Reviews by trinest

90

Just the same? Or "better".

trinest | Sept. 1, 2011 | Review of Tropico 4 DNS

Tropico 4 presents the players with what looks to be the previous game just a little different, and that glance is pretty much an accurate assumption. However the game does include things which make this assumption just a little bit primitive. For example the games challenge modes now feature an array of missions you have to accomplish throughout the game. Eg.One might pop up about asking you to build a church, and in return points with the various factions and some cash. There is also disasters, which don't really seem like they add much, but are great to look at and when a disaster comes by and distories your hard work, you just have to think that this game is becoming more and more like Sim City. However don't feel bad at the end of the day the games primary objective is still the same, which is to be one hell of a dictator, there's even still the classic sandbox mode if you get sick of challenges or just want to set your imagination free. There is even Twitter and Facebook integration so you can shoot out messages of your dictatorships cruel rise. Overall while it can feel it is more the same of the previous Tropico games, it stands on its own and worth the play for any die hard fan of the series, or anyone who just wants to poke around in a brand new simulation game.

94

A almost perfect transport game? Really?

trinest | Aug. 24, 2011 | Review of Cities in Motion dns

I remember playing the public beta and thinking to myself "wow this is an amazing game". Even then the games polish was high, and the hope I had for the title was quite strong. When the game came out I got myself a copy and found the same things I fell in love with about the title remained, as well as new things. The games maps are highly detailed, evolving throughout the years to have more roads and areas which need connecting. You can play missions, play sandbox levels or just build your own city and play in it. Yes, thats right, theres a level editor. Which is amazing. The game also has various DLC which I recomend which gives the players a few new cities. The main goal is to build a transport system in the chosen city. It can be easily compaired to games like Transport Tycoon. Cities in Motions transport options are quite detailed, however implementing these options into your city can get confusing. On the flip side the games polish is great, and the music is, well the music is just magical.

80

Just another FPS, but with a twist

trinest | Aug. 24, 2011 | Review of Borderlands

For me, the best way to sell this game and talk about it is to say it is just another FPS. However it has a few RPG twists which make the gameplay that much more intresting. If we remove ourselfs from the genre and talk about the experience, players will find themselves emersed in a world filled with bandits and other monsters. Challanges will arise which allows progress and leveling up. The desolate world will also have players scavaging for weapons and ammo, which gives a whole new twist and is great playing with more then one person.

82

Solid

trinest | Aug. 24, 2011 | Review of The Settlers 7 Collectors Edition

I love the idea which settlers offers gamers. That is one of sim city mixed with age of empires. Which for me is a winner. While it adds its own twists and tales. The overall gameplay is fairly cut and dry however. But any fan of civilization building should find it a treat. Settlers 7 updates the graphics and the sounds and pretty much everything to a modern experience worthy of any of the older titles in the series.

72

Flaws, but perfectly okay

trinest | Aug. 24, 2011 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Double Agent

Double Agent has to be my favorite Splinter Cell. The games story is pretty good for a game of its caliber. While the game might be a little bit boring on the tech side of things, supporting some pretty okay but average graphics and rehasing the stealth element to the point it feels somewhat miss used. At the end of the day it is a good packaged game despite its flaws and recommended if you want a game in the series.

69

Could do without, but could do with

trinest | Aug. 21, 2011 | Review of Duke Nukem Forever

Many of the recent entries into the series have been quite "shallow and predantic". The only thing it feels like which will sell Forever and other games in the Duke series is the Duke Nukem name, which is a shame. What has been produced could easily be not noticed by a gamer and still have a good collection. However at the end of the day if you where to buy this game, it is a nice experience, with the feeling that the PC version was always in the rear view mirror however. On the flip side some version updates have enhanced some of the issues which the PC version had, which means that one day the non- vanlia version would be amazing.

71

Interestingly captivating

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | Review of Zombie Driver

I like it. Someone else mentioned it as a time waster, and that is exactly what it is. If you can understand that it can take you from your work or what ever else you are doing to confined you to a game which just makes very little seance, I mean who wants to play a game which your running over hoards of Zombies in a car while picking up various powerups to escape the masses just in time? I know I don't- but this game, it has its ways of making you stay.

88

A perfect entry to a perfect series

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | Review of Sid Meier's CivilizationĀ® V

Civ V takes what Civ IV had and while it changed a few things, and slaughtered the games machanics down just a little. The embodied spirit of the game has emerged in Civ V to create something special.For me the best way to describe the series is a game which you build cities (which are just tokens) but you enhance these cities to generate the technology which enhances your units which allows you to whip out other civilizations. In the end, once you wrap around the Dungeons and Dragons complexity which can be imagined to the game you have one amazing experience.

93

To describe this game, I'd call it an "experience".

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | Review of Darwinia DNS

When I first looked at this game, the thing which clicked in my mind wasn't the gameplay or the sounds- but the graphics. A very unique style which just powers the game along really. I don't think this game could of worked in any other graphical style. What is this game? A magical real time strategy game which simplifies itself to what gamers expect at the core argument of what makes up an RTS. It truly is a magical experience which at the price it is these days, should be in anyone collection regardless if they enjoy it or not. It is one of those games in the world which you just have to play it to make up your mind.

90

A challenge with a magical design

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | Review of World of Goo

World of Goo could quite possibly be one of the best Indie games out on the market right now. While its a few years old now, it still retains the same ability to be a leading game even now. The goal is simple guide goo balls to the pipe. In a Lemmings style but simplified manner. Throughout the game you will encounter goo balls which have different powers, as well as finding various power ups (such as a whistle) which command the game in different ways.

75

Something special, but not perfect

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | Review of R.U.S.E.

RUSE is an amazing war game, I give you that, its filled with tanks and planes as well as other weaponry which will make your head explode with all the possibilities. You also have the ability to construct buildings which will make your arsenal just a little bit more complicated. One major difference from other war games is these sort of power ups you can use which affect various regions of the map. These effects can alter the games mechanics for a small period of time which makes it just a little bit more challenging, and a little bit more crazy.

88

If EA wont do it, someone else will

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | Review of Cities XL 2011

Over the years there has been one missing element in the world of simulation video games. That is the elusive city simulator, which used to be dominated by EA with their Sim City series. However after the casulaization and slowing down of the series, it ended up been lost in time. However now a new developer has updated their own city simulator to be something magical and up there as one of the greatest city simulators. However when your starved for a title in a certain genre it can get a bit of "it can do", however don't be turned off yet, that isn't the case with Cities XL, which provides an amazing experience following up from the previous Cities XL and other titles in its series. The game features an elaborate economy function which has your maps been created with goals of tourism, oil digging or other city altering changes. They make the game easier or harder too, depending on your skills you would defiantly want to start off with more resources, which is one disappointing fact about Cities XL, its a "take what you can" manner when it comes the world, with the worlds been auto generated, you wont find any custom maps shaped like New York or any other city you can imagine.

73

Super Meat Bust?

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | Review of Super Meat Boy

For me, Super Meat Boy hits all the marks of a great platformer, bar one which will make you insane and through fists through the computer screen. That is the games roofless difficult design. It might be good for some players, but for others who find challenge a little to confusing at times, will be turned off the game completely. However don't leave too soon, with the games 2D levels and imaginative graphic design will keep you just pushing for "one more level".

90

They call me el presidente

trinest | Aug. 18, 2011 | Review of Tropico 3: Gold Edition DNS

I didn't hear about this game until quite long after the title came out. My first thought was "how does it work", and many of you reading this probably also thought the same thing. How does it work? It is quite simple, think Sim City been taken over by an evil dictator who just at the end of the day wants to be loved.

The main game is put into a scenario based campaign mode. Which is sadly hit and miss when it comes to how difficult the game is.However don't to feel to bad, if you enjoy simulation games you will find yourself in sandbox mode playing for hours upon hours. The Radio DJ and the rebel leader banter on the radio will make you explode with laughter throughout your run as dictator, which in my book is a winner.