Reviews by therealBIGdeal

94

The BEST Final Fantasy on PC!!

therealBIGdeal | Oct. 10, 2014 | Review of FINAL FANTASY XIII

Right now, the PC port of FFXIII is probably the best option that you have for playing a true Final Fantasy game on PC. The graphics are better than the PS3 and Xbox 360 version's, and combat is a smooth turn-based affair, same a before. If you are looking for a great PC FF game, this is a great buy at only $16! Pick up it!

68

A Quirky Space-Retro-Horror Shooter

therealBIGdeal | Oct. 7, 2014 | Review of Albedo: Eyes from Outer Space

So this game is in Early Access, but it's still quite playable (besides crashing twice the first time I tried to run it). This game has a few puzzles, some that are quite easy and some that are stupidly hard. Fortunately, there is a strange tool-light thing that can give you hints as to what to do. The UI can be quite strange, and even when you are familiar with it, can be quite slow. The game features some of the strangest graphics I have seen in a modern shooter, with a retro look to them. All in all, it's a promising game, but I would wait and look at some gameplay videos later to see if it is your cup of tea.

92

Spiritual Successor of Fallout that Succeeds

therealBIGdeal | Oct. 3, 2014 | Review of Wasteland 2

As those of you that have read about this game before may know, Wasteland 2 was always destined to be a uncorrupted successor to the original Wasteland, and later Fallout 1 & 2, games. Brian Fargo, the lead designer/founder of Interplay and before-mentioned games, also played a prominent role in the development of Wasteland 2.

The turn-based squad combat gameplay is something that was very common in the cRPG's of the 90's, but seen much less today. If you want to pick up this game because you liked later Fallout games like F3 and F: New Vegas, then first consider if you have the patience and grit to suffer through gameplay mechanics that will first want you to rip the hair out of your head. DON'T pick up Wasteland 2 if you enjoyed the grenade tossing, energy-gun headshots of the FPS Fallout, not unless you feel like you have a great deal of patience. This is more for the players who want a challenging but slower-paced combat style, that allows for more thought put into troop position, as well as those who are much more into game lore.

Overall, Wasteland 2 is a great game if you come into it with the proper mindset. It will give you another great Fallout-themed adventure, across new wastelands, with new enemies. The squad based combat didn't really appeal to me at first, but it makes character creation much more important. If you build a poor squad, you cannot win the game without serious grinding. Period. Furthermore, the loot was in too high of quantity with too little quality. You had to sift through hundreds of containers to get an item of value.

TL; DR Wasteland 2 is great if you like turn-based combat/Fallout 1 & 2, don't get it if you prefer the more Serious Sam-esque Fallout 3 and New Vegas

42

Another Skin DLC; at least in contains custom animation <3

therealBIGdeal | Sept. 27, 2014 | Review of Awesomenauts: Jotunn Skølldir

If you haven't already unlocked Jotunn, then buy this DLC. He is probably my FAVORITE Awesomenauts character, he just makes me laugh every time I play with him. If you already have Jotunn unlocked, then you are paying 7.50 for a skin and custom animation (fire for red and ice for blue). It's fun, but worth 7? I think not.

TL; DR Ok if you want to spend 7.5 on skin

46

Buy INSTEAD of Civ IV; not a supplement as much as a replacement

therealBIGdeal | Sept. 25, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization IV: Colonization (Mac)

Don't be like me and buy this game as well as Civ 4, because it really doesn't add to much. There seems to be another level of polish, but in all honesty, if you are happy with Civ 3 or 4, I recommend that you don't buy this game. It is more of the same. Especially now, with Civ 5 out. If you have either 3 or 4 and want more Civ, buy 5 and get it's DLC; it's usually on sale and although it may take some getting used to, is IMO a much better Civ than this game is. Cheers!

62

Do YOU think that this is a game?

therealBIGdeal | Sept. 25, 2014 | Review of Dear Esther

I don't believe that Dear Esther is a game in the normal sense. It doesn't have roguelike elements, it's not a top down shooter, and there is little to no player interaction. You simply walk, and listen. For a game that has very limited gameplay, the world seems very beautiful. In fact, the most disappointing thing about the game was the lack of exploration available to the player. I would love to be able to go to the grim and gray beach, or climb the foggy peak.

If reading and casual gaming are your cup of tea, then this game will most likely appeal to you. It has a good story that is simple to follow and have a nice length. However, if your preferred games are Skyrim and DOOM 3, look away. You have to approach this game with a certain mindset to get a satisfying experience.

85

Fallout 1 from an Unbiased View

therealBIGdeal | Sept. 10, 2014 | Review of Fallout®: A Post Nuclear Role Playing Game

Having just recently hearing of and playing this game, I lack the fond memories of playing through this game till 3 in the morning that seemingly every other reviewer seems to have. I'll put it this way: if you like Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas for the lore and atmosphere, than you will enjoy this game. The controls take a bit to get used to, and the turn based combat will bore and frustrate you in the beginning, but you'll enjoy playing through this game. However, if you like FO3 and FNV because you had all the energy weapons, grenades, and killed all NPC's, then you're in for a nasty surprise. This game is open world, but a different open world than we see today. You travel patches of the wasteland in small segments at a time.

The one thing that I downright hated in this game was the running clock. To complete the first main mission, you only have 150 days. You can complete the mission at a leisurely pace in about 70, but just knowing that something was timing me just turned me off. I loved open world games when you don't have a care in the world: you can just do whatever necessary to survive and nothing more, or you can help to save the world. In Fallout 1, if you want to play the game like it's meant to be played, you must find the water chip in 150 days for your vault. Other than that, this game has much deeper lore than an average Fallout 3 play through, so go into the game with that mindset!

99

A Practical Guide to Wasteland Survival

therealBIGdeal | Aug. 16, 2014 | Review of Fallout®: A Post Nuclear Role Playing Game

Like many others of this modern day, I played FNV and Fallout 3 before picking up a copy of this game. What a mistake that was. If you have either of those two later games, and want to explore the wasteland in a different/more strategic way, PLEASE play this game. It's not a game for FPS combat junkies: when it comes down to a fight with a super mutant, you can't spray and pray like you can in FNV and F3. You instead have to actually focus on building a character that is tailored to your fighting style, and then use this character tactically.

And for those expressing concerns about getting this game to run on operating systems made after the dotcom boom: don't be! I have Windows 7, and it ran perfectly fine, even better after I installed the Fixt (that patch works wonders on this game). Don't let yourself miss this terrific game that revolutionized the cRPG genre!

93

The Complete Experience every PC Gamer should Have

therealBIGdeal | Aug. 12, 2014 | Review of Half Life Complete

To not play the Half Life series is a shame that you don't want to put yourself through. It has it all: strategy, adventure, gun action, puzzles, and an unforgettable story that made GabeN a god. With this pack, you get to have the full experience, from the original Half Life all the way to the Second Episode, and everything in between. Be prepared to never look at City 17 the same again.