Reviews by tommy255

100

Haven't played this game in years, it's still excellent

tommy255 | Jan. 11, 2014 | Review of Hitman: Blood Money

Just completed this game again and it's amazing fun. The biggest difference for me between this and absolution is that you don't get randomly detected for being in disguise, you may see this as making the game easier. But I enjoy the game more this way.

70

Kinda good

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of F.E.A.R Pack

The first game was definitely really disturbing and made me jump a few times. The second game also made me jump a few times, but not as much, felt to much focused on action and blood lust. And the third, well lets just say if there was no co-op I would hate it. So keep that in mind.

P.S: Bullet time is awesome

75

Definitely underated

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Spec Ops: The Line

This game is amazing, it has some pretty twisted themes and an a really unique setting , more games should definitely be set in Dubai. The gameplay mechanics aren't that strong but I still had a blast whilst playing this game. This game makes you do some really messed up stuff, I really wish that you had a choice in it, making the story feel more interactive, but that is just a minor complaint

70

An interesting combo

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Scribblenauts Unmasked: A DC Comics Adventure

It's not much different from scribblenauts unlimited, but with DC Comic characters now added. And I ain't complaining. Personally I couldn't really get into it because I played SOOO much of its predecessor that this game is boring for me. But I also like DC Comics so that bumps the score up.

90

Finally, it's on PC

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Mortal Kombat Komplete Edition

A great game, and the DLC is just a nice bonus. Nothing groundbreaking just extra characters and the like. It brings back such nostalgia that it's a must buy for any fan.

Also considering a genre, a controller is DEFINITELY recommended, I have yet to see a fighting game that is better with mouse and keyboard.

75

Brilliant! - But where's the rest?

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Half Life 2: Episode 1

Half Life 2 Episode 1 picks up exactly where Half Life 2 left off. Who's confused already? Can't blame you! It's a sequel (of sorts) but the "Episode 1" monicker does suggest prequel in this post-Star Wars world. Maybe it's just me, but I've had to try to explain the title to a few of my non-gamer mates, and it didn't really work. To me, original working title "Aftermath" would have been loads better, and more descriptive.

Anyway - the game opens with a very dubious, cop-out explanation of why Gordon's back and what happened to the G-Man. But that's all over quickly and you're back in City 17, on the brink of a cataclysm. Your goal is to escape the ruins of the city before the alien Citadel structure goes into meltdown - and that's all.

Along for the ride you have Alex Vance pretty much all the way through (but not Dog, her pet robot), and she's a fairly sweet companion, adding words of encouragement even when it's not always necessary and more importantly she's nifty with a gun, so she'll keep the heat off you. But you can't help but feel that it would be nice if Gordon said even a single word to her at any point. Is he mute? Must be. Or maybe he just doesn't fancy her.

You'll encounter new enemies. Firstly, the strange Stalkers (who don't do a heck of a lot of stalking, but do have one very memorable and scary scene) in the Citadel, when you're armed with nothing but the super-powered gravity gun. (What a Dull, Dull weapon that is. You'll be pleased to know that you will eventually get your regular arsenal back for serious combat)

Then you'll meet Zombine. I admit, the Zombine disappointed me at first - I was expecting more horrors. But they quickly go from let-down to real pest to being very, very dangerous - shuffling around carrying live grenades, mindlessly blowing the beans out of themselves and you)

You'll also meet old enemies, like the poison headcrabs (horrid), and Ant-lions (no bug-bait this time though - you'll have to fight 'em!), as well as those fast, skinless, heavily mutilated headcrab zombies which roar in pain as they rip at you - still the nastiest thing in the game by far.

The game is a hell of a lot harder than Half-Life 2 was, which is a good thing - that was too easy by far. Some of the set-pieces will take a lot of practise to get through. The graphics are as good as you'd expect and the (main) characters still excellent. The rank-and file squaddies are still pretty dumb mind you - and they get massively in the way. Shame you can't use a bit of "battlefield justice" to deal with them.

Apparently, you don't need to have Half Life 2 to play this - but I can't imagine it would make any sense at all if you've not at least finished HL2, so I'm not sure what Valve were trying to achieve there. If you're a fan of Gordon Freeman already, you'll enjoy the experience. If you're not yet converted, this is probably not the best way into the Half-Life universe.

The episodic nature is very apparent. For the best part of twenty quid you don't get a heck of a lot. Did I feel cheated? Yes. Will I be buying Episode 2 as soon as it's out? Hell, Yes. It does a fine job of leaving you wanting more.

But there is no escaping the fact that it does just End. Very abruptly. It's almost as if they cou

100

Great Beginning to a hopefully sensational season

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of The Walking Dead: Season 2

If anyone played heavy rain then you will love this game, the gameplay is a case of follow the story line and make your choice, save this person, kill this zombie, make a choice of who you want to save, who gets food, the best part about the game is the storyline, its more like a film your creating as you go along, i dont want to put any spoilers on here, i didnt think i would like the game to be honest im more of a call of duty and fifa person but i have had this game for a week and just completed episode 2. its not very often i will replay a game but with this i find myself going back to restart the episode to see how i can save the person i wanted to save, what happens if i make this choice or that choice. honestly one of the best games i have played in a long time.

25

Meh

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Modern Warfare 2 will be very familiar for those who played the original Modern Warfare...and that's because the game hasn't moved on much, and, in fact, gotten worse...

The first person story game is okay, I'll play it once...but the on-line multi-player experience is terrible.

Gone are the dedicated servers, the quick game joins, the glorious 40 player games, the occasional cheat (because the server admin kicked him and his winging mate...

All replaced with peer to peer hosting (read: laggy), automatic (read: poor) player matching, the maximum 18 player (9v9) games, and the occasional honest player, who, like you, has stumbled into a bot v. bot battle of the cheat...

I am now praying to the God of Honest Players that a dedicated server will be released, along with stronger anti-cheat measures, so that this emptiness I feel will go away....

But they have my money now...I don't think I'll ever feel as if it wasn't conned out of my pocket...

30

Grudgingly finished, regret my purchase

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Tomb Raider

This game has far more negatives than positives in my eyes. It is ruined by the INSANE amount of QTE, cinematics and control being taken away from the player literally every 5 minutes for no good reason. The developers failed entirely in their attempt to pace the game, the result being you're either mowing down dozens of guys (yet you still freak out at seeing a single dead body), pressing W to proceed through the literally hundreds of cinematics (pretty sure my middle finger has doubled in strength), or breathing deeply to let out your frustration that the QTEs regularly don't even work on PC. Not only are they awful but you'll die frequently just because you don't know the button to press or fail because the stylized system they use to show timings is so unclear! In addition, the tombs are AWFUL, I don't think a single one of them took me longer than 10 minutes. One of them (hall of absolution iirc) involved you just throwing some items on a platform to bring it down, then just getting on it and throwing them off. That was the whole tomb, took less than 2 minutes. The rewards for completing tombs are also awful, normally just being a skill point or weapon upgrade point - I say point because the weapon upgrade system is the most nonsensical arcadey piece of trash I've seen for a while, it tries to immerse you by offering "realistic" upgrades, but it really isn't very immersive at all when I can turn my 1940s WW2 era Sten into an AK47 with just two "weapon parts", the "parts" to which I've found in tombs thousands of years old!

The game does have some redeeming features, such as some of the cinematics are very impressive and the game is graphically beautiful, but it tries to be too much like a film and falls short. A film is sculpted around the fact the viewer isn't directly involved in the action, which is why such high quality acting, writing and direction are necessary to create an immersive film. Tomb Raider has none of these features, and so falls short as a game, my hunch is that the developers secretly outsourced the writing to Michael Bay.

Overall, if you've just got off the high of the wonderful world and visceral combat that a game like Far Cry 3 offers, then this game is going to seem like a bunch of steps backwards. I was looking forward to the end from before even half way through. Research this game before you buy so you know what you're getting into. The game tempts you with survival aspects, but in reality it is probably the most linear game I've ever played, being required to get food because your character is hungry AS PART OF THE MAIN STORY is just madness, that should be either an optional side quest or implement a survival aspect in the game! Normally if I don't like a game I shrug it off and move on, but Tomb Raider is such a wasted opportunity, the developers have filled the (relatively short) game up with hundreds of cutscenes out of sheer laziness. It is clear they have made no effort to implement a proper combat or movement system which would be capable of handling their vision for the game, and so they just filled it with cutscenes and some very basic mechanics. It's like the developers even knew this and created the stupid and unnecessary system of collectibles, which have no impact on the game other than some context, because the games mechanics are so flawed and repetitive. For example, you can't use the pickaxe you've had since the start of the game in melee until you've "learned" that skill, since when does one need to "learn" how to swing an axe in someone face? Why can Lara use a bow like she's the love child of Legolas and an Amazonian archer and not swing a massive freakin pickaxe in someones face? How does tapping a zippo lighter on the front of your bow create flaming fire arrows that set everything alight? I genuinely think the devs of this game were smoking crack whilst making it. I could go on forever about the games goofs, all games have them to some extent but at this level they really made me feel like the devs were taking me for a fool. Taking into account what other games you could buy with £20 I would recommend absolutely against buying Tomb Raider, it simply isn't worth the money, maybe at a 1/4 the price I would consider it, but I feel very let down by the game and regret spending my money on it.

80

Brilliant art style and story

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Crysis 3 (NA)

First person shooters tend to grow old fast when I'm behind the gun, especially if its a single player game. BioShock Infinite managed to steer clear of this trend, leading me from start to finish within a few days.

I loved the art style and setting. The world is so beautifully built and crafted by the developers and the story line is both touching and clever. Throughout the game I grew to care about the characters and I was genuinely interested in learning more about them.

The gameplay was often fast and furious, mixing gunplay and supernatural powers amazingly well which helped create some very unique and exciting battles. Swapping and changing your powers and loadouts really helped to add an extra layer to Bioshock.

Despite my ability to grow bored of the genre pretty quickly I absolutely loved Bioshock Infinite. Its worth diving in for so many reasons, story line, gameplay, there's just so much to try.

80

Maximum Spectacle

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Crysis 3 (NA)

The game is stunning in appearance, with every aspect of vision and sound meticulously crafted. The control scheme is also perfect and there is never any significant disconnect between the player's intent and the character's actions. Crysis 3 continues the traditions of its forebears in these regards, pushing a new generation of gaming PCs to their limits. Predictably, this game also suffers from the same weaknesses as earlier entries in the series: a weak plot and few interesting characters. The supporting character Psycho adds a personal touch that has been absent entirely in previous games, but he alone is not enough to compensate for the non-characters that perfunctorily populate the rest of the game.

The bow enhances the stealth element to gameplay, which is consistently good fun, right up until the last couple of missions where stealth ceases to be an option. The final boss fight is a frustrating jump in difficulty. However, since the story is so uncompelling I didn't see any reason to push through and just gave up at that point. The game had given me what I had wanted and I had derived the enjoyment I had expected by that point.

30

It's not Battlefield

tommy255 | Jan. 5, 2014 | Review of Battlefield 4 (NA)

To paraphrase Dice/EA - I've been playing Battlefield since 1942. I played the expansions, Mods ( Desert combat X )Vietnam, Heroes, BF2, 2142, BF3, BC1 & BC2, Battlefield play for free. Whilst I don't think of myself as a game reviewer, I am a veteran of the series. I don't usually write reviews at all, but I felt strongly enough to add my views in the hope that it helps.

I eagerly pre-ordered BF4 as soon as it was announced. Simple as that - I love the series. You can call me a fanboy and you would be correct. I've played Call of Duty up until it got too stupid/carried away, so I have a good basis for comparison.

Simply put, this latest Battlefield has lost it's way, and may as well be labelled 'Battlefield: Call of Duty'. The maps are confused and messy, it focuses too much on 'run and gun' mentality rather than the pedigree of previous games of tactical play. Other maps are too open and boring. A lot of the features from BF3 are gone. Detailed stats for example at the end of the round being one. My mates and I would have a 'Top Trumps' style game of who got the longest headshot after each round - can't do that anymore. Other features have been removed, and the notifications of awards/upgrades/promotions in the game is very cheap and 'consoley'.

In short, it feels like it's been dumbed down.

Another current massive problem is that it really needs patching badly. The Alpha and Beta versions which I played felt more stable than the current 'Gold' ( release ) version. Random disconnects crashes are very common, and Lag is on a lot of servers, especially 64 player. Hit detection is currently way-off.

I would wait at least 2 weeks for Dice to start fixing it. I don't blame them, I think EA has rushed them. It's been the same story with BF2 and BF3 - they had the same issues at the start.

That aside, I can't see a patch curing the awful maps and gameplay.

If you haven't got BF3, get that - it's a far better battlefield experience and is far better.

I'm very, very disappointed with BF4.