Reviews by sonarctica

96

Amazing point and click adventure

sonarctica | July 9, 2013 | Review of The Walking Dead

This is a great game if you love story driven games... this game isn't just about killing zombies like every other zombie game out there, it's about the characters in it and how they develop. One of the best games out there in my honest opinion, well worth the money.

75

A lot of pointless shooting

sonarctica | July 5, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Bioshock Infinite was hyped a lot before it got released, why not? The first two games were great, even though the first one was better. Bioshock Infinite didn't really manage to pull off the story aspect of the game very well, most of the time it was just pointless shooting and killing enemies and running around spamming your E key to pick up stuff from the ground.

The only reason you should play this is because of the ending which was mindblowing at least for me. But it's all cramped into 30 minutes leaving you with 7-10 hours of shooting enemies before you get to the "cake" at the end.

The only reason why I bought this game was because of the pack which gave me Bioshock 1 and The Darkness 2 as well as XCOM: Enemy Unknown.

If you are a Bioshock fan, you'll like this game and it's worth the playthrough.

50

Meh

sonarctica | July 2, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2

For a guy who tried to play Borderlands 6 times and every single time got bored of it and just quit, Borderlands 2 wasn't any different for me. It's almost the same game with different guns and characters. I love FPS and RPG games, but this game just managed to put me off from it, making it impossible for me to enjoy it. I know people who have put around 300 hours to this game and are still playing it but I just don't see how.

97

Great game

sonarctica | May 24, 2013 | Review of Dishonored

Many say this game is way too short, true, it might be short but I'd rather have a game that's short and amazing than long and boring. Gameplay in whole is done very well and leaves no one cold.

This is one of my favourite games of all time because the story is well written with great music and gameplay. They truly hit the sweet spot with this game.

If I had to think of any cons, I'd say... actually nevermind. I can't think of any.

78

Great experience

sonarctica | May 14, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3

Just not as good as Far Cry 1. It's a great and wonderful game with loads of stuff to do. It took me a while to finish this game because it felt repetitive from time to time which I got really bored of. It is still a good game and worth the money if you happen to have some laying around. It's much better than Far Cry 2 for sure so no need to worry about that.

95

One of the best games ever made

sonarctica | May 12, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033 PRE

Metro 2033 is a post apocalyptic game set in the year 2033 as the title might suggest, in Moscow. It's a mix of horror, adventure and shooter and it pulls it off great.

I've played through this game 3 times now and it's not because of any collectibles like modern games do these days do for replayability. The story, atmosphere and the experience overall is amazing. Everyone should play this, 10 euros isn't that much, and what I've seen, it's quite often on sale making it 2.49 euros which is great.

This game is also a great benchmarking tool, it just annihilates modern systems, so if you think you've got an high end system, have a go at this game.

95

Probably the best fun you'll will have

sonarctica | May 6, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2 is one of the best games I have ever played, they know what they wanted to do with this game and they succeeded doing so. It has countless hours of fun and it is worth every penny you pay for this game. It's often on 75% sale so that's a plus too if you don't feel like spending 20 euros on it even though it's worth it. Only down side is that it doesn't have multiplayer on it but don't worry! Some people are developing multiplayer for it, so make sure you google that.

78

A good game... for consoles

sonarctica | May 3, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent

PC port is horrible. I played this when it came on Xbox 360 a long time ago, it was great, singleplayer campaign was decent enough but where I think it shined the most was the multiplayer aspect of it. Gameplay was just amazing, but sadly the multiplayer is dead and nobody plays it anymore.

Final thoughts, the PC port is really bad and it didn't run very well on my computer but I'm sure there are fixes and whatnot on the internet.

70

Game which was sadly not about stealth

sonarctica | May 3, 2013 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction

Sure it had the well known stealth mechanic from older games but the game didn't exactly let you be completely stealthy. From time to time you would be running after a guy guns blazing and kicking cops down. It was more of an action game than a stealth game, it was good fun and as a huge Splinter Cell fan I could appreciate what they tried to do but does it come near Chaos Theory? Not even close.

For a fan like me, it's enjoyable and definitely worth a play. Hardcore fans might disagree.

85

The Darkness returns

sonarctica | May 3, 2013 | Review of The Darkness II dns

This time better. The game was a lot of fun, though a lot of people might think it was way too brutal and gory but hey, it's a game and people like that kind of stuff. Gameplay and the story kept me going through the whole game, which sadly, wasn't very long but to be honest, I'd rather have a short good game than a long boring one.

If you're looking for a game that makes time fly fast like crazy, this is your game. If you're an achievement addict, this is for you as well. I had fun with it and I doubt you wont.

75

Great game with its flaws

sonarctica | May 3, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite Post

I liked this game, to a point. It did have its flaws like a slow beginning or the story not telling itself that well during the game. Felt like the game had way too much shooting in it, don't get me wrong, it's fun... but not if you have boring weapons with boring upgrades. The vigors weren't that great either and I found myself often not using them at all which the game kept reminding me of by displaying hints saying to not forget using them.

All in all the game was worth playing at least for the ending but I doubt I will be touching it any time soon.

81

Simply an amazing game

sonarctica | April 29, 2013 | Review of Civilization V: Gold Edition

Civilization V was good even though the AI was rather stupid from time to time, I was pleased to notice the AI was updated and made better by a great amount in the Gods And Kings expansion pack which is included in this one. If you're looking for countless of hours of fun or a boredom killer, this is for you.