Reviews by tomdoughnut

95

Fantastic game, bad port!

tomdoughnut | Sept. 6, 2014 | Review of Dead Rising 3: Apocalypse Edition

I've been playing this game solidly since it has been releases and I love it, it's sooo much fun, however like many people are saying, the port itself is very bad. There are noticeable frame rate dips throughout the game no matter what settings you have on. If Capcom fix these issues then I could not recommend the game enough, but for now I'd wait and see if they fix any of these issues.

90

Great game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 9, 2013 | Review of Bioshock Infinite

Lots of great graphics and really good AI for the main characters. Some of the fights are really difficult even in normal mode which is good. But the lack of a quick save is annoying as you can lose a lot of progress in the game. It doesn't quite have the same atmosphere style of the original but it's a pretty good attempt and will be a game you play more than once.

80

Very good game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Fallout: New Vegas DNS

Well, this game is "must" buy for anyone who enjoyed the first and second Fallouts, back in 90s.. Great atmosphere, interesting quests and storyline where you don't play the role of savior of Universe (at last). The main thing for me was that Fallout New Vegas feels live, while Fallout 3 felt more like an empty world. Anyway, my verdict - good game, worth buying and worth playing.

84

This game is very good

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of DmC: Devil May Cry

It is a real pity that many DMC fans are boycotting this game because of Dante's new look, and the drop in frame-rate from 60 to 30 fps.

Personally, I love this game! The gameplay, artwork, & soundtrack are all first class. The drop in frame-rate has not really affected the gameplay at all-it still feels perfectly smooth and responsive to me.

For the first time, we have a DMC with a coherent plot. The story is very well written and the voice acting is first class.

As for Dante, I prefer the new version. I felt that the old one looked like a camp magician or Broadway dance choreographer.

Overall, I love the job that Ninja Theory have done. I hope that they are commissioned for the follow up.

In the future, I would like to see a prequel where you play as Dante's father; either as DLC, or a standalone game.

94

Truly amazing!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Condemned: Criminal Origins

Best horror game I have ever played. Bit short but has great replay value as the AI is really unpredictable. The story line is twisting and complex but the fighting is simple and brutal. The fighting method requires some skill and this helps to make the game more interesting. The 18 rating is valid as it's pretty violent. This is excellently put together and a model game in the first person horror genre. Buy IT! You'll scream and cry with fear but it's worth it purely for the story line and amazing atmosphere.

77

Pretty good

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Clive Barkers Jericho

It is a good game, and a challenging one. I think a lot of games are purely judged on their multiplayer these days, and not the single player campaign. If you look at the campaign, it is easily as good as GoW, however multiplayer is non-existant, so it just gets slated. It might not be as technically impressive, but it does look tidy and has good effects. There is also no slowdown even when lots of targets on screen, and at times things can get very hectic, especially some of the bigger set pieces. The character swapping technique is an original concept, and works really well. You get to use 6 different soldiers all with different weapons and occult arts, and you will use all of them at some point. Particularly with the boss fights, you will need to work out which team memeber is most useful to implement. Only downside is the ending, which is abrupt to say the least. But then at least by not knowing what happens next, you can make your own interpretation I guess. Overall, I really liked it.

92

Brutal Legend is awesome

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Brutal Legend

Brutal Legend is amazing game! I never thought I could fell in love with an adventure game. The game is unique and sooo much fun. If you love heavy metal you're going to love this game! It has Black Sabbath, Motorhead and many other songs. The game is definitely worth your time! My recommendation - play it!

80

Brilliant

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Aliens vs Predator Pre

Great game, short but engaging story, brilliant graphics and great fun online. what more can you want? really enjoyed all three stories (theres a seperate story for each race) with the predator story being my favorite. If you dont really enjoy first person games, dont get it, but if you do, this will keep you on your toes and scare you witless in places.

92

Awesome game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Assassins Creed III

Although there has been mixed opinions on the newest instalment of the Assassin's Creed series, I totally believe that it is the best game yet. The new free running system, although possibly too easy, is extremely clean and enjoyable, whilst the new environment that you can do it through is massive, and stunningly beautiful. The new combat is harder than in previous Assassin's Creed games, but far greater, and there is a wider variety of ways to fight your enemies (however I tend to stick to the original tomahawk).

On the other hand there are a few little problems with the game, which is probably why it has contrasting views. The new menu is quite difficult to adjust to at first, and the new crafting/trading system is very confusing, and you don't even get a proper tutorial of how to use it. This is surprising because the tutorial in story mode is actually one of the longest for any games. The only other annoying thing about this game though is when you are randomly launched into the air and then dropped, killing you in spectacular fashion.

To sum it up Assassin's Creed III is an amazing game. The new engine which Ubisoft has used gives immense fighting and great graphics. The storyline is extremely gripping and at times even emotional (in a weird way of course). I think that Assassin's Creed III is the best game ever.

87

Amazing visuals, damn good fun!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Just Cause

The game is based in a luscious tropical archipelago of islands, the game world is massive and has realistic day/night, weather effects like tropical storms, lightning, low lying cloud and so on, the scenery is beautiful - think Farcry but with weather effects and on a much more massive scale and including towns, bridges spanning valleys, docks, an airport and so on.

The game leaves you pretty free to do what you want and you're free to go wherever you want however there is also a mission based storyline which is pretty cool. Missions range from hijacking vehicles, to chasing a train through a valley in a helicopter to obliterate it with rockets. There's a wide range of vehicles - cars, motorbikes, helicopters, buses, planes, boats that are all useable. The game has a large variety of sub-games such as races round mountain tracks, races in planes and boats, helping friendly cartels take over enemy villas and so on.

The game isn't without it's bugs and the AI can be a bit simple, however none of it is game breaking and they're all probably going to be fixed in a patch I'd guess as they all look like fairly easy things to resolve from a programming point of view.

Overall, think of the game as grand theft auto in that you have a massive set of areas to explore and things to do, inserted into Far cry's luscious tropical settings coupled with a james-bond like secret agent style theme and story line.

If you want a game with lots to do then this is a great choice, purchased alongside Saints Row it's a perfect companion with both games being of the same genre - that of massive, free roaming worlds but both with differing storylines, differing vehicles, weapons and sub-games.

All in all I really recommend this game, one of the most fun I've played in a while and probably the best looking game I've ever played!

90

AMAZING!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Dead Space 2 (EU)

This game is a great horror game. The atmosphere is so intense you're kept on your toes at all times. This is a big improvement from the first game and has a multiplayer mode added to it. The story is absolutely brilliant and the multiplayer is pretty good to. If you liked the first game you'll love this one.

95

Best Far Cry by far!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Far Cry 3

This is an amazing game. If you've played previous Far Cry games you'll immediately notice a big improvement. Everything about this game is awesome. You're put into a massive open world in which you can explore at your own leisure.You can hunt animals, play the great story or participate in one of the many great activities. This game is simply great and I highly recommend you purchase it.

93

My favorite Battlefield game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Battlefield: Bad Company 2

This game is perfect. I absolutely love the story and the multiplayer is even better! The plot is great and the missions are amazing! It's one of the best stories I've played. The multiplayer on the other hand is a blast. There's lots of people online and the destructible environment makes the games online feel new and ever changing as the game progresses. I highly recommend this game to any first person shooter fan. It's great!!

95

Brilliant game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of BioShock® 2

I absolutely loved the first Bioshock and thought that a sequel set in Rapture, albeit eight years later, was going to be far too similar to the first. Initially, my first reaction to the new game was just that. However, as I played the game and got deeper into it I began to really appreciate the differences made.

Firstly, the weapons are quite different, the most interesting addition perhaps being the drill. There is also the rivet gun and the spear gun. A funky new addition is the remote hacker, which is used to shoot darts at remote units to hack them, but can also deploy turrets to help defend areas. The shotgun makes a return but is still rubbish in my opinion although the special rounds are a little different and can be quite effective. Also returning is the machine gun (though more like a gatling gun), the rocket launcher and the research camera, although it works like a movie camera this time.

I loved actually playing as a Big Daddy. Of course the player in the first game had to turn himself into a Big Daddy, but this did not affect the gameplay at all. In the new game, you sound, move and attack like a Big Daddy should. It always spooks me a little when the Little Sisters refer to me as 'Daddy' and look at me lovingly with those vacant eyes, but it does make the player feel more like a Big Daddy. I like the fact that the player actaully takes the Sisters to 'angels' to extract Adam. It can be quite difficult fending off enemies in this process, but the turrets, rivet traps, rocket launcher mines and spear traps all come in handy.

I found the new hacking game so much better. The old one, where you had to rearrange pipes, was pretty fun to play but was so repetitive and time consuming, and after 50 hacks or so I began to hate those blasted pipes. The new game features a skill stop game - you must stop the needle on a green area or a blue one, which gives a special bonus that could be a first aid kit or extra cash in a safe.

It was a little disappointing that so much was the same in the new game, such as the vending machines, most of the plasmids and tonics, and most of the denzien types. But how different could a game environment be that is set in the same underwater dystopian city. I found that Bioshock 2 was as addictive as the first in terms of gameplay. I also found the new storyline very good, but thought that the Dr Lamb character was fairly redundant. I think perhaps if the player had a direct affect on her outcome, as opposed to the actual indirect affect, then she may have felt more relevant. I'm not saying that she has no effect on the storyline at all, far from it in fact, but the developers could have made the relationship between her and the player alot more interactive.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the game. I think those who love a good story and an addictive gameplay will love it. Those who expected a game which was totally new but at the same time a clear sequel to the first were perhaps expecting too much. I thought that the game was a fantastic sequel to the first and moved the Bioshock franchise forward - for example, we know now what it feels like to be a little sister and a Big Daddy, and we know more about the power rivalrys in pre-civil war Rapture.

72

Not to bad

tomdoughnut | Aug. 8, 2013 | Review of Aliens Colonial Marines and Season Pass

This game is a slight disappointment. It's no where near as good as it should have been. The game play isn't terribly enjoyable and the story can seem a bit repetitive but I enjoyed the game never the less and I would recommend it to anyone that likes the aliens films or a fun first person shooter.

98

Bethesda have made an amazing game once again

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Nexway

Skyrim: The fabled Dovahkiin, or "dragon-born", emerges in the world land of Skyrim, and he slowly discovers the prophecies which await him. The powers of this once-thought mythic man are unknown to most people of Skyrim, so as the player progresses through the storyline, they attract more attention to themselves, gaining ever more quests and journeys for the player to enjoy. Unlike the preceeding Elder Scrolls games, Skyrim introduces new creatures and powers that the world, both fictional and real, have never seen before. The creatures range from drgons, to trolls, to zombies, to emperors and Bethesda has left no detail untouched as they upgrade the water graphics and gameplay so Skyrim ensures that everyone shall enjoy and love this game. With the addition of Steam Workshop, the player has an infinite supply of armours, quests, characters and weapons to enjoy. 10/10 and a definite buy.

86

Awesome zombie fun!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Dead Rising 2 Classics

Dead Rising 2. What a game. What is there to say? A game about a competition-winning father (Chuck Green) who keeps his bitten daughter safe while he searches for food, supplies, and a cure for the zombie virus. In a game where the topic is so morbid, Capcom has managed to had unimaginable amounts of humour to a game such as this, as the player is able to wear miniskirts, slide down water rides, or even drive a car in a mall; everyone's dream come true. I would not ever recommend this game to a father who has a daughter around the age of five years old, as the facial expressions in the storyline will bring any grown man to his knees and make him weep as he watches Chuck assure his daughter that everything will be okay, though, both the player and the character doubts the truth behind it. There is never a dull moment in Dead Rising 2, because there is just too much to do! Leveling up, killing zombies, going to the gym, trying on clothes, finding food, and even doing minigames; it's too much to do in one playthrough, so there is an endless amount of times you can play this game, so the replay potential skyrockets. A definite buy for anyone who loves seeing the blood of zombies spray over every wall, floor and object. 5 Stars all the way.

96

Amazing game!!!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Red Dead Redemption

Red Dead Redemption: John Marston. A former gang member, turned good by the ever-changing society that is New Austin. Since the last game in the series, Red Dead Revolver, John Marston has started to see the way that America is changing, both for the good, and also for the bad, as he must achieve final closure on his former allies. We learn to see John Marston's real personality as we watch him interact with new and interesting characters, ranging from quack medicinal drug sellers, to police sheriffs, to crazy old men. The year, 1911, allows John to play and experiment with new and interesting concepts in the new world as this game in the series introduces trains, carriages, automatic weapons, and even the odd car. Not only that, but John Marston also has the option to travel to Mexico to meet an entire array of intersting characters! Addons for Red Dead Redemption will keep you amused for hours, even after the game has finished. The multiplayer is definitely one that is hard to beat, as you can play Liars dice with friends, or poker with mortal enemies, or simply shoot the hell out of everyone you see in free roam. 10/10 for this game.

100

Best Grand Theft Auto yet!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Grand Theft Auto IV

GTA IV: This game makes you immersed in the story from the very beginning as you follow the story of Niko Bellic; a man from croatia who travels to America with his cousin to live the American dream. As the player, you get to be a part of every aspect of his life in this new world, but don't think that the game is all hollywood and money. Niko has to face his inner turmoil against his problems with the mafia and other crime lords of this New-York-style city, shooting cars, flying helicopters, being in high speed pursuits and who can forget the blithe and flippant radiostations. This game mixes a good blend of seriousness and emotion with humour and comedy. Definiteley a game to get, 10/10.

89

Multiplayer is amazing

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Battlefield 3 (EU)

This game has a pretty good single player, not as good as the Call Of Duty games in my opinion, but it's still pretty good. The multiplayer however is absolutely amazing! When playing with a group of your friends online it's really fun. It's the most fun I;ve had on a multiplayer game in a long time. I you liked the previous Battlefields and you like online first person shooters, then there's no doubt you'll love this game.

80

Awesome tactical shooter

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Operation Flashpoint Pack

This game is a strategic and much slower game then other games that folks tend to play of this genre. But that said, it's a great game. you can play the same levels several times in different ways on huge maps. You can sneak around or shoot all that moves but it's much more realistic than other games of the genre as you react to injury by being less able to do certain tasks i.e. if you're shot in the arm your aim is impaired, shot in the leg you'll move slower. This game is very challenging and a blast to play online!

75

Great game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Operation Flashpoint Red River - 4 Pack

On a whole the game is fun to play, controls are a little clunky though, The AI in the game works well and the maps are well thought out, but the down side is the mission's can go on a little too long i would rather of had more mission's that are a little shorter plus the lack of vehicles is a shame too, On the plus side of things multiplayer is very good with your friends and the game physics, graphics, sounds are all very impressive.

90

Really awesome game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Borderlands

A nice cross between a shooter and an RPG with 4 player co-op and a huge map and storyline to complete as well as all the DLC, this game is taking me ages to complete but I'm loving every moment of it! Cartoony graphics add a certain humour to some otherwise graphic and gory details

Would certainly recommend to any shooter/RPG fans out there, a brilliant game to play with friends or by yourself.

94

Amazing

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of BioShock

This is one of the best games you'll ever play. The environment and excellent story absorbs you into the life of Jack, a man who crashed his plane in the middle of the Atlantic ocean, and discovers Rapture. The city was a failed dream, where people are not what they seem.

You can use many tools to defeat people in he city, including electricity and shotguns. The intelligent AI is what makes this game so fun to play; they even scare you at times, making the game suspensful after you see a shadow running across the wall.

All in all, it's a must buy.

78

Love the strategy and difficulty ramp

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown

Seriously if you like strategy and a relentess AI enemy that drives you into a corner and still kicks you while you're down (making it all the sweeter when you get the upper hand) this is you're game

I dont recommend it for hardcore action junkies or realtime strategy addicts Unless you're cool with turn-based gameplay stay away

85

Great game for a mature audience

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Mafia II

Like the original Mafia this game is more suited to a mature audience, not a 14-year old with an attention span of 5 seconds. The car handling is better than most racing games (with simulation physics), the gunplay and cover system is fantastic (again better than most shooters), music is great (no hip-hop, just the good classics :P). The game is rather realistic so your character can't take too many bullets, another feature reviewers rated as a flaw.

Some reviews claimed this game has unskippable cutscenes, which is untrue. You need to press start to skip cutscenes.

This is not really an sandbox game like some have mistakenly believed, it's an action adventure which takes place in an open world. This means there isn't that much to do outside of story missions, but the game still clocks in at a reasonable 10 hours. Everything good has to come to an end, but at least in this game you don't need to go bowling every 10 minutes.

92

Another great game by Rockstar

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of LA Noire

Most people buy this game thinking it's going to be another Grand Theft Auto type game- it's not. LA Noire is all about being a detective and working for the LAPD. Anyone who complains about the lack of shooting, flying, free roaming (etc...) obviously have bought the wrong game, because this isn't that. So before buying this game, make sure you know what you're buying because it is very different to Grand Theft Auto.

Now that that's out of the way, LA Noire is a unique game with good graphics and I admire Rockstar for introducing new technology to their game. Every single case is different and the variety in them certainly keeps me amused. I enjoy being able to inspect a crime scene and use the information given to be able to interrogate people who may have been involved. I love how you can use clues against people and can choose whether or not they are telling the truth (even though at times it does get very difficult).

Although I have never felt the need to free roam in this as much as other open world games (purely because the storyline is too intense), the map is of good size and I love the fact that it is set in 1940's Hollywood as the cars and buildings are fascinating.

Driving could be slightly more realistic and perhaps a longer story would have been better (along with a much needed multiplayer in my opinion), however the above have clearly not been big enough issues to change my mind about what a brilliant game this is. On saying that, one of my main issues is the ending; not just the last mission, but certainly the last few missions building up to it. I will not spoil it for those who have not played it, however I found the ending quite disappointing and I felt as though it could've have ended much better and with much more effect.

Nevertheless, I am so glad that Rockstar have produced a work of art like this and I hope to see more games like it in the future.

62

Not a bad simulator

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of BR 4BIG Class 422 EMU Add-On

This simulator isn't bad but it isn't the best out there. It's not the most advanced simulator and the graphics and detail aren't the best around. It can get a bit repetitive at times and it's just not that advanced and technical. Overall the games not bad, it just isn't the best simulator around.

85

Pretty good spinoff

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Alan Wake's American Nightmare

I loved the first Alan Wake and I'm happy to say the game play is practically identical to the first game. The story is good but fairly short although they have added a whored mode which is very enjoyable. Overall the game is very good and It's an absolute bargain if you can get it in a sale of for a cheap price. Very enjoyable!

71

Not bad but not brilliant

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

This game is definitely not as good as it should have been. I like it but since we've waited this long for it, it should have been a lot better. The missions are a bit repetitive and the game play can get slightly boring but the games a lot of fun and the silly comments and interactive objects make this game a good laugh.

88

One of the best Assassin's games

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Assassin's Creed 2 Deluxe Edition

This game is a huge improvement over the first. The story is much better and more diverse than the original games and the game play has been improved significantly. There are more weapons, new locations and fantastic missions. I f you enjoyed the first game then there's no doubt you'll absolutely love this one!

94

Once again another masterpiece by Rockstar

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Max Payne 3

This game is amazing! Rockstar are known for making great games such as "Grand Theft Auto" and "L.A Noire" and Max Payne 3 is no disappointment. The movement of your character and aiming with a gun is spot on. It's super accurate and feels a lot easier to control and a lot more realistic.The story is fantastic, as usual for a Rockstar game. This game is a must have for any Rockstar fan and any Max Payne fans.

86

An brilliant game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 7, 2013 | Review of Just Cause 2

This game is a tonne of fun! The graphics are awesome, the game play is fantastic and the story is pretty good. If you've played the first game then you'll see an immediate improve from it. The grappling hook is one of the main features of this game and is used to traverse around the massive world that is Just Cause 2. If you liked the first game then you'll definitely love this one!

91

An absolute blast!

tomdoughnut | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Saints Row: The Third

This game is insane! Take the game Grand Theft Auto and take all the seriousness out of it and turn it into a completely insane and over the top game, that is saints row. The story is pretty good but definitely not as good as Grand Theft Auto but the overall craziness of the game makes up for this. You can dress up in ridiculous costumes, use over the top weapons and play online co-op with a friend (Which is the most fun I've had in a long time). This game is hilarious and if you want to just relax and have a good time then I highly recommend you get this game.

95

This game is absolutely brilliant.

tomdoughnut | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: Limited Edition

This is one of the best games I've played! Everything about it is amazing. It's free roam, you level your character up, you can buy different skills and the story and side quest make the game extremely long. I've been playing for about 15 hours doing the story and side quests and I still haven't finished it! It's a brilliant game and if you like rpg games then you'll love this one.

82

Great game

tomdoughnut | Aug. 6, 2013 | Review of Dead Island

This game is great fun, especially online with a group of friends. You can level up, buy different skills for your character and explore the game as it's free roam. It's a lot of fun and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves zombies.

75

Pretty good

tomdoughnut | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Call of Duty: Black Ops

This game is very similar to other call of duty games. You run, you shoot, and the controls and feel to the game are very similar. This is not a bad thing though as it means you can jump right into the game and immediately start playing. This game has a great story with action packed missions and a fun online mode with new mode such as "gun game" and "sticks and stones".

89

Amazing

tomdoughnut | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Left 4 Dead 2

This game is brilliant. It's much like the first but with more weapons, including melee weapons, more zombies, and more levels. It's absolutely fantastic especially when played with a group of friends online or split screen.

93

Brilliant

tomdoughnut | Aug. 5, 2013 | Review of Batman Arkham City Game of the Year

This game is absolutely fantastic! I've played it for hours and hours and still haven't got bored of it. It's fantastic and added with the dlc makes it well worth your money. I highly recommend this game!