Reviews by waluigi

55

Didn't survive the test of time

waluigi | July 28, 2014 | Review of Earth 2140

Generally, I don't have any problems with playing in old games from 90'. I still can launch after all these years such titles as Gruntz, Get Medieval, Starcraft, Hopkins FBI.. And I still have a lot fun with them (even if they can't surprise me or show anything new). Unfortunately, Earth 2140 is one of my private exceptions. Initially, I've played in this about 3 or 4 years after relase (DOS version) and I really liked it. Quite challenging (you know, AI was working in quite schematic way, but was really ruthless), quite quick gameplay's style and fine, 2D graphic.

A couple of years have passed and I've tried to play in renewed, Windows version. And even with all my good memories about this game, it was unpleasant experience. It's not about graphic - it still has its charm and interesting style. It's just about repeatability. I haven't played in too many RTS's before Earth 2140, so it didn't bothered me then. Now, when I'm more "fussy" than earlier, I need "something" in RTS, to play in it with pleasure. Something really well developed and/or original. In case of Earth 2140 it's hard to find something like this - plot of this game is quite trivial, not to mention that brefings between missions are really uninteresting. There are no significant diferrences between both sides of the conflict (however, their graphic projects are quite interesting - while UCS is using various robots, ED is more "conservative" with all these tanks and rocket launchers). And there is almost always the same scheme of the missions, and some exceptions (like one of the first missions of ED, where you have to survive with a bunch of soldiers and a bunker) are not helping too much.

Nowadays, it's quite hard to find some group, that I could recommend this title. Probably more experienced/elder players will share my opinion, no matter if they played in Earth 2140 earlier or not. It could be good for someone, who hasn't played in too much real time strategies earlier... But probably he/she will be too young to like "retro-graphic", or too inexperienced to handle with this game (it's not horrible hard, but I wouldn't recommend it for the beginner).

It's not bad game, really. But nowadays I can't find too much reasons to play in it. If you want to meet the Earth series, I'd rather recommend Earth 2160. It's too quite old title (but not so old as 2140), but at least has a couple of interesting concepts, which are making the newest part of Earth series pleasant and engaging for player. The time was merciless for you, Earth 2140.

90

Legendary post-apocalyptic cRPG

waluigi | July 22, 2014 | Review of Fallout®: A Post Nuclear Role Playing Game

Almost 14 years have passed since the release of first Fallout. And still it's make splendid impression. Of course it's not about graphic or music - the time was merciless and nowadays the visual and audio "components" are noticeable outdated. It will be probably the barrier hard to pass for younger audience (but not too young - the age restriction for this game is in my opinion highly legitimate). Even if they won't get discouraged by ascetic graphic, they'll also encounter some lacks connected with the interface (do you remember when Ian or Tycho stood in one of these narrow corridors and didn't want to move even for an inch?) or generally with another standards of games, dominating in these years.

But the things, which were so good in this game, are still making unforgettable impression. The famous SPECIAL system, connected with system of upgradeable skills and perks is still one of the most clear and also giving so much possibilities in creating and development the character. I love the dialogues in this game - there is only a couple of cRPGs, where in my opinion the whole conversation thing was done really good - Planescape Torment, Arcanum and famous Fallout dylogy. Very often you've got more than one method to convince some NPC to do something. You can't behave in the same way every time - some people will need gentle and patient behaviour, other must be treated harshly. And don't forget, that knowing what to tell is one thing, but convincing NPC is something completely different, connected with such things as your charisma/conversation skill, or evidences, which you've found/stolen.

I still remember after all these years such locations as Junktown, Hub or Shady Sands, not to mention about some NPCs like Tandi,Gizmo, Dekker or hideous Master . Because most of the people and places which you'll meet in this game are really well made and memorable. It's so amazing, that such trivial thing in cRPG like „saving your people" (again?) can be done in such unusual and original way.

If you haven't met the famous Fallout yet, give him a chance. I know it can be hard, especially if your experience with cRPG is basing on some newer titles, but in case of Fallout it is worth to forgive such uncomfortable issues like lack of control over your partners, a bit archaic interface or aseptic graphic. Because under this crust is hidden incredible treasure - one of the best cRPG ever made.

70

Quite good brother of Fantasy Wars

waluigi | July 22, 2014 | Review of Elven Legacy

If you already played in Fantasy Wars, you'll probably feel very familiar after launching Elven Legacy. Because it's in fact some sort of stand alone add-on to Fantasy Wars, focused on (as title says) elves. And that's first good news, because elves were rather "minor" race in FW, especially with not too many types of units. In Elven Legacy they are full-fleged side of conflict, with decent amount of troops and heroes. If you liked to play with distance units in FW, the Elven Legacy will give you very satisfactory side of conflict.

Surprisingly, Elven Legacy seems to be easier and more accessible. First couple of missions took me almost the same time I've needed to spend on first two missions of human's campaign in Fantasy Wars. So if you haven't met this series earlier, it's not bad idea to start with Elven Legacy. Because to be honest - plot wasn't never the strongest point of Fantasy Wars (it's not original or even „well- told"), so you won't miss too much (the same thing is in Elven Legacy though - you'll probably stop paying attention to the intrigue quite quickly).

And what about gameplay and its "technical core"? It's still good old Fantasy Wars - challenging (fortunately, not so much this time) and quite complex (but not hermetic) tactical game with limited amount of soldiers and urgent need of saving your troops (more experienced veterans are really valuable and their loss is very painful and noticeable). I had the impression, that this time we have more freedom in campaign - sometimes we can choose which mission we'll do this time, and it's even has some effect on the next evidences (but as I've mentioned - quite obvious and sometimes even trivial plot is not the strongest point of this game).

There are also some cRPG elements, but don't expect too much - our main protagonist is rather noticeably stronger unit than unique hero with lots of possibilities and skills. But it's not too bothering, since Elven Legacy is tactical game, overpowered hero would only spoil the balance of gameplay.

If you haven't played in Fantasy Wars earlier, or you already played but it was a bit too hard for you, Elven Legacy is nice game to start your contact with this series. You can be disappointed only if you're looking here for something new (in comparison to Fantasy Wars), because it's continuing the basis and almost all rules known in its predecessor.

80

Big surprise and totally addictive game!

waluigi | July 22, 2014 | Review of Ascension to the Throne

After such games as Heroes of Might & Magic, Age of Wonders or Disiciples, it's hard to find quite good and a bit original strategy game in fantasy world. Fortunately, there are still some nice surprises, like Eador: Genesis or Ascension to the Throne.

First of all, the game has quite interesting "technical" construction. It's a mix of exploring the world in real time, like in such games as Gothic. Pity, that in this mode our possibilities are limited (for example dialogs are rather simplified), but still it's nice variety and "binder" between turn-based battles. These are the main attraction of the game and are made really well. The area of the battle is not too big or not too small, so it gives a lots of possibilities, especially with big variety of the army - there is a lot types of soldiers you can have in your team. To be honest, some of them weren't too useful for me, but their amount it giving plenty of possibilities. Your hero is also taking part in battles, and advancing on higher levels. Every promotion is really valuable, especially at the beginning, when you're in urgent need of improving both your "battle" and "commanding" skills.

Gameplay is really challenging. In first part of the game, I would say that it's even really hard. Especially that not only your hero is quite weak, but there are lacks everywhere, and surprisingly, the most painful is not the lack of money, but authority. Without it you have really limited possibilities in case of hiring soldiers. But don't get discouraged, because after this hard beginning, game became a bit easier (but still challenging).

It's also quite long title, because it should take you at least 15-17 hours, and with all sub-quests you'll probably spend even a couple of hours more. But I hadn't felt even for a minute bored, because fights are (almost) always challenging and there is always something to do.

Nowadays, the graphic seems for a little outdated, but it didn't bothered me. I never paid too much attention to the music, it's not bad, but there is also nothing special, which could make it more memorable. There is also not too much to tell about the plot (the title is telling everything, so don't expect nothing original in this case).

Even with its archaic graphic (and unfortunately, some bugs, especially annoying are these, which are closing the game in unexpected moments, so don't forget to save a lot!), it's in my opinion really addictive game, with splendid gameplay and big variety of units. It's really worth to try! And if you like this game, don't hesitate and try also Ascension To The Throne: Valkyrie, which has quite similar gameplay and will bring you so much fun as this game.

60

Not bad, but needs still underdeveloped

waluigi | July 22, 2014 | Review of Rooks Keep

It's good to see another third person "shooter" ("slasher" would be more adequate, to be honest), because we don't have too many of them on PC. This one is generally oriented on multiplayer - while I'am aware, that we've got here also option to play with bots, this mode is good only for short period of time. The AI is decent for the beginner, but without proper "campaign mode" skirmish with AI became quite quickly repetitive. And there is one thing which you should know - for now there is not too many people playing in this game. Of course it doesn't mean that you won't find anyone, who would like to play with you (not to mention that it has also its advantages - minor community is usually more polite and kind for new players), but you'll probably need to use various forums/other method of contact to organise some matches.

And how about "slashing" thing? Rooks Keep has quite interesting fighting system, with standard system of quick + weak and slow + strong attacks, and more original distinction between parrying and blocking. First is harder to implement (requires good timing and reflex), but allowing to overcome even harder attacks, while the second one is much easier to use, but useless against stronger attacks. With using special ability and a couple of skills (we can improve them during the game) it gaves relatively easy to learn, but also not primitive fighting system.

Sounds great? Unfortunately, in practise we can see some disadvantages. First of all - lack of precision in case of our attacks. I've played previously in third person "slashers" like Enclave or Dark Vengeance, and in almost every of them I had feeling of having more control over my attacks (sometimes with help of crosshair, but not always). In "Rooks Keep" I feel, that my attacks are a bit chaotic, especially when I am fighting with someone on the stairs - the game can't handle with two players fighting on different "degrees" of level - so not only fighting, but also collision system needs to be improved. There is also some specific evade, it looks like really strange jump - it's another thing, that shows lack of precision (I still don't like to use this move, with its chaotic way of working).

I like the graphic style of this game (quite grim, a bit grotesque), but the engine of this game needs optimization - on the computer, which could handle without any problems with such games as Resident Evil 6 or Dead Island, I can't play too comfortable even with lowering the details .

"Rooks Keep" includes also playing in chess in two variants ("normal" and "combat chess") - I haven't play too much in these modes, but they're fine. It's a big surprise to find such thing in "Rooks Keep", but hey, a bit of madness won't hurt :)

Since the game is still under development and there are some chances, that "Rooks Keep" will eliminate some of the lacks I've mentioned, you can probably risk and try to play in this game. Because it still has a lot of potential and should be fine for people, who like this genre.

80

Panda Fu is coming through!

waluigi | July 21, 2014 | Review of Super Panda Adventures

This is another example of the game (like Toki Tori), which can make impression, that it's rather the product for younger audience. Especially with its characteristic and rather infantile graphic. But don't get discouraged! It's really nice and surprisingly well developed platform game, with many pleasure extras (not original, but still giving more variety).

First of all - nice and well-balanced control of the character. I've played in many indie platformers, but in this year Super Panda Adventures is on the first place in my private ranking. And since we've got here a lot of jumping (really lot, and with new abilities, like catching the edges or using the "floating arrows", there will be even more "balancing in the air"), it gives both challenging and pleasant gameplay. For sure it's not the hardest platform game and can't be compared to such titles like Super Meat Boy or Braid, but it wasn't the intention of developer to make it incredibly hard.

I really like the small addition of cRPG elements. We can upgrade our weapons and armor with special orbs, improve various abilities and seek for some artefacts, giving special bonuses for Fu. Pity, that we can't have other weapons than standard and can only improve them, I can't complain for this little lack, because we still have here quite satisfactory addition.

To be honest, the whole plot and conversations are a bit infantile and trivial. But they're not spoiling the fun, and sometimes are quite funny (especially the quarrel between two wizards). So it's bothering a bit, but the quality of the game and pleasant gameplay are worth of playing, so I recommend to forgive infantile presentation of the game's intrigue (of course younger audience won't be complaining for this aspect).

"Metroidvania model" suits perfectly for this game and encourage to meet once more locations where we've already been to achieve new bonuses and complete impossible to fullfill earlier sub-quests. And it's not boring or annoying, because levels are really well made and give a lot of opportunities to use some shortcuts.

As I've mentioned, the graphic style is a bit infantile, but still nice for player's eyes and shouldn't bother even people, who are not a big fans of retro-graphic. However, the music is really repetitive - there should be more tracks, and when we're hearing the same music on desert, in mountains and in forest, it became quite annoying.

But it's still worth of playing. I was completely surprised, that "Super Panda Adventures' is such nice platformer with great gameplay and almost perfect controlling of your character. So even if after seeing the screenshots you think that it's another indie platformer (the same as others), please, give this one a chance! You won't regret.

49

Two steps forward, three backward - average hidden object game

waluigi | July 20, 2014 | Review of Lost Civilization

And here we've got another representant of famous and quite popular genre, known as hidden object games. So the basis of the game is not original or innovative. However, in comparison to other games of this type, I must admit that I've found here some nice surprises. First of all - no looking for the dozens of coins/other elements through entire game and going back to search the missing one or two elements. It's unfortunately quite popular motive in hidden object games and luckily, we won't see this in Lost Civilization.

It's also a really nice surprise, that we're not limited to one big location, but we'll change the places we'll meet - Prague, military camp near the boarder of Czech Republic and Germany, London... Yes, that's really pleasant surprise, especially with the Czech Republic - the countries in Middle Europe are one of the rarest locations we can see in video games.

But unfortunately, here come some serious deficiencies of this game. First of all - in games like Infected: Twin Vaccine or Nightmares From the Deep, when we had the classic "find all necessary objects" motive, it was always in some way connected with the efforts of our protagonist. And in "Lost Civilization" there is no such connection. For example - we're segregate the trashes from Sarah's inventory (i can't imagine how she were keeping them for so long and what for), to obtain some crucial item at the end of this sequence. And obtaining it has nothing to do with all this segregating. And unfortunately, it's noticeable in almost all such sequences. However, it's nice variety, that sometimes we're not only seeking for the items, but also placing the items we have in adequate places. And it would be really great, if it only would have any sense and connection with the efforts of Sarah.

But the most noticeable thing is, that this game is unimaginably easy. As I've mentioned, there is plenty of smaller locations, but they're almost always constructed in way to avoid any moment of wondering, where should we go. It's going even further - the game is automatically closing the acess to some places/things, if we've done everything what we could. It's the one of the easiest games I've ever played - and that's not good, because game should always bring some challenge.

To conclude, I would recommend this game only for people, who are beginners and are seeking for their first/second game (such easy title will be good) or... For players, are not too good/mediocre with their english, like this genre and want to learn some new words (to be honest, I've needed a couple of times to use the dictionary, to find out what I should seek at this moment in „hidden object” sequence). Other players can be quite disappointed.

68

A bit infantile, but still not bad

waluigi | July 15, 2014 | Review of Puzzle Bots

Unfortunately, in this case graphic style totally compare with the style of the whole game - developed for the younger audience. It's hard to missed especially, when we're watching the relations between human characters in the game - they're rather simplified, naive, not to mentioned that they're quite trivial and without any depth.Surprisingly, the most "adult" characters are the robots we're controlling in this game.

The gameplay is noticeably inspired by such games as Gobliiins, becasue we've got a couple of characters (five, but they're not all available from the beginning), and everyone has some unique abilities. The puzzles are also fitted to the abilities of our robots, so it's rather not too hard to solve most of them, especially with lack of the "moving between locations" and totally simplified inventory (we could even say, that there is no classic inventory).

I don't know why, but even with all these lacks, playing in this game was quite pleasant experience for me. The humor is not something extraordinary (and rather adapted for younger audience), but still brought me some nice and relaxant moments. And solving the puzzles, even with its simplified model, still gave me some fun.

There is not too much to tell about graphic and music. It will be for sure some relief for people, who don't like "retro-style", present in most of Wadjeteye games (like "Gemini Rue" or "Blackwell" series). Music is... Decent. Nothing worth to mention, but also nothing I could complain.

To conclude - it's for sure not one of these "must have" games.You probably won't regret too much if you'll buy this one, but as I've mentioned, don't expect too much. The choice is yours.

85

Very engaging and emotional plot

waluigi | July 15, 2014 | Review of Resonance

First of all, I must admit that I'm really happy, that I've met this game relatively late. The developing of "Resonance" took really lot of time and effort, but after I'v finished this game, I see that XII Games made a true masterpiece (and it's good that I didn't know about developing of "Resonance" earlier, because it would be a torment to wait so long for this game!).

Let's start with some "technical" innovation. We're rather accustomed, that in adventure games we have already a couple of things we can ask about, depends on the character we're talking and some evidences we've encountered. "Resonance" has something fresh - "taking" the new topics of conversation... from the surroundings. Literally, we're taking the "elements" of locations into our "dialog inventory" and we can ask about it. Of course asking everyone about everything won't do too much, we must still think - who shold be asked about something and why.

Another strong point of this game are four totally different characters. It's really good that Resonance is quite long game, because we've got the time to meet everyone, his psychological profile, weaknesses and some details about the past. Unfortunately, in the last case only Anna Castellanos is really good developed (and her distorted memories about childhood are one of the best parts of the game), about the rest of the "crew" we don't know too much.

Generally, the plot in the game isn't something totally original, but it still have strong points, some sudden twists (one of them is really memorable and grieved me extremely, but I don't want to reveal anything, after all it's adventure game) and is emotionally engaging in some points.

If you like music from other games published or made by Wadjeteye, you won't be disappointed. With plenty of locations there is also a lot of good music, my favourites are the themes for police station and great collider.

It's noticeable harder game than other Wadjeteye titles, so I've needed a couple of times to use the guide to end Resonance. But more experienced players will be probably satisfied, especially with some of the achievements, which require a bit of brilliance and forethought in solving the puzzles.

Dear readers, give "Resonance" a chance, because it's really worth of it. It has quite good developed and interesting plot, lots of locations and NPCs, nice voice cast, challenging puzzles, so generally it has everything, what should have good adventure game.

75

Fun, fun, fun!

waluigi | July 15, 2014 | Review of Da New Guys: Day of the Jackass

I'm a big fan of almost all adventure games developed (or published) by Wadjeteye Games. But since I'm not a big fan of wrestling, I delayed the launching of "Da New Guys". Unnecessary, because it's really funny and nice adventure game.

First of all, you can easily notice, that in comparition to such titles as Blackwell series or Gemini Rue, here we've got really nice, "cartoon" 2D graphic. And I really like this style. Almost every character has its own, original design, maybe the animation could have used a bit more frames per second, but it's really not bothering me. I like the voice cast in this game - especially main characters (and I love the dialogs between Simon and Brain, they're really hilarious).

It's really tempting to share some of the funny moments or gags in the game, but I don't want to spoil anything - especially because it's one of the best parts of this game. The humor in "Da New Guys" is not vulgar or infantile, so both younger and elder audience can have a lot of fun with this title.

If you already know some of the Wadjeteye's games, you're probably aware that they're not too hard. So if you're the beginner (or you're not too good in such titles, as me), you really should try this one. Unfortunately, there is a big possibility, that more experienced players won't find here any challenge. But even they can give "Da New Guys" a chance, especially if they have enough of "grim" and "dark" titles and want to have some fun. And it's worth to add, that you will have the possibility to control all of three characters during the game, so you won't complain for the lack of diversity (playing of every character will bring some limits and possibilites, for example Brain won't be passed to the places for „adult men”).

To conclude – I really recommend this title. It's short and relatively easy, but brings a lot of fun, and that's the biggest advantage of „Da New Guys”.

45

This game has one serious problem

waluigi | July 14, 2014 | Review of Plith

First of all, I must admit, that many elements of this game are made quite good. The music is resembling old good MIDI in puzzle games made for Windows 95. Graphic is "clear" and functional. And that's very important in "Plith", since lack of "readability" would be a problem in case of fitting all these gears and other stuff (however, I think that bigger variety of the graphic style, especially of background and "vital" elements of the level, would improve the impressions) . And model with plenty of short levels is for sure the most adequate for the game about putting the gears in right order.

But unfortunately, "Plith" has some serious issue, caused by the missed and unsuccessful assumption in the "core" of this game. The riddles with placing gears can be really great part of adventure game or puzzle game. Yes, the part. In case of "Plith", gameplay became (quite quickly) inevitably boring and repetitive. It's worth to mention, that developer tried to fight with monotony in "Plith" with implementing various types of gears and adding some (other than gears) "props" on the various levels. I appreciate this effort, even if it doesn't help this game too much.

I really like puzzle games, but unfortunately, in this one I've played more than I wanted only to make sure, that my opinion about "Plith" will be reliable. I'm not telling, that it's a bad game, because at the beginning it can bring some fun. But, as I've already mentioned, it became (quite quickly) very repetitive.

50

Good game, but underdeveloped remake

waluigi | July 9, 2014 | Review of Z

Generally, I like remakes which are trying to save as much from the original game as they can, except some archaic solutions, like uncomfortable control known from Warcraft or Dune II. But unfortunately, I can't say that this version of "Z" could be classified as one of the successfull remakes.

Sure, we've got here plenty of things, which were good in ancestor - nice and original graphic style, memorable and characteristic voices of units, and a bit of humor. However, we've got here also issues with control (especially with mouse scrolling) and resolution (units are too small, while I didn't have any problems with playing on newer computers in such titles as Oddworld: Abe's Oddysee/Exoddus, in that case I have really unpleasant impression, despite the interesting graphic style I've mentioned before).

But the worsest is lack of some things, which were present in original game - maps from add-on, map editor, and, unfortunately, no multiplayer. Developer already announced, that he will repair some of the existing problems with game, but most of them will be focused on control, so the thing which is bothering me the most (lack of multiplayer) probably will remain in current state.

To conclude, I must admit, that it is not the bad game. But it's the merit of these things, which are (generally) intact in comparision to original Z. For now it's not the completely bad idea to buy "Z", but it's quite risky, especially when developers needed to announce the first serious patch so short after the relase.

33

This game really wants to be like Max Payne. But it isn't.

waluigi | July 8, 2014 | Review of El Matador

First of all - source of inspiration for this game is quite obvious - it's Max Payne. Even main character is DEA agent. But such things don't bother me, if developers are not crossing some hard to define boarder between "strong inspiration" and "imitation". There is only condition - game should bring me lot of fun. And in this point El Matador is the failure.

Nothing is working here, as it should. "Bullet time" in Max Payne was not only intuitive and relatively easy to learn, it also brought a lot of fun. And here I've tried to use it many times, but still I had quite big discomfort with its lack of intuitiveness, efficiency and even with lack of "pageantry".

Amount of weapons is acceptable, but their usage is far from being pleasant. I haven't even half of the feelings I had during using shotguns, pistols, desert eagles and many other weapons in Max Payne. To be honest – I can't even remember any TPS I've ever played, where I had worser experience with the weapons.

And these levels. Sure, MP was also the game, where we were killing enemies and generally nothing more. But in El-Matador they have really monotonous design, and I was playing through them in quite big rush, in hope that the next levels could be better. And I was disappointed in case of this assumption too.

I generally wouldn't recommend this title to anybody. Sure, it's not the complete tragedy, but it's really hard to find the source of motivation to finish this game. Or at least end more than two-three levels.

62

Quite good, a bit original, but still have some lacks

waluigi | July 2, 2014 | Review of I Am Vegend: Zombiegeddon

First of all - it is not too hard to notice, that in-game characters (and generally the whole theme) are inspired with such titles as Plants vs Zombies or Angry Birds. But it didn't bother me, since "I Am Vegend.." has its own, quite nice graphic style and various characters are not only the primitive copy of zombies or plants from famous EA game. And they are looking good. Animations could be more detailed, but it is rather a minor issue.

But what's about gameplay? After playing in this game I was very relieved, that it is not the another tower defense game. "I Am Vegend..." is rather arcade game with some elements of tower defense and puzzle game. We've got our "heroes", which we're using to set directly fire on various enemies. And it's not so easy as it sounds, because enemies can change directions during hopping from one platform to another, and every plant needs to reload after 2-3 series. So the gameplay is very engaging and giving plenty of fun. With decent amount of new enemies and "heroes" unlocked during the game it's sounds really great. But unfortunately, gameplay is spoiled by "interludes", such as bombarding zombies with "carrot-bomber" or piercing the exploding balloons. They're totally unintuitive, hard to perform and generally frustrating. Fortunately, there is not too many of them.

To conclude I must say one thing - if you will be able to withstand these "interludes" I've mentioned before, you will have really nice and challenging game. And I think, that it is really worth to try.

67

Inconspicuous, but surprisingly enjoyable

waluigi | June 21, 2014 | Review of Battlepaths

It's hard to explain, why title with such visible lacks can bring so much fun. It's in some way simplified, turn-based version of Diablo (even the city where you're starting the game confusingly resembles Tristram) - without any changes in appearance of character (only after a couple of levels he's looking different, no matter which weapon or armor will you have at this moment). Battlepaths is also monotonous - you're doing the same thing through entire game (since it's the clone of Diablo it is not too hard to guess, that you're killing monsters), and there is not too much to do in case of tactics - your character is generally melee fighter, with some limited magic and without distance weapons, like magic staffs or bows.

And yet, it is quite funny and nice title. It has quite reasonable amount of enemies and stuff. There is some challenge in the game at every moment and every improvement of your character is valuable. It has also quite nice graphic style - original, a bit grotesque (although the lack of good animations is noticeable) and generally nice for eyes,

It's one of these titles, where creators knew, that they will create some technical limited and simplified game, but trying to give as much fun as possible. And since they've made it quite well and the price is adequate for game of such class, I would recommend Battlepaths for everyone, who is looking for not too demanding, but enjoyable indie. Especially, when you're the owner of old computer or netbook - because it's going really well on these "groups" of computers.

84

Nice pack, but carefully with the first DN

waluigi | July 19, 2013 | Review of The Duke Nukem Platformer Pack

Who does not know Duke Nukem? The guy with the highest possible self-esteem in three platform games. Quite nice pack, especially if you're fan of retro - style. Unfortunatly, even if you are, it can be quite hard to play in Duke Nukem I. While Duke Nukem II have still nice and climatic graphic design (of course for fans of old games), his ancestor is hard to accept even for so devoted retro-fan like me. Not to mention the sounds - they can defeat your patience quicker than graphic. There is not even so basic feature in platform gaming like shooting upside. But don't worry - Duke Nukem II and Duke Nukem: Manhattan Project are still playable and really satisfactiorily games. Of course Duke Nukem II is much harder than many contemporary platform games, so it will be good if it won't be your first one. And the the icing on the cake - Manhattan Project. That title can be a pleasure even for the younger players, especially with this nice collection of guns (and these pipe-bombs - they are still awesome, just like in Duke Nukem 3D!). In summary - if you don't afraid of the challenges and like the retro-climates - buy it!

70

More platformer than puzzle - but still quite nice game

waluigi | July 7, 2013 | Review of Gravi cap

It is not the second Braid or Adventures of Shuggy. The "puzzle - element" is not so strong as it is in two previously mentioned games. But still it is worth to try this one. Why? Well, the gameplay require a lot of reflex, especially in narrow corridors with spikes and other, classic for platformers "attractions". After first levels, this game became quite hard. But not frustrating - and that is something, especially for people who like classic platformers. In opposite of many indie games, this one has quite nice and esthetic graphic design. Maybe it doesn't have too big variety (after all, we are still playing in some variations of metal corridors), but it really does not bother. The really low system requirements were nice surprise for me - even netbook users can play in this game without troubles. The music and the sounds are acceptable – there is nothing stunning, but they also don't bother, and are not irritating even after a couple of levels.

I would be really nice if most of the „medium-quality” indie games could look like this one. There is no tray of innovation, but everything is good performed and balanced. It is working fine even on old computers, the control is easy to learn, and the creator of this game has avoided the glitches and bugs. Quite nice platformer, worth to try.