Reviews by setoraven

95

Way better than I expected... by far.

setoraven | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of Sleeping Dogs Digital Edition

This is at least for me, the best game of the year, and by a far margin, it not only expands the idea of what a sandbox game should be, but it truly feels like a living city where you are just part of it and not just some sterile place that orbits around you, the graphics are also amazing, and there is just so much to do that it made me feel like I was playing GTA III again, overwhelmed by the open world that showed up to me, and I must say, this game gives me feels, the right feels, and the right kind of mood for me to say this will be one of my favorite games ever. Buy it, you won't regret it.

69

Not really deep, but...

setoraven | Aug. 16, 2012 | Review of Greed: Black Border

There are some thing I don't like about this game, first, the controller setup is just bad without the main use of WASD, but still, it is manageable while using the mouse alone.

Still, this game is pretty fun anyway, upgrading your character can be quite satisfactory and the battle itself can be quite challenging.

This game reminds me of Shadowgrounds because of the top view and general atmosphere, and that gives the game a few extra points. On the other hand, it's not really a very compelling experience overall, even if its played CO OP, again, because of the bizarre controllers, and also for the beyond-stupid story, but then again, who cares about that...

It can be good and fun for a short while but if you're expecting a top view shooter that will blow your mind, you might as well go and look somewhere else.

56

Quite subpar, but still fun.

setoraven | Aug. 16, 2012 | Review of Sniper: Ghost Warrior PRE

This game has some strong aspects, like graphics, sounds and general feeling of the game, but on the gameplay is actually very lackluster, the controls aren't really as tight as a sniping game should be, like in Sniper Elite for example, the game just won't cut. Another aspect is that it's pretty short, and the difficulty settings aren't really up to the task for giving some replay value. Multiplayer, not so good either, but it's hard to make a balanced and fun sniping MP game, so you can't blame the developers much for trying.

But still, at two dollars it's actually quite quite worthy and I totally reccomend it, even if the game doesn't shine as much on any particular aspect, it is fun and worth the discount price by a long margin.

40

Lackluster

setoraven | July 26, 2012 | Review of Twin Sector

I actually tried this game for a long time, not only the animation of the characters look ridiculous, the game mechanics are itself broken, the puzzles are unimaginitive, and because of the sloppy game play, you'll spend more time getting frustrated by how the female character moves and how you can't quicksave at anytime, the checkpoints are annoyingly too far from in between, and the least minium error will set you back around 15 minutes each time, this is just frustrating and annoying, and the lack of a good setting will only make you laugh at the afwul dialogues and voices, specially of the main character.

In conclusion, a very bad game, with a lot of potential and a (limited) enjoyment, but overwhelmed by bad game mechanics, bad game physics and a really, really bad execution of the puzzles.

90

I just played the Beta...

setoraven | July 23, 2012 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Digital Deluxe Edition (NA) PRE

I must say I found myself with a very nice impression of this beta, because first of all, some detractors keep saying that the game will be ruined by the cash shop even though the cash shop only handles cosmetic items.

But anywyay, I really really liked this beta, not only the setting has a very pleasing aesthetic overall, the character design is also pretty damn good, and having a rich enviroment is a key element for an MMO because that's what's going to make you keep going back, and GW2 keeps their promises on that aspect.

The battle mechanics are also pretty good, and the starter events are quite breathtaking and even more when you think about how you're fighting a gigantic monster even though you're still at level one.

That's what makes the game speak for itself, it shows you a lot of epic battles right from the begining, now, try to imagine how cool the quests will be on more advanced level.

So there you go, I reccomend this game a lot because not only it shines on itself among so many MMOs right now, because you can't go wrong with a game that can give you this much and not charging you a monthly bill.

45

Not cool man, not cool...

setoraven | July 23, 2012 | Review of F.E.A.R. 3

This game is like a bad bad joke for all of the original F.E.A.R. fans, not only it doesn't have ANYTHING that made the first game special, it's nothing but a bunch of generic FPS traits that makes the game annoying and not scary at all, the thing is that it can be good for a couple of hours along with the CO-OP, but after that, it's not a very good experience overall, and a complete dissapointment compared to the first game (I'm not a very good fan of F.E.A.R. 2 either by the way...).

96

The best stealth game ever, period.

setoraven | July 21, 2012 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money Capsule

This is the pinnacle of stealth games, it's not just the way 47 can dispatch the targets in a million ways on every mission, it's also the attention to details. For example, on the level were you're supposed to kill the mob informant, you can kill his wife first by dousing the barbeque grill with a lot of benzine and make her burst in flames, then when the guards are distracted by the "accident", you go and you choke that bastard until he stops moving.

There are literally dozens of ways to finish every level, and the creativity put on every single mission is what makes this game not only my favorite stealth game, but also one of my favorite games ever, buy it, you won't regret it.

89

Way better than most people think.

setoraven | July 15, 2012 | Review of Red Orchestra 2: Heroes of Stalingrad - Digital Deluxe Edition

I've read a lot of comments about how this game is bad or broken, but to be fair, the thing about RO2 is that is one of the most immersive MP games I've ever played, the atmosphere and scenario is just overwhelming, and ever since the launch of the game, the updates have made this game more and more stable, and with the latest GOTY version, this game is now not only completely playable but also a superior experience to other FPS of recent times.

Sure, there's still glitches and stuff but remember that TWI is just a reduced group of developers unlike any big house games with publishers that can keep inyecting money into a game so the game won't have many glitches, but still, this game has a soul, and it needs to be appreciated for what it is.

RO2 needs love, not hate, try it out, you won't regret it.

89

Goddamn awesome.

setoraven | June 13, 2012 | Review of Saints Row: The Third dns

I've clocked this game around 60 hours already including DLC and I still want to play it CO OP still, it's just so goddamn adictive, it is indeed a bit more straightforward than SR2 but overall it's a pretty good game, lot's of crazy antics and lots of destruction.

JUST AWESOME.