Reviews by toshexy

97

Best value ever!

toshexy | June 28, 2014 | Review of Borderlands 2 (MAC)

This game is so great, so amazing - such an improvement over the first one. The story is so well though out, the antagonist such a taunt, every single enemy in the game is brilliant... I am literally out of words to describe this.

And for this price - you better grab it fast!

Truly an amazing game!

76

This game is a blast!!!

toshexy | June 24, 2014 | Review of Battle Group 2

This game, as you might have noticed if you follow my reviews - is just the type of game I like. The type of game that takes me to my youth days, where we played on 16 bit consoles and man was it fun.

What can I say about this game? It's basically the same concept as meteor invasion games, with a touch of retro styling. I really love it. It's the type of game that makes you wanna push it to make it further.

Swarms of enemies attack you and you have to try and survive. You can have upgrades and it really adds a bit of a tactics to the game, since you have to plan what kind of a strategy to go in with to survive longer and make things easier.

All in all a heaps of fun, but more suited for touch devices than gaming rigs. Definitely recommended!

64

Really so-so...

toshexy | June 24, 2014 | Review of Martial Arts: Capoeira

Capoeira - the brasilian martial arts that looks so much like dancing may be extremely pleasing to look at in real life, and it is even more amazing if you can manage to move like that.

In a video game though it is very hard to fight using such maneuvers and this game is proof. Half the time you just dance around and when you manage to land a hit it's really a lucky shot most the time.

Think of it as a fighting game where everyone is Eddy Gordo, but with lesser mechanics than Tekken.

Practicing may prove very advantageous but considering the engine this game has I doubt it will catch on outside your home. Still it's plenty fun with friends and I recommend it just for the fun of it especially with the low price tag here.

94

I am become PUMBA!

toshexy | May 26, 2014 | Review of Full Bore

I gotta say, I have never played as a bore before (rhyme!). Still this game peaked my interest. It's a puzzle platformer, and if you've read any of my reviews you'll know I LOVE PUZZLE AND PLATFORMER GAMES!

You know how some people are more curious than others. Those kind of people that wanna check every side route in a game just for the sake of curiosity? This is a game for those kinds of people. If you're not very curious and like linear games then you might not enjoy this game so much, or might not explore it's full potential.

Graphics aside, because lately pixelated 8bit games are simply "rad" - and let's face it we like and don't mind it - this game is very well made. The puzzles are fun and the element of joy when discovering a secret just hits you with this game - you feel so great when you play it! The best part is, all the puzzles can be solved at the spot - no need to wait for further in the game so that you acquire some ability or not... it's just you, your brain and the puzzle!

Puzzles get more complex the further you progress and with each puzzle you might learn something about the blocks you thought you already knew. Solving them is very satisfying and ego-boosting. You will definitely feel very smart after clearing some of them.

The game is accompanied by nice background art, animations and a wonderful soundtrack. There are occasional spelling and grammar errors, but hey, nothing too major.

All in all a great indie game, the kind after my own heart and I can't but give it a very high rating. Go and get it!!!

86

Best of the arcade days in one!

toshexy | May 24, 2014 | Review of Street Fighter X Tekken

I love going to arcades with friends. Most of them got latest gen consoles these days, but some of them also have the old arcades with the good old games.

Lately we've been skipping on the arcades and hitting it on SFxTK! Story mode? Sure! Versus mode - you got it! Tons of fun? Check! Good graphics - good enough!

This game has it all, and I mean it. Just make sure you have some friends with you and some spare cheap controllers - cause there will be blood and controllers might be broken in the heat of the excitement this game brings! (trust me I almost wrecked one of the controllers at the arcades the other day)

Stakes are high, adrenaline too. It must have been a tough job to put both these 2 major names in fighting games into one place but man did Capcom and Namco pull it off! The mechanics and most the fighting feel resembles SF more, but TK has contributed with the tag system. There's always double the players fighting and double the fun. There's a gem system in play, that I haven't really grasped altogether myself yet, but it seems like it plays a big tactical role.

Graphics are a bit overwhelming. At times there's just too much going on on the screen and it can be a bit confusing or cluttered. But once you get used to it it's not that bad. MK is far superior in this area and it's x-ray slow motion critical attack is really awesome, so it's a more of a bare-bone fighter game with a few blings. SFxTK on the other hand has a lot of more mechanics in it and is a lot more flashy - but it still captures that old arcade fighter feel.

Down side is - not all your beloved characters from both games are playable but some you may unlock via a DLC apparently. Also multiplayer mode was not real great either - especially the matchmaking, but that could be due to regional or technical circumstances so not too sure about that.

Bottom line is this: if you want a great game to brawl on with 3 of your friends, and have a ton of fun while shouting HADOKEN this is the game for you! GET IT!

93

Sheeps ahoy!

toshexy | May 24, 2014 | Review of Flock!

Capcom does it again! Flock is a logical puzzle game that has you doing a simple job - pilot a UFO to gather a flock of animals inside a ship and blast away with the prize! How cool is that? The presentation being on the goofy/cartoon and a bit comical side makes it all the more worth while. The hard part here is that you can't just pick the animals up with a beam, but you gotta make a path with it through wheat (crop circles anyone?) and scare those animals into following it. One wrong move and you could scare them into a water and all the animals drown. All the animals have their own characteristics so you have to use that to your advantage too. For example, a flock of bulls will lead to a stampede. There are also mating spots on the levels, which you can use... you know. You need a male and a female of an animal and voila! Bonus points ahoy! Graphics are great, not too much on the needy side but still enough for the game to be able to run yet look very appealing on any decent laptop or PC. The CO-OP possibility makes it even more appealing to me, cause you know I prefer games you can play with friends! Nothing more to say, the game is a blast, looks good, and it's a ton of fun with friends. Go pick it up!

96

Very addictive! Very fun! A must have!

toshexy | May 20, 2014 | Review of Counter Strike: Global Offensive

This is one heck of a competitive shooter. Remember the first time you played CS? Well you gonna relieve those kinds of feelings.

First up, it's much better made, much harder to play too. There are a ton of new tactics and each one is as important.

Second - you got various gun skins but those do not influence the outcome - it's a strictly skill based game.

Matching system is a bit lacking though - you sometimes end up playing with people much higher in rank and skill than you, and there are a lot of people that cheat using auto aim and stuff like that (see through wall is the worst).

But all in all, at least once a day you're gonna have such a great game that makes you go back for more.

There are also some competitive operations that you need to purchase tickets too, but the drops from these most the time cover your expenses.

All in all a must have! Get it as soon as you can!

96

A game after my own heart!

toshexy | May 18, 2014 | Review of Qbeh - 1 The Atlas Cube

Love this game! It's a visually pleasing game yet simplistically so. The world is set above the clouds, and you are in some cube made buildings and you have to find your way through. In your way are obstacles and you overcome them by solving puzzles.

I love puzzle games too, so this game combines 2 of the most important aspects in a game for me. You need to find cubes you can pick up and solve puzzles with them. The number of cubes is limited so you need to play it smart.

All in all a wonderful, visually pleasing, relaxing yet at the same time challenging puzzle game. The cherry on top of the cream is the music which is wonderful and soothing. As I said, this game is great and you have to get it! Period! Do it!

82

A great MMO with great Visuals...

toshexy | May 10, 2014 | Review of The Secret World

This is a great MMO especially since the monthly fee has been waved away some time ago and it's now free to play as long as you buy the game. I thought this is the most important thing to note first.

This game focuses on story line so much that it's unlike any or at least most of the MM games you've played so far. You are a part of one of 3 fractions, and the wold it's set in is the story you are trying to uncover. It's a mystery after a mystery and you go around picking up clues.

Instead of just talking to NPCs and skipping through the text you find NPCs with cut-scenes and stories to tell. Everything you do in this game feels like it's being done for a the purpose of unraveling the bigger picture. And you want to do that so you pay attention and are hooked by the story.

You can't amass a lot of quests and you don't often do the repetitive tasks we've all dreaded throughout all the other MMOs and that is a good thing. There are even quests that have you googling for info or trying to solve puzzles that are more complex that anything you've seen in other MMOs and it's a refreshment to do them. It can be a bit hard though, so be prepared - it's not a walk in the park.

There is no set class or level system in the conventional sense such as in other MMOs so there is some getting used to it. This is good because you can experiment with various weapons and game play styles.

The graphics is amazing, unlike anything you'd expect from an MMO. It's a DX11 game and that shows on the screen. I found the interface a bit lacking for my taste though. It is like they made this great game but just gave up when it came to designing the interface, so they just threw around a bunch of boxes on the screen. It's the same kinda thing you might have seen on Atlantica Online... really off-putting. And there are a few bugs too.

Still it's a great game, different in a good way from other MMOs and it's really worth it to give it a shot.

89

Do not miss out on it!

toshexy | May 10, 2014 | Review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution

We've seen this story before, but oh is it a good one. You are a military/police/security/tough guy that gets wounded and as a last resort turned into something like a cyborg. In Deus Ex HR that's called augmentation.

And then you discover the global conspiracy... and the hunt begins. The story of this game is great and you will get hooked. Characters are well developed and it all feels well made in terms of story line, if not very original that is - RoboCop anyone?

Augmentation gives you a lot of abilities, and you will need all of them to help you go through the game. The game-play will require you to both fight, but sometimes you will want to or have to take the stealth route. Hacking, hiding and some of your augmentation skills help here.

If you have to or just really want to do it the hard way, you have various weapons at your disposal. Going the stealth route rewards you with some bonuses or items you wouldn't be able to acquire otherwise. The AI is lacking but not so much to ruin the game play for you. Hacking in itself is also a very fun mini game in it's own - and I might add my favorite part of the game lol. Having the freedom to pick at least 2 routes for solving any part of the game makes it as un-repetitive as games get.

Graphics are a bit lacking in regards to the latest standards but it shouldn't surprise since it's not a very new game. In any case graphics isn't bad at all on an overall level and you will not find complaints - but it will not be as pleasing if you play it at the same time you play some graphically superior games of the latest generation.

Bottom line is this game is very fun to play and has a very well thought out of game-play elements. It would be a shame to miss it, and if you can afford to or if you can find it for a good deal you must get it.

90

CO-OP Time!

toshexy | May 9, 2014 | Review of Worms Revolution

Want to play a game with your friends together on your PC? Look no further. This is the game to play. Starting back with the original Worms and the epic Worms Armageddon Team 17 have only made a bad release once or twice.

This game is one of the great Worms games. It's perfect! The new engine allows for water bombs and strategies involving water draining, and it includes some very interesting weapons too.

All in all it's one of the best ways to spend an hour with friends, while having some fun and throwing threats at one another about what worm is gonna be sleeping with the fishes next...

Now if only you didn't have to purchase customizations with gold collected during gameplay... but I guess you gotta work for it a bit.

70

Really fun game, with a lot of kinks!

toshexy | May 9, 2014 | Review of Rocketbirds: Hardboiled Chicken

This game is a real love-hate one.

I love the art style, and how feathers fly off of the enemies you shoot. PLUCK EM ALIVE! :D

I like the puzzle elements and the co-op ability.

What I don't like about it is the fact that it didn't try to do better action. Take metal slug for example - you probably think that kind of action platformer style is perfect - and I do too. This game is 10 levels below that. You can only shoot left and right and duck which most the time does not difference. You don't see the gun trajectories and most the time if you just allow something to shoot at you you are hit.

But this game is primarily intended to be a puzzle platformer, not an action platformer. Also it is very well thought out in term of characters and it is very funny too.

I give it a 70/100 even though some may grade it much higher or much lower, i think this is the highest and most realistic grade for this game. It is definitely a ton of fun when played with friends, otherwise it's very much decent, but in any case well worth the price. You should definitely give it a shot.

74

Critics are too harsh, the game is great!

toshexy | May 8, 2014 | Review of THIEF

Mostly you'll hear that this game is a letdown. And it is not surprising given the hype related to it's release. Given the huge expectations this game does disappoint a bit, but hey - which game doesn't?

If we put that aside this is one great game, especially since it's been a while since there was a Thief game, and this one improves greatly on the experience you might remember from playing the old Thief games back at the day - and man do I remember that feel. You get it in this game as well.

Just stealing left and right is a repetitive thing though and becomes monotonous after a while. Doing the same thing over and over in any game becomes boring. Thus Square Enix decided Thief will not be just about stealing - there has to be a story that would include some big conspiracy and all that OMG I'm special stuff. And I don't see a problem with it. Though some of the plot may be too obvious, the game wasn't meant to be the story of the century, and so it's OK.

Structurally, the game is well thought out with main objectives and side quests that allow you more or less a good deal of open world (open city) exploration. And that feeling of freedom is a great deal for me. The mechanics are great, and the abilities are not overstretched, but kept to a certain level of realism - that makes things both more interesting and more fun to do. You gotta use a bit of your mind to accomplish things after all.

The biggest letdown in most games like this one is the very dumb AI. Enemies are blind most the time, literally, and when alarmed they just run around with no clue. When you get spotted they are limited to the places they can follow you - they won't even climb after you. So yeah, there are some points deduced here.

Bottom line is the game is a good one, it combines modern graphics and new additions with the feeling of playing the old Thief games. A winning combination in my book. That it didn't live up to the hype and promises of it before it's release, it didn't - but I think people should just learn to move on.

I have yet to find a game that is all and/or more than what it claims to be before it's release. If you find a good deal for this game, you should get it.

76

A fun little game!

toshexy | May 8, 2014 | Review of Reus

After you get the hang of the mechanics and the knack of growing your world you realize this game is not very complex. There is only so many things to know and afterwards you just have to use that knowledge to try and make a balance that supports life.

The map feels kinda small since there is a limited and small number of tiles from which you can draw resources, and this is the main difficulty of the game - choosing what resource is more important at certain times. The pace of the game is kinda slow, but not enough so to annoy.

All in all a relaxing and fun little game, with very nice visuals. If you can find it at a good deal I definitely recommend it!

98

It ended...

toshexy | May 7, 2014 | Review of Deponia Trilogy

Read my other reviews for the series, this is one of the best games ever! Period. Only way you're not gonna love this series is if you're not a fan of the genre, or should I say if you hate point and click games to the point of breaking a bicycle by throwing it into the computer when a point and click game starts... or if you have a console. Don't think this will work out well with a gamepad.

Rattle aside, this story was a crazy and lovely experience. At points I was like "wow seriously, he's gonna do THAT???" and yes Rufus does not disappoint. He finds ways to amaze and leave you with a jaw open, and after a minute with the biggest grin and laugh a game has ever rewarded you with.

This last part was the most extreme of them all. Everything is revealed, everything is 10 times more intense and all the fun is ten-folded.

The only things that put me down were the fact that this series ended. I wanted there to be more... Also maybe alternate endings? Sigh...

2 points deduced for my caprices, I'm off now goodbye.

Huzzah! He's off now goodbye!

100

Best game ever, if you're a fan of the genre!

toshexy | May 7, 2014 | Review of Deponia Trilogy

Daedalic entertainment are the kings of the point and click adventure puzzler genre. And this game is just another testament to their greatness.

Deponia, the trilogy... This has got to be one of my most favorite series of all time. But I must add that I am a big fan of the genre, so if you are as well you will surely not be disappointed.

What makes this serial so special is the fact that it will constantly make you laugh, it will make you want to root for the characters and at the same time enjoy a wonderful world and crazy decision making that will have you do things and act in ways that you have never dared.

Honestly it's so goofy, egoistic and down right hilarious it would be a shame not to at least check out some trailer and give it a chance.

If you play it with friends I guarantee it will be some well spent and fun hours, just grab the snacks and let everyone participate with ideas since the puzzles - though so much fun - are not always easy to solve.

This game rocked my world, i give it 100/100 without even blinking.

"But when all hope was lost someone raised from the dust he was handsome and cunning his haircut had style.

Courage was shining in his eyes as he said screw you guys mind your own business I'm off now goodbye.

Huzzah! He's off now goodbye!"

100

Huzzah! A sequel is born!

toshexy | May 7, 2014 | Review of Chaos on Deponia

What can I say about this game you can check in my review of Deponia. What I can add about the sequel is that it does not disappoint.

It continues where part one left off and it makes you jump back into that action right away... though in this part there is even more mind-bending decisions being made... seriously how whacked in the head is Rufus?

But it's all a ton of fun and if you have played the first part, and are a fun of point and click puzzle adventures, you have no need to even read this review. You want it, so get it right now!

Huzzah! So get it right now!

100

It brings tons of laughs! [Huzzah! It brings tons of laughs!]

toshexy | May 7, 2014 | Review of Deponia

This is one of the most fun games I have ever played. Period. The characters are all so well thought out, but utterly unpredictable.

The most fun thing about the game is you'd have to think so much outside of the box on this one since most the decisions you need to make and things you have to do are done in the most ridiculous way possible - which is awesome!

Soundtrack, visuals, gameplay and voices are all AMAZING. Seriously, GET THIS GAME - you want to. Do it!

And so say we all! Huzzah! And so say we all! (You'll get the Huzzah reference when you play it :3 )

50

Decent, but not worth the money. Great soundtrack though.

toshexy | May 7, 2014 | Review of Bastion

I'll include the summary first in this review, and then add the details:

It's not worth the money, wait for a real good discount and maybe then buy it. Or better yet, save your money for "Transistor" from the same game makers.

This game is decent fun, has nice art and an amazing soundtrack. But the gameplay is not that much to my taste mostly since the control of the character is kinda weird (can't explain it real well, you have to try it to know what I mean) and that really subtracts from the overall experience.

The narrating is good and cool, but becomes ridiculously boring after a while. Seriously, it bored me to the point where I muted it.

All in all a decent game, but I think had it been a platformer it would have been even more fun.

100

Oh the joy this game may bring!

toshexy | May 6, 2014 | Review of Age of Mythology: Extended Edition

It is such a nostalgic game. It's been years since I first played it, but oh how delightful each and every second playing this game has been.

You pick a culture, and play as the gods it has. Lay waste to your enemies with the thunder of Zeus, spy on enemies with the power of Loki, or call upon a meteor to devastate any who oppose you through the wrath of Set.

Though it's an old game, it has quick gameplay and it's a joy to play through the eras wielding godly powers that may both aid your people or destroy their enemies. Picking which God you play as is vital and it will make you want to play again and again to explore every god's powers.

And even more fun when played with friends.

Give it a shot, you will not regret it. This game may be old, but oh does it bring a smile to one's face.

85

Great game, but oh how the time flies...

toshexy | May 6, 2014 | Review of Sid Meier's Civilization® V

You have to be prepared to spend a few days exclusively playing this game if you want to really enjoy it - and oh how you will. It's such a delight to expand and advance a civilization in this game. There are so many ways you can go on to do just that, and such joy when you do a good job.

Never the less, this is not an easy game to play. Every single decision and movement counts, and the AI is ruthless - give them enough room and they will jump ahead of you in a blink.

Bottom line is this is and always has been one of the most brilliant turn based strategy games. Compared to other Civilization games it may not be as complete as some of the others, and most the features it lacks you would have to get through DLC's - which is why I'm deducing 15 points. Had it come out of the box with "The Brave New World" and "Gods and Kings" DLC features, it would have been a 100/100 game.

Be warned tough, if you get hooked you may find yourself wasting days on this game just to be disappointed by a loss at the end. So if you have to do that at least do it with friends because you'll regret having spent all that time cooped up alone should you lose. If you win it would still be a bitter victory knowing you spent so much time playing a game cooped up alone at home.