Reviews by shayhidedark

100

Top notch

shayhidedark | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

FINALLY!!! -a good turnbased game, even better than any of the worms games. There's just so much depth to this game...AND the console versions are good. The game is perma-death so when a member of your squad dies the won't respawn, ever. This makes you feel the importance of their lives and re-evaluate your strategies. The strategic combat in the game is great-enough said, but there's also a base management element that's also great and constantly throws decisions at you. I can recommend this game to almost anyone, especially because of how unique it is

95

Great Co-Op, mediocre single player

shayhidedark | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of Lord of the Rings: War in the North

If you're a fan of lord of the rings then get this.

If you're a fan of Co-Op then get this.

If you're going to play this on your own...then think twice.

This game is excellent when played with friends because of the orc slaying chaos. Trading loot with friends throughout the game is so good because it makes you converse a great deal with them. This game is the perfect co-op experience... so just get it!

If you're playing in single player though then, even though the ai of your teammates is good you'll start to notice the games flaws and discover how repetitive the combat can be. So if you wanted a great single player experience... then just don't get it... you'll be disappointed.

Thankfully I had a friend to play with though so I loved it to bits :D

88

Classic

shayhidedark | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Classic Trilogy HD

In this collection you get three excellent games that any stealth lover would apreciate as you get to enjoy splinter cell at it's best. My personal favourite of the games is chaos theory as the levels feel like they are most open however the other two games are also great. The only problem with this trilogy is the fact that the games are lacking content. The asymmetrical spies vs mercs multiplayer is completely gone. This kind of makes sense as it would have needed to be online multiplayer but it certainly is a shame that ubisoft didn't try to bring that great multiplayer back. What is odd though is that the split screen coop missions from chaos theory are gone completely which is shame and there's no real reason as to why. If you wanted the multiplayer to come back then I'm sorry, this trilogy will disappoint you, however if you've never played any of the games before then you're certainly in for a treat.

94

Hardcore

shayhidedark | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls - Standard Edition

Dark souls is not forgiven, so for anyone who has the slightest doubt about them being a hardcore gamer then you may want to reconsider buying this masterpiece. The game can get incredibly frustrating because of how many times you will die, and it's impossible not to yet death is so punishing on the players...this is why the game is for hardcore gamers. Because of how punishing your deaths are it makes the combat so beautifully intense and captivating, this is why you hardcore gamers out there should get this game.

Also a word of advice, the game is definitely best on consoles, not pc

97

EXCELLENT RPG!!!

shayhidedark | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

For RPG lovers and stealth lovers and shooter lovers and for those who love good story's get this...enough said.

No-not enough said...okay, well the game blends first and third person perfectly creating a very stealthy, tactical experience making you want to keep on playing. You're are also able to level up your character wonderfully making you want to keep on playing. The story also has great plot twists which makes you want to keep on playing. Just buy this...you won't regret it.

68

Cheap fun

shayhidedark | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood

This game certainly isn't worth anything over £20 for me as it just doesn't have enough polish and the enemy AI isn't good enough...however I love westerns and this game gets the setting right and it isn't just a standard fps. It allows for you to play as two different characters which adds some re playability. So if you like westerns and/or on a budget then get this, if your not though then it probably isn't the fps for.

96

Solid game

shayhidedark | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood

For starters I would like to say that Assassin's brotherhood is better than number, a lot of people may say otherwise, but I think that that could just be because AC:2 was a bigger improvement yet AC:B didn't make as many drastic improvements. Somehow brotherhood seems to be a slightly more open game and it included great multiplayer that was unlike any other multiplayer that I had previously seen. If you enjoyed AC:2 then you'll also enjoy this...so get it.

I would also like to say that even though I prefer the ps3 as whole the xbox version of this game was the best as it had good controls unlike on pc and it had less framerate drops than on ps3.

93

A massive improvement

shayhidedark | Oct. 13, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed II

Assassin's creed 1 was a solid game that was very unique yet the sequel has somehow managed to knock the socks off of that game. The main problem with the original was its repetitiveness but the missions in AC2 are varied and have more depth to them. And now the combat is far better and more enjoyable. Also, as well as having better missions the setting of AC2 is far more interesting as it has you running along tiled roof tops. This game is a great 3rd person open world game...get it.

69

Almost there

shayhidedark | Oct. 9, 2013 | Review of Rage

This game had a lot of fun features, for instance the visual style, the animations and the graphics. Also a lot of the weapons were very unique and interesting. However...the game doesn't feel open enough. For game with vehicles that looks kind of open-world the game is disappointingly linear and with little to o outside of missions. The vehicular chaos is fun though and therefore you should get this game if you have some spare cash but don't think of it as a must-buy.

98

SO MANY GAMES!!!

shayhidedark | Sept. 8, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Pack

Just simply do yourself a favour and pick this collection up, especially if it's on sale. There are so many games here! Now a lot of the older games are really similar so that may put you of this pack they are still all really solid games.

There were then three games made more recently: anniversary, legend, and underworld...but anniversary is unfortunately missing here for some reason but that's not too bad as that was essentially just a remake of the original tomb raider. Why i mentioned these three games though is because they are the best of all the tomb raiders so I guess that does make it a shame that anniversary isn't here but if you've played the original (which you should do when you get this pack anyway) then it isn't really missed.

The newest tomb raider game isn't my favourite however it is still a refreshing change to the series so it is worth your time playing. There is also the guardian of light included in this pack which is another refreshing change.

So if I haven't persuaded you to already then GET THESE GAMES!

90

Varied styles of gameplay within one pack

shayhidedark | Sept. 8, 2013 | Review of Red Faction Collection

The red faction games have changed overtime, and this makes the pack so worthwhile as you get different gameplay experiences from buying just one pack. My favourite of all the games is guerilla as it is so unique to anything else out there in that it focused so much on destruction. Red faction guerilla is a must own: for EVERYONE. 1 & 2 feature good single player campaigns and the multiplayer is pretty awesome as well, 1 & 2 are strong entries to the series. Armageddon however is the least interesting of all the games but has the most interesting weaponry and although the open world gameplay from Guerilla is gone, at least the destruction still remains. If you haven't played at least the first three or two of these games then please, get this pack.

87

Hardcore stealth games

shayhidedark | Sept. 8, 2013 | Review of Hitman Pack

If you're fed up with casual stealth games then get this pack, enough said, just get it. The hitman games have continuously been improving and even the newest entry has stayed true to the hardcore gamers whilst also introducing the more casual gamers. The only thing that I would say is weak about the series is the lackluster storyline however absolution did improve on this. These games aren't for everyone but you need to at least try them.

97

Top notch RPG's

shayhidedark | Sept. 8, 2013 | Review of Deus Ex Pack

This pack contains one of the greatest games in recent years, Deus Ex:HR, which has excellent stealth gameplay and a great plot and a lot of freedom. This pack also contains one of the best games of old, Deus Ex. I feel that his game offers even more freedom in terms of how you play than even the more recent game which is an achievement. Invisible war however is the least exciting of the three games however if you're still wanting more then it's there. The dlc for HR isn't that great as they don't add much other than the missing link which contains a good story and enhances the gameplay. Be warned though, I recommend that you start playing that piece of dlc after completing the main missions. Enjoy...

95

Incredibly good value

shayhidedark | Sept. 8, 2013 | Review of Thief Pack

As long as you can get past the fact that these games are rather old then you will find yourself having a blast in some of the best stealth games ever. My personal favourite of the three games is the more recent deadly shadows as it has a small open world for you to enjoy. However all though the other games are graphically, not as good, they contain a bit more of spooky and scary theme, and some how I feel that the old graphics actually help add to this. Enjoy...

85

Overpriced but hey

shayhidedark | Dec. 12, 2012 | Review of PSN Live Card £25

Pretty much all of the games on the playstation store are overpriced compared to steam, xbox live and, of course, Green Man Gaming but it's the only way to get a whole load of games for your ps3 or psp. I just recommend that you don't buy full games that you can get from stores for your console with this voucher as they are overpriced but there are some pretty good dlc's for games that you obviously can't get elsewhere. Geet this if you know what you are going to purchase.

45

Nothing special

shayhidedark | Dec. 10, 2012 | Review of Manhunter CAP

This game has fairly long-ish missions however they hardly differ from each other in terms of gameplay. It would have been nice for this to have been a sandbox game where you could truly choose how to play but because the objectives aren't spread out over long distances but instead really close you can't choose to really deviate of the path which makes it more like a game where you just basically progress through a "corridor" and shoot whatever's in front of you. You don't get a real variety of weapons either, yeah you get a couple of silenced ones but they're not really useful because the game isn't open much or sandbox-like.

67

Okay for pc gamers

shayhidedark | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of F1 Race Stars DNS

If you've played the ps3's mod nation racers then you'll know what this game is like, and how bad it is. It's just another mario cart rip-off. Mod nation racers was another rip off of the popular mario cart games yet although it was bad at least it added something new: the ability to create your own tracks but with this game you don't get anything new, instead it just feels boring as there aren't funny or interesting characters, just giant bobble head versions of formula one racers. On the positive side it is like mario cart which is none-the-less a good game, I know this contradicts what I have just said but because t is a game like mario cart, available on the pc is great as some pc gamers haven't enjoyed a mario cart game because all they have is a pc. So it's a bad rip off but if you're a pc gamer that hasn't enjoyed mario cart then I'm sure you'll find some fun with this.

95

A game to get lost in

shayhidedark | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

This game is amazingly HUGE and it shows us yet again just how amazing Bethesda are in creating RPG's. The game, like Skyrim, gives you so much freedom. You could choose to join different factions such as a weird group of crazy guys that look like Romans, or not even bother with them and face the post apocalyptic wasteland alone however I wouldn't recommend this as it means that you could have less missions to do. I would say that the main missions on their own could take you around 40 hours (however I am a slow-poke) but you're more likely to find yourself lose way more hours to the game, perhaps over a hundred. The only negative I can find about this game is the fact that it hasn't improved much since fallout 3 but it still has improved as the combat is now more enjoyable and seeing fallout 3 was already great this just has to be, AMAZING!!!!

85

Creates a more immersive experience

shayhidedark | Nov. 25, 2012 | Review of Turtle Beach PX21

I was around a friends house once, me and three others were all playing call of duty modern warfare 3 on the ps3 and only one of us had the headset on (not me), the rest of us didn't, surprisingly the headset actually meant that my friend did a LOT better than usual. Okay the rest of us couldn't hear so that made this little test unfair so then we decided to go online with the headphones and see if we did better than usual, surprisingly we did as you became more focused and immersed in the game. If I'm honest I wouldn't really spend 75 pounds on headphones because I'm poor :( but if you're like my friend who has a bit more money then yes this could be a good product for you. I can't compare this with other headsets because I haven't used any others but it was still good none-the-less when I did use it.