Reviews by wfosnot

95

Super-Awesome! Co-op Lego goodness at its best..

wfosnot | Nov. 4, 2013 | Review of LEGO Marvel Superheroes (NA)

I have played all of the Lego games with my kids and this one is just as good (or better). It brings all the things of a good Lego game back: the open city / collecting characters, minikits, "Stan Lee" / etc. 2-player co-op on the same system works great (just connect a couple Xbox controllers) and play away! It is great to see so many of my favorite Marvel characters and enjoy them with the kids. It also contains a new original story with familiarity of the Marvel Universe. Go start collecting those gold bricks!

90

Borderlands + more + more + more...

wfosnot | July 1, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 Season Pass (NA)

Adding to the base Borderlands 2 game is this Season Pass. Play in new areas, get new weapons, fight new enemies, gain new levels (up to 61) - and still play with your friends!! The latest DLC was just added to the Season Pass (Tiny Tina returns) - go buy this right now - you know you love Tina!

I bought extra copies just so my friends could experience this great new content with me.

95

Awesome. Fun.

wfosnot | July 1, 2013 | Review of Borderlands 2 (NA)

Building on the Borderlands 1 model of guns, more guns, and even more guns - - Borderlands 2 expands on everything and hits its mark. Co-op is one of the best parts of this game and it works so well. Friends can join your game at any time. You share loot, so play nice. Run.. gun.. collect loot and kill some more. The story is very funny. The added RPG elements allow you to level-up your characters -- so there can be some repetitiveness, but the game is so damn fun you won't care!

87

Before there was Dead Space..

wfosnot | June 4, 2013 | Review of F.E.A.R

So you think Doom 3 was scary.. or you liked Dead Space.. then play this classic game. F.E.A.R was a beast when it came out (most PCs couldn't run it at high settings because it was so demanding) - but most systems should run it fine now. This game is scary and creepy and will make you jump out of your sit. It is best played in the dark with headphones on! Mechanics in this game are fun to - slow-mo. At it's heart, it is a FPS, but the story is engaging and the scares keep your adrenaline pumping. Buy this game now and forget about sleeping!

75

They call it Dirt for a reason..

wfosnot | June 3, 2013 | Review of DiRT 2

Racing.. done right. The car "feel" like they weigh something. The tracks are a little more varied (some games seem like the same tracks over-and-over) - Dirt 2 has a little more variety. This type of game is about the career mode and it it done right. They kept all of the good things from Dirt and added better graphics/visuals for this sequel.

90

Open-world GTA mixed with Batman

wfosnot | June 3, 2013 | Review of Sleeping Dogs: Limited Edition

This is a great game. It combines the open world feel of GTA (with gangsters and similar mechanics) - and then adds combat similar to Batman Arkham. Great voice acting - interesting story - fun fighting mechanics and more DLC than you can believe! Being a Sqare-Enix game, it has also dropped in price and goes on sale regularly - get this game!

66

Portal - it is NOT..

wfosnot | June 3, 2013 | Review of Quantum Conundrum: Season Pass

I bought this game because the creator also created Portal - which is a fantastic game. I had higher hopes for this game. It was cute, but not as funny as Portal. The puzzles were interesting, but the story seemed to lack something. That something that draws you in... and puzzles that you HAVE to solve (stay up all night and figure out) -- didn't feel this way with this game. Maybe after steeping away from Portal for awhile and coming back to this game will make it feel more original and fun. Also, unlike Portal, some of the puzzles were very frustrating because of the game mechanics -- I knew how to solve the puzzle, but got stuck in the mechanics of making it happen.

86

Racing.. but in the sky

wfosnot | June 3, 2013 | Review of SkyDrift

Don't want to pay for those over-priced Sonic racing games (yeah.. Sonic Transformed - I'm talking to you) - then Skydrift is a great alternative. It feels natural - like a regular racing game, except it adds the new dimension of being in the air. This is NOT a sim.. this is about speed and fun! Still best played with a controller.

54

Get it early..

wfosnot | June 1, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: Death Rides DLC

I have mixed feelings - the content is good (in context of the game universe) - but I got it after finishing much of the base game. So, it was a lot of back-tracking to do things I had done before. And the rewards where pointless, since I had way surpassed their usefulness. Feels like it was just stripped from base game so that it could be sold as DLC.

65

Diablo 3 comparison

wfosnot | June 1, 2013 | Review of Krater - Collector's Edition

Similar to Diablo 3 - game had potential but falls short. Instead of D3 type dungeons with wizards / warriors, you get the same isometric view in a steampunk type world (using guns etc). Graphics are very bright and colorful (oooh - shiny!) - but gameplay is frustrating with the leveling system. The game developers have added co-op to the game (and playing with friends is always better). They should add a fast travel option!

70

Flat characters.. but story choices make the game

wfosnot | June 1, 2013 | Review of Alpha Protocol

Do you care if something happens to characters in game.. probably not. However, what you select as game choices makes a difference. It had all the makings of a great game - but something happened and it falls short. Pre-mission set-up feels right, but combat feels wrong. Not to mention the game glitches...

40

Play your way..

wfosnot | June 1, 2013 | Review of Mercenaries 2: World in Flames (NA)

Open world game - lots of things to go and do (and things to blow-up)! But, it get repetitive. It should be more fun to shoot things... escort missions are boring. Enemy AI is horrific (hide and recover health) - then go kill them. Get it on the cheap and play a couple hours (otherwise skip it).

95

Better than most..

wfosnot | June 1, 2013 | Review of Guild Wars 2: Digital Edition (NA) -

Guild Wars does so many things right. Play with friends and get XP (you are auto leveled for each area) - so you can re-play areas with friends and you still get experience. Loot - if you help fight, whether you got the first hit or not, you get some loot. No monthly subscription! Constantly gets updates! Play how you like - different weapons let you play different styles. Go get this game...

95

As close to PERFECT as you can get..

wfosnot | March 6, 2013 | Review of Tomb Raider Steam

This is the best of the TR games. The graphics are fantastic. HairTress is amazing! Gameplay: This is Lara Croft at her best. Adventure - tomb raiding - it's here. Action -- hunting and shooting bad guys -- it's here. Questing/leveling -- get XP for exploring and doing stuff -- it's here. The developers really show the love of this character by making this game be everything it should be. The voice acting and motion capture bring real life to this game. You "FEEL" connected to Lara. The cinematic quality of everything is amazing -- it's like playing a movie. Can't wait for a sequel!!

82

Great for Co-op

wfosnot | March 4, 2013 | Review of The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

Other than going to a full MMO - there are few adventure co-op type games. What makes this game even better than just adventure/fantasy - is that it is set in the Lord of the Rings universe. I enjoyed playing co-op with my children as they learned a little about LoTR - they became interested in the storyline - and then we watched the movies. The game is fairly usual adventure type game. You do quests and gain XP and find loot. What makes it different is the LoTR lore.

70

Started strong and then faded

wfosnot | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: Season Pass

I loved the base Darksiders II game - so the Season Pass could only make it better, right? Well, it started off adding fun new quests and characters to interact with - but the final DLC was only like 30 minutes long and was super easy. You will likely be at the level cap by the time you get to the final DLC - so the loot is pretty much worthless.

95

Sequel done right!

wfosnot | Feb. 26, 2013 | Review of Darksiders II: Limited Edition - Steam

Loved this game. It is better than the first and improves on all fronts. Steam clocked my gameplay at over 60 hours. That's a lot of entertainment for the money. The action is rewarding. If you like getting better loot/gear - then you will love all the treasures in this game.

Can't wait for the next one!