Reviews by sittinghawk10

70

Decent game, good story.

sittinghawk10 | July 15, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

Story is pretty good. The rest of the gameplay is okay, but the story will make you want to finish it.

70

Very complicated game.

sittinghawk10 | July 15, 2013 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 - Fall of the Samurai

This is a standalone expansion pack. I did not get the base game and am a beginner in the Total War series. It has very in depth mechanics and some people might not be into that. I had some fun with it, but it's not my cup of tea. Combat is pretty fun though.

85

Great improvement to end game.

sittinghawk10 | July 15, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization V: Brave New World (NA)

I love Civ 5, but before this expansion pack, I got sick of endgame and would just abandon a game. Brave New World makes it a good bit more fun.

There are 9 new civs with very interesting abilities, units, improvements, and buildings. I've only played with Brazil, Venice, and the Shoshone so far, but they showcase a lot of the new things BNW added.

Culture and Social policies have been revamped for the better and Wonders have also been tweaked and moved around in the Tech tree making a bit more sense to me.

I highly recommend if you were a fan of Gods and Kings.

84

Great Platformer

sittinghawk10 | June 7, 2013 | Review of Psychonauts

An older title, but a great one nonetheless. The story is very fun and the characters are well written. The different psychic abilities you acquire are all pretty fun to use. Graphics are still ok looking given the art style. Highly recommended.

75

Fun Platformer

sittinghawk10 | June 7, 2013 | Review of Dustforce

Nice indie game. Only a few mechanics to learn. Time trial gives good replayability if you are interested in that sort of thing. Definitely worth a couple of bucks.

85

Great, simple strategy game

sittinghawk10 | April 28, 2013 | Review of Tropico 4 DNS

I've never been into simcity. It took too much time and effort for me personally. But I like games in the genre. I heard about tropico, and it is exactly what I wanted.

Each mission is completed after completing several objectives. This focus is very good in my opinion. I'm not very creative so being a "god" that creates every thing in my city is much too complex. This game removes a lot of those things and I think it makes the game very fun.

The dlcs aren't really worth it for me. They add a couple of bonuses or a building or 2. Skip them and save yourself a couple of bucks.

65

Meh

sittinghawk10 | April 27, 2013 | Review of L.A. Noire Capsule

Decent game. With all the hype this game had I expected more. The facial tech is very good though. Missions where somewhat enjoyable and I love the cops angle. I'd recommend a buy at around 5 bucks. Could have been a lot better executed.

80

Difficult but fun game.

sittinghawk10 | April 27, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

The pc version is kind of a bad port from the consoles, but modders have fixed a lot of problem. I recommend using one of the keyboard+mouse mods which binds camera to the mouse if you prefer that option. Controller is a bit more intuitive in my opinion, which is obvious seeing as this is a console game and its "prequel" demon's soul was a console game.

Its a very challenging game. Not for impatient gamers. You have to be methodical or you will pay... a lot. But you keep coming back. That's dark souls in a nutshell.

75

Fun melee game.

sittinghawk10 | April 27, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare Overflow

Pretty fun game. The movement feels pretty realistic and everyone moves as you might expect them too. Plenty of servers to play in. When you go against people with higher ping its a little annoying though. Several game modes with objectives as well as just deathmatch. I like playing dm once in a while but too much and it can get boring. The classes feel pretty balanced and you get pretty good at the weapons as you have to use them to unlock the next in the line. Would recommend. Great value.

70

Better than the first.

sittinghawk10 | April 26, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA) Overflow

I didn't hate the first game, but I didn't love it like everyone else did. If you liked the first one, this is more of the same with some UI improvements. It still sucks to me though. I had more fun with this game than the first, but it was still the same game pretty much. If you liked the first, you'll like this one. If you are on the fence, I'd recommend buying the first one cheaply and seeing if you like it. If you don't, you'll save some money avoiding this one, but if you do, you'll like this game more.

65

Okay, monotonous.

sittinghawk10 | April 26, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

Not sure what the hype was all about. Decent shooter, horrible ui. Writing was ok. People say they've beaten the game dozens of times or more, but I don't see the appeal. I got the goty for less than 5, but I didn't even get past the main storyline. Just be careful of all the glowing reviews when you are deciding if you like the game.

80

Very rewarding, challenging strategy game.

sittinghawk10 | April 23, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown (NA) -

This game might not be for everyone. If you like strategy games though, I highly recommend it. It punishes reckless play and rewards those that use terrain and cover well. It can be frustrating sometimes when you have a very high percentage to hit but still do. Despite some issues with probability, the game is amazing. From the makers of civ.

75

Very good indie game.

sittinghawk10 | April 23, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

I got this game from a humble bundle after hearing so many good things about it. The graphics are beautiful for any game. The controls are very accurate and easy but require skill to totally grasp which rewards more serious players.

The narrator has got to be my favorite part of the game. Highly recommended.

80

Good moba for the less serious player

sittinghawk10 | April 23, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

I like competitive online games. I just don't have the time to get into dota or lol. Awesomenauts soon came out around the time I was looking into the genre and I thought it was interesting. This is a great value game. There are some balancing issues, but overall I find the game quite fun. I have about 400 hours into it and I payed about 6 bucks. The matchmaking is more often than not horrible, but games are usually only 20-30 min at the longest. While a lot simpler than the well known mobas, there is definitely some depth to this game and a good meta game involved.

75

Ok game.

sittinghawk10 | April 23, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Digital Edition (NA) -

I want to like mmos, I've tried several from wow to SWTOR to some other mmos. Guild wars 2 held my attention a lot longer than those did and combat was interesting. Also, no monthly fees which allows you to take breaks if you want. I haven't been back in a couple months though so take my review with a grain of salt as a lot of things have probably changed.

90

Great civ for people who like tech victory route.

sittinghawk10 | April 23, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier’s Civilization® V: Babylon (Nebuchadnezzar II)

It provides a unique building, walls of babylon which is really good in my opinion and bowmen which fair better against melee units. It allows for you to go tech heavy and defend well. Also generates great scientists twice as fast which allows you to drop a lot of academies early.