Reviews by taytothief

90

Beautiful!

taytothief | Nov. 6, 2013 | Review of Oddplanet

Oddplanet is a homage to Limbo and the Oddworld games. And it does it fantastically. It's another indie platformer, but that's fine with me because I enjoy them a lot. I think it looks stunning. The puzzles are good too, not too easy, and the story, while a little odd, is still fantastic enough to cause wonderment. I loved Limbo, and while I'm getting a little tired of all the Limbo clones, Oddplanet is definitely not a bad addition to them. If you liked Limbo, you WILL like Oddplanet, and I highly recommend it.

70

Another good indie platformer.

taytothief | Nov. 6, 2013 | Review of Grimind Cap

There's a lot of games like Grimind around at the moment. Since the success of Limbo (which I adored) there has been an infux of similar games. Grimind is not exactly like Limbo, but the similarities are obvious. It has the same dark, tense atmophere. Grimind is much more horror though, it's a pretty weird game. If you liked Limbo, you most likely will enjoy Grimind.

70

Hidden gem

taytothief | Nov. 6, 2013 | Review of SOL Exodus: Collector's Edition

Sol Exodus is a relatively little-known space sim, and can be picked up a good price. It's a really solid game, controls are tight, and the ship fights can be awesome. The ships respond well to your controls and the fighting passages are among the best on the market The rest of the game isn't fantastic, you won't be buying this for the story, and the voice acting is horribly cheesy (those tough guy accents really annoy me..) but as far as a space fighting sim goes, it's easily worth a buy.

60

Not for everyone

taytothief | Sept. 22, 2013 | Review of Police Simulator 2

I'm a sim fan in general, I'll try almost any simulation games. And Police Sim 2 lurks obscurely in the middle-ground of sims I've played. While not really very good, it's also not really very bad. It took me quite a while to get the hang of things, I found the interface to be very unintuitive but that may just be me. It also looks a little dated, think somewhere around Sim City 2000. So while it doesn't look great, it's still passable. In terms of gameplay, you can really sink a lot of time into this. You will need a certain measure of patience and a lot of practice. Once you get the hang of the game, and understand how shifts work, how patrols work, and how best to respond to crimes, you will be rewarded. The game has surprising depth, but it's only really a game for hardcore sim fans or police fans (if there is such a thing). So if you really like your simulation games, it's definitely worth a shot when it's on sale.

90

Great game, deserves more credit.

taytothief | Sept. 12, 2013 | Review of Hitman: Absolution

Some people don't like Hitman Absolution, but it was one of my favourite games last year. It looks and feels fantastic, the mood and lighting on the levels are great. The voice acting and sound is also very good, and the depth of missions is superb. There are many, many ways to do each mission, and there are new missions constantly added through the community. The replayability here is fantastic. It's been on sale for quite cheap numerous times, so I wouldn't suggest paying full price, even though it is worth the €25 price tag it has at the moment.

70

A bit aged, but still good.

taytothief | Aug. 27, 2013 | Review of Crusader Kings Complete

Paradox are probably my favourite developer and this is one of their older games.It looks it's age, it's far from modern looking but it's still a nice deep strategy if you can get under the superficial appearance issues. Paradox are the masters of strategy and this is another gem from them. I'd probably suggest Crusader Kings 2 if you haven't played either of Crusader Kings series, but if you have played 2 and liked it, then you should definitely try the first one too.

80

My favourite genre

taytothief | Aug. 27, 2013 | Review of The Stronghold Collection [Capsule]

I love this genre of games, it's my favourite among all. Anything to feature castles and archers and I'm interested and if it involves empire building (in this case castle building) then all the better. The first of the lot is without doubt the best, they just kind of repackaged everything again and again for the latter games. And it may not look as good anymore as it once did. It still holds a special place among my games, hence the high score, but it's not without flaws for new players.

60

Worth a play

taytothief | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Earth 2160 Capsule

Decent RTS. I think I picked this up for free here, so I'm certainly not complaining. It's a nice old school space RTS.

70

Timesink

taytothief | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Sid Meier's Pirates! Capsule

It's not the most modern looking, but it's still a really fun game. I've sunk so many hours into this, there's so many options and different ways to play. Great sandbox gameplay.

85

Excellent strategy

taytothief | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of Hearts of Iron III: Collection

Another fantastic paradox strategy, this time based in WW2. If you like warfare strategy, you must own HoI3. And there's so much content for the game, the community is fantastic. You'll get it at a good price, I wouldn't suggest paying full price, wait for the sales.

60

Average, but enjoyable

taytothief | Aug. 26, 2013 | Review of East India Company Collection

East India is decent at what it does. Trading and naval strategy is done ok, but there's nothing spectacular here. It looks good, and most will enjoy it for a time. There are still a couple of niggly bugs that were never quite ironed out, and it will take you some time to get the complete hang of the game because the tutorial has some shortcomings.

65

Merely decent

taytothief | April 28, 2013 | Review of Alter Ego

It's a decent point and click, but I've never been too keen on these kind of games. It was a massive novelty to hear actual Irish accents (and not bad Irish accent impersonations) for a change. There are some visual bugs too.