Reviews by wakenbakejake

40

I'd say stay away... At least for now

wakenbakejake | June 3, 2011 | Review of Earthrise

I got this game impulsively, on sale, and tried it with the free 30 days of play. I have two nice gaming computers and neither can run it smoothly, without lag and low fps issues. In my hunt for fixes I came across many users who also were unable to run the game well despite having at least the recommended specs.

And there were a few people who did not have this lag/fps issue, but a lot of them still said the game itself is really buggy, though it got a bit better with a recent patch. Once the company creates more patches with fixes for the issues, then it may be a game worth buying. It seems like a fun premise, and the graphics (if you can get them working correctly) look great, like they would really put you in that futuristic sci-fi atmosphere. If this will happen, I don't know.

80

Warband > Original

wakenbakejake | May 27, 2011 | Review of Mount & Blade: Warband DNS

Mount and Blade Warband is a pretty entertaining game. It's not quite RPG, not quite strategy and not fully action, but a sort of blend of the three.

Warband is basically the original Mount & Blade game, but with Multiplayer added. Because of this, I would recommend solely getting Mount and Blade Warband, instead of a pack with both of the games. The only real reason there would be to get the first game, is to install certain mods that don't work with Warband.

The battles in the game are fun, and can get pretty huge. It's fun storming a castle, and actually being able to control a player in the siege, instead of just commanding units. I'd certainly recommend this game, and it goes on sale somewhat regularly.

65

Not great, but not the worst

wakenbakejake | May 27, 2011 | Review of Faery: Legends of Avalon

A friend of mine bought me this game, as he really enjoyed it and thought I would too. Unfortunately, I had to disappoint him. I just didn't think that Faery: Legends of Avalon was that great of a game. Because I got it for free, I didn't really care too much, but I would not have spent $15 bucks on it. Maybe more like $7.50.

The voice acting isn't too great in the game, and you end up reading the subtitles more than actively listening. The mechanics of moving around (flying) are okay, but I feel they could have been made much better. The story wasn't very engaging. They had several characters and were trying to make a good story, but I just didn't get into it at all, and didn't find the story or characters to be very exciting.

Overall, it's not a terrible game, but it isn't the most polished either. If you enjoy fantasy settings and want to support a smaller developer, pick this game up, but I'd personally recommend getting it on sale.

60

Fun, enjoyable, but not worth the price

wakenbakejake | May 27, 2011 | Review of Jewel Quest Solitaire 1

As the title of my review states, this game is rather fun. It is certainly a step up from normal Windows solitaire as it has different levels and bonuses, etc. However, the game is not so great as to warrant the asking price of over $10 bucks.If you enjoy casual games like this, or are an avid solitaire fan, I'd pick this up, but only when it's on sale (like it is now).

95

The best in it's genre, no doubt.

wakenbakejake | May 27, 2011 | Review of Deus Ex: Game of the Year Edition DNS

Deus Ex is an amazing game. I first played it several years ago, and it is one that I can still come back to now and enjoy.

A futuristic sci-fi fps/rpg, Deus Ex provides an exciting world and tale for the player to dive into. The second game in this series however, was much more of a disappointment. It still has it's merits, but after playing the first and original Deus Ex, you will see why Invisible War just wasn't that great.

If anybody is on the fence about buying this title because of it's age, don't be. This game still stands up amazingly well against todays games, and is more fun than many of them. Pick this up first chance you get and learn why so many people love this game.

87

Hours and Hours of Fun!

wakenbakejake | May 27, 2011 | Review of Just Cause 2

Just Cause 2 is one of the funnest games I have ever played, although it does have it's share of flaws.

The biggest flaw is the voice acting in the game, it is absolutely horrendous. One minute the guy sounds like he's trying to sound Latin, another minute he sounds Russian.

On top of that, the story of the game is rather boring and dull, it doesn't seem to matter much.

Even with those two faults, the game is incredible. There are a lot of missions to do, and you may have even more fun not going to missions, and simply parachuting around the island, causing chaos. This game is a must buy!

80

Niche game, but very fun if that's your thing

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of Hacker Evolution Untold

I got the Hacker Evolution bundle from steam a little while back, thought it looked interesting. Well, it is, although there are a few irksome things imo.

For one, I thought the UI in this game was great. Everything was easy to see and read and was positioned well on the screen.

Of course, the game doesn't actually teach you how to "hack", but it does make you use your brain, and is a sort of hacker-themed puzzle game. This is not to say that it doesn't involve any sense of realism (although there is plenty that is likely unrealistic, like paying to remove your trace), because the game uses some real concepts and terminology, like bouncing (proxies) and some actual linux commands.

If this is a niche you enjoy, I'd recommend this game.

70

More from a fun concept that still hasn't been perfected.

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of APOX

This game can be a decent stepping stone into RTS games for somebody wanting to begin playing them. It may also have the frustrating effect of turning that player off the genre.

I say it can be good because there are few troops to manage, unlike other, more involved RTS.

However, the game has a pretty steep learning curve, and some players may not want to take the time to learn it properly, wanting instead to just "jump into the action".

I liked this game more than the Company of Heroes games, and once I got past the learning curve, did have a bit of fun with the game. Recently they added a patch which added a offline campaign mode, which makes the gameplay a bit easier to learn.

Really, it will be a hit and miss with people. Some people will like it for some features, while others won't like it for those same reasons.

90

Another Great DLC

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Marshlands DLC

First I got Magicka: Vietnam, and after playing that, got Marshlands. I love them both, and am very happy that the developers are putting out actual GOOD content in DLC's.

Zombie's are a scenario I could see fitting into Magicka better than Vietnam, but they did a great job with both. This is truly another great addition to the game Magicka, if you are a fan, don't hesitate, $2 is a steal!

95

My favorite DLC

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Vietnam DLC

I was hoping for good DLC for this game, since the game itself isn't too long. Vietnam is the best they have put out yet (IMO), followed by Marshlands.

With a couple new scenarios, spells and weapons in this DLC. I was kind of worried about whether a "Vietnam" DLC would work in this game, but after playing it my worries were for nothing.

For only $5, this DLC adds some great content to the game, and is certainly worth it.

57

Decent gameplay, not great Graphics

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of WWII: Battle Over the Pacific

I found, like the reviewer before me, that the story and gameplay of this game are fun and engaging, the graphics blow the deal for me. I may have been able to play this years ago, but now when I try I feel more like I'm playing a playstation 1 game. The levels do get a bit repetetive, which can be annoying.

A good pick for flying game enthusiasts, or for people new to the flying-game world (because the game isn't so much of a sim), as long as they are willing to sacrifice graphics, or aren't looking for a more intricate, sim-like flying game.

75

Cool idea, good execution, though could have been better.

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of Time Stand Still

Found this game a while back for like a quarter at a garage sale my mom took me to. Apparently this game is the third installation in a series, though I never heard of or played the first two.

One thing that I can say good about this game is it's "graphics". You may have looked at the screenshots above and said "wow, that game looks really good". Well for the most part, they do, because they are actual real-life pictures. There is some animation, but many of the scenes are real pictures, which I think is pretty cool, and looks great.

As for the navigation through these scenes, it is a basic point-and-click setup. There aren't really any timed puzzles, and they are more memory/inventory based. There may be a few frustrating points while looking for something and not being able to find it, or not being able to reach an item from your current point of view/position.

Overall, a fun game, with pretty imagery, nice to look at. Though if you get stuck, you may be in trouble, since I don't even know where to begin looking for a walkthrough for this game.

75

Fun Game

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of Still Life 2

I haven't played the first Still Life, so I can't comment on whether the sequel is better or worse, but playing the second game was still fun without knowledge of the first game.

The in-game graphics aren't the greatest nowadays, you can definitely tell that they are dated. The cutscenes, however, still look amazing.

The puzzles in this game are pretty fun IMO, more so than this game's predecessor, Post Mortem.

If you were a fan of the first game, then you will probably want to pick this up just for that fact. But if you were like me, and didn't play the first before this one, I'd say it's still worth it, a fun game with an interesting story.

70

Quaint, fun game, if it's your style..

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of Two Worlds II: Castle Defense cap

This game is a bit slow-moving, even for defense games, but for those familiar with the Two Worlds universe, the game provides some nice backstory, and some hours of fun.

It's a pretty easy game to use, the user interface (UI) is not complicated or crowded. As you go on in the levels, your enemy will of course become more powerful, but so will you, gaining new attacks and what not. Pretty fun little time waster, but I'd wait til it's on sale unless you are a big Two Worlds fan

65

So-So

wakenbakejake | May 25, 2011 | Review of Magicka: Wizard's Survival Kit DLC

If, as many are, you are a big Magicka fan, you may want to pick this up simply because it exists. As for the DLC content itself, it is nothing to write home about. The coolest part of it is the new Meteor Shower Magick, as the other items are more or less useless. Wizard hats are always cool though, right?

85

A great concept and great game.

wakenbakejake | May 24, 2011 | Review of Sanctum

I have been wanting a game like this for some time, combining strategy and first person shooters. Sanctum, the tower defense FPS does a pretty good job at this, and makes the game very fun to play. There is a bit of a learning curve however, but if you can get past that, you should have hours and hours of fun with this one. You can even play co-op with a friend!

65

Decent, but not the greatest in the genre.

wakenbakejake | May 24, 2011 | Review of Post Mortem

If you like investigation games, this may interest you. This game does not have many puzzles or anything to solve though, and seems to be more of a story driven adventure that you are put in to.

I found this in a bargain bin at a store years back, and at the time I thought the graphics were decent. They are probably a bit dated now though. This isn't your typical adventure/investigation game, but if this is your preferred genre, it may be worth picking up.