Reviews by untitled36

86

Chinese Monkeys, Mayan Zombies, and Vikings

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | Review of Swords and Soldiers

This game is ultra simple. You collect gold, build units, and try to destroy the opposing castle (usually). Besides Gold, you also have to manage mana. Three civilizations add some variety to the mix, and the single player mode has a goofy yet charming story about the various characters looking for the ultimate meal. Personally, I loved the game. Overpriced Ipad port, sure! but still charming in it's own way. I've beat the campaign, and I had a blast the whole time. A few games become "memes" in my personal life, and this game does that for me. Anytime I get money as a gift, my mind echoes the women miners of the game: "I loooove gold!" 10 bucks may be steep, but if you can get this for sale, snap it up quick. It's worth it!

53

It's... ok

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | Review of Tidalis

If you are a puzzle game fanatic, you'll find a lot to love. Several modes, classic block matching action with a slight twist, and colorful, creative characters to guide you on your way. For anyone else, I can't really recommend it. I played about 2 hours, and haven't played since. I mean, it's solid. It does what you expect. But it doesn't really break any new ground. Seems like it just has a hard time finding it's niche in the world of gaming. It seems just a bit too complex for the casual market, and also far too simple for the hardcore gamer. It's more of a minigame than a full blown experience. Granted, it's cheap. But you get what you pay for.

93

Videogames as Story

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | Review of To The Moon

My brother was challenged to find a videogame that tells a unique and engaging story. One that stands on its own if you were to subtract the gameplay elements from it. The challenge was harder, because FPS, RPG, and adventure games were ruled out offhand. This game (along with TRAUMA) were my top picks to prove the naysayers wrong. It's deceptively simple, and defies genre. It's still probably more an adventure game than anything, but more of an interactive story. Games like this prove that videogames can be art. "Videogames can be art?" Are you calling this 16 bit looking RPG maker project a work of art? Yes. You lose yourself in the story. It's touching, it's thought provoking, and makes you smile, laugh, and maybe even cry. Those who grew up on the SNES RPG's understand that sometimes the simple, abstract art of the 16 bit era can be more powerful than the most high tech graphics available today. Play this game. If you care about truth and beauty, you owe it to yourself.

76

Aging Game in an Aging Series

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | Review of Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell (NA)

This was my first Splinter Cell game, and also the first in the series, though I came late to the series. I loved in my first time through. It was like the best levels in golden eye: careful, stealthy gunplay. Or maybe more like the old Commandos games, but from a first person shooter perspective. You slowly eliminate the enemy one by one, making sure you aren't seen. It's tense, it's rewarding, and challenging enough to make you think without being annoyingly hard. Thus far, the review would be a 95/100. But I came back to this game after several years. It hasn't aged horribly, but it still feels clunky. The graphics that once felt so tense and lifelike are now so dated that they break immersion. It's tough to go back after seeing other games. If you are new to the genre, you can give it a try, but set your bar low for this aged game.

28

Not a Real Worms Game

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | Review of Worms Blast

It seems every time team 17 departs from the classic 2d worms action, they fail. This game keeps that record alive. While it's still 2d action/puzzle, it removes the real joy of worms fun from the game. It's a lazy, cheap knockoff of the old, shoot the ball, match colors, games that have been around forever. I didn't enjoy the game at all. I got it as part of a bundle, but I quickly uninstalled it, and will likely never download the game again. If you want the "match the color" action, popcap has a number of casual games of that ilk. But if you long to see annelids launch weapons of mass destruction at one another for fun and profit, this isn't the game for you. Look to worms reloaded, or worms world party, instead.

80

Great Quick, turn-based Multiplayer Action!

untitled36 | June 16, 2014 | Review of Worms Armageddon

Ah, worms armageddon. It brings back the memories. My roommate and I used to do 2x2 team battles, and we cleaned up regularly. While there are many many worms games in this series, this one was my first, and still holds a place in my heart. The newer versions are decent, but really, all they do is add fancy shmancy graphics that don't actually improve the gameplay at all. In fact, in some cases, they distract from it. This game is pure old school goodness. You pick from a large selection of weapons, aim, add power (for most weapons) and release. The number of voices and other customizations keeps the game fun.

67

I Wanted to Like this Game

untitled36 | Jan. 17, 2014 | Review of Anno 2070 (NA)

I love economic sims. I enjoy Tropico, the old Impressions games, Sim City and its derivatives, but the Anno games just never really did it for me. You spend more time driving around your scout ship or transports, and less time actually managing your city. There are some nice ideas in Anno 2070. You get to pick your allegiance to some degree, and earn rewards based on your style of play. But really, the game just doesn't hold my attention with the pointless fetch quests. Fetch Quests are bad enough in an RPG, why do you want to put them in my economic sim? That said, the gameplay itself is ok when you are actually managing your city. There's limited space for your buildings so you have to play it smart. But overall it just didn't grab me.

80

Simple, Yet Satisfying

untitled36 | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of Dwarfs!?

Those dwarves... they constantly go digging on their own, hitting the occasional lava flow or underground lake and thus releasing all kinds of havoc into your realm. Or sometimes they stumble upon goblins, spiders, or powerful wizards that require the services of your stalwart militia. But the dwarves do it all in search of precious gold. This is a simple game in concept, trying to keep track of your ever-growing horde of dwarves as they get into a variety of predicaments. It's a great time waster with options for 5 minute or 15 minute games all the way up to an hour or even unlimited time. In short bursts, the game is excellent. It won't draw you in the same way a deep rpg or rts might, but it's still remarkably fun for a sheer time-waster. I keep it installed for a quick fix when I'm in the mood, and it's always a good time. There are a host of various modes, but I typically stick to the main arcade version.

88

Old, but amazing

untitled36 | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of Disciples II: Gold Edition

This gem has been neglected by far too many people. It's very much like Heroes of Might and Magic, but it's far darker in tone. You take turns, build your citadel, and fight turn-based battles. The actual battle system is more akin to Ogre Battle than HOMM, but I like the change for something different. It's a far better game than Disciples III, so if you are trying to decide which to buy, go with this classic rather than the bland 3rd entry. You have several very distinct factions that change the way you have to play, and you have meaningful choices on leveling up your citadel. Each choice you make closes paths. You can't have everything, and I actually appreciate that design mechanic because it makes your decisions feel more important.

60

Not worth the cost! Buy on sale!

untitled36 | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of Asguaard

I picked the game up on sale for about 7 bucks. It's mostly worth that investment, but since retail price is in the upper $20's or lower $30's, I just don't see that it's worth the price of admission. The game's decent. It's a fairly routine "Kid(s) from earth wake up in strange fantasy land" storyline. The gameplay is not much different from early final fantasy or Phantasy Star games, but those games gave each character unique abilities and skills, and this game doesn't have much of that. It's very obvious the team invest countless hours in the game. It's a labor of love. But.... it's kinda boring. You can customize the characters quite a bit, stat-wise, and I approve of that. There's a lot of stuff to do, but it's just not that fun doing it all. There are also randomly incredibly hard monsters lurking in otherwise very low-level environments. Everytime I met one and it wiped my party, I was probably supposed to feel "Wow, that was intense, I can't wait to come back and beat that monster," but I really just thought, "Wow, that was stupid. Why did they put that there." Also, there is apparently no controller support without using external programs. That's a small issue, but one that just seemed so basic and yet was overlooked.

80

Constantly Updating

untitled36 | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of Don't Starve

I got this game in the pre-release phase, so I've seen a lot of growth in the game. And this team really does update the game regularly. While I approve of this, it makes it hard to review the game in some ways. At the core, you basically start off with nothing, and little instructions to get you going. But it's pretty easy to figure out how to gather basic ingredients and then craft them into tools to gather better ingredients, continue indefinitely. It's a fight to fill your belly, protect your health, and keep sane. There are several characters, each with unique abilities and they can interact with the items in slightly different ways. It's a very well done game. The graphics, while very simple, fit the mood perfectly, and it balances the sense of always impending doom with some dark comedy, and they get that balance exactly right. Still, I find the game gets somewhat old. Each new game is a unique map, but it's the same basic process each time. It gets an A for effort, but just didn't have the indefinable sense of fun to keep me coming back for more.

74

Mostly Right

untitled36 | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of Super Meat Boy

Most of these reviews mention the difficulty of the game. They're right. You will run your little meat-flesh persona into more saw blades than you can count, until the level is literally covered in the gore of your failed attempts. While at first glance it's just gratuitous violence, it actually serves as an aid for future attempts as it warns you of past mistakes. You also respawn nearly instantly, with no annoying loading scenes between deaths. It's fast, it's gruesome, it's Meatboy. The controls are tight, and you always feel your deaths are your own fault, not clunky unresponsive computer issues. Still, the game is a simple platformer. The levels get harder, but nothing really changes the game much. There isn't the same variety of levels that, say, a mario game would have, and this is ultimately the game's downside. A bizarre story links the levels, something about an embryonic robot monster taking your true love, but it ultimately fails to bring much meaning to the game. It's not about the goal, it's about the gameplay. And for me, the gameplay wore off long before the game finished.

96

Best Recent Tactical Game

untitled36 | Dec. 20, 2013 | Review of XCOM: Enemy Unknown (NA)

Some of my all time favorite games are Final Fantasy Tactics, Shining Force, and Fire Emblem. So I'm a tactical RPG fanatic. I also played the original X-Com back in the day. All that to say, I may be biased on several levels, but this is a great game. Everything is a choice, and those choices really matter. Time, money, and Alien Artifacts all limit your ability to research everything. It's a game where your decisions really matter.

Something as simple as naming your squaddies after friends or family members is a nice touch as well. You get attached to your A List squad, and seeing one of them fall in battle, or even be wounded, really makes you feel the loss both in-game and emotionally.

The game's not perfect, though. It has the same basic maps and the same basic mission goals most levels. Each level is enjoyable, but it does begin to feel repetitive towards the end of the game.