Reviews by t20k

90

The Assassin's Creed series just keeps getting better

t20k | Aug. 22, 2011 | Review of Assassin's Creed Brotherhood Deluxe Edition

When I played the first game in the series many years ago, I saw I lot of great ideas, but it was far from perfect. Ubisoft has really surprised me by improving and making the series even more fun as the sequels are released. Brotherhood is absolutely fantastic: it's got a lenghty single player campaign, an original and great multiplayer mode which is a fantastic way of introducing multiplayer into the series and stunning graphics.

The Deluxe Edition comes with even more stuff to enjoy, and I absolutely recommend it for those who are fans of the series. The maps and skins add more playing time and variety to the game, while the rest is very interesting if you enjoy the story of the AC games.

70

Feels and plays like a MMO

t20k | Aug. 11, 2011 | Review of Borderlands

Lots of guns, which are really satisfying to use, is probably the main selling point of Borderlands. It has great graphcs, nice vehicles and is perfect to play with some friends. I was slightly disappointed by it thought, The story is silly; the quests are repetitive and unoriginal, and it just gets boring after a while. It feels like a MMO, with both the pros (fun with friends, tons of weapons) and cons (lots of grinding, terrible storyline). I hope the sequel actually gets new types of quests and just a more diverse gameplay. It's lengthy, so it's probably worth getting at this price.

40

A unique idea that fails to deliver

t20k | Aug. 11, 2011 | Review of Sanctum

A FPS mixed with tower defense sounded great, but I was simply disappointed by this game. That aren't many towers, there are only a few maps and a single game is way too long, taking as long as two hours. It's hard to figure out which towers and weapons are actually useful, because all the towers felt like underpowered garbage when I used then, even after upgrading them. The only way I can describe this is boring and disappointing; you can argue that this game is more fun when you play it with friends, but you can say that about so many other games...some of them are actually satisfying.when playing alone, so I'd rather be playing them.

67

Do you like Magicka's PvP?

t20k | Aug. 10, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Watchtower DLC

Cause if you do, it's worth it. If you have someone to play it with, obviously. Out of all Magicka DLC, this is not the worst one, because it actually provides some challenge and is different from the other PvP maps,

77

Worth it

t20k | Aug. 10, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Nippon DLC

This is so cheap, and it even goes on sales sometimes. The katana and staff are useful - not overpowered, but useful. And you even help Japan? I didn't even know that. If you have Magicka, there is no reason to not purchase this.

60

A decent expansion

t20k | Aug. 10, 2011 | Review of Hearts of Iron III: Semper fi DNS

HOI3 is a very, very difficult game with all sorts of annoyances like a steep learning curve and bugs. This is no exception. While it improves the original game in many ways like improved AI, it still feels way too complex and sometimes broken. Hearts of Iron is just a very. very difficult series to get into, and while this game does make it a little more user-friendly, it's still frustrating. Only worth it if you already know the HOI series well.

70

Why so expansive?

t20k | Aug. 10, 2011 | Review of Total War: Shogun 2 DLC - Sengoku Jidai Unit Pack

I'll be honest: I hate DLC. Most of the times, it just sounds like the developers are too lazy to do a proper expansion and too greedy to make a free patch and simply improve the game. The Sengoku Jidai Unit Pack is actually good and worth buying though, and I'd actually recommend picking it up here, mostly because it's useful and improves the game.

If you picked up Shogun 2, you might as well spend a few more bucks to get more variety in your game.

60

Unique and weird

t20k | Aug. 10, 2011 | Review of Cargo! The Quest for Gravity DNS

I was surprised when I first saw this. Just look at it. There's nothing like it out there. It's a racing sandbox game in which you can build your own vehicles. Also, weird babies. Sadly, it's not as good as it's premise. Maybe it's just too weird for me, but I felt like the gameplay just isn't very satifying or fun. I felt like there was just no point playing it, as I didn't really enjoy driving. It's funny and quirky though, so maybe you'll want to pick this up for the "What is going on here?" factor.

85

Survival Horror the way it should be

t20k | Aug. 10, 2011 | Review of Penumbra Collection

Penumbra is a excellent survival horror series. It's rare to see games scary as these ones nowadays (Condemned, maybe). The guys who made this also made Amnesia: The Dark Descent, which proves how good and sucessful they are at creating immersive and bone-chilling games. Buy it, you won't regret it (or maybe you will after getting scared, which you'll prove how good this game is).

67

Enjoyable, rare hack and slash for the PC

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of Ninja Blade

There are lots of flaws about this game, but the result is still very enjoyable. It looks great and is fun to play. QTEs are annoying, but the sequences presented in them are actually ridiculously great. If you have a Xbox 360 controller connected to your computer you might as well pick up this game on a sale. I don't recommend playing it with a keyboard.

100

You HAVE to play this

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of Streets of Rage™ 2

Streets of Rage II is just fantastic. It's perfect. And it's 3 bucks? Woah. Side-scrolling beat 'em ups just don't get better than this. Beat all the thugs and push forward, it's that simple. You'll have a blast playing this with friends.

90

Must play beat 'em up

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of Streets of Rage™

Streets of Rage is the best beat 'em up series out there. Those who remember playing this game as a kid will want to pick this up. The arcade-y gameplay is just fun as hell. As satisfying and enjoyable as a game gets. It's still a worthwhile experience, The sequel is also fantastic.

50

Outdated

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of Virtua Fighter 2

A long time ago, this game was a blast. Nowadays, with games like Tekken and Soul Calibur, it just feels old, clunky and outdated. Maybe worth it if you're feeling nostalgic, as it's very cheap. Or if you have no consoles, because there aren't many 3D fighters on PC.

60

Colorful effects, not much other than that

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of Beat Hazard

The gameplay is simple and fun. Too bad every song plays almost exactly the same; the only difference are the lights and effects you'll see. It's a good way to keep yourself busy while listening to music, but you could be doing anything else. The developers should have added the Ultra DLC for free, because it just feels like the original game but with boss and enemy variety.

90

Old school fun

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of Painkiller Black Edition DNS

It's much better than today's FPS games. No need for cover like these space marines we see in every game nowadays. The weapons are unique and very satisfying, and you can test them in the long campaign that is full of huge bosses and tons of different enemies. Buy this and you'll see why a lot of people miss the old Doom/Quake FPS days.

75

Cheap and good

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of VVVVVV

Using the unique reverse gravity feature, this platformer is fun and creative. As you would expect from a platformer, it can be difficult and frustrating, but not too much. Controls are not as tight as would expect though. Has just been updated to 2.0, and now has a level editor and custom levels. It's so cheap it's a must have.

80

Old, but very good

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

People often say this game is one of the best PC games of all-time. Maybe it was once, but not anymore. The gameplay is simply subpar by today's standards. Level design, story and complete freedom are unique and make this game worthwhile, but you'll have to deal with some outdated mechanics.

If you're buying this, get the New Vision mod that has just been released.

75

Excellent simulation, if you're into that kind of thing.

t20k | Aug. 9, 2011 | Review of Football Manager 2011

If you're a FIFA/Pro Evolution Soccer guy, this might not be your cup of tea. The walls of text, endless features and detail can be pretty overwhelming. As a simulator, it's pretty much perfect - graphics during matches could be better, but that's not exactly the point of this game. If you think you can enjoy being a manager - including all the boring and repetitive stuff - you'll have a blast leading your team to championships and signing players.

67

The Best Tennis Game

t20k | July 2, 2011 | Review of Virtua Tennis 4 DNS

If you're looking for a tennis game for PC, this is your chance. Yes, there are some bad things about it (no mouse support), but it still is a enjoyable experience. The graphics are the most impressive thing about this. I highly recommend playing it with a Xbox 360 Controller. I'm not a huge fan of GFWL, but it's not terrible as some people might tell you it is.

For a pretty cheap launch price, it's worth it.

30

A bad sequel to a bad game

t20k | July 2, 2011 | Review of Kane and Lynch 2: Dog Days

Why so many positive reviews? This is a bad game. The camera is awful, the missions are extremely linear and repetitive, the shooting isn't satisfying at all and the campaign is extremely short. The visual style is original, but the graphics aren't impressive at all. i can't understand why this even exists; the first game was even worse. I guess it sold well.

If you're looking for a way to waste some time and you have plenty of money to spare, you might want to help a charity or something. Skip this.

95

Pure fun

t20k | July 2, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

You'll have tons of fun with this. Just pure open-world mayhem. Fantastic graphics, tons of vehicles, awesome locations, clever easter eggs, awesome cheesy story. Missions are repetitive, enemies are bullet sponges and the black market prices are ridiculous, but that doesn't mean much. Don't forget to check out the mods for this game (I highly recomend Bolopatch)

65

Extremely hard and frustating

t20k | July 2, 2011 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Is it good? Yes. Tons of levels, great level design, responsive controls. It's extremely frustrating though. It's even harder if you play on a keyboard. Some people have fun dying over and over again until they master the levels. If you're not one of these, avoid this.

90

Best 10 bucks ever

t20k | July 2, 2011 | Review of Magicka

This game is awesome. Just awesome. Now that it has been (mostly) fixed, it's a must play. It has superb gameplay, perfect to play with friends. Create a server, load your game, and BAM! Enjoy the pure awesomeness of blowing up enemies, shooting and crossing beams, creating explosive mines, destroying giant bosses, laughing at inumerous pop culture references and just having fun. Playing alone is hard and not as fun as playing with friends though. Also, DLC is available and you might enjoy paying a few more bucks for more maps, magicks, and robes.