide, vice and arson. You will always work with a partner that is more or less useful, and each of them will always be as unpleasant as the previous one. They all seem shady, as it is the case for everyone that you encounter in this game. That makes you feel like you are the only honest person in the city.

There was a big hype about the gesture and facial design in this game. However, I did not find it that good. It was correct, but not above the standard. People will act differently all depending on if they are lying, telling the truth or hiding you something. That's where your job starts. You have to find clues on the crime scene, interrogate witnesses to discover what really happened. Each witness will act very differently, which can complicate your work a lot. Sometimes, it is very easy to know that a person is lying, but some other times you will think that they are lying because that the reaction is the same, but in fact they are telling you the truth. I guess it would have been too easy if the reactions were similar, but now it sometimes feels like a trial and error approach.

The driving is better than in GTA IV, however you can easily tell that it is a Rockstar game. It is hard to not hit anything while you are driver, which makes the missions tougher to get the 5 star rating. However, most of the time you can ask your partner to drive if you want that 5 star rating or prefer to spend your time playing rather than driving from one spot to the other.

There are some dlc's available for it, however I would not recommend them at their full price. They add one mission each which can take around 30 minutes each to complete. If you loved the game and want more missions, get them. They are not really linked with anything that occured in the story, so they really feel apart from it.

The missions will take you about 15-20 hours to complete and you can add another 20 if you want to complete all the achievements.

This is a game that I would recommend for players who like to read, spend time on finding clues and take their time in a game. This is not a game that will stress you up, but you will always want to know what happens next.

50

It should have stayed in the MUD.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of MUD Motocross Championship

MUD is the first game to have a complete roster from the FIM Motocross World Championship. However, this is only one of the few good things that this game has.

There was supposed to be track deterioration. There is not. Moreover, the grooves that you can see on the track are purely aesthetic. There is no real grooves. So, you can go from the far left to the far right of the track without fearing to fall of your bike. That is one of the most important thing in motocross racing.

Secondly, the career mode is absolutely broken. All of the races need to be unlocked with money. However, you will make less money in a race than it costs to unlock the next one. So, you have to repeat your races twice quite often to do so. Do not forget that you also have to buy sponsors in order to win more cash from each races. You also have skills to buy. So, forget about buying some cool helmets that are available. That's the last thing you will have a chance to buy since this does not affect your driving skills.

Other than that, the career mode feels empty. You do races, but there is no standings, cinematics or anything after them. The list of riders that you can select from is limited and only contains 4 fictional characters. For a game that has a full list of real riders, that could have been nice if we could have select any in the list. The tracks are most of the time completely invented ones. There is the last one, which is the Motocross of Nations which is real, that's it for the career.

If you play with a keypad, every menus are not adapted to it. So, you will see F1, F2, F3 without knowing which buttons it is on your controller. It feels like you are in a 1990 game, where controllers are almost not existing yet on PC.

When racing, as soon as you go out of the cones, you will be put back on the track. However, sometimes you do not want to reset your bike. So, you will lose precious seconds. That is probably for preventing cheating, however, this could be certainly improved.

The are few good things in this game. The soundtrack is great. It contains several good tracks, mostly punk-rock-alternative music. It is nice to race against Ken Roczen, or Tyler Rattray and being able to beat them. The teams are also real ones, so you can be sponsored by Pro Circuit Kawasaki and so on.

Globally, this might be a fair game for beginners, but even then I would recommend you more the MX vs ATV series before MUD.

75

One of the best superhero game recently made.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

In these times where superhero are "in", a lot of games are out and they are not all made of high quality. However, this one sets the bar pretty high.

Arkham Asylum starts when the Joker is brought into the Asylum and takes control of the place. As you can imagine, you will fight against a lot of bad guys and you will also encounter 3-4 of the main characters of the Batman series. The story is good, however the hardest fights are not necessarily the ones against the bosses. That's a thing that annoy me a bit. I would think that fighting against the Joker would be harder than against some "dudes", but this is not the case. The bosses are predictable and easy, even on the hardest difficulty.

There are plenty of enigmas that comes from the Sphinx. 240 in total. However, they do not really give you anything at the end. I would have like to have at least a cinematic with an unlockable at the end. Nothing at all! Going trough the game will take you around 8 hours or 15 if you look for everything. However, I would not recommend it as stated previously.

The sound is good, but once again the comments are always restarting when you look around for some enigmas. Very often, it turns out that the Joker repeats the same 3 sentences over the Asylum speakers.

Graphics do not necessarily look awesome. They are correct. However, in the cinematics, the characters seem to be covered by a layer of fog, that makes them look strange.

If you bought the Game of the Year edition, you also have some challenges included. You can try to beat times of your friend or yours. However, doing combos for fun is not my trip.

On the good side, there are quite few gadgets that you unlock throughout the game. 7 or 8 in total. However, only 5 will be needed to get the game completed at 100%. The other 2-3 are special batarangs. I personally never used them since I unlocked them at the end of the game.

If you play on the hardest difficulty, expect your thumb to be used at maximum. When you fight 10 characters at the same time, you have to press a lot of buttons in a short period of time. I even had to take a break when playing several hours back to back.

The developers of this game, Rocksteady, were not necessarily known before doing this game. However, this is a really good second game for them considering that they are in the domain only since 2004.

I would recommend it to players who like action games where you have to do a lot of combos. All the other ones who like superhero should also get something out of it.

85

A great start for a new franchise.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Borderlands Game of the Year Edition

Lately, there haven't been a lot of new good franchise. Lots of games come from long time running series, like Fallout, GTA, Metal Gear, etc... However, this one shows good creativity, some replay value and more. Even though it is not perfect, it sure worths playing it.

You have the choice of 4 characters at the beginning. There is a hunter, who has the ability to send a sidekick to kill the enemies and recover some items. There is a badass guy who can run and hit with his fists. There is a siren who can become invisible and a soldier who can assemble a turret to kill the enemies. In my walkthrough, I selected Mordecai the hunter, so I will write my review based on this experience.

The first thing you will see with his sidekick is that if you are too far from the guy you want it to kill or hidden behind some cover, the bloodwing as it is called will not be able to get to the enemies. So you will have either to be closer to your target or get out of your hole before sending it. Enemy AI can sometimes be very wise and come and get you, and some other times it can stick to a place and not move before it get killed. Other than that, the gameplay works fine, you have some slots in your backpack for your guns, shields and abilities that can be expand by rescuing some claptraps, which are most of the time friendly little robots.

The graphics are very cartoonish and stylish. It is the first time I see something like this in a AAA game and that looks great. Sound is also great using Dolby Surround. However, the voices were still low compare to the rest even after trying to tweak them.

The Game of the year edition comes with all four expansions including: The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned, Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot, The Secret Armory of General Knoxx and Claptrap's New Robot Revolution.

The Zombie Island of Dr. Ned speaks for itself. You kill zombies, period.

In Mad Moxxi's Underdome Riot, you will have to get through waves of enemies to get a skill point. That's disappointing because of the time you have to invest in it. You have to complete an entire level, which consists of 5 rounds of 5 waves before being able to save. That's if you do not die, if you do, you have to restart about 1 round.

The Secret Armory of General Knoxx is the biggest dlc. It contains a lot of cool guns and gadgets. However, you have to be at least level 35 before thinking to be able to survive more than 10 minutes in it. A sad fact about it is that you will have to travel a lot with your vehicle, without being able to save in the other maps as it is the case in the main game. Each time you start the game, you will come back to T-Bone Junction, which is the headquarters even if you were 3 maps further. This time again, that means you have to have a lot of time ahead of you before playing it.

Claptrap's New Robot Revolution is also self-explanatory. Claptrap wants to control the world, so you will encounter a plenty of angry robots. For me, that's the best dlc.

Missions gets repetitive after a certain amount of time, but you can still have a good 40+ hours of fun before getting bored. I never encountered a crash or major bugs. That's amazing considering the fact that the environment is wide open.

As I told previously, for around 30$, it sure worths buying this game before Borderlands 2 comes out next fall.

60

Another on-rail shooter set in a post-apocalyptic world.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of RAGE: Special Edition (International)

Rage is a first person shooter set in a post-apocalyptic world. At first glance, it can look a lot like that Fallout series. However, you will not have all the RPG aspect of it. You have only a few upgrades for your guns, character and car and they are all bought from a store once you reach a certain point in the story.

Talking of the story, a meteor has hit the planet and at first, you will only make some missions for a guy in a small village. This is basically to get used with the controls. However, further in the story you will have to stop the world from being destructed, as in every other games of the same type.

On the graphic side, there was a big hype for this game. Yes it looks good, however, when you move your mouse fast, you will see everything go blurry before loading correctly. That looks very ugly. I would prefer lower graphics quality, but at least it would have been consistent when moving.

The atmosphere and sound are great, however there are some sound glitches when a bug happens. For example, it happened to me several times that I hit a car and I was thrown away from the scene. In this case, I died and when it reloaded, the sound was broken, so I had to quit the game and restart to make it correct again. There are several collision bugs when using the vehicles.

There is a good variety of guns. That includes pistol, shotguns, rifle, crossbow and machine guns. There are also few types of bullets for each of them which make the pistol as useful as the rifle or the shotgun at some point.

The solo campaign will take you around 20 hours to complete if you look for all of the cards that are hidden through the game. There is around 54 of them. However, once it is done, there is absolutely no replay value to it. You can play the whole game on the hardest difficulty without having so much trouble. The enemies are most of the time very dumb.

There is a multiplayer that I did not try though. Apparently, there are 2 modes in it.

There are a lot of Easter eggs in this game. They come most of the time from DOOM, but there are also other from Wolfeinstein, Quake, Fallout, Breaking Bad and some other games. There are bubbleheads, special rooms and signs.

Globally, Rage is another shooter in this world full of them. It is not as different from them, so I would not necessarily recommend it unless you are a big fan of shooters and you are looking for a new title to add to your collection.

65

Not a bad rally game, but the lack of originality hurts it.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of DiRT 3

In Dirt 3, there is a new addition, Gymkhana. This the major difference with his predecessors. However, this type of racing is fun, but adding this is not enough to keep you excited throughout the game.

Other than that, nothing has been added. The cars do not need to get upgraded with money anymore. In fact, there is no cash at all. You just unlock the cars by advancing in the Dirt Tour, which is the career mode. I find it disappointing because there is absolutely no motivation to get the platinum medal in each of the event. Sure, there is a reputation meter that fills out as long as you progress in the Dirt Tour, but this is not enough according to me. Sure, I needed to get all platinum, but my meter was full a long time before finishing the Dirt Tour, so there was not much motivation for me to continue. You will get a cutscene at the end, and then the credits go on, and that's it. The game is fade.

In the Dirt Tour, there is also a location where you need to perform stunts and discover some Dirt logos, but that gives you nothing.

The AI works strangely. At a normal-hard difficulty level, you will not be able to distance your opponents, however, they seem to wait for you when they are in front. As it is common these days, you can use the rewind feature if you crash or miss a curve.

On the good side, graphics look good, the in-car view is really cool for buggies, trucks and cars. You can also set damage to ON which will cause you to lose a wheel or damage your transmission. Sound is great, you can hear the wind when you go fast and your windshield is broken. There is a good variety of tracks and categories of races. That includes rally cross, rally, trailblazer, head 2 head, gymkhana.

I cannot write on the multiplayer mode since I did not try it.

It looks like the deceased Collin McRae series look forward to an arcade/demolition racing style with this game and the follow-up, Dirt Showdown. Let's hope that Codemasters does not forget the core fans of that once so good license.

80

Great multiplayer but inexistant singleplayer.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (NA)

This Battlefield game was another time one of the most expected game of 2011. Another time, the singleplayer campaign is a joke. It will last you about 6 hours if you play on the highest difficulty. If not, that should take you about 3 hours. Sure, the missions are intense, but when will DICE understand that if they want to put in the game a singleplayer mode, that it needs to be good and last more than 4 hours.

On the brighter side, the multiplayer is without any doubt the place that you want to play this game. There are only 4 types of players (Assault, Engineer, Support and Recon), but they can be customized with some unlockables. You can unlock C4, claymores, drones, rocket launcher as well as some abilities. You will unlock stuff quite often, which is very "a la mode" these days. It's more or less rewarding but some of these upgrades can be very useful. There is a good variety of maps, which are sometimes a bit too big though.

It may happen that your team won't be able to advance to any point because you do not play in team. This game is based on teamwork, so do not go all alone on your side or you will be down quickly. It is very nice to play all together and warn your allies of any enemies that you are aware of.

The graphics look so nice and the sound is good. As in any DICE game, there are several collision bugs, most of the time found in the multiplayer COOP missions.

This is definitely one of the good multiplayer shooters that came out lately, but on the other side, one of the most disappointing singleplayer shooters also.

85

Prepare your knife for some stealth kills.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Velvet Assassin DNS

In Velvet Assassin, you will play the role of Violette, a British agent used to stop the Nazis during World War II. You will also be able to use a SS uniform in some missions, but that will make the game almost more difficult because of your boots.

You will need to stealth kill a lot of enemies during this game, but many of them will not be very wise. They will always walk though the same pattern, so all you have to do is to examine it and then kill them or pass around them while staying in the shadows. However, if you disturb them from their routine, they will become very unpredictable and that's where you will have the bigger challenge.

Another challenge is when you have to use your gun. I highly recommend that you decrease the mouse sensitivity to the lowest that you can. It moves so fast when gunning that it becomes very though to aim on your target. The ammo is so rare in the game except for the last 1-2 levels that you really have to use your bullets wisely.

There are some collectibles hidden in the game that will allow you to upgrade your character one they are found. You can upgrade up to 5 times your stealth speed, force and your morphine. The morphine mode makes you walk while not being discovered. The collectibles do not unlock anything in the game though. There is absolutely no replay value in this game. There are only 2 difficulty levels, Normal or Agent. So, I highly recommend you playing at Agent since the AI is poor. Also note that there is no multiplayer mode in this game.

The levels differ from each other and you will never find identical places. They are well constructed and the shadows are thought for the player to hide almost everywhere.

Technically, the graphics are good enough but the sound of the bullets is too loud compared to the other sound.

I would have appreciate more replay value for this game that last only about 8 hours and has no multiplayer mode. But globally, it is still a good game for only 7,99$ if you like stealth action games.

55

A funny kart racing game which is missing something.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing

This game is another version of a kart racing game that could have been greater if more time would have been spent on it.

The variety of characters is really good. You will have over 20 characters to choose with, including Sonic, Tail, Shadow, Dr.Eggman, Ryo and Amigo.

You will have about 5 themes of track which all contain about 3 tracks each. You will not be able to race them backward or mirrored though. They are nice and several of them contain shortcuts that are really shorter, so you will have to take them if you want to win.

The weapons are more or less the same than in Mario Kart. You have a shield, rockets that are auto-targeted, bomb that goes only straight ahead/behind and few other ones.

There is a mission mode which include 64 different missions that are more or less the same. There may be 10 different missions. They may be pass trough checkpoints, hit the opponents, races, etc.. Toward the end, they really get very hard.

There is also a time trial mode that does not need explanation.

You do not have have any championship mode that worth playing. It only shows a short cut-scene with the characters on the podium. There are not real rewards for doing them other than unlocking the next championship.

You will have some musics, characters and tracks to unlock and after that, you will have nothing to do with your cash.

The achievements are bugged and reset very often. If you plan having all the achievements, plan to lose a lot of time redoing the same achievements.

Online racing is nice. There are still few people on it so you can have a good challenge against other humans.

Globally, this game is not as good as it may look at first glance. Few hours can be spent on it, but after a certain time, you will get bored of it because of the several bugs that are in it. If you can find it in the bargain bin, ok, if not, do not spend any money on it.

60

A simulation tactical shooter that is broken by so many things.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Operation Flashpoint: Dragon Rising

In this game, you will play the commander of a four men squad. You can order them to follow you, go to a specific point, assault a building, etc... The problem in few of the mission is that you will be timed, so you can't just walk slowly to your objective, taking care of not being spotted by enemies. You will have to know where to pass before the mission is started. That makes the game really though. The weapons are really not accurate. Because of this, you will very often run out of amno, so you will have to scavenge some weapons.

Sometimes, you will have to run several hundred of meters before hitting a checkpoint, and then, if you fail, you will have to run again this distance before having a chance to retry your objective. That makes the game so annoying. If you have the ambition of trying the hardest difficulty level, prepare yourself mentally at redoing several 30 minutes play without having any save. Be sure to understand your objective before going anywhere.

Your squadmates are so stupid, you will have to kill almost every enemies yourself, heal them when they are down, etc...

There are absolutely no video throughout the game. You will see the objective at the beginning of the missions, but nothing more.

You will probably have more fun playing Ghost Recon or Rainbow Six than this.

85

One of the best arcade racing game so far.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

Dirt 2 is the sequel of Dirt as well as the once Colin McRae games. This is a really good rally game. You will say that there are not many of them, it's true. But Codemasters could have done a bad quick game because of that. No, they really did something really nice, with nice graphics, good gameplay and wise AI.

The cars and landscapes look really nice. You can race from the interior view which I do and you will see your wipers turning on when you hit some water, your windshield will crack off or even break entirely. That adds a lot of realism to the game. However, your wiper will sometimes turn on when you are on a dry section.

The AI is quite intelligent in this game and they are also quite aggressive. You have few levels of difficulty which allow you to use few flashbacks (as it was in Grid) down to no flashback at all. Notice that the difficulty level rises as you decrease the quantity of flashback. So, if you are an authentic racer, you may want to remove all of them, but if you are a newcomer in the world of racing, it still allow you to make some mistakes and not being punished too much.

There are not a lot of different cars in each categories, but they are few categories (cars/trucks/buggies). Each of them drive very differently. You can quickly adjust them at the beginning of each race. Each option is explained, so it can be done by people with a lot of knowledge as well as the less experimented users.

On the downside, you cannot buy pieces for your cars. There are only racing package that will allow your car to enter some higher level races. That's all. There is not that much to do with your money other than buying cars.

There is also only one video in the whole game, which is in honor of Colin McRae and that's it.

I am not that annoyed by this, but I know that some people might complain about the advertisement that there is in the game. To me, it is part of the rally in the reality, so I just find this normal to find it in a game like this.

In conclusion, I would say that it is a must play for every racing fans and it is a really good option to look at if you want to start in the world of racing too.

80

A really good start for that franchise.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of Dragon Age: Origins - Ultimate Edition (NA)

The beginning of the story of this game is not as different as other. The area is being attacked by some monsters. You have to defeat them. But, the way that is being used to get to your goal is really nice. It is really immersive and addictive. You always want to do one more quest until you realized that it has been a while since you started to play.

However, there are a lot of crash. You will need to save very often. Over the 80 hours that I put on this game, I got at least 10 crashes to desktop.

The choices that you have to do do not really affect the result, except for some situations.

There is really too much blood in it though. Your character will always have a lot of blood in the cut-scenes even if you did not fight for a while.

The difficulty really vary. There are some quests that require a lot of health potion, some others that are really a joke.

You will need to come back later at some places if you want to unlock every chests.

The graphics look good. The story is great. The commands are natural.

You can spend easily over 50 hours on this game. If you want to do all the quests, plan at least 100 hours.

A really nice game, despite the few cons that it has.

90

At last a solid game for arcade racers.

sergebelanger22 | June 27, 2013 | Review of GRID

Pros: - Good diversity or races (touring, prototype, drift, endurance, le Mans, Tuners, Touge...). - Good diversity or tracks. - At least 30 hours of game play for the career mode. - Flashbacks (up to 5-6 flashbacks). - Pro Mode (no restart race nor flashback available). - Sponsors are available for additional money. - Good graphics. - Good first start for the serie. - Very fun.

Cons: - Inconsistent difficulty (teammates will be your thougher ennemy). - Not a lot of cars (42 in total). - Teammates are totally stupid. They will hit you if you're in front of them. - Not much to do with the money (no parts for the cars). - Poor sound effect (from the interior view at least). - Was not able to play with the 360 steering wheel. Only the controller.

Finally, it's a good arcade race game. It has a lot of variety in races which makes the game very fun. Not redundant as other racers can be. If you can find this game somewhere, it is a must buy, at any price.