Reviews by tusccar

91

Great DLC

tusccar | July 5, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2: Tiny Tina’s Assault on Dragon Keep

This is the dlc I have been looking forward to. The others were very lacking, but this one is awesome. The storyline, dialogue, and new enemies are awesome. You won't regret this purchase. Buy one of the best bl2 dlc packs and spend a ton of time on this....its worth it!

75

Great game

tusccar | July 5, 2013 | Review of Tiny & Big: Grandpa's Leftovers

I loved this game, the art style and play style go together great and it is loads of fun. However as already stated, the controls are a bit wonky. Its almost perfect but controls bog it down. I still highly recommend this game to anyone!

83

Good pack for starters.

tusccar | June 27, 2013 | Review of BioShock Infinite: Columbia's Finest

If this were my first time playing through Bioshock then I would have passed this pack up. I dont like getting an advantage and normally play through the first time the way it was meant to be played. Playing through the second time, I would recommend this. The guns are obviously the main draw to this pack, and dont get me wrong, they are awesome. But the other main draw are the lockpicks. they are very scarce early on and I would have loved to have some for early secrets. Overall though I say that this is worth the five dollars, however you might be better off getting the season pass even though this is not included.

63

Suprisingly Enjoyable

tusccar | June 11, 2013 | Review of Battlefield Heroes: National Army Large Starter Pack (NA)

At first I was skeptical about this game. But I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed every bit that I played. The multiplayer was really fun however with all F2P games it had the major flaw. Pay to win. It was tough to face off against someone who had spent quite a bit of money due to the fact that they seemed to have massive amounts of troops and amazing weapons. It was a great game however now it has seemed to lose quite a bit of the community or maybe its just the times that i log on. I enjoyed it and the fact that you can buy a starter kit on GMG is cool but it would be nice if the game was more level even if someone spent quite a lot of money.

It wasnt without its bugs and random crashes but those were actually pretty scarce. Overall it was enjoyable. The luster of the game wears off once you realize that the pay to win feature ruins it. Fun at launch but after a year its time for me to call it quits.

86

Judging by the Beta

tusccar | June 10, 2013 | Review of Company of Heroes 2 Pre-Purchase

Some games you expect to be exactly like their predecessors and some set out to do the exact opposite and go above and beyond to create a new experience for the player. Playing the beta was just not what I imagined the game would be like, it was even better.

Never having been huge fan of RTS games, I've found it hard to play strategy games. That changed when I played red orchestra. This game harkens me back to my childhood of playing Red Alert. This game has exceeded the expectations that Red Alert had set. This is a game that everyone must play. It was not without its bugs, however it was a beta. There were very few bugs and fewer than some of the games that are currently already out. This was obviously a labor of love and hard work from these developers and should be treated so. If you have any interest in RTS games or think that this looks good, do yourself a favor and get it. It may suck the hours out of the day but you will not regret the time you spent leading your men into battle

87

Whats not to love?

tusccar | May 23, 2013 | Review of Metro: Last Light - Season Pass

At first I was hesitant that DLC could be brought into this game in a fitting manner, and yet they seem to know exactly what they are doing, which is quite the relief. Quick breakdown of the packs:

· The 'Faction Pack' and the 'Chronicles Pack' will include new, original single player gameplay that expands on the Metro: Last Light universe and story

· The 'Tower Pack' will present a unique solo challenge to Metro veterans

· Meanwhile, the 'Developer Pack' will give creative players some interesting tools with which to explore the world of Metro...

All in all it sounds like something that the devs are excited about and they have figured out a way to seamlessly implement it. Just the icing on the cake that is Metro: Last Light

......Plus 4 packs for $15....whats not to love?

97

Worth every penny!

tusccar | May 13, 2013 | Review of Metro: Last Light (NA) PRE

Received my copy early today (thank you amazon for the early delivery). Instantly I got down to work and ventured into the metro. Instantly I was in awe at the fact that tunnels and wasteland could be so perfect and beautiful.this is a beautiful game with amazing ambience and landscapes.the sun shining through the bleak skies gives hope that you might have a chanceto survive the metro.

Everything broken in 2033 was fixed and everything that worked great was improved on. The AI is very intelligent compared 2033. Enemies will hunt down the simplest of noises and cause you to teeter on the edge of your seat. The echo of footsteps bouncing off of the walls will keep you guessing where the enemy is coming from.

Everything about this game is amazing. For the last 8 hours I have been glued to my computer screen and have not looked away. This is one of the best games I have played and would recommend it to anyone on the edge of decision.

Get this game. Seriously, get it

49

Fun game with a poor execution

tusccar | May 6, 2013 | Review of Ravaged

This game is entertaining and is somewhat worth the cheap price. The only issue with the multiplayer game is that, well, youre lucky if you can actually play multiplayer. Normally the servers are deserted and few people can be found to play with.

The combat of the game is fun and unique and the vehicles are very enjoyable. This would have been a great game, but unfortunately it has many bugs, and fails to deliver what it is promising. The communtiy is non existent leaving you stranded in a map alone. Maybe one or two people will drift into your game, but I think this could be money well spent elsewhere

57

No replay value

tusccar | May 6, 2013 | Review of Lucius Cap

I had such high hopes for the game and was let down. Its a unique game and is well done, however it is plagued by small annoyances, a very bland story, predictable outcomes on every front and not enough player/environment interaction.

The story follows the relative path of the movie The Omen. You are the son of the devil and are in the grooming stages to become what you are meant to be. You will be visited and guided along by the devil here and there and will find little joy in exploring your environment. The most enjoyable part is exploring the house and as stated, that is rather boring.

There are certain people you have to kill and there is little wiggle room when it comes to you choosing how they die. What you need to do is normally highlighted as to make things very easy. The deaths are unique and the cutscenes are well done, but unfortunately that does not save this game.

Is it worth $20? I dont think that it is. But that is just my opinion. There is no replay value as the game has a set path that it follows and it guides you by telling you what you have to do. It should have gone about telling what you CAN do but not made you do it. Unfortunately this game was a let down. Still enjoyable but not enjoyable enough for $20. The short, bland story, boring environment and lack of replay value bring this game down. Which is a shame.

91

From a person who hated MMOs in 2008

tusccar | May 5, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Digital Edition (NA) -

This was my first MMO and it won't be my last. I used to hate MMOs and never really "got" them. That is until I bought this.

Guild wars 2 is the embodiment of what an MMO should be. Deep and provoking plots for each character, great combat, great and vast community, and an array of quests.

The combat system is very simple yet intuitive and even beginners will get used to it very fast. Just a few simple clicks of the mouse and you could be on your own questing or with a group of 40 others, taking down a dragon.

There is much to do in this game besides just quest. There is crafting which will suck you into a world of discovering things to make and use, or sell. The trading post is a strong point of the game. Whether trying your luck with mystery items or flipping items to make more gold, it will have you busy for many hours to come.

World vs World will have you entertained and create a comradary between you and hundreds of other players.

A normal review of this game is tough due to the fact that it is massive. But it is well worth the $60. Not only is it subscription free, but there are massive content updates every few months. This is a great game for lovers and haters of MMOs. If you want a game to escape into then this is it. You will be sucked into the world of Tyria, and you will not regret it.

75

Amazing idea, mediocre execution.

tusccar | May 5, 2013 | Review of Mirror's Edge (NA)

This is one of those games that makes you realize how important a unique game is in the gaming industry. The feeling of flying through the air and relying on blind judgement and the hope that what is below this building ledge is another ready to cushion your fall and keep you running.

This game, while a great play, suffers tremendously from poor execution. Thestory is very short and not so sweet. It leaves tyou wanting more and features one of the most anti-climatic and lack luster endings. The choice of animation for the cut scenes was a poor choice and you will instantly become disconnected from the gameplay. The idea of creating your own path and relying on split second judgements was a strong feature of this game....so it seemed. The path to completion in each level is rather linear and many failed attempts to venture away and create your own experience will leave you falling to your death.

The combat is very shallow when it comes to hand to hand. However the strongest points were the combat integrated with parkour. However, that sliding kick or jumping tackle soon leave you in a very awkward fist fight. You have the option of taking someone's gun if you mash the right button at the right time, however it will leave you on the edge of your seat hoping that you pressed the right sequence of buttons and Faith uses the gun rather than throws it away.

The slow motion feature was rarely used in my many playthroughs. Most of the time it was used when I forgot that you could not reload by pressing R. I was then left with no way out as i ran slowly towards an enemy that had his gun trained on me.

This is a very enjoyable game. However much should not be expected from item its shallow plot, linear paths, and painful combat will pain you. Because this could have been great in so many ways. It just missed its mark slightly. However if you can look past those flaws it is a very enjoyable game.

98

Never has a game captured such emotion

tusccar | May 5, 2013 | Review of Metro 2033

Played Metro 2033? No? Well you have to pick it up now.

The infinite darkness, muffled noises, and what you hope are the musings of mice scattering throughout the tunnels will keep your body tense and your nerves on end. Constantly checking behind you, to the sides, and relying on the AI teammates has never been so crucial. However it has never been done so well either.

In depth and emotionally engaging characters make you care for the outcome of your actions as well as your teammates well being. You will fight side by side with what has no become your brothers and family. The story is well written and will keep you from shutting the game off.

Amazing environments, thurough story, interesting and vast array of guns and weapons make this one of the best games. Never have I felt the attachment to a gun and realized that this piece of machinery And my teammates were my only hope in these tunnels.

This is a must play game and will keep you coming back for more. And with last light just a week away, now is the time to play this amazing game