Reviews by theunknowned

100

I LOVE THIS GAME

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

I dont know what it was. OH YEAH IT WAS EVERYTHING. The hilarious ode's to old school gaming. this game is also what i compare everything to when i look at how tight controls are. If someone says the game controls are tight. I think of this game as the staple of how smooth and responsive the controls are. The levels are hella fast and intense. and even if a level absolutely kicks your butt, after you finish you get to see all of your failures and your success fly through the level. If you ever played a platformer EVER in your life. Pick this game up. You owe it to yourself.

98

Best Roguelike to come out in a while

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Sword of the Stars: The Pit

This game is 10$. i've putten in well over 100 hours into this title. Is one of my favorite games to come out in quite a long time. Some may argue its too difficult. However I feel that its Just hard enough to keep you coming back and trying to tackle the challenge. There are a huge plethora of items and has a turn based system that lamost feel like its real time. almost kinda like how the old fallouts played to be compltely honest There is a ton of different items to use/figure out the recipes for. and theres a good few characters that have different styles of playing out. This game SCREAMS replayability. I honestly loved the different crazy monsters and I loved dying in here. It leaves me feeling liek some form of badass gladiator getting tossed more intense challenges until something finally fells me. I'll never forget the first time an irradiated diseased super bear jumped me around a corner after I ran out of charges for sensing enemies and i was starving paniucking sprinting around rooms looking for food. Just do yourself a favori and pick this bad boy up!

85

a fun spin on the biblical 4 horseman

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Darksiders

its a good fun hack'n'slash that uses a lesser used art style that i always applaud for. It has a good progression system and an alright story. if you pick this one up i think you'll for the most part enjoy yourself

100

easily by far one of the most memorable experiences i've had.

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Dark Souls: Prepare to Die Edition (NA)

This game was just great. It had one of the most epic feels a title could have. People may complain that you die alot. But seriously that's what makes the game so flipping beautiful at the same time. It lets you know how fickle life is...and although you are this epic warrior you still are a fragile human being in the end. The actual guiding story is light. But yet again that is where this game is beautiful again. It fills the world with lore with all the characters and items you meet/pickup. It allows you to place down your own backstory and make s you think what happened here. Who are these people? and really when you sit down and think about it. It jus immerses you inside the beautiful Gray world. The combat is tight. and when you finally start nailing Parry Hits. you'll feel like a boss. The art style of all the armor and weapons will jus hit the spot for anyone whose a fan of medieval fantasy. Just buy this game. You'll love it.

79

so close to being the game of my dreams

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Chivalry: Medieval Warfare

Dont get me wrong i really enjoyed chivalry and i recommend it to everyone else out there whose always wanted to FPS hack/n/slash in the medieval world. The gore is hilarious and immersive and the weapons are great as well. just the game felt like it needed a bit mroe polish or something...or...dare i say it a bit larger budget. Nontheless game was amazing and i recommend supporting the sh*t out of this and lining there pockets with money so they can come out with a powerful beautiful sequel.

95

Theres a reason people play this still on Twitch

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of The Binding of Isaac

Isaac and Spelunky are the forerunners of the current roguelike speed run titles. Like Spelunky, Isaac is a difficult roguelike title where the simple aim of the game is making it to the end of the game. The catch. You must face the demonic forces of your mothers basement. The game pokes alot of fun with Light Hearted Demons and pokes fun at biblical themes. The gameplay is like Old-school Zelda. There are 100's of unique powerups and the randomly generated levels are MORE MORE MORE MORE MORE than likely to keep you immersed for hours upon hours to come. A truly fun title with hours of replayability that only gets BETTER as you keep playing. You wont regret purchasing this!

85

A nice improvement upon the arkham series

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City: Game of the Year

I had alot more fun with the more open world of arkham city. It just simply feels like an overall enhanced version of asylum. I didn't find myself choring through this one. Pick this up without a second thought if you even remotely enjoyed arkham asylum.

77

Fun, but definitely overrated

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Batman: Arkham Asylum Game of the Year

The story, grizzly characters and atmosphere is where this game excels. However The gameplay felt like it did enough to carry through, but barely. I had a good time playing through this one, but it felt a bit chorish, and the anti-climactic final fight with the Joker just didn't leave me feeling to fulfilled. However it was good enough to warrant me getting Arkham City. It was overall worth it and if your a fan of batman you'll probably love the title.

97

Why can't AAA have this kind of well...EVERYTHING

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Bastion Cap

Hands down one of my favorite games out of recent memory. The art style is just awesome for me it's beautiful and has this hand painted feel almost. The narrator will keep you immersed and into the tale with a few nice laughs along the way as well. The game play was very tight and quite enjoyable throughout the whole time. The difficulty was just perfect for me as well. It got kind of difficult but never to the point where i wanted to snap my keyboard over my knee. Did I mention the narration? The story is good as well! However my favorite part probably hands down of this game has to be its music. I STILL LISTEN TO IT. The music alone adds enough atmosphere that it could've carried this game if it had a mediocre everything else. However this game excels in every aspect. You owe it to yourself to play this game.

91

A fresh beautiful take on the MOBA genre

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Awesomenauts

The games base price tag is fairly low. You get all content updates for free. The gameplay is a 2d side scroller MOBA game. however unlike every other DOTA/Leauge clone. This one holds its own with a nice fresh original take on the genre. Kind of feels like league of legends for the super nintendo or something. The gameplay is tight and intense. The characters are mostly all very very enjoyable. If you like Arena games. You will be pleasantly surprised with this one.

77

alright gameplay, great story

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake

A nice tense game wrapped in a beautiful yet dark atmosphere. The gameplay is fun, but its nothing GROUNDBREAKING. However I did enjoy the story quite a good bit. This title goes on sale all the time and I definitely recommend you pick it up next time you see it!

83

Let us engage in glorious space combat!

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of AI War: Fleet Command

Where as we dont get those crazy AAA graphics....You also save alot of money in comparison to the pricing of a AAA. whereas the game design mechanics and overall enjoyability for me is on par with AAA titles. theres alot of depth and strategy to the gameplay. If space is your thing pick this up!

76

a pleasant original title

theunknowned | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of 10 000 000

Yet another reason why i love indie games. Excellent low priced game with a nice bit of depth. Dungeon crawler meets roguelike meets puzzles!!! what isn't there to enjoy!

80

Absolutely mediocre gameplay meets a descent story.

theunknowned | July 30, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite (NA)

Let me start off the review by saying that i was actually quite a massive fan of bioshock 1 and 2. The shooting in Infinite is pretty average. There is nothing crazy fast or unique about it, i found myself choring through it at about the halfway point. I'll admit the shooting was never the best in the other bioshocks either but the plasmids and the better weapon upgrades in previous titles were what made the gameplay very enjoyable to me. It feels like everything was tamed down/dumbed down. Perhaps the darker atmosphere of the first 2 this one has its dark moments as well basically being child murder and racism but seeing the the bright characters of columbia versus the twisted mutants of rapture. Just...the tension was gone and it felt like i was jus drooling running through. The skyhook was a cool concept at first but felt overdone and when you fight the spiritual successor to the big daddy you jus feel like your floating around the whole time. Like I said earlier plasmids were awesome in previous titles....and in infinite...they jus felt....not as spectacular...As for the story...it was good...not FLIPPING AMAZING...but good. IT starts strong and finished strong, but it feels like they tried stretching out the mid-game to long or something. Whereas I enjoy long games. It felt forced to get over that taboo 8 hour margin. The ending will make you think and is a real emotional end. but with the fairly drug out story and overly average shooting....i give it an 8. a 60$ AAA title needs to be amazing in my book to warrant that price tag in comparison to the wonderful independent titles that have been flooding out as of late.

65

Meh

theunknowned | July 8, 2013 | Review of Resident Evil 6

its bland. They apparently had no clue what RE4 was. it was the perfect blend of suspense and action....then they just blew up and made it all out action...its not bad per se but its not living up to the AAA pedigree